DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 10/23/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is unity of invention because the claims include the common technical features of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because under Unity of Invention, the common technical feature must be a special technical feature. As discussed in the restriction on 8/27/26, the common elements are not special technical features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The examiner does note that upon allowance of group I, that group II will be considered for rejoinder.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/9/24, 9/30/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are pending with claims 1-12, 15-16 being examined and clams 13-14 deemed withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what is being defined by the fluorescent light source. Conventionally, a light source is a source that outputs a beam. However, the claims recite that the fluorescent light source outputs a beam when excited by fluorescing. It is unclear if the light source is merely an output source for outputting a beam, or if the light source is some fluorescing object that does not inherently include a light source, in which case it is unclear how excitation could occur without actually requiring a light source as conventionally understood.
Claims 2-12, 15-16 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
As to claim 5, it is unclear what is attempting to be defined because of the phrase “in particular…”. Specifically, the claim broadly recites a wide wavelength band and then recites a narrower limitation of “in particular having a spectral half-width greater than 100 nm”. It is unclear whether or not the narrower limitation is required or not and also unclear whether the narrower range is merely an example. See MPEP 2173.05(c) and 2173.05(d).
With respect to claim 10, it is unclear how many lights are attempting to be recited. Are applicants attempting to claim four total lights or are they attempting to define that there are three total light sources? The specification seems to only support three total lights (205, 300, 305) in the original claims on 7/9/24 and also in figure 3. However, as drafted, a potential infringer would not clearly understand the constraints of claim 10. Until further clarification is provided, the examiner will interpret the claims to be defined by at least three total lights as supported by the specification.
As to claim 11, it is unclera what a primary light source is defining in relation to the light source that is already recited in claim 1. Specifically, it is unclear if the primary light source is a different source from claim 1 or if the primary light source is just attempting to refer to the same light source of claim 1 using a different nomenclature. The light source of claim 1 already performs the claimed function in claim 11, where it is unclear whether or not more than one source is actually required.
In regards to claim 16, it is unclear what type of light source may provide the claimed spectral half width. The specification provides various examples of light sources in [9, 10] which has specific half-widths that are claimed. However, the specification does not provide an example of a type of light source that would emit less than 30 nm of spectral half width. Therefore, based on the disclosure, a potential infringer would not understand which light sources would or would not emit this spectrum of light without clarification. Are any of the various fluorescent light sources recited in the specification capable of emitting the claimed spectral half-width?
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record).
As to claim 1, Nishikawa teaches an illumination apparatus (Nishikawa; Fig. 1A) for illuminating a microfluidic device disposed in a receiving region of an analyzer, the illumination apparatus comprising: at least one fluorescent light source designed to output a fluorescent light beam when excited by excitation radiation by fluorescing (As best understood, Nishikawa teaches fluorescent light source 2; Fig. 1, [52, 54]); a lens device configured to collimate the fluorescent light beam, wherein the lens device is designed to convert the fluorescent light beam into a collimated light beam (Nishikawa teaches a lens 4 which directs the light from the fluorescent source; Fig. 1A; [52, 128]); and a mirror mechanism configured to direct the light beam towards the microfluidic device, wherein the mirror mechanism means comprises at least one movable mirror element (Nishikawa teaches a mirror 7 which moves via 17 to direct the light from the light source; Fig. 1A, [53, 59]).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Nishikawa does not specifically teach that the collimating lens is a focusing device configured to focus the fluorescent light beam, wherein the focusing device is designed to convert the fluorescent light beam into a focused light beam. However, Baumgart teaches the analogous art of an illumination apparatus with at least one fluorescent light source designed to output a fluorescent light beam when excited by excitation radiation by fluorescing and focusing device configured to focus the fluorescent light beam, wherein the focusing device is designed to convert the fluorescent light beam into a focused light beam (Baumgart teaches a fluorescent light source 406 and focusing the beam with focusing device 412 to convert beam 408 into a focused beam; [31, 36-40], Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the fluorescent source and collimating lens of Nishikawa to have been configured as the fluorescent source with the focusing lens of Baumgart, the resulting combination being that the collimated light leaving the light source to the mirror of Nishikawa would then be focused light as in Baumgart, because Baumgart teaches that using a lens to focus versus collimate are obvious variants (Baumgart; [39]).
As to claim 6, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising at least one optical bandpass filter disposed in a beam path of the fluorescent light beam (Nishikawa teaches a dichroic mirror 5 which serves as a bandpass filter to reflect some wavelengths and transmit others; Fig. 4, [52]).
