DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an output generator configured to generate in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. (Publication: US 2020/0237452 A1) in view of Barral, et al. (Publication: US 2019/0069957 A1), Saliou (Publication: US 2019/0073564 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wolf discloses a computer-implemented method comprising ([0156], [0314] - system 1401 may include computer-implemented methods, tangible non-transitory computer-readable mediums, and systems by at least one processor that receives instructions from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the instructions to perform the methods below: ):
a plurality of structures in a video of a laparoscopic surgical procedure ([0167] - data structures may comprise a table including video footage and video footage pertaining to different surgical procedures. video footage may include footage of a laparoscopic cholecystectomy, surgical procedure.
[0525] - The anatomical region may include cavities (e.g., a surgical cavity), organs, tissues, ducts, arteries, cells, or any other anatomical structures and together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video.);
identifying, using a second configuration of the neural network, from the plurality of structures, a first type of anatomical structure and a second type of anatomical structure ([0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery, first type and second type.
[0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, or the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage” a second configuration of the neural network”.); and
the generating comprising annotating the video with the first type of anatomical structure and the second type of anatomical structure ([0525] An anatomical region may be any region that generates anatomical structures of a living organism together with a label, generate, indicating an anatomical region within the video “annotating”. The anatomical region may include cavities (e.g., a surgical cavity), organs, tissues, ducts, arteries, cells, or any other anatomical structures “first type, second type” and together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video. ).
Wolf does not however Barral discloses
detecting, using a first configuration of a neural network ([0038] - Block 305 describes identifying anatomical features in the video using a machine learning algorithm stored in a memory in the processing apparatus. The specific anatomical features may be identified using at least one of a deep learning “detecting”. The machine learning algorithm may be trained with anatomical maps of the human body, other surgical videos, images of anatomy, and use these different inputs to change the state of artificial neurons. Thus, the deep learning model will produce a different output based on one of the inputs and activation of the artificial neurons, ““one of the inputs = first configuration, deep learning focuses on neural networks as stated in Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deep_learning”. ),
generating an augmented video comprises the structures ([0032], [0034], Fig. 2 – generated the augmented video shown on display 209 with different anatomical features.
)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf with detecting, using a first configuration of a neural network, generating an augmented video comprises the structures as taught by Barral. The motivation for doing is to reduce the amount of time in the operating room.
Wolf in view of Barral do not however Saliou discloses
Identifying, using a second configuration of the neural network, from the structures as detected using the first configuration of the neural network, using a second configuration of the neural network, data (
[0058] At action 708, the method includes using sub-sequences of video frames produced for each of the at least some of the identified target objects and their corresponding propagated bounding box annotations as ground truth data for further training the initialized convolutional neural network-based object detector, “Identifying, using a second configuration of the neural network”.
[0057] At action 706, the method includes feeding, as input to a trained convolutional neural network-based object tracker, the real-world video sequences with the target objects identified by the bounding box annotations to track at least some of the identified target objects in the first set between successive video frames of the real-world video sequences by propagating the bounding box annotations across the successive video frames. This produces for each of the at least some of the identified target objects, a sub-sequence of video frames that tracks a corresponding identified target object using propagated bounding box annotations, “from the structures as detected using the first configuration of the neural network”.) ; and
annotating the video with the data as identified using the second configuration of the neural network ([0060] After action 706, then at action 712, “the second configuration of the neural network” the method includes applying the trained convolutional neural network-based object tracker to the real-world video sequences to generate sub-sequences of video frames for at least some of the identified target objects in the second set along with their corresponding propagated bounding box annotations.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral with Identifying, using a second configuration of the neural network, from the structures as detected using the first configuration of the neural network, using a second configuration of the neural network, data; and annotating the video with the data as identified using the second configuration of the neural network as taught by Saliou . The motivation for doing is to have real-world data to improve the quality of the outcome of the service.
