DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the Amendment filed June 3, 2026.
In view of the Amendment, the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 USC 112, as set forth in the Office Action dated 03/23/2026, is withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 are amended.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Priority
Claims 1-11 are deemed to have an effective filing date of January 5, 2023 (the date the PCT application was filed) for examination purposes.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application so that the instant application has the earlier filing date of the Korean patent application because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Peterson fails to disclose or suggest the newly added features of claims 1 and 11 (lines 15-18 and 13-16, respectively), the Examiner disagrees. Peterson discloses an operating portion includes resilient locking catch 214 that is movable from a deactivated position (Fig. 10) to an activated position (Figs. 11-12) where the insertion unit 208 is operated to insert the insertion portion 120 of the medical device into the skin of the user. The movement of resilient locking catch 214 of the operating portion 204 is movable in a direction meeting or intersecting the movement of the insertion unit 208 as catch 14 moves from being adjacent to coil 232 of the insertion unit in Fig. 10 to a position leaving a much larger gap between the catch 14 and coil 232 in Figs. 11-12. That is, while the claims do not specify a horizontal movement versus a vertical movement, a part of the operating portion movable from a deactivated position to the activated position moves horizontally as opposed to the vertical movement of the insertion unit 208.
With respect to the newly-added feature of “the insertion unit moving toward the skin of the user after the operating portion is located in the activated position, it the Office Action’s position that the “deactivated position” of the insertion device ends and the activation position begins when latch 214 and deployment button 204 move from the deactivated position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0058474 to Peterson et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Peterson”).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson discloses an applicator for attaching a medical device to skin of a user, wherein the medical device includes an insertion portion configured to be at least partially insertable into the skin (e.g., title and paragraphs [0002]-[0003]: invention relates to an inserter assembly for continuous glucose monitoring in a patient where the assembly has needle deployment mechanism including a sharp that is inserted into a patient’s skin in order to obtain blood samples), comprising: an applicator body (e.g., paragraph [0132]: inserter assembly/applicator 200 incudes a housing body 202; Fig. 9, 202); an insertion unit installed at the applicator body to insert an insertion portion of the medical device into the skin of the user (e.g., paragraphs [0131]-[0134]: inserter assembly/applicator 200 includes a deployment button 204 and deployment mechanism 208 (shown in Fig. 10) among other elements; Figs. 10-11, insertion unit 208, insertion portion 120/100 extending from needle/sharp carrier 234); an operating portion installed at the applicator body (e.g., Fig. 10, 204, 230) so that at least a part of the operating portion is movable from a deactivated position to an activated position operating the insertion unit (e.g., paragraphs [0132]-[0133]: a deployment mechanism 208 is operable with deployment button 204 and a deployment cap 230, housing body 202 and sensor housing 206 where at least a part of the operating portion moves from a deactivated position (Fig. 10) to an activated position (Fig. 11)); and a backstop portion configured to lock at least the part of the operating portion in the activated position so as to prevent at least the part of the operating portion from returning from the activated position to the deactivated position (e.g., paragraph [0133]: first catch surface 210 engages a corresponding locking catch 214 when a user presses deployment button 204 into housing body 202 from a ready/deactivate position (shown in Fig. 10) to an inserted/activated position operating the insertion unit 208 (shown in Fig. 11); Figs. 10-11, backstop portion 210, 214), wherein the insertion unit is configured to move toward the skin of the user after the operating portion is located in the activated position; and wherein the operating portion is configured to be movable in a direction intersecting the movement direction of the insertion unit (see Figs. 10-12 and explanation in the Response to the Remarks section above).
Regarding claim 11, Peterson discloses an applicator assembly comprising:
an applicator body (e.g., paragraph [0132]: inserter assembly 200 incudes a housing body 202; Fig. 9, 202); a medical device including an insertion portion configured to be at least partially insertable in to skin of a user that is capable of being detached from and coupled to the applicator body (e.g., paragraphs [0131]: medical device/continuous monitoring sensor 120 is deployed into skin tissue by driving insertion portion/sharp 100 into the patient’s own tissue; and [0025]: sensor deployment assembly has a needle bore and can be removed from the deployment mechanism); an insertion unit installed at the applicator body to insert the insertion portion into the skin of the user (e.g., paragraphs [0131]-[0134]: inserter assembly/applicator 200 includes a deployment button 204 and deployment mechanism 208 (shown in Fig. 10) among other elements; Figs. 10-11, insertion unit 208, insertion portion 120/100 extending from needle/sharp carrier 234); an operating portion installed at the applicator body so that at least a part of the operating portion is movable from a deactivated position to an activated position operating the insertion unit (e.g., paragraphs [0132]-[0133]: a deployment mechanism 208 is operable with deployment button 204, housing body 2020 and sensor housing 206 where at least a part of the operating portion (button 204) moves from a deactivated position (Fig. 10) to an activated position (Fig. 11) operating/moving the insertion unit); and a backstop portion configured to lock at least the part of the operating portion in the activated position so as to prevent at least the part of the operating portion from returning from the activated position to the deactivated position (e.g., paragraph [0133]: first catch surface 210 engages a corresponding locking catch 214 when a user presses deployment button 204 into housing body 202 from a ready position (shown in Fig. 10) to an activated position (shown in Fig. 11); Figs. 10-11, backstop portion 210) wherein the insertion unit is configured to move toward the skin of the user after the operating portion is located in the activated position; and wherein the operating portion is configured to be movable in a direction intersecting the movement direction of the insertion unit (see Figs. 10-12 and explanation in the Response to the Remarks section above).