As to claim 7, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the at least one optical bandpass filter is interchangeable with a further bandpass filter having a different bandpass characteristic (As best understood, Nishikawa teaches a dichroic filter 5 which serves as a bandpass filter to reflect some wavelengths and transmit others and would be capable of being changed for a different mirror/filter; Fig. 4, [52] Additionally, that the filter is interchangeable is a matter of intended use and does not further define the apparatus structure beyond that of a capability).
As to claim 8, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluorescent light source is interchangeable with a further light source having a fluorescence characteristic different from a fluorescence characteristic of the fluorescent light source (As best understood, Nishikawa teaches plural light sources; Fig. 1; [52, 54]. Additionally, that the light source is interchangeable is a matter of intended use and does not further define the apparatus structure beyond that of a capability. Further, the modification of the fluorescent source and collimating lens of Nishikawa to have been configured as the fluorescent source with the focusing lens of Baumgart has already been discussed above).
As to claim 9, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, additionally comprising a further fluorescent light source, designed to output a further fluorescent light beam when excited by the excitation radiation or a further excitation radiation by fluorescing (As best understood, Nishikawa teaches plural light sources; Fig. 1; [52, 54]. Further, the modification of the fluorescent source and collimating lens of Nishikawa to have been configured as the fluorescent source with the focusing lens of Baumgart has already been discussed above).
As to claim 10, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, additionally comprising at least three further fluorescent light sources, each designed to output a respective further fluorescent light beam when excited by the excitation radiation or by at least one further excitation radiation by fluorescing (As best understood, Nishikawa teaches three light sources; Fig. 1; [52, 54]. Further, the modification of the fluorescent source and collimating lens of Nishikawa to have been configured as the fluorescent source with the focusing lens of Baumgart has already been discussed above). Further still, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used as many light sources as necessary to achieve the necessary wavelengths for analysis since Nishikawa teaches that various light sources are used to enable the selection of various wavelengths (Nishikawa; [54]), since it has been held that the mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.04 Section VI (B) and St. Regis Paper Co. v Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8).
As to claim 11, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a primary light source which is designed to output the excitation radiation to excite the fluorescent light source (As best understood, Nishikawa teaches plural light sources which are considered primary light sources; Fig. 1; [52, 54]. Further, the modification of the fluorescent source and collimating lens of Nishikawa to have been configured as the fluorescent source with the focusing lens of Baumgart has already been discussed above, where Baumgart teaches a primary light source 402; Fig. 4).
As to claim 12, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a control device, designed to provide a directing signal for directing the focused light beam to the mirror mechanism and/or to provide an action signal for switching a light source on and off (Nishikawa teaches a computer which controls the optical system; [52, 53]. Further, Baumgart teaches using a control; [24]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record) alone, or alternatively in view of Mehta et al (US 20230080237; hereinafter “Mehta”).
As to claim 2, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, with the focusing device (see above).
Modified Nishikawa does not specifically teach the focusing device comprises at least one holographic optical element. However, Baumgart teaches the analogous art of an illumination apparatus with a holographic optical element (Baumgart; [11]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the focusing device of Nishikawa to have included a holographic optical element as in Baumgart because Baumgart teaches that using a holographic optical element in place of a lens is an obvious variants (Baumgart; [11]). Alternatively, Mehta teaches the analogous art of an illumination source which can include holographic diffusers or other optical elements (Mehta; [143], Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the focusing device of Nishikawa to include a holographic diffuser as in Mehta because Mehta teaches that a holographic diffuser helps homogenize and spectrally filter illumination light (Mehta; [143]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record) in view of Kamakura et al (US 20210173200; hereinafter “Kamakura”).
As to claim 3, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, with the mirror mechanism (see above).
Modified Nishikawa does not specifically teach the mirror mechanism comprises at least one micromechanical mirror. However, Kamakura teaches the analogous art of an illumination device with a micromechanical mirror (Kamakura teaches light source 42 directs light to mirror 451 which forms a MEMS substrate; [40, 41, 46], Fig. 2, 6-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the mirror of Nishikawa to be a micromechanical mirror as in Kamakura because Kamakura teaches that MEMS mirrors are a known variant of mirror to direct light (Kamakura; [40, 41, 46]).
Claims 4, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record) in view of Mawatari et al (US 20030002038; hereinafter “Mawatari”).
As to claims 4, 15, 16, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, with the fluorescent light source designed to output the fluorescent light beam (see above).
Modified Nishikawa does not teach outputting a narrow band with a spectral half-width less than 100 nm, 50 nm, or 30 nm. However, Mawatari teaches the analogous art of a light source spectral half-width of 20 nm (Mawatari; [2, 172, 201, 204]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the fluorescent light output of modified Nishikawa to have had a spectral half-width of less than 30 nm as in Mawatari because Mawatari teaches that it is known to use a 20 nm spectral half with (Mawatari; [172, 201, 204]).
