Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim 12 relates to computer-readable medium storing a bitstream a generated by a particular encoding method. Since the claims relate to a bitstream which is stored on a computer readable medium after all coding functions have been performed the bitstream no longer has any functional relationship with a processor or other machine, but instead relates to e.g. a video stored on a hard drive. The purpose of the stored bitstream is only to convey meaning to a human viewer of the coded bitstream and is thus non-functional descriptive material. Non-functional descriptive material used only to convey messages or meaning is given little patentable weight (See MPEP 2111.05). For the purposes of examination the examiner will interpret the claim as relating only to a computer readable medium storing data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (20210235110).
In regard to claim 12 Liu discloses a computer readable medium storing a bitstream (Liu par. 484 note the generated bitstream may be stored, further note par. 586 for examples of storage).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 10-11 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claims 1 and 11 describe coding methods for determining a motion vector of a current block coded in a merge inter mode including a first motion vector in a first direction and a second motion vector in a second direction, the first motion vector being derived based on a first inter prediction mode and the second motion vector being derived based on a second inter prediction mode, the first inter prediction mode is an AMVP mode which combines a motion vector and motion vector difference and the second inter prediction mode is a merge mode which uses a motion vector, generating a prediction block for the current block based on first and second prediction blocks determined using the first and second motion vectors, where an index is used for adaptive motion vector resolution to modify the resolution of the of the first motion vector and the motion vector difference and the second motion vector is also modified based on the motion vector resolution indicated by the index.
The closest arts are Liu and Park. Liu discloses coding a current block in a Multi-Hypothesis prediction mode using first and second motion vectors, in different directions, that are predicted using first and second inter mode. Liu discloses that AMVP and merge modes may be used for the first and second modes and that each motion vector is used to determine a prediction block which are used to generate a predictor for the current block. Liu also discloses that the AMVP mode uses a motion vector and a motion vector difference where a merge mode uses only a motion vector. Park discloses adaptive motion vector resolution in which an index is used to indicate the motion vector resolution of the motion vector difference. However neither Liu nor Park disclose determining a first motion vector of a current block using an AMVP mode and a second motion vector with a merge mode where a single index for adaptive motion vector resolution is used to modify the resolution of all of the AMVP motion vector, the AMVP motion vector difference and the merge mode motion vector as required by the independent claims.
Claim 10 depends form claim 1 and is allowed for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH C HALLENBECK-HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481