Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “140” (i.e., power connector 140, described at page 17, line 13 and throughout the specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 – 8, 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0175015 A1 to Adams et al. (hereinafter “Adams”).
Regarding Claim 1, Adams teaches a wireless sensor device (see abstract describing an implantable pressure sensing device adapted to wirelessly communicate with an external device) comprising:
a sensor module (see implant 10 comprising a sensor portion 14, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0065], [0067]) disposed adjacent to one portion of an external member and configured to detect information on a state of the external member (see paragraph [0067] which states “Sensor portion 14 includes at least one pressure sensor 20 disposed within an encapsulation 18, optionally silicone or other similar material. Sensor 20 is in operable pressure communication with the external environment, such that external pressures can be transmitted to pressure sensor 20”, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
a power module (see first portion 12 comprising a battery 30, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0068]) disposed adjacent to another portion of the external member to be physically spaced apart (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating sensor 14 being spaced apart from the power module 12) from the sensor module (14) and configured to be electrically conductive with the sensor module to transmit power to the sensor module (see paragraphs [0065], [0066], describing the flexible substrate/connector which includes antenna, see paragraph [0073] stating “Substrate 92 also comprises an antenna adapted for wireless data and power transfer” and paragraph [0077] stating “The flexible electronics on the substrate can include the contacts for the sensor and the antenna. Incorporating an antenna into the flexible substrate is one way of incorporating an antenna into a compact implantable device while still allowing for data and power transmission”, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
a conducting wire member (see connector portion 16 and substrate 22, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0067] – [0068] describing the substrate that carries electronics allowing signals from the sensor to be communicated to the first portion/power module) configured to be electrically conductive with each of the sensor module (14) and the power module (12) to transmit the power (see paragraph [0073] stating “Substrate 92 also comprises an antenna adapted for wireless data and power transfer” and see paragraph [0077] stating “The flexible electronics on the substrate can include the contacts for the sensor and the antenna. Incorporating an antenna into the flexible substrate is one way of incorporating an antenna into a compact implantable device while still allowing for data and power transmission”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Adams may be construed as not explicitly teaching the invention as described above in a single embodiment, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine the embodiments taught by Adams, since it is known that the invention is not limited to the disclosed embodiments and combinations of the disclosed embodiments would be possible without departing from the scope of the invention (see also paragraph [0106]).
Regarding Claim 2, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the sensor module (14) and the power module (12) are removably coupled to each other (see arrangement of the sensor module 14 and power module 12 that are arranged on a substrate 22 via a connection portion 16, thus being removably coupled as claimed).
Regarding Claim 6, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the power module (12, 42, 62, 82, Figs. 1-4 respectively) includes a battery pack (see battery 30, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0068]) configured to be charged by an external power source, store the power, and transmit the stored power to the sensor module (see abstract, see paragraphs [0064] – [0065] describing rechargeable battery/power source in electrical communication with an ASIC, see paragraph [0111] describing the power sources can be a battery or capacitor, thus capable of storing the power, see also Fig. 16 illustrating external power source with the rechargeable battery and description at paragraph [0125], hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 7, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the power module (see for instance first portion 82, Figs. 5A, 5B, see paragraphs [0073], [0078]) includes:
a power housing (see top and bottom housings 94 and 96, respectively, Figs. 5A, 5B, see paragraph [0078]) which a space accommodating the battery pack is formed (see arrangement at Figs. 5A, 5B and paragraph [0073] describing the first portion 82 (i.e., power module) includes any of the electronics and components such as battery, memory, antenna etc., and paragraph [0078] describing the rechargeable battery 100, Fig. 5B, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
a power connector accommodated in the space of the power housing and configured to be electrically conductive with the battery pack, receive the power stored in the battery pack, and be coupled to and electrically conductive with the conducting wire member to transmit the received power to the sensor module (see paragraph [0078] stating “The flexible electronics on substrate 92 are in electrical communication with vias 104, which are electrically coupled to housing electronics such as processor 98 (which can be an ASIC) and rechargeable battery 100”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 8, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the battery pack (100) is withdrawably accommodated in the space of the power housing (see Figs. 5B – 6B which illustrates distinct components including the rechargeable battery 100, thus being removable/withdrawable arrangement as seen).