With respect to claim 2, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the backstop portion comprises a backstop detent provided at one of the applicator body and the operating portion (e.g., paragraph [0133]: backstop detent 210 provided at the applicator body 202), and a backstop member provided at an other one of the applicator body and the operating portion so as to be engaged with the backstop detent after the operating portion moves to the activation position (e.g., paragraph [0133]: backstop member 214 provided at the operating portion 204).
As to claim 3, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 2, wherein the backstop member comprises a backstop member body provided to be elastically deformable at the other one of the applicator body and the operating portion (e.g., paragraph [0133]: resilient locking catch 214 on deployment button 204 has a resilient length as shown in Figs. 10-11), and a backstop member snap provided at one side of the backstop member body so as to be engaged with the backstop detent (e.g., paragraph [0133] and Figs. 10-11 – the distal end of the locking catch 214 moves outward or snaps to engage the catch surface 210 when moved into the inserted position shown in Fig. 11).
With respect to claim 4, Peterson disclose the applicator according to claim 3, wherein the one of the applicator body and the operating portion is provided with an
accommodation groove in which at least a portion of the backstop member snap is accommodated when the operating portion is located in the deactivated position (e.g., paragraphs [0030] and [0181]: deployment button 204 is in a ready (deactivated) position where the resilient locking catch 214/ backstop member snap is tensioned inwardly into wall 218 of the applicator body 202 into an accommodation groove – see inset of Fig. 52A).
As to claim 5, as best understood, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the operating portion is configured to be movable in a direction that passes or lies/intersects with a direction of movement of the insertion portion by the insertion unit (e.g., Figs. 10-11).
With respect to claim 6, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, wherein the insertion unit (e.g., Fig. 10, 208) includes a shuttle (e.g., Fig. 10, 231, 234) to which the insertion portion is capable of being detached and coupled, and movably installed at the applicator body to move the insertion portion from a first position where the insertion portion is away from the skin of the user to a second position where the insertion portion is inserted into the skin of the user (e.g., paragraphs [0133]-[0134]: deployment mechanism 208 is slidably received in a cavity of deployment button 204 and includes a needle/sharp carrier with a needle carrier catch 235), and a forward elastic member configured to provide a moving force to the shuttle to move the shuttle to the second position (e.g., paragraph [0133]: one or more springs 216 disposed between deployment button and housing button 202 bias deployment button 204 toward the first or ready position as shown in Fig. 10 – where a force applied by a user moves the shuttle to the activated position), and wherein the operating portion includes a button portion exposed to an outside of the applicator body (e.g., Fig. 10, deployment button 204); and a stopper portion configured to be movable from the deactivated position to the activated position by the button portion (e.g., Figs. 10-11, 235), be engageable with the shuttle in the deactivated position to prevent the shuttle from moving from the first position (e.g., paragraph [0134]), and be disengageable from the shuttle in the activated position to allow the shuttle to move to the second position (e.g., paragraph [0134]: when the user presses deployment button 204, needle carrier catch 235 is released from button catch surface 240 by carrier release surface 203 of housing body 202 and deployment spring 232 – the catch disengages the shuttle so that the shuttle can move to the activated position), and wherein the backstop portion is configured to lock the stopper portion in the activated position (e.g., paragraph [0133]: first catch surface 210 engages a corresponding locking catch 214 when a user presses deployment button 204 into housing body 202 from a ready position (shown in Fig. 10) to an inserted position (shown in Fig. 11); Figs. 10-11, backstop portion 210, 214).
As to claim 8, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, comprising: a locking hook tiltably coupled to the applicator body to be engaged with a base unit to detachably couple the base unit to the applicator body for the insertion portion to be coupled (e.g., paragraphs [0135]-[0136]: deployment body catch 238 is tiltably coupled to the application body 202 via base catch surface 242 when the deployment button is pushed into the inserted position and can be released to retract the inserted position), wherein the operating portion is configured to restrain movement of the locking hook so that the locking hook is not tilted when at least the part of the operating portion is located in the deactivated position, and release restraint from the locking hook when at least the part of the operating portion is located in the activated position (see Figs. 11-12).
With respect to claim 9, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 8, wherein the operating portion includes: a button portion exposed to an outside of the applicator body (e.g., Fig. 10, deployment button 204); a stopper portion configured to move in a direction of intersecting a moving direction of the insertion portion by the button portion (e.g., Figs. 10-11, 235 where the intersecting motion goes from the dashed lines to the solid lines of Fig. 11); and a stopper protrusion extending from the stopper portion toward the locking hook to contact one side of the locking hook and restrain the movement of the locking hook (the angled end of carrier catch 235).
As to claim 10, Peterson discloses the applicator according to claim 1, comprising: a locking body installed at the applicator body to be engaged with at least the part of the operating portion or disengaged from at least the part of the operating portion (e.g., paragraph [0143]: housing body 202 for engagement with deployment button 204 [part of the operating portion] includes a resilient tab that engages sensor housing 206’ via a locking body 206b); and a moving tab linearly movably coupled to the applicator body to move from a locking position, where at least a portion of the moving tab is located inside the applicator body, to a removal position, where at least the portion of the moving tab is drawn outward from the locking body, and wherein the moving tab contacts the locking body at the locking position to deflect the locking body to be engaged with at least the part of the operating portion, and wherein the locking body is disengaged from the operating portion when the moving tab moves to the removal position (e.g., paragraphs [0143]: moving tab 205’ is engages/contacts with locking body 206b where at least a portion of the moving tab is located inside the application body 202 and the moving tab disengages from the operating portion sensor housing 206 at locking body 206b for removal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE M VOORHEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792