Regarding claim 2, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf discloses wherein the surgical procedure is a laparoscopic cholecystectomy, the first type of anatomical structure is a cystic artery, and the second type of anatomical structure is a cystic duct ([0154] – the surgical phase is laparoscopic cholecystectomy.
[0475], [0483] - the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery, types.).
Regarding claim 4, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Wolf discloses using one or more temporal models to provide context to the frame ([0116] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples, each training example may include video footage known to be associated with surgical procedures, surgical phases, intraoperative events, and event characteristics, together with labels indicating locations within the video footage. Using the trained machine learning model, similar phases and events may be identified in other video footage for the determining marker locations. ”Temporal model” is time dependent data in this case label indicating location within the video footage, time dependent.).
Regarding claim 5, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf discloses wherein the neural network is trained to generate the second configuration based on weak labels ([0205], [0279] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to identify condition of anatomical structures from images and/or videos, the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the first set of frames to identify a first condition of a first anatomical structure and/or to analyze the second set of frames to identify a second condition of a second anatomical structure (while may be the same as the first anatomical structure or a different anatomical structure), and the first surgical complexity level may be determined based on the identified first condition may be determined. [0893] determining that the first surgical complexity level is less than a selected threshold, “weak label”. machine learning model may be trained using training examples to analyze the video based on the complexity level is less than a selected threshold. ).
Regarding claim 6, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf discloses wherein the video is a live video of the surgical procedure ([0021] - the received video footage may be analyzed using the image-related data to determine, in real time.).
Barral discloses video is a live video stream ([0026] -The processing apparatus may then output the annotated video to the display in real time. [0033] - Processing apparatus 207 has recognized the spleen in the incision and has accentuated (bolded its outline either in black and white or color) the spleen in the annotated video stream.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with video is a live video stream as taught by Barral. The motivation for doing is to reduce the amount of time in the operating room.
Regarding claim 7, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf discloses wherein the first type of anatomical structure is annotated differently than the second type of anatomical structure ([0525] An anatomical region may be any region that includes anatomical structures of a living organism together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video. The anatomical region may include cavities (e.g., a surgical cavity), organs, tissues, ducts, arteries, cells, or any other anatomical structures and together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video.
[0475], [0483] - the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery, types. Cystic duct and the cystic artery are different.).
Regarding claim 9, Wolf discloses a system comprising: a training system configured to use a training dataset to train one or more machine learning models ( [0156], [0314] - system 1401 may include computer-implemented methods, tangible non-transitory computer-readable mediums, and systems by at least one processor that receives instructions from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the instructions, the machine learning model is trained using training examples to identify the data “training dataset”. [0167] including video footage and video footage pertaining to different surgical procedures and may include footage of a laparoscopic cholecystectomy, surgical procedure.);
a data collection system configured to capture a video of a surgical procedure being performed ([0021] - the system receives video footage of a surgical procedure performed by a surgeon on a patient in an operating room and accessing at least one data structure including image-related data characterizing surgical procedures “data collection” .);
a machine learning model execution system configured to execute the one or more machine learning models to perform a method comprising ([0486] – the system processes a machine learning model trained by training examples to analyze the image data and the following:) :
identifying, from the plurality of structures, at least one type of anatomical structure by using a second configuration of the one or more machine learning models ([0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage, and detect the interaction between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure. [0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery.); and
configured to generate a video by annotating the video to mark the at least one type of anatomical structure ([0525] An anatomical region may be any region that generates anatomical structures of a living organism together with a label, generate, indicating an anatomical region within the video “annotating”. The anatomical region may include cavities (e.g., a surgical cavity), organs, tissues, ducts, arteries, cells, or any other anatomical structures and together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video.).