Claims 4, 15, 16 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record) in view of Amakawa et al (US 20040234114; hereinafter “Amakawa”).
As to claims 4, 15, 16, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, with the fluorescent light source designed to output the fluorescent light beam (see above).
Modified Nishikawa does not teach outputting a narrow band with a spectral half-width less than 100 nm, 50 nm, or 30 nm. However, Amakawa teaches the analogous art of a light source with spectral half-width of 30 nm (Amakawa; [81, 120, 154]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the fluorescent light output of modified Nishikawa to have had a spectral half-width of 30 nm as in Amakawa because Amakawa teaches that it is known to use a 30 nm spectral half with (Amakawa; [81]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” or where they are “merely close” a prima facie case of obviousness exits (see MPEP 2144.05), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used ranges close to 30 nm including similar or approaching values that are just under 30 nm depending on the desired fluorescent analysis. Further, Amakawa discloses various half-widths including 75 nm and 30 nm, but fails to teach less than 30 nm half-width. With respect to the spectral half-width, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Amakawa’s spectral half-width to have a spectral half-width of less than 30 nm depending on the fluorescent material used (Amakawa; [81]). Therefore, it is evident that Amakawa recognizes that the spectral half-width is a result effective variable since the spectral half-width can vary based on the fluorescent material used (Amakawa; [81]) and since varying the spectral half-width affects how much of a particular wavelength range is used (Amakawa; [81]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize Nishikawas spectral half-width to be less than 30 nm as suggested by Amakawa depending on the type of fluorescent material used.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record) alone or alternatively in view of Wang et al (US 20190121146; hereinafter “Wang”) or alternatively in view of Amakawa et al (US 20040234114; hereinafter “Amakawa”)..
As to claim 5, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1, with the fluorescent light source designed to output the fluorescent light beam (see above).
As best understood, modified Nishikawa appears to teach a wide wavelength band, which the examiner believes would have a spectral half-width greater than 100 nm (Nishikawa; [11, 13, 19, 89]). However, if it is deemed that modified Nishikawa does not specifically teach a wide wavelength band having a spectral half-width greater than 100 nm, then Wang teaches the analogous art of a light system with Ce:YAG and a spectral half width of 500-750 nm (Wang; [30]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the fluorescent light output of modified Nishikawa to have had a spectral half-width of greater than 100 nm as in Wang because Wang teaches that it is known to use a larger range of spectral half (Wang; [81]). Further, Amakawa discloses various half-widths, but fails to teach greater than 100 nm half-width. With respect to the spectral half-width, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Amakawa’s spectral half-width to have a spectral half-width of greater than 100 nm depending on the fluorescent material used (Amakawa; [81]). Therefore, it is evident that Amakawa recognizes that the spectral half-width is a result effective variable since the spectral half-width can vary based on the fluorescent material used (Amakawa; [81]) and since varying the spectral half-width affects how much of a particular wavelength range is used (Amakawa; [81]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize Nishikawas spectral half-width to be greater than 100 nm as suggested by Amakawa depending on the type of fluorescent material used.
Claims 6-7 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa, K (US 20140179023; hereinafter “Nishikawa”) in view of Baumgart et al (EP 3321649; hereinafter “Baumgart”; already of record) in view of Fluorescence Microscopy (Fluorescence Microscopy. https://web.archive.org/web/20161029090434/https://micro.magnet.fsu.edu/primer/techniques/fluorescence/filters.html; retrieved from the wayback machine on 11/4/26, with https://micro.magnet.fsu.edu/primer/techniques/fluorescence/filters.html website published on 10/29/16, p. 1-7; hereinafter “Fluorescence”).
As to claim 6, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 1 (see above).
If it is deemed that modified Nishikawa does not teach at least one optical bandpass filter disposed in a beam path of the fluorescent light beam, then Fluorescence teaches the analogous art of fluorescence imaging where a dichroic mirror is coupled with a filter (Fluorescence; Fig. 1) and where a band pass filter is one of the few types of filters that are known and used depending on the desired wavelength (Fluorescence; p. 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the fluorescence imaging path with a dichroic mirror of Nishikawa to have included a band pass filter as in Fluorescence because Fluorescence teaches that band pass filters are known to be used with dichroic mirrors, and also because band pass filters are useful when selecting and using only a desired band of wavelength (Fluorescence; p. 1-5).
As to claim 7, modified Nishikawa teaches the illumination apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the at least one optical bandpass filter is interchangeable with a further bandpass filter having a different bandpass characteristic (The modification of Nishikawa with Fluorescence has been discussed in claim 6 above. Additionally, that the filter is interchangeable is a matter of intended use and does not further define the apparatus structure beyond that of a capability).
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798