DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 filed July 10, 2024 are pending and are hereby examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al (US 2009/0112478) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0257151).
8. Re Claims 1, 10: Mueller discloses comprising:
determining whether a reference biometric value used to calculate a calibrated
biometric value from a biometric signal measured by a sensor is input (see [0065] glucose calibration reference value);
extracting a calibration parameter at a time point when the reference biometric
value is input, and determining whether a correction condition is satisfied based on the
extracted calibration parameter (see [0027-0028] calibration reference value); and
calculating a calibration factor depending on whether the correction condition is
satisfied and calculating the calibrated biometric value from the biometric signal
measured by the sensor using the calibration factor (see [0027-0028] calibration reference value).
However, Mueller fails to disclose the following explicitly. Meanwhile, Lee teaches:
a biometric signal (see [0096]).
From the teaching of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mueller’s modified sensor calibration algorithm with Lee‘s teaching of a biometric signal in order for “… stabilizing a continuous glucose monitoring system (see Lee Abstract).”
9. Re Claim 2: Mueller discloses wherein, if the correction condition is not satisfied, a current calibration factor is calculated from the input reference biometric value, and the calibrated biometric value is calculated from the biometric signal using the current calibration factor until a next reference biometric value is input (see [0027-0028] calibration reference value).
10. Re Claim 3: Mueller discloses comprising:
if the correction condition is satisfied, calculating a current calibration factor from
the input reference biometric value;
determining a calibration section to which the time point when the reference
biometric value is input belongs;
calculating a final calibration factor from the current calibration factor differently depending on the calibration section to which the time point when the reference biometric
value is input belongs, based on the determined calibration section; and
calculating a calibrated biometric value using the biometric signal measured by
the sensor and the final calibration factor until the next reference biometric value is input (see [0065] glucose calibration reference value).
11. Re Claim 4: Mueller discloses wherein the calibration section divides an entire usage period of the sensor into a first section, a second section, and a third section over time based on time of inserting the sensor into a body (see Fig. 1-2).
12. Re Claim 5: Mueller discloses wherein the current calibration factor is calculated as the final calibration factor when the time point when the reference biometric value is input is within the first section (see [0027-0028] calibration reference value).
13. Re Claim 6: Mueller discloses wherein, when the calibration section to which the time point when the reference biometric value is input is within the second section, a first compensation value is calculated from a difference between the current calibration factor and a previous calibration factor, and the final calibration factor is calculated by applying the first
compensation value to the current calibration factor (see Fig. 1-2).
14. Re Claim 7: Mueller discloses wherein, when the calibration section to which the time point when the reference biometric value is input is within the third section, a second compensation value is calculated from a difference between the current calibration factor and the previous calibration factor, and the final calibration factor is calculated by applying the second compensation value to the current calibration factor (see Fig. 1-2).
15. Re Claim 8: Mueller discloses comprising:
calculating an average value of previous final calibration factors calculated in the third section based on the time point when the reference biometric value is input;
and re-correcting the final calibration factor based on the average value (see [0064] average characteristic levels).
16. Re Claim 9: Mueller discloses wherein the re-correcting of the final calibration factor comprises:
calculating a correction threshold range based on the average value;
determining whether the final calibration factor is out of the correction threshold
range; and
re-correcting the final calibration factor, depending on whether the final calibration factor is out of the correction threshold range, and wherein the calibrated biometric value is calculated using the re-corrected final calibration factor (see [0094, 0100] threshold value).
17. Re Claim 10: Mueller discloses wherein, if the final calibration factor is out of the correction threshold range, the final calibration factor is re-corrected to the correction threshold range (see [0094, 0100] threshold value).
18. Re Claim 11: Mueller discloses wherein, if the final calibration factor is within the correction threshold range, the final correction factor is used as is (see [0094, 0100] threshold value).
19. Re Claim 12: Mueller discloses wherein the re-correcting of the final calibration factor comprises calculating a difference between the final calibration factor and the average value;
calculating a third compensation value from the difference between the final
calibration factor and the average value;
and re-correcting the final calibration factor with the third compensation value, and
wherein the calibrated biometric value is calculated using the re-corrected final
calibration factor (see [0027-0028] calibration reference value).
20. Re Claim 13: Mueller discloses wherein the sensor is configured to be inserted into the body of a user and continuously measure the biometric signal from body fluid for a certain period of time (see [0055] sensor values).
21. Re Claim 14: Mueller discloses wherein the sensor is configured to measure a blood glucose value of a user, and the reference biometric value is a reference blood glucose value measured by a separate blood glucose meter for calibrating the measured blood glucose value measured by the sensor (see [0063] real-time blood glucose value).
Examiner Notes
22. The Examiner suggests incorporating claims 9 (dependent on 8, 7, 4, and 3) and 12-14 together into the independent claims. Finally, the Examiner suggests incorporating more hardware from the Specification and any unique arrangements of hardware, unique hardware, or unique ways the hardware is communicating. The aforementioned claim suggestions, in combination together, are suggested to help advance prosecution forward, although further search, examination, and consideration is required.
Conclusion
/FAWAAD HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627