Regarding Claim 13, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the sensor module (14, 44, 64, 84, Figs. 1 – 4, respectively) includes:
a sensor unit configured to detect information on a state of the one portion of the external member (see paragraph [0067] which states “Sensor portion 14 includes at least one pressure sensor 20 disposed within an encapsulation 18, optionally silicone or other similar material. Sensor 20 is in operable pressure communication with the external environment, such that external pressures can be transmitted to pressure sensor 20”);
a communication unit configured to be electrically conductive with the sensor unit and transfer the detected information to an external terminal (see arrangement at Fig. 16 which illustrates an external interrogation device disposed outside and which communicates wirelessly with the implant having the sensor within, see paragraph [0125], thus comprising a communication unit as claimed);
a sensor connector configured to be electrically conductive with the conducting wire member and receive the power (see paragraph [0068] which states “Substrate 22 carries electronics that allow signals from sensor 18 to be communicated to first portion 12. Data or signals indicative of sensed data can be communicated via sensor portion 14 to controller 32 with sealed vias 32 and 34”, see also see paragraph [0073] stating “ Substrate or base layer 92 extends from the sensor portion 84 to the first portion 82, and carries electronics (e.g., flex circuits printed on a substrate) that electrically couple sensor 90 and electronics within first portion 82”, thus the substrate 22/92 closer to and connected to the sensor region and which carries electronics that allows electrical communication is considered as the claimed sensor connector, which also receives the power from the battery); and
a sensor PCB configured to be electrically conductive with each of the sensor unit, the communication unit, and the sensor connector to transmit the power to the sensor unit and the communication unit (see flexible electronics on substrate 92 which supports the sensor unit as illustrated at Figs. 7A-7C, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 14, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the conducting wire member (16, 46, 66, 86, corresponding to the connector portions including the substrates as seen at Figs. 1 – 4 respectively) includes:
a power connecting portion configured to be removably coupled to and electrically conductive with the power module (see paragraph [0068] which states “Substrate 22 carries electronics that allow signals from sensor 18 to be communicated to first portion 12. Data or signals indicative of sensed data can be communicated via sensor portion 14 to controller 32 with sealed vias 32 and 34”, see also paragraph [0078] describing vias 104 on substrate 92 that allows electrical communication between the electronics on the substrate , processors, batteries and the sensor module, see removable arrangement of vias 104, Fig. 6Bthus the vias 32 and 34 are considered as the connecting portion as claimed);
a sensor connecting portion configured to be removably coupled to and electrically conductive with the sensor module (see paragraph [0068] which states “Substrate 22 carries electronics that allow signals from sensor 18 to be communicated to first portion 12. Data or signals indicative of sensed data can be communicated via sensor portion 14 to controller 32 with sealed vias 32 and 34”, see also see paragraph [0073] stating “ Substrate or base layer 92 extends from the sensor portion 84 to the first portion 82, and carries electronics (e.g., flex circuits printed on a substrate) that electrically couple sensor 90 and electronics within first portion 82”, thus the substrate 22/92 closer to and connected to the sensor region and which carries electronics that allows communication from the sensor to the first portion/power module is considered as the claimed sensor connecting portion); and
an extending portion (the substrate 22/92 that extends from the sensor region to the power module region as seen at Figs. 1 – 4) extending between the power connecting portion and the sensor connecting portion (see arrangement at Figs. 1 – 4) and configured to be electrically conductive with each of the power connecting portion and the sensor connecting portion (see paragraphs [0068], [0073], [0078]).