Wolf does not however Barral discloses
detecting a plurality of structures in the video by using a first configuration of the one or more machine learning models ([0038] - Block 305 describes identifying anatomical features in the video using a machine learning algorithm stored in a memory in the processing apparatus. The specific anatomical features may be identified using at least one of a deep learning “detecting”. The machine learning algorithm may be trained with anatomical maps of the human body, other surgical videos, images of anatomy, and use these different inputs to change the state of artificial neurons. Thus, the deep learning model will produce a different output based on one of the inputs and activation of the artificial neurons, the first input is the “first configuration“. “one of the inputs = first configuration, deep learning focuses on neural networks as stated in Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deep_learning”.) ; and
an output generator configured to generate an augmented video ([0032], [0034], Fig. 2 – graphics processing unit generates the augmented video shown on display 209 with different anatomical features.
)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf with detecting, using a first configuration of a neural network, generating an augmented video comprises the structures as taught by Barral. The motivation for doing is to reduce the amount of time in the operating room.
Wolf in view of Barral do not however Saliou discloses
Identifying, from the structures as detected by using the first configuration of the machine learning models, by using a second configuration of the machine learning models (
[0058] At action 708, the method includes using sub-sequences of video frames produced for each of the at least some of the identified target objects and their corresponding propagated bounding box annotations as ground truth data for further training the initialized convolutional neural network-based object detector, “Identifying, by using a second configuration of the machine learning models”.
[0057] At action 706, the method includes feeding, as input to a trained convolutional neural network-based object tracker, the real-world video sequences with the target objects identified by the bounding box annotations to track at least some of the identified target objects in the first set between successive video frames of the real-world video sequences by propagating the bounding box annotations across the successive video frames. This produces for each of the at least some of the identified target objects, a sub-sequence of video frames that tracks a corresponding identified target object using propagated bounding box annotations, “Identifying, from the structures as detected by using the first configuration of the machine learning models”.); and
annotating the video with the data as identified using the second configuration of the one or more machine learning models ([0060] After action 706, then at action 712, “the second configuration of the one or more machine learning models” the method includes applying the trained convolutional neural network-based object tracker to the real-world video sequences to generate sub-sequences of video frames for at least some of the identified target objects in the second set along with their corresponding propagated bounding box annotations.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral with Identifying, from the structures as detected by using the first configuration of the machine learning models, by using a second configuration of the machine learning models; and
annotating the video with the data as identified using the second configuration of the one or more machine learning models as taught by Saliou . The motivation for doing is to have real-world data to improve the quality of the outcome of the service.
Regarding claim 10, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Wolf discloses a second machine learning model is trained to identify the at least one type of anatomical structure from the plurality of structures ([0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage,” a second configuration of the neural network” , and detect the interaction between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure. [0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery.).
Barral discloses wherein a first machine learning model is trained to detect the plurality of structures ([0038] - Block 305 describes identifying anatomical features in the video using a machine learning algorithm stored in a memory in the processing apparatus. The specific anatomical features may be identified using at least one of a deep learning “detecting”.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with wherein a first machine learning model is trained to detect the plurality of structures as taught by Barral. The motivation for doing is to reduce the amount of time in the operating room.
Regarding claim 11, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Wolf discloses wherein a same machine learning model is used to detect the plurality of structures and to identify the at least one type of anatomical structure from the plurality of structures ([0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage,” a second configuration of the neural network” , and detect the interaction between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure, all the interactions where from the same machine learning model. [0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery.).
Regarding claim 13, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 9.
Wolf discloses wherein the training system is further configured to train a third machine learning model to identify at least one surgical instrument from the plurality of structures ([0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage, and detect the interaction between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure” a third configuration of the neural network”.).
