DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all elements (numbers) in figures 1-6 should be labeled with descriptive legends (text labels). A drawing with full descriptive text labels will aid in the understanding of the invention and assist a reader to determine whether to further consult the whole text to figure out the invention. It is very helpful for Examiners to perform prior art searches in database with the current application as a searched result (see MPEP 608.02 (V). Drawing Standards section (o) “Legends. Suitable descriptive legends may be used subject to approval by the Office, or may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing. They should contain as few words as possible"). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ding (US 20220191765 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses a method for requesting and/or transmitting a user equipment route selection policy information when operating a user equipment connected to a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a core network comprising a policy and charging function, wherein the policy and charging function is configured to transmit user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, wherein, in order to request and/or to transmit a-user equipment route selection policy information in case of a change of the connection conditions and/or of the operation situation of the user equipment and detected or determined by the user equipment, the method comprises the following steps: in a first step, the user equipment transmits a user equipment route selection policy update request message to the telecommunications network, and in a second step, user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the user equipment route selection policy update request message is received by the user equipment (paragraph [0280]; the request message is the policy update request, the response message is a policy association update response. The policy association update response may carry the URSP generated. When the UE newly adds an allowed APP ID, if the UE provides an APP ID for a network side, after the PCF decides to obtain a URSP corresponding to the APP ID, the PCF may directly send the generated URSP to the UE in the response message) (paragraph [0262]; in the request message, the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP (operation situation of the UE)).
Regarding claim 2, Ding further suggests wherein the user equipment route selection policy information corresponding to the user equipment route selection policy update request message corresponds to setting and/or removing a user equipment route selection policy regarding the user equipment, wherein in case of setting such a user equipment route selection policy regarding the user equipment, the corresponding user equipment route selection policy information is generated by a user equipment route selection policy generation function as part of or accessible by the telecommunications network (paragraphs [0262] [0268-0270]; the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP. The user policy information may further include an allowed APP ID previously reported by the UE. The PCF decides to generate a URSP); and wherein the corresponding user equipment route selection policy information is generated by the user equipment route selection policy generation function in a manner dependent on the change of the connection conditions and/or of the operation situation of the user equipment and/or such that the user equipment route selection policy information fits to the current operation situation of the user equipment (paragraph [0134]; whether to update URSP is a result of a handover (UE location)) (paragraphs [0266-0267]; policy update request is due to allowed APP (newly installed APP)).
Regarding claim 3, Ding further suggests wherein the user equipment route selection policy update request message corresponds to a control plane message; wherein via the user equipment route selection policy update request message, the user equipment notifies the telecommunications network that a change of the connection conditions and/or of the operation situation occurred (paragraph [0121]; user selection policy update request is communicated with the PCF) (paragraphs [0262] [0268-0270]; the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP); wherein the user equipment route selection policy update request message comprises an indication or an information relating to at least one of the following: a reason or at least one reason for the user equipment route selection policy update request message, a parameter or at least one parameter for the user equipment route selection policy update request message, a change of the telecommunications network the user equipment is attached to, a change of an access mode configuration information of the user equipment, the access mode configuration information relating to a configuration or an operational mode of the user equipment to be allowed to access either a predefined first set of telecommunications networks or a predefined second set of telecommunications networks, or a change related to the use or functionality of a software client application executed by or of the user equipment (20), especially corresponding to an application-triggered user equipment route selection policy update request message (paragraph [0262]; the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP) or (paragraph [0134]; whether to update URSP is a result of a handover (change of UE location and/or access mode)) or (paragraph [0281]; change in UE configuration (update)).
Regarding claim 4, Ding further suggests wherein, in a third step subsequent to the first step and prior to the second step, the telecommunications network requests the user equipment to provide the currently used user equipment route selection policy information (paragraph [0037]; PSI, a banned URSP identifier, or an allowed application identifier. The policy control network element requests to obtain a first URSP of the terminal device), and the user equipment provides the currently used user equipment route selection policy information (paragraph [0210]; the UE may further send a current URSP in the UE to the PCF, for example, may send the URSP in a PSI form).
Regarding claim 5, Ding further suggests wherein, in case of an application-triggered user equipment route selection policy update request message, the application-triggered user equipment route selection policy update request message comprises at least one application-related parameter, and wherein, in a fourth step subsequent to the first step and prior to the third step, the telecommunications network requests an application server entity to provide at least one further application-related parameter, and the application server entity provides the at least one further application-related parameter; and wherein, in a fifth step subsequent to the third step and prior to the second step, the telecommunications network generates the user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the application-triggered user equipment route selection policy update request message (paragraph [0121]; user selection policy update request is communicated with the PCF) (paragraphs [0262] [0268-0270]; the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP (new APP triggers the update request)) (paragraph [0280]; When the UE newly adds an allowed APP ID, if the UE provides an APP ID for a network side, after the PCF decides to obtain a URSP corresponding to the APP ID, the PCF may directly send the generated URSP to the UE in the response message) (paragraph [0263]; the request message carries a UE policy container, where the UE policy container includes the list of stored PSIs, and includes the allowed APP ID. The UE policy container further includes an OS ID (parameter), and an indication of UE support for ANDSP (parameter)).
Regarding claim 6, Ding further suggests wherein the user equipment route selection policy information corresponding to the user equipment route selection policy update request message comprises a corresponding access mode-related validity element, wherein the corresponding user equipment route selection policy information comprises - besides a precedence value, a traffic descriptor and at least one route selection descriptor - the corresponding access mode-related validity element; and/or wherein the corresponding user equipment route selection policy information comprises the corresponding access mode-related validity element as part of at least one route selection descriptor (paragraph [0115]; URSP includes traffic description information (Traffic descriptor) and a list of pieces of route selection description information (List of Route Selection Descriptors). The traffic description information includes, for example, an operating system identifier (OS ID), an application identifier (APP ID or allowed (valid) APP ID), an IP triplet, and domain description information. The route selection description information includes S-NSSAI, a DNN, an SSC mode).