Regarding Claim 15, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the extending portion is formed of a flexible material (see flexible substrate connector as described at paragraphs [0065], [0069], [0075], [0078], and flexible electronics substrate as illustrated at 46, 66, 92, Figs. 2 – 4A respectively).
Claim(s) 3 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of KR 20180117257 A to Kim Ho Seong et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
Note: machine translated document of Kim is attached to this office action for easier reference.
Regarding Claim 3, Adams as modified above teaches wherein the power module includes a coil member configured to generate the power in a magnetic field energy harvesting manner using a change in a magnetic field formed therein (see paragraph [0133] describing “wireless recharging and data exchange is performed using inductive coupling or electro-magnetic coupling among magnetic and/or electric antennas respectively, uses a body safe frequency and intensity, and with minimum attenuation by human tissue” and also paragraph [0203] stating “The implant of any of the additional examples herein wherein the wireless connection between implant and external unit comprises electro-magnetic or inductive coupling between a transmitting and a receiving antenna”, thus it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize a coil member that generates the power in a magnetic field energy since Adams teaches communication comprising magnetic coupling as described above).
Even though Adams teaches the invention as described above, Adams may be construed as not explicitly teaching the coil member configured to generate the power in a magnetic field energy harvesting manner.
Kim, in the field of energy harvesting device for extracting electric and magnetic field energy of power line, teaches a coil member configured to generate the power in a magnetic field energy harvesting manner using a change in a magnetic field formed therein (see an electromagnetic energy harvesting device 100, Figs. 1, which includes a magnetic field harvester (124) for extracting the energy of an electric field emitted from a power cable by using inductive coupling generated while a magnetic field generated by an alternating current flowing in a power line passes through the inside of the coils, see the magnetic field harvester 124 composed of a solenoid coil surrounding the iron core, see paragraphs [0022] – [0027] at pages 3 – 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power module including coil member of Kim into Adams, in order to provide sustainable, low-maintenance, and versatile power solution that can extend life of the system.
Regarding Claim 4, Adams in view of Kim as modified above teaches wherein a band made of a ferromagnetic substance passes through the coil member (see the magnetic field harvester 124 comprising an iron core, and a solenoid coil surrounding the iron core, see paragraph [0027] and Fig. 3 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 5, Adams in view of Kim as modified above teaches wherein the power module includes:
a power housing (see top and bottom housings 94 and 96, respectively, Figs. 5A, 5B, of Adams see paragraph [0078] of Adams and/or see housing of the energy harvesting device 100, Figs. 1 – 3 of Kim) in which a space accommodating the coil member is formed (see modification above, see space accommodating the solenoid coil member within at Figs. 1, 3 4 of Kim);
a power printed circuit board (PCB) accommodated in the space of the power housing (see exploded view at Fig. 6B of Adams which illustrates the first portion or the power module as claimed including a substrate or base layer 92 which carries electronics for instance, flex circuits printed on a substrate that electrically couple sensor 90 and electronics within the module 82, see paragraph [0073] of Adams, hence reading on the invention as claimed) and configured to be electrically conductive with the coil member (see modification of coil member of Kim as described above); and
a power connector accommodated in the space of the power housing and configured to be electrically conductive with the power PCB, receive the power generated by the coil member, and be coupled to and electrically conductive with the conducting wire member to transmit the received power to the sensor module (see paragraph [0078] of Adams stating “The flexible electronics on substrate 92 are in electrical communication with vias 104, which are electrically coupled to housing electronics such as processor 98 (which can be an ASIC) and rechargeable battery 100”, see modification of Adams in view of Kim, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Claim(s) 9 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338393 A1 to Nakagawa et al. (hereinafter “Nakagawa”).
Regarding Claim 9, Adams teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the power module includes a thermoelectric element configured to generate power using a temperature difference between the one portion of the external member and a space where the external member is located.
