DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-11 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority application No. IN202221006464 filed on 02/07/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 2 is blurry/illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: multiple instances of “an at least a” are not grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “focused” is misspelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sensing member”, “motion sensing member”, “pot-hole sensing member”, “acceleration sensing member”, “radio detecting and ranging sensing member”, “control member”, “alert generating member”, in claim 1, and “image capturing member” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear and indistinct how one may implement a pothole detector that requires physical contact with the detected obstacle to be used to proactively control the vehicle prior to contacting the obstacle.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0317512) in view of Shibata (US 2023/0271548) and Strobel (US 2022/0169260).
Regarding claim 1:
Zhang teaches an apparatus, for the patrolling of manoeuvring locomotory devices (autonomous vehicle 101), comprising:
an at least a sensing member (sensor system 115, Fig. 1, ¶0030), said at least one sensing member: facilitating sensing of an at least a parameter, of a manoeuvring locomotory device, in real-time; and including:
an at least a motion sensing member (Radar unit 214, LIDAR 215, Cameras 211, GPS, ¶0030) and an at least a sound navigation and ranging sensing member (sonar sensor, see ¶0031), said at least one motion sensing member and said at least one sound navigation and ranging sensing member sensing objects, along a path, on which, said locomotory device is manoeuvring, in real-time, with sensed data being transmitted, to an at least a control member (see at least ¶0036-0038);
an at least an acceleration sensing member (IMU 213, ¶0030) said at least one acceleration sensing member sensing acceleration of said locomotory device (101), in real-time, with sensed data being transmitted, to said at least one control member (¶0030); and
an at least a radio detection and ranging sensing member (Radar, 214, ¶0030) said at least one radio detection and ranging sensing member (105) sensing long-range objects, along said path, on which, said locomotory device (101) is manoeuvring, in real-time, with sensed data being transmitted, to said at least one control member (108);
said at least one control member (control system 111) that is configured to facilitate monitoring and controlling of said apparatus, said at least one control member (108):
being communicatively associated with at least three actuators, said at least three actuators including: brakes; accelerator; steering; (see at least ¶0032, 201, 202, 203);
comparing said data received, from said at least one sensing member, to an at least a threshold value, or an at least a threshold range (at least comparing trajectory to a reference trajectory, alternately distance to an object, alternately comparing acceleration to a comfort cost, see at least ¶0023, ¶0047, ¶0067, ¶0078-0079) ; and
transmitting instructions, to said apparatus, to manoeuvre said locomotory device (101), based on the results of said comparison (see at least ¶0037, ¶0078-0079); and
an alert generating member that generates an at least an alert, upon said at least one control member's (108) instructions, with:
said brakes being actuated, when: a vehicle that is manoeuvring ahead of said locomotory device (101) is determined to be slowing down; a pot- hole is detected, on said path; or an obstruction is detected, on said path (following behavior, see at least ¶0058-0059);
said accelerator being actuated, when: said vehicle that is manoeuvring ahead of said locomotory device (101) is determined to be increasing its speed; said detected pot-hole has been crossed; or said detected obstruction no longer exists (following behavior, see at least ¶0058-0059);
said steering being actuated, when: said vehicle that is manoeuvring ahead of said locomotory device (101) is determined to be turning; said vehicle that is manoeuvring ahead of said locomotory device (101) is determined to be changing lanes; said pot-hole is detected, on said path; or said obstruction is detected, on said path (see at least obstacle avoidance, ¶0050-0051).
Zhang does not explicitly teach a pot-hole sensing member or indicator lights being actuated.
Shibata teaches a system and method of operating a vehicle, including wherein an autonomous vehicle automatically actuates indicator lights when the vehicle turns (see at least ¶0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the autonomous vehicle as taught by Zhang with the well-known technique of automatically actuating indicator lights on the vehicle as taught by Shibata in order to automate the manual activity usually operated by a driver and to comply with traffic laws.
Strobel teaches a system and method of control of an autonomous vehicle including a pothole sensing member said at least one pot- hole sensing member sensing height of a detected hole and height of a detected bump, along said path, on which, said locomotory device (101) is manoeuvring, in real-time, with sensed data being transmitted, to said at least one control member (See at least ¶0042, ¶0048, ¶0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the autonomous vehicle as taught by Zhang and Shibata with the pothole sensor as taught by Strobel in order to provide road quality data in order to mitigate potential unpleasant accelerations via avoidance maneuvers or suspension adjustments for the purpose of optimizing passenger comfort and/or minimizing damage to the vehicle and/or cargo.
Regarding claim 2:
Zheng further teaches wherein: said at least one parameter includes: distance, direction, and speed, of said vehicle that is manoeuvring ahead of said manoeuvring locomotory device; and conditions of said path, on which, said locomotory device (101) is manoeuvring (see at least ¶0058-0059).
Regarding claims 3-5:
Zheng teaches wherein the control member may be instantiated in any known type of processor (see at least ¶0082-0083).
Additionally, any other processor device would be an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing
Regarding claim 6:
Zhang further teaches wherein: said apparatus is configured, monitored, and controlled remotely, through an application on a computing device (see at least servers 103, ¶0033-0038).
Regarding claim 7:
Zhang teaches the Sonar sensor as in claim 1 above.
Zhang is silent as to what frequency of soundwaves are covered by the sensor.
The Examiner notes that in vehicle applications, sonar sensors conventionally operate in the ultrasonic frequency range.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to utilize an ultrasonic sensor for the sonar sensor as taught by Zhang in order to accurately detect nearby obstacles using an appropriate frequency that is not audible to humans, so as not to contribute to noise pollution.
Regarding claim 8:
Zhang teaches the limitations as above. Zhang additionally teaches the vehicle comprising an IMU which may sense position and orientation changes, and is therefore capable of detecting potholes and/or bumps.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the pothole detector utilizing the IMU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to utilize any known sensor type for detecting potholes and bumps, including the IMU as taught by Zhang as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 9:
Zhang further teaches wherein: said at least one acceleration sensing member is an Inertial Measurement Unit sensor (see at least ¶0030).
Regarding claim 11:
Zhang teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Zhang does not explicitly teach retrofitting the apparatus. However, the Examiner notes, that broadly interpreted, any device designed for use in a vehicle is capable of being retrofitted into another vehicle, and there is no standard for retrofitting. Therefore device as taught by Zhang meets the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Shibata, and Strobel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mimar (US 2014/0139655).
Regarding claim 10:
Zhang teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Zhang further teaches a plurality of image capturing members (cameras 211).
Zhang is silent as to sensing attention levels of a driver.
Mimar teaches a system and method of detecting driver attention including
two image capturing members, with:
one image capturing member, among said two image capturing members, sensing attention levels of a driver, in real-time, with sensed data being transmitted, to said at least one control member (108); and
another image capturing member, among said two image capturing members, sensing visual signals, in real-time, with sensed data being transmitted, to said at least one control member (108), with: said at least one control member (108) transmitting instructions, to said alert generating member, to generate said at least one alert, if: said driver's eyes are determined as being closed; or if said driver's eyeballs are determined as not being focused (see at least Fig. 8, 43, ¶0053, ¶0157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vehicle control system and method as taught by Zheng, Shibata, and Strobel with the driver monitoring system and method as taught by Mimar in order to determine if a driver is not paying attention, or is otherwise incapacitated to allow for a warning, or other maneuver to avoid potential collision or other unsafe condition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619