Regarding claim 7, Ding further suggests wherein the user equipment route selection policy information corresponding to the user equipment route selection policy update request message comprises at least one user equipment route selection policy rule, wherein the corresponding access mode-related validity element is part of the user equipment route selection policy rule (paragraph [0219]; The APP ID herein may be in a form of traffic description information, or may be in a form of a URSP rule ID (banned APP ID is considered invalid and allowed APP ID is considered valid)).
Regarding claim 12, Ding discloses an apparatus for requesting and/or transmitting user equipment route selection policy information when operating a user equipment connected to a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a core network comprising a policy and charging function, wherein the policy and charging function is configured to transmit user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, wherein the apparatus comprises a processor and a memory having processor- executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of the following: in a first step, the user equipment transmits a user equipment route selection policy update request message to the telecommunications network; and in a second step, user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the user equipment route selection policy update request message is received by the user equipment (paragraph [0280]; the request message is the policy update request, the response message is a policy association update response. The policy association update response may carry the URSP generated. When the UE newly adds an allowed APP ID, if the UE provides an APP ID for a network side, after the PCF decides to obtain a URSP corresponding to the APP ID, the PCF may directly send the generated URSP to the UE in the response message) (paragraph [0262]; in the request message, the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP (operation situation of the UE)).
Regarding claim 13, Ding discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor- executable instructions stored thereon for requesting and/or transmitting user equipment route selection policy information when operating a user equipment connected to a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a core network comprising a policy and charging function, wherein the policy and charging function is configured to transmit user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed, facilitate performance of the following: in a first step, the user equipment transmits a user equipment route selection policy update request message to the telecommunications network; and in a second step, user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the user equipment route selection policy update request message is received by the user equipment (paragraph [0280]; the request message is the policy update request, the response message is a policy association update response. The policy association update response may carry the URSP generated. When the UE newly adds an allowed APP ID, if the UE provides an APP ID for a network side, after the PCF decides to obtain a URSP corresponding to the APP ID, the PCF may directly send the generated URSP to the UE in the response message) (paragraph [0262]; in the request message, the UE carries a PSI list (List of stored PSIs) to notify the PCF of a locally stored user policy list, and further carries the newly added allowed APP ID of the UE, where an allowed APP may be a newly installed APP (operation situation of the UE)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20210385724 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. disclose a method for requesting and/or transmitting a user equipment route selection policy information when operating a user equipment connected to a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a core network comprising a policy and charging function, wherein the policy and charging function is configured to transmit user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, wherein, in order to request and/or to transmit a-user equipment route selection policy information in case of a change of the connection conditions and/or of the operation situation of the user equipment and detected or determined by the user equipment, the method comprises the following steps: in a first step, the user equipment transmits a user equipment route selection policy update request message to the telecommunications network, and in a second step, user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the user equipment route selection policy update request message is received by the user equipment (paragraph [0039]; user device may send the route selection policy request if a new application or service is installed on the user device. The route selection policy request may seek to obtain the URSP rule for the new application or service. The user device may determine whether the user device 101 stores URSP rule(s) for application(s) and/or service(s) installed on the user device, and/or send the route selection policy request for the URSP rule(s) not stored on the user device at various times, such as when the user device detects that it has moved from one location to another location, when the user device receives messages indicating certain URSP rule(s) from the PCF, when the user device receives messages indicating policy updates from the PCF, when the user device performs a handover based on service changes or network changes, and/or when other events happen).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. disclose an apparatus for requesting and/or transmitting user equipment route selection policy information when operating a user equipment connected to a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a core network comprising a policy and charging function, wherein the policy and charging function is configured to transmit user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, wherein the apparatus comprises a processor and a memory having processor- executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of the following: in a first step, the user equipment transmits a user equipment route selection policy update request message to the telecommunications network; and in a second step, user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the user equipment route selection policy update request message is received by the user equipment (paragraph [0039]; user device may send the route selection policy request if a new application or service is installed on the user device. The route selection policy request may seek to obtain the URSP rule for the new application or service. The user device may determine whether the user device 101 stores URSP rule(s) for application(s) and/or service(s) installed on the user device, and/or send the route selection policy request for the URSP rule(s) not stored on the user device at various times, such as when the user device detects that it has moved from one location to another location, when the user device receives messages indicating certain URSP rule(s) from the PCF, when the user device receives messages indicating policy updates from the PCF, when the user device performs a handover based on service changes or network changes, and/or when other events happen).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor- executable instructions stored thereon for requesting and/or transmitting user equipment route selection policy information when operating a user equipment connected to a telecommunications network, wherein the telecommunications network comprises a core network comprising a policy and charging function, wherein the policy and charging function is configured to transmit user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed, facilitate performance of the following: in a first step, the user equipment transmits a user equipment route selection policy update request message to the telecommunications network; and in a second step, user equipment route selection policy information that corresponds to the user equipment route selection policy update request message is received by the user equipment (paragraph [0039]; user device may send the route selection policy request if a new application or service is installed on the user device. The route selection policy request may seek to obtain the URSP rule for the new application or service. The user device may determine whether the user device 101 stores URSP rule(s) for application(s) and/or service(s) installed on the user device, and/or send the route selection policy request for the URSP rule(s) not stored on the user device at various times, such as when the user device detects that it has moved from one location to another location, when the user device receives messages indicating certain URSP rule(s) from the PCF, when the user device receives messages indicating policy updates from the PCF, when the user device performs a handover based on service changes or network changes, and/or when other events happen).
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476