Regarding claim 14, Wolf discloses a computer program product comprising a memory device having computer executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform a method for prediction of features in surgical data using machine learning, the method comprising ([0156], [0314] - system 1401 may include computer-implemented methods, tangible non-transitory computer-readable mediums, and systems by at least one processor that receives instructions from a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the instructions, the machine learning model is trained using training examples to identify the data structure. [0167] data structure may comprise a table including video footage and video footage pertaining to different surgical procedures, include footage of a laparoscopic cholecystectomy.) :
detecting, using a neural network model, a plurality of structures comprising one or more images from a video of a surgical procedure, the neural network model is trained using surgical training data ([0257] - identifying the anatomical structure in a first set of frames includes using a machine learning model trained to detect anatomical structures. Videos along with identifications of anatomical structures “plurality of structures” known to be depicted in videos may be input into a machine learning model as training data. As a result, the trained model may be used to analyze the surgical video footage to identify in the first set of frames, an anatomical structure.
[0268] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples “surgical training data” of a surgical procedure to detect or anatomical structures from images video.) .
identifying, using the neural network model, at least one type of anatomical structure in the plurality of structures detected ([0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery. [0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage, and detect the interaction between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure.); and
generating a visualization of the surgical procedure by displaying a graphical overlay in the video of the surgical procedure ([0006] Accessing at least one video of a surgical procedure and causing the at least one video to be output for display. Generating, overlaying, on the at least one video outputted for display, a surgical timeline on a surgical procedure. The surgical timeline may include markers identifying at least one of a surgical phase, an intraoperative surgical event, and a decision making junction.).
displaying a graphical overlay at a location of the at least one type of data in the video of the surgical procedure ([0006] Accessing at least one video of a surgical procedure and causing the at least one video to be output for display. Generating, overlaying, on the at least one video outputted for display, a location on the surgical timeline on a surgical procedure. The surgical timeline may include markers identifying at least one of a surgical phase, an intraoperative surgical event, and a decision making junction.) .
Wolf does not however Barral discloses
detecting a plurality of structures in an input window ([0015] - recognized anatomical features could be circled by a dashed or continuous line, or the annotation could be directly superimposed on the structures. A user interface (e.g., keyboard, mouse, microphone, etc.) could be provided to the surgeon to input additional annotations, “ detecting, input window” .
[0020] When there is an anatomical area that does not make sense because it is too large, too diseased, or too damaged for the device to verify its identity, the model could alert the surgeon. The alert can be a mark on the user interface, “ detecting, input window”.).
displaying a graphical overlay at least one type of anatomical structure ([0015] Recognized anatomical features, the annotation could be directly superimposed “display with overlay” on the structures , the annotations could be available in a caption, or a bounding box could follow the anatomical features, type.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf with detecting a plurality of structures in an input window, displaying a graphical overlay at least one type of anatomical structure as taught by Barral. The motivation for doing is to reduce the amount of time in the operating room.
Wolf in view of Barral do not however Saliou discloses
Identifying, structure , data using the neural model ([0058] At action 708, the method includes using sub-sequences of video frames produced for each of the at least some of the identified target objects and their corresponding propagated bounding box annotations as ground truth data for further training the initialized convolutional neural network-based object detector.
[0057] At action 706, the method includes feeding, as input to a trained convolutional neural network-based object tracker, the real-world video sequences with the target objects identified by the bounding box annotations to track at least some of the identified target objects in the first set between successive video frames of the real-world video sequences by propagating the bounding box annotations across the successive video frames. This produces for each of the at least some of the identified target objects, a sub-sequence of video frames that tracks a corresponding identified target object using propagated bounding box annotations, “Identifying, data using the neural model”.) ; and
generating in the video as identified using the neural network model ([0060] After action 706, then at action 712, the method includes applying the trained convolutional neural network-based object tracker to the real-world video sequences to generate sub-sequences of video frames for at least some of the identified target objects in the second set along with their corresponding propagated bounding box annotations.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral with Identifying, structure , data using the neural model; generating in the video as identified using the neural network model as taught by Saliou . The motivation for doing is to have real-world data to improve the quality of the outcome of the service.
Regarding claim 15, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 14.
