DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed January 17, 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-15 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 10, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto et al. (US 20210249926 A1, hereafter referred to as Enomoto) in view of Tomizawa et al. (US 20210005346 A1, hereafter referred to as Tomizawa).
Regarding Claim 1, Enomoto discloses (see Figures 1-2, 10, and 12) a rotating electric machine (¶ [0002]: “The present disclosure relates to a coil bobbin, a stator core of a distributed winding radial gap-type rotating electric machine, and a distributed winding radial gap-type rotating electric machine.”) comprising:
a stator core (5, ¶ [0038]) having a slot (53, ¶ [0038]);
a bobbin (1, ¶ [0039]) fitted in the slot (53, ¶ [0038]), and having a through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) penetrating in an axial direction of the stator core (5, ¶ [0038]);
a coil (13, ¶ [0067]) inserted in the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]); and
a resin filled on a periphery of the coil (13, ¶ [0067]) in the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) (¶ [0047]: “A material of the coil bobbin 1 is, for example, is a highly insulating resin (polymer compound) such as a PBT resin, a PPS resin, an LCP resin, a polyamide resin, and an ABS resin or an insulator such as glass, mica, and ceramics.”).
Enomoto does not explicitly disclose a plurality of protrusions protruding from at least one of an inner periphery of the through hole and an outer periphery of the coil, and guiding a position of the coil in the through hole;
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3) a plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) protruding from at least one of an inner periphery of the through hole and an outer periphery of the coil (10, ¶ [0044]), and guiding a position of the coil (10, ¶ [0044]) in the through hole (¶ [0087]: “By such placement of the protruding part, because there is a space between the insulated wire and a core in the slot, it becomes possible to cool effectively even any part other than the coil edge.”);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto such that a plurality of protrusions are protruding from at least one of an inner periphery of the through hole and an outer periphery of the coil, and guiding a position of the coil in the through hole, as disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figure 12 above) that the coil (13, ¶ [0067]) is one set of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) having a connecting portion (13a, 13b, ¶ [0084]) within the bobbin (1, ¶ [0039]), and the resin is filled on a periphery of the connecting portion (13a, 13b, ¶ [0084]) in the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) (¶ [0047]: “A material of the coil bobbin 1 is, for example, is a highly insulating resin (polymer compound) such as a PBT resin, a PPS resin, an LCP resin, a polyamide resin, and an ABS resin or an insulator such as glass, mica, and ceramics.”).
Regarding Claim 3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Tomizawa discloses (see Figure 3 above) that the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are at least three protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions are at least three protrusions, as disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 4/3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figure 12 above) that the one set of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) is rectangular wires.
Enomoto does not disclose the plurality of protrusions are at least four protrusions, and the at least four protrusions are respectively arranged in the through hole so as to face four respective edges of the one set of coils, the edges extending in the axial direction of the stator core.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) that the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are at least four protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]), and the at least four protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are respectively arranged in the through hole (¶ [0010]: “The present invention is contemplated for providing insulated wires that have a high conductor space factor to a slot cross-sectional area and secure a desirable gap area, whereby a coil that can be efficiently cooled by a cooling liquid or gas can be realized, and that are excellent in bending workability.”) so as to face four respective edges of the one set of coils (10, ¶ [0044]), the edges extending in the axial direction of the stator core (Abstract: “An insulated wire containing a thermoplastic resin layer (A) as a covering layer directly or indirectly on a rectangular conductor, in which the insulated wire has at least one protruding part which is continuous in a longitudinal direction of said insulated wire,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions are at least four protrusions, and the at least four protrusions are respectively arranged in the through hole so as to face four respective edges of the one set of coils, the edges extending in the axial direction of the stator core, as further disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 5/3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figure 12 above) that the one set of coils 13, ¶ [0067]) is rectangular wires.
