DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al., (WO 2018135753 A1) (Provided FIT Database Translation Used for mappings), referred to as KIM hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, KIM shows an artificial intelligence device, comprising:
a microphone (Page 20, paragraph 2); and
a processor configured to recognize a wake-up command received through the microphone (Page 20, paragraph 2, 'processor 480'), receive a first voice command through the microphone after recognition of the wake-up command (Page 20, paragraph 2 wherein a first voice command of the user takes place after/based on a wake-up word.), and obtain first analysis result information indicating an intention analysis result of the first voice command (Page 20, paragraph 2, 'process a first task.), and infer a first waiting time, which is a time the artificial intelligence device waits for reception of an additional voice command after the recognition of the wake-up command based on the first analysis result information (Page 20, paragraph 7 wherein the system alters the wait time based on situational awareness of the conversation. This changes adaptively and would naturally take place after waking.).
Regarding claim 2, KIM shows the limitations of claim 1 as applied above, and further shows wherein the processor is configured to compare a preset waiting time and the inferred first waiting time, and if the first waiting time is greater, change the preset waiting time to the first waiting time (Page 26, paragraph 3 wherein there is a preset waiting time, N, and based on the situation (inferred time) more time can be added from the preset time. This would constitute a comparison as the wait would time out if the preset time expired (i.e., is less).).
Regarding claim 3, KIM shows the limitations of claim 2 as applied above, and further shows wherein the processor is configured to receive a second voice command through the microphone within the first waiting time, and obtain second analysis result information indicating an intention analysis result of the received second voice command (Page 26, paragraph 5 discloses adding an additional command to be analyzed. e.g., adding Banana also would be analyzed and thus added to a shopping list.).
Regarding claim 10, KIM shows an operating method of an artificial intelligence device, comprising:
receiving a wake-up command (Page 20, paragraph 2 wherein a first voice command of the user takes place after/based on a wake-up word.);
receiving a first voice command after recognition of the wake-up command (Page 20, paragraph 2 wherein a first voice command of the user takes place after/based on a wake-up word.);
obtaining first analysis result information indicating an intention analysis result of the first voice command (Page 20, paragraph 2, 'process a first task.); and
inferring a first waiting time, which is a time the artificial intelligence device waits for reception of an additional voice command after the recognition of the wake-up command based on the first analysis result information (Page 20, paragraph 7 wherein the system alters the wait time based on situational awareness of the conversation. This changes adaptively and would naturally take place after waking.).
Regarding claim 11, KIM shows an inactive recording medium storing a computer-readable program for performing an operating method of an artificial intelligence device, the operating method comprising:
receiving a wake-up command (Page 20, paragraph 2 wherein a first voice command of the user takes place after/based on a wake-up word.);
receiving a first voice command after recognition of the wake-up command (Page 20, paragraph 2 wherein a first voice command of the user takes place after/based on a wake-up word.);
obtaining first analysis result information indicating an intention analysis result of the first voice command (Page 20, paragraph 2, 'process a first task.); and
inferring a first waiting time, which is a time the artificial intelligence device waits for reception of an additional voice command after the recognition of the wake-up command based on the first analysis result information (Page 20, paragraph 7 wherein the system alters the wait time based on situational awareness of the conversation. This changes adaptively and would naturally take place after waking.).
Regarding claim 12, KIM shows the limitations of claim 10 as applied above, and further shows comparing a preset waiting time and the inferred first waiting time, and if the first waiting time is greater, changing the preset waiting time to the first waiting time (Page 26, paragraph 3 wherein there is a preset waiting time, N, and based on the situation (inferred time) more time can be added from the preset time. This would constitute a comparison as the wait would time out if the preset time expired (i.e., is less).).
Regarding claim 13, KIM shows the limitations of claim 12 as applied above, and further shows receiving a second voice command through the microphone within the first waiting time, and obtaining second analysis result information indicating an intention analysis result of the received second voice command (Page 26, paragraph 5 discloses adding an additional command to be analyzed. e.g., adding Banana also would be analyzed and thus added to a shopping list.).
Regarding claim 20, KIM shows the limitations of claim 11 as applied above, and further shows comparing a preset waiting time and the inferred first waiting time, and if the first waiting time is greater, changing the preset waiting time to the first waiting time (Page 26, paragraph 3 wherein there is a preset waiting time, N, and based on the situation (inferred time) more time can be added from the preset time. This would constitute a comparison as the wait would time out if the preset time expired (i.e., is less).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of Min et al., (US 2020/0273448 A1) referred to as MIN hereinafter.
Regarding claim 4, KIM shows the limitations of claim 3 as applied above, and further shows wherein the processor is configured to:
assign a first intention corresponding to the first analysis result information to a command hierarchy structure indicating a plurality of nodes corresponding to each of a plurality of intentions and a hierarchical relationship between the plurality of nodes (Figure 9 and Page 27, paragraph 4 through Page 28 discloses the situation where, based on the first analysis, a genus is discovered, then subsequent species in the hierarchy are predicted and given in-context waiting times.), and determine a time corresponding to the calculated first probability as the first waiting time (Figure 9 and Page 27, paragraph 4 through Page 28 discloses the situation where, based on the first analysis, a genus is discovered, then subsequent species in the hierarchy are predicted and given in-context waiting times.).
However, KIM fails to but MIN does specifically show calculating a first probability that an additional voice command will be input based on an assignment result (Paragraph [0033] discloses determining an 'end-of-command' probability, which would effectively be the determination of the presence or absence of a second or additional command.).
Both KIM and MIN are analogous art to that of the claimed invention in that they use ML or AI in voice based conversational communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM in the spirit of MIN to combine the above prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
KIM, in view of MIN, includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods. Merely using probability to predict future utterances is a well-known technique in the art, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable in so far as that this is a time-tested and routine use of statistics to aid in the prediction of voice commands.
Regarding claim 14, KIM shows the limitations of claim 13 as applied above, and further shows the inference of the first waiting time comprises:
assigning a first intention corresponding to the first analysis result information to a command hierarchy structure indicating a plurality of nodes corresponding to each of a plurality of intentions and a hierarchical relationship between the plurality of nodes (Figure 9 and Page 27, paragraph 4 through Page 28 discloses the situation where, based on the first analysis, a genus is discovered, then subsequent species in the hierarchy are predicted and given in-context waiting times.) and determining a time corresponding to the calculated first probability as the first waiting time (Figure 9 and Page 27, paragraph 4 through Page 28 discloses the situation where, based on the first analysis, a genus is discovered, then subsequent species in the hierarchy are predicted and given in-context waiting times.).
However, KIM fails to but MIN does specifically show calculating a first probability that an additional voice command will be input based on an assignment result (Paragraph [0033] discloses determining an 'end-of-command' probability, which would effectively be the determination of the presence or absence of a second or additional command.).
Both KIM and MIN are analogous art to that of the claimed invention in that they use ML or AI in voice based conversational communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM in the spirit of MIN to combine the above prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
KIM, in view of MIN, includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods. Merely using probability to predict future utterances is a well-known technique in the art, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable in so far as that this is a time-tested and routine use of statistics to aid in the prediction of voice commands.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the Notice of References Cited form (PTO-892) for additional references related to the claimed invention.
JUSTIN W. RIDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/Justin W Rider/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486