Wolf discloses wherein the neural network model detects the location of the at least one type of anatomical structure based on an identification of a phase of the surgical procedure being performed ([0189] - At step 814, in FIG. 8B, process 800 may include storing an event characteristic associated with the particular intraoperative surgical event, ”phase”. the event characteristic may include information related to an anatomical structure involved in the event (such as type of the anatomical structure, condition of the anatomical structure, change occurred to the anatomical structure in relation to the event, etc.), a machine learning model may be trained using training example to identify such information related to anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage and determine the information related to the anatomical structure involved in the event.).
Regarding claim 16, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 14.
Wolf discloses wherein one or more visual attributes of the graphical overlay are configured based on the at least one type of data ([0006] – include overlaying, on the at least one video outputted for display, a surgical timeline. The surgical timeline may include markers identifying at least one of a surgical phase, an intraoperative surgical event, and a decision making junction. The surgical timeline may enable a surgeon, while viewing playback of the at least one video to select one or more markers on the surgical timeline, and thereby cause a display of the video to skip to a location associated with the selected marker.) .
Barral discloses configured based on the at least one type of anatomical structure ([0013] The instant disclosure trains a machine learning model (e.g., a deep learning model) to recognize specific anatomical structures within surgical videos, and highlight these structures. For example, in cholecystectomy (removal of gallbladder), the systems disclosed here trains a model on frames extracted from laparoscopic videos (which may, or may not, be robotically assisted) where structures of interest (liver, gallbladder, omentum, etc.) have been highlighted. Once image classification has been learned by the algorithm, the device may use a sliding window approach to find the relevant structures in videos and highlight them, for example by delineating them with a bounding box.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with configured based on the at least one type of anatomical structure as taught by Barral. The motivation for doing is to reduce the amount of time in the operating room.
Regarding claim 17, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 16.
Wolf discloses wherein the one or more visual attributes assigned to the at least one type of anatomical structure are user configurable ([0165] - the video footage may include a representation of one or more anatomical structures of a patient and an event characteristic identifying the anatomical structures may be determined based on detecting the anatomical structure in the video footage. a user may input the event characteristic to be stored via a user interface ” user configurable”. [0162] - training example may include a video clip together with a label indicating a location of a particular event within the video clip, or an absence of such event.).
Regarding claim 19, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 14.
Wolf discloses comprises a first neural network for semantic image segmentation ([0080] - a trained machine learning algorithm may include an image segmentation model, the input may include an image, and the inferred output may include a segmentation of the image.) and a second neural network for encoding ([0159] - Generating the phase tag may also include using a trained machine learning model or a neural network model (such as deep neural network, convolutional neural networks, etc.), which may be trained to associate one or more video frames with one or more phase tags. generating a phase tag associated with the surgical phase may include generating a tag including binary encoding of a surgical phase identifier.).
Regarding claim 20, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 14.
Wolf discloses wherein the plurality of structures comprises one or more anatomical structures and one or more surgical instruments ([0115] - visual action recognition algorithms may be used to analyze the video and detect the interactions between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure.
Fig. 3 – surgical instrument.).
Claims 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. (Publication: US 2020/0237452 A1) in view of Barral, et al. (Publication: US 2019/0069957 A1), Saliou (Publication: US 2019/0073564 A1) and Weinzaepfel et al. (Publication: US 2020/0364509 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf discloses wherein an anatomical structure, from the plurality of structures, [[occludes]] at least one other anatomical structure from the plurality of structures in a frame of the video ([0205] - a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to detect interactions between medical instruments and anatomical structures from videos, and the trained machine learning model may be used to analyze the video footage, and detect the interaction between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure. [0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery.).
Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou do not however Weinzaepfel discloses
occludes at least one other structure ([0036] In the description below, an object-of-interest is a discriminative area within a three-dimensional map which can be reliably detected from multiple viewpoints, partly occluded, and under various lighting conditions.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with occludes at least one other structure as taught by Weinzaepfel. The motivation for doing is to accurately regress the three-dimensinal coordinate to provide vivid scenarios.
