DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajski, etc. (US 20100313089 A1) in view of Sun, etc. (US 20210082335 A1), further in view of Kwon, etc. (US 20210241700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rajski teaches that a screen display driving method (See Rajski: Figs. 1-3, and [0020], “FIG. 3, illustrates a typical embedded deterministic test architecture utilizing a high-speed serial I/O link that may be employed according to various implementations of the invention”) comprising:
acquiring configuration information (See Rajski: Figs. 1-3, and [0078], “Use of a sequence detector on-chip to detect a particular sequence in the data stream that would configure the device into test mode. The particular sequence may be a pre-determined sequence”. Note that the sequence to configure the device under test and the settings of the device under test after executing the configuration sequence are mapped to the configuration information of the device under test) of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested;
generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol required for the device to be tested based on the configuration information;
driving (See Rajski: Fig. 14, and [0101], “FIG. 14 illustrates a first scenario for implementing high-speed serial I/Os for a scan test according to various implementations of the invention where the number of parallel bits from the serial link interface is less than the number of embedded deterministic test channels. With this example, the parallel data from a single cycle of the reference clock is not sufficient to drive all of the embedded deterministic test input channels. The embedded deterministic test channel inputs instead can be driven by capturing the data from several cycles of the reference clock into a holding register, and then driving the embedded deterministic test inputs from that register. In this example, the embedded deterministic test output channels are connected to the serial link interface using multiplexing logic that is controlled appropriately to spread the channel output data across several frames”. Note that driving the device under test using the test signal is mapped to driving the screen to display) the screen to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol.
However, Rajski fails to explicitly disclose that configuration information of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested; generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol required for the device to be tested based on the configuration information; and the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol.
However, Sun teaches that configuration information of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested (See Sun: Figs. 2-3, and [0058], “The pin number of preset pins in the embodiment is set according to the actual situation. If the pin number of the preset pins is one, there are at most two P2P types to be selected; if it is two, there are at most four P2P types to be selected; if it is three, there are at most eight P2P types to be selected, and so on; please refer to table 5, FIGS. 2, and 3, two pins P2P_SEL1 and P2P_Sel2 are taken as an example for illustration, and the boot logic is that, after booting (or power on), the system board firstly reads HL setting of P2P_SEL1 and P2P_SEL2, identifies the correct P2P type, judges the definition of the P2P interface at the same time, selects the corresponding training mode in SOC to make clock training action between the TX and the Rx. After the training is successful, the display panel will start normally”. Note that the pins and the P2P_SELs are mapped to the diving ICs configurations for the display module to be tested);
generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol required for the device to be tested based on the configuration information (See Sun: Figs. 2-4, and [0045], “The system-on-chip 131a is configured for acquiring a type identification signal transmitted by the connecting member CL1 and identifying a corresponding P2P interface type according to the type identification signal; and transmitting corresponding P2P data according to the P2P interface type. Specifically, P2P interface types is one selected from a group consisting of an Integrated-Stream Protocol (iSP) interface, an Unified Standard Interface for TV (USI-T), a China BOE Point-to-Point Interface (CHPI), a China Star Point-to-Point Interface (CSPI), a Clock Embedded Point-to-Point Interface (CMPI) and a Clock Embedded Differential Signal (CEDS) interface. The above interface types are only common centralized P2P interface protocols. Different panel manufacturers also have their own P2P protocol(s). The P2P interface types of the disclosure are not limited to the above types, as long as the protocols designed by P2P mode can be implemented through the disclosure”. Note that the succeeded trained P2P interface type and protocol are mapped to “generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol”); and
the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify Rajski to have configuration information of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested; and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol required for the device to be tested based on the configuration information as taught by Sun in order to improve the applicability of connecting element (See Sun: Figs. 1-3, and [0021], “In the above-mentioned display device and interface type selection method thereof, the system board judges the corresponding P2P interface type after acquiring a type identification signal transmitted by a connecting member, which makes the system board be more versatile, and can realize universal design of SOC (System-On-Chip) for different P2P interfaces and improve the applicability of the system board. In addition, the disclosure can judge the type of P2P interface without increasing the total pin number of the connector, which further improves the applicability of connecting member”). Rajski teaches a method and system that may use high-speed serial links for scan testing with tester and device under test providing the protocol and hardware to support highspeed data transfer; while Sun teaches a system and method that may read and train various P2P types and protocols for driving the screen displays. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rajski by Sun to have interface and hardware support for various P2P types and protocols. The motivation to modify Rajski by Sun is “Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”.
However, Rajski, modified by Sun, fails to explicitly disclose that the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol.
However, Kwon teaches that the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol (See Kwon: Figs. 3-6, and [0091], “In a fourth transmission operation TO4, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD4 generated by a fourth source driver IC 315-4 and transmits the self-sensing data SD4 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD through the transmission sensing data shift operation performed between the source driver ICs in a point-to-point (or cascade) manner as described above. In a fifth transmission operation TOS, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD5 generated by a fifth source driver IC 315-5 and transmits the self-sensing data SD5 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD, and in a sixth transmission operation TO6, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD6 generated by the sixth source driver IC 315-6 and transmits the self-sensing data SD6 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD. In a seventh transmission operation TO7, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD7 generated by the seventh source driver IC 315-7 and transmits the self-sensing data SD7 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD, and in an eighth transmission operation TO8, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD8 generated by the eighth source driver IC 315-8 and transmits the self-sensing data SD8 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD”. Note that P2P protocol is used to shift data out to drive the display panel, and this is mapped to the claimed limitations of “the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify Rajski to have the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol as taught by Kwon in order to simplify the logic design of the timing controller (See Kwon: Figs. 1-3, and [0021], “In the above-mentioned display device and interface type selection method thereof, the system board judges the corresponding P2P interface type after acquiring a type identification signal transmitted by a connecting member, which makes the system board be more versatile, and can realize universal design of SOC (System-On-Chip) for different P2P interfaces and improve the applicability of the system board. In addition, the disclosure can judge the type of P2P interface without increasing the total pin number of the connector, which further improves the applicability of connecting member”). Rajski teaches a method and system that may use high-speed serial links for scan testing with tester and device under test providing the protocol and hardware to support highspeed data transfer; while Kwon teaches a system and method that may use the target (trained and selected) P2P protocol to drive the display. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rajski by Kwon to drive the display based on the target P2P protocol. The motivation to modify Rajski by Kwon is “Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”.
Regarding claim 2, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the screen display driving method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a point-to-point transmission protocol category, and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the configuration information comprises:
determining a category of the target point-to-point transmission protocol corresponding to the screen based on the point-to-point transmission protocol category (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0067], “In this embodiment, two pins are added to the 60-pin connectors of the system board and XB, one of which is used to transmit P2P selection clock signal (SEL_