DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on July 9th, 2024.
Claims 16-33 are currently pending. Claims 1-15 are canceled via preliminary amendment. And claims 16-33 are newly presented via preliminary amendment.
The present application is a 371 National Phase Entry of International Application no. PCT/KR2023/000435, filed on January 10th, 2023, which claims priority to the People’s Republic of China Application no. CN202210028255.3, filed on January 11th, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2022/0368395, hereinafter Bai).
With respect to claims 16 and 25, Bai discloses a method performed by a network device operating as a repeater in a communication system (paragraph [0029], relay stations), the method comprising:
Receiving, from a base station, time information indicating an uplink period or a downlink period (paragraph [0046], lines 10-12, schedule UEs 120 for downlink and/or uplink communications);
receiving, from the base station, beam indication information indicating a first beam for receiving, by the network device, an uplink signal from a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0056], lines 11-14, generate a CSI report) or indicating a second beam for transmitting, by the network device, a downlink signal to the UE (paragraph [0057], lines 14-18, UE may receive downlink communications with parameters); and
based on the time information and the beam indication information, receiving a signal from a first node and transmitting the received signal to a second node (paragraph [0053], lines 1-8, coordinate such communications via an interface between multiple TRPs).
With respect to claims 17 and 26, Bai discloses the method of claims 16 and 25, wherein the signal is received, in the uplink period, using the first beam (paragraph [0081], indicates the one or more sets of beams), and wherein the first node is the UE, and the second node is the base station (paragraph [0081]).
With respect to claims 18 and 27, Bai discloses the method of claims 16 and 25, wherein the signal is transmitted, in the downlink period, using the second beam (paragraph [0081], indicates the one or more sets of beams), and wherein the first node is the base station, and the second node is the UE (paragraph [0081]).
With respect to claims 19 and 28, Bai discloses the method of claims 16 and 25, wherein the beam indication information includes a beam index with a bitwidth of 2 bits (paragraph [0064], lines 12-17).
With respect to claims 20 and 29, Bai discloses the method of claims 16 and 25, wherein the first beam and the second beam are used during respective periods associated with a same beam index in the beam indication information (paragraph [0064], lines 1-12).
With respect to claims 21 and 30, Bai discloses a method performed by a base station in a communication system (paragraph [0029], relay stations), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a network device operating as a repeater, time information indicating an uplink period or a downlink period (paragraph [0046], lines 10-12, schedule UEs 120 for downlink and/or uplink communications);
transmitting, to the network device, beam indication information indicating a first beam for receiving, by the network device, an uplink signal from a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0056], lines 11-14, generate a CSI report) or indicating a second beam for transmitting, by the network device, a downlink signal to the UE (paragraph [0057], lines 14-18, UE may receive downlink communications with parameters); and
receiving from, or transmitting to, the network device, a signal that is forwarded or to be forwarded based on the time information and the beam indication information (paragraph [0053], lines 1-8, coordinate such communications via an interface between multiple TRPs).
With respect to claims 22 and 31, Bai discloses the method of claims 21 and 30, wherein the first beam is used for the network device to receive the signal in the uplink period (paragraph [0081], indicates the one or more sets of beams), and wherein the second beam is used for the network device to transmit the signal in the downlink period (paragraph [0081]).
With respect to claims 23 and 32, Bai discloses the method of claims 21 and 30, wherein the beam indication information includes a beam index with a bitwidth of 2 bits (paragraph [0064], lines 12-17).
With respect to claims 24 and 33, Bai discloses the method of claims 21 and 30, wherein the first beam and the second beam are used during respective periods associated with a same beam index in the beam indication information (paragraph [0064], lines 1-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park Patent no. 12,191,943
Go Pat. Pub. 2024/0380460
Hindy Pat. Pub. 2024/0223254
Guo Pat. Pub. 2023/0387992
Akkarakaran Pat. Pub. 2020/0322949
Miao Pat. Pub. 2024/0405846
Wanuga Pat. Pub. 2024/0364414
Ali Pat. Pub. 2023/0170962
Ali Pat. Pub. 2023/0130003
6/10/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457