Enomoto does not disclose that the plurality of protrusions are at least four protrusions, and the at least four protrusions are respectively arranged in the through hole so as to face four respective side surfaces of the one set of coils.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) that the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are at least four protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]), and the at least four protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are respectively arranged in the through hole (¶ [0010]: “The present invention is contemplated for providing insulated wires that have a high conductor space factor to a slot cross-sectional area and secure a desirable gap area, whereby a coil that can be efficiently cooled by a cooling liquid or gas can be realized, and that are excellent in bending workability.”) so as to face four respective side surfaces of the one set of coils (10, ¶ [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions are at least four protrusions, and the at least four protrusions are respectively arranged in the through hole so as to face four respective side surfaces of the one set of coils, as further disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 6/5 or 4/3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figures 2 and 12 above) that a plurality of the sets of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) are arranged within the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) by the one set of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) being plurally arranged along a radial direction of the stator core (5, ¶ [0038]), the rotating electric machine further includes a partition plate (32, ¶ [0045]) provided between two sets of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core (5, ¶ [0038]) among the plurality of sets of coils (13, ¶ [0067]),
Enomoto does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of protrusions include at least four protrusions arranged on a periphery of each of the plurality of sets of coils.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) that the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) include at least four protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) arranged on a periphery of each of the plurality of sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions include at least four protrusions arranged on a periphery of each of the plurality of sets of coils, as further disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 7/4/3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figure 10 above) that a plurality of the sets of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) are arranged within the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) by the one set of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) being plurally arranged along a radial direction of the stator core (5, ¶ [0038]).
Enomoto does not disclose that that two protrusions among the plurality of protrusions are provided between two sets of coils adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core among the plurality of sets of coils, and the two protrusions are respectively arranged so as to face two edges adjacent to each other among four edges extending in the axial direction at opposed surfaces of the two sets of coils adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core among the plurality of sets of coils.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) that two protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) among the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are provided between two sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]) adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core among the plurality of sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]), and the two protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are respectively arranged so as to face two edges (see Figure 3, each coil has four edges) adjacent to each other among four edges extending in the axial direction at opposed surfaces of the two sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]) adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core among the plurality of sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]). (Enomoto discloses that multiple sets of coils are arranged within each through hole and separated, and Tomizawa discloses that each coil has a protrusion on every side.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that two protrusions among the plurality of protrusions are provided between two sets of coils adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core among the plurality of sets of coils, and the two protrusions are respectively arranged so as to face two edges adjacent to each other among four edges extending in the axial direction at opposed surfaces of the two sets of coils adjacent to each other in the radial direction of the stator core among the plurality of sets of coils, as further disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 9/4/3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figure 2 above) that the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) is formed by four or more flat surfaces that are continuous with each other in an inner circumferential direction of the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]).
Enomoto does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of protrusions are provided to flat surfaces each facing one of four side surfaces of the one set of coils among the four or more flat surfaces.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are provided to flat surfaces each facing one of four side surfaces of the one set of coils (10, ¶ [0044]) among the four or more flat surfaces. (Enomoto discloses through holes formed of four flat surfaces that are continuous with each other, and Tomizawa discloses a protrusion on each side of a coil).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions are provided to flat surfaces each facing one of four side surfaces of the one set of coils among the four or more flat surfaces, as further disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 11/6/5 or 4/3/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figure 2 above) that the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) is formed by four or more flat surfaces that are continuous with each other in an inner circumferential direction of the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]), and the partition plate (32, ¶ [0045]).
Enomoto does not disclose that the plurality of protrusions are provided to the four or more flat surfaces and the partition plate.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) that the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) are provided to the four or more flat surfaces and the partition plate (see Figure 3 above, Tomizawa’s protrusions are located at the center of each side of the coil, and would be provided to Enomoto’s four or more flat surfaces, including the partition plates between each coil).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions are provided to the four or more flat surfaces and the partition plate, as further disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 12/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses (see Figures 2, 10, and 12 above) that a plurality of the through holes (31, ¶ [0045]) are formed as the through hole (31, ¶ [0045]) in the bobbin (1, ¶ [0039]), a plurality of the sets of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) are inserted into the bobbin (1, ¶ [0039]) by the one set of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) being inserted into each of the plurality of through holes (31, ¶ [0045]).