Regarding claim 8, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf wherein the annotating comprises adding, to the video, at least one from [[a mask, a bounding box, and a label]] ([0525] An anatomical region may be any region that includes anatomical structures of a living organism together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video. The anatomical region may include cavities (e.g., a surgical cavity), organs, tissues, ducts, arteries, cells, or any other anatomical parts and together with a label indicating an anatomical region within the video.).
Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou do not however Weinzaepfel discloses
Perform at least one from a mask, a bounding box, and a label ([0177] A method, using a data processor, for training a neural network for determining, from a query image generated from a camera pose, localization of the camera pose in a predetermined environment, comprises (a) accessing a first frame of training data with two-dimensional pixels having an object-of-interest identified by a bounding box of a manual mask and a class label.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with Perform at least one from a mask, a bounding box, and a label as taught by Weinzaepfel. The motivation for doing is to accurately regress the three-dimensinal coordinate to provide vivid scenarios.
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al. (Publication: US 2020/0237452 A1) in view of Barral, et al. (Publication: US 2019/0069957 A1), Saliou (Publication: US 2019/0073564 A1) and Feinman et al. (Patent: US 10,572,823 B1)
Regarding claim 12, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Wolf discloses to detect the plurality of structures, ([0115] - visual action recognition algorithms may be used to analyze the video and detect the interactions between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure.) and to identify the at least one type of anatomical structure ([0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery, type) .
Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou do not however Feinman discloses
Feinman discloses to detect, which comprises a first set of hyperparameter values, and to identify, uses the second configuration, which comprises a second set of hyperparameter values (column 1 lines 55 to 65 - selecting the set of hyperparameters may include (i) identifying an objective function including a first function that rewards model efficacy and a second function that penalizes model size and (ii) selecting, from among the candidate hyperparameter sets, the set of hyperparameters that optimizes the objective function. In one embodiment, the objective function may also include a weighting term that adjusts the magnitude of at least one of the first function and the second function. Identifying =select and identify).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with Perform at least one from a mask, a bounding box, and a label as taught by Feinman. The motivation for doing is to improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou disclose all the limitations of claim 14.
Wolf discloses to detect the plurality of structures ([0115] - visual action recognition algorithms may be used to analyze the video and detect the interactions between the medical instrument and the anatomical structure.);
identify the at least one type of anatomical structure ([0475], [0483] - identify the anatomical structures include the cystic duct and the cystic artery, type).
Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou do not however Feinman discloses
Feinman discloses configured with a first set of hyperparameters to detect the data, and with a second set of hyperparameters to identif (column 1 lines 55 to 65 - selecting the set of hyperparameters may include (i) identifying an objective function including a first function that rewards model efficacy and a second function that penalizes model size and (ii) selecting, from among the candidate hyperparameter sets, the set of hyperparameters that optimizes the objective function. In one embodiment, the objective function may also include a weighting term that adjusts the magnitude of at least one of the first function and the second function. Identifying =select and identify).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wolf in view of Barral, Saliou with configured with a first set of hyperparameters to detect the data, and with a second set of hyperparameters to identif as taught by Feinman. The motivation for doing is to improve efficiencyy the at least another data.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103
In summary, the Applicant asserts that the rejections do not read on the amended claims 1, 9, and 14.
The argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Saliou reference.
Examiner suggests to amend a specific element in the claim that when reading a claim in light of the invention, it directs to a unique technology. The examiner can be reached at 571-270-0724 for further discussion.
Regarding claims 2 – 8, 10 – 13, and 15 – 20, the Applicant asserts that they are not obvious over based on their dependency from independent claims 1, 9, and 14 respectively. The examiner cannot concur with the Applicant respectfully from same reason noted in the examiner’s response to argument asserted from claims 1, 9, and 14 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ming Wu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618