Nakagawa, in the field of thermoelectric conversion module, sensor module and information processing system, teaches that it is known to use a power module (see power supply module 6, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0035] which states “A thermoelectric conversion module 6 is also referred to as a “thermoelectric module,” a “thermoelectric power generation module,” or a “power supply module”) that includes a thermoelectric element (see thermoelectric conversion device 1, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0034] – [0035]) configured to generate power using a temperature difference between the one portion of the external member and a space where the external member is located (see paragraph [0034] which states “ a temperature difference to occur between both sides of the thermoelectric conversion device using a heat storage material, and includes a thermoelectric conversion device 1, a container (a first container) 2, a fin 3, a heat dissipation member (a first heat dissipation member) 4, and a heat storage material (a first heat storage material) 5 as illustrated in FIG. 1”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power module including the thermoelectric element of Nakagawa into Adams, in order to improve reliability, versatility and sustainability by directing converting heat into electricity.
Regarding Claim 10, Adams in view of Nakagawa as modified above teaches wherein the power module (see Adams in view of Nakagawa as modified in claim 9 above) includes a heat dissipation member (see first heat dissipation member 4, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0034] of Nakagawa) coupled to one surface facing the space where the external member is located among surfaces of the thermoelectric element and configured to cool the one surface of the thermoelectric element (see arrangement at Figs. 1 as well as paragraphs [0045] – [0055] of Nakagawa, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 11, Adams in view of Nakagawa as modified above teaches wherein the heat dissipation member includes a plurality of fins formed to extend in a direction opposite to the one surface of the thermoelectric element and a plurality of spaces formed by the plurality of fins being spaced apart from each other (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 2, 5A – 5C, 6 -8 of Nakagawa illustrating heat dissipation member 4 connected to the plurality of fins 3, see paragraphs [0045] – [0052], [0082] – [0092] of Nakagawa).
Regarding Claim 12, Adams in view of Nakagawa as modified above teaches wherein the power module includes a power connector configured to be electrically conductive with the thermoelectric element, receive the power generated by the thermoelectric element, and be coupled to and electrically conductive with the conducting wire member to transmit the received power to the sensor module (see paragraph [0078] of Adams stating “The flexible electronics on substrate 92 are in electrical communication with vias 104, which are electrically coupled to housing electronics such as processor 98 (which can be an ASIC) and rechargeable battery 100”, see modification of Adams in view of Nakagawa in claims above, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached to this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Wong et al. (U.S. 2014/0158178 A1) teaches thermoelectric generator and thermoelectric generating system. The thermoelectric generator (TEG) including a cooling element, a heat-collection element and at least one thermoelectric generating module is provided. The heat-collection element is disposed at a side of the cooling element, wherein the heat-collection element has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and the heat-collection element is suitable for facing a thermal radiation source with the first surface so as to receive thermal energy thereof in a predetermined distance without contacting the thermal radiation source.
Widmer et al. (U.S. 9,601,267 B2) teaches wireless power transmitter with a plurality of magnetic oscillators.
Phillips et al. (U.S. 2018/0255384 A1) teaches compact modular wireless sensor. The wireless sensor assembly includes a housing, a wireless power source, and electronics. The housing defines an interior space and at least one aperture sized to receive at least one external sensor. The wireless power source is mounted within the housing. The electronics are mounted within the housing and are configured to receive power from the wireless power source and to be in electrical communication with the external sensor.
Mizutani et al. (U.S. 2007/0018837 A1) teaches wireless sensor system and bearing apparatus with wireless sensor. The wireless sensor units include a sensor section for detecting a detection object, a sensor signal transmitting section for transmitting by wireless a sensor signal from the sensor section, and a power supply section having a power receiving section for receiving a driving power transmitted by wireless. In this system, a power supply monitoring section is provided for monitoring the voltage of the power supply section. The sensor signal receiving unit includes a monitor dependent power control section for regulating the power to be transmitted, depending on a monitored result of the power monitoring section.
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855