Further, Enomoto discloses the connecting portions (13a, 13b, ¶ [0084]) of the plurality of sets of coils (13, ¶ [0067]) being located at a center of each through hole (31, ¶ [0045]).
Enomoto does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of protrusions protrude from respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes or respective outer peripheries of the plurality of sets of coils, and hold respective connecting portions of the plurality of sets of coils at positions separated from the respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) protrude from respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes or respective outer peripheries of the plurality of sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]), and hold respective connecting portions of the plurality of sets of coils (10, ¶ [0044]) at positions separated from the respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes (the coil of Enomoto, in combination with the protrusions of Tomizawa, would necessarily be held at a position separated from the respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes of Enomoto).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that the plurality of protrusions protrude from respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes or respective outer peripheries of the plurality of sets of coils, and hold respective connecting portions of the plurality of sets of coils at positions separated from the respective inner peripheries of the plurality of through holes, as disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 13/2/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Enomoto does not explicitly disclose that a length by which each of the plurality of protrusions protrudes toward a direction of a center of the through hole is increased from both ends of the through hole toward a direction of an inner part of the through hole.
However, Tomizawa, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3 above) that a length by which each of the plurality of protrusions (5, ¶ [0044]) protrudes toward a direction of a center of the through hole is increased from both ends of the through hole toward a direction of an inner part of the through hole (see Figure 3, all projections increase in length as they near the center of each side of the coil).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that a length by which each of the plurality of protrusions protrudes toward a direction of a center of the through hole is increased from both ends of the through hole toward a direction of an inner part of the through hole, as disclosed by Tomizawa, in order to improve resistance to vibration and stabilize the wires in a specific position (¶ [0087]: “ By such placement of the protruding parts, when stacking insulated wires, it is possible to stabilize the insulated wires to a specified position, and when mounted as a motor in a vehicle, the motor becomes resistant to vibration.”).
Regarding Claim 15/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Additionally, Enomoto discloses an industrial machine (¶ [0003]: “Improvement in efficiency is required for power sources of industrial machines and motors (rotating electric machines) used for driving automobiles.”) comprising the rotating electric machine (¶ [0018]: “FIG. 1A is a perspective view illustrating an integral stator core of a radial gap-type rotating electric machine;”) according to claim 1.
Claims 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto in view of Tomizawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bansal et al. (US 4994700 A, hereafter referred to as Bansal).
Regarding Claim 14/1, Enomoto in view of Tomizawa has been discussed above.
Enomoto in view of Tomizawa does not disclose that an edge of an opening of the through hole is chamfered.
However, Bansal, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) an edge (36, C4L19) of an opening of the through hole (20, C3L39) is chamfered.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating electric machine disclosed by Enomoto in view of Tomizawa such that an edge of an opening of the through hole is chamfered, as disclosed by Bansal, in order to secure the conductors in the slot against vibration (C4L12-17: “In order to secure the conductors 30 against external vibration forces, such as machine vibration due to imbalance in rotation or lack of symmetry, and internal vibration forces, due to opposite magnetic fields in each conductor, elastic means are provided for biasing the conductors against movement in each of the slots 20.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the through hole (22c) is formed by four or more flat surfaces (22fa-d) that are continuous with each other in an inner circumferential direction of the through hole (22c), and the plurality of protrusions (22e) are provided at a corner at which two flat surfaces (22fa-d) adjacent to each other among the four or more flat surfaces (22fa-d) intersect each other. (see Figure 7 below) – in the combination as claimed.
Regarding Claim 10, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the through hole (22c) is formed by four or more flat surfaces (22fa-d) that are continuous with each other in an inner circumferential direction of the through hole (22c), and the plurality of protrusions (22e) are provided at a corner at which two flat surfaces (22fa-d) adjacent to each other among the four or more flat surfaces (22fa-d) intersect each other and a corner at which one of the four or more flat surfaces (22fa-d) and the partition plate (22d) intersect each other. (see Figure 7 below) – in the combination as claimed.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weber et al. (US 20190149023 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-3.
Uhlmann et al. (US 20200153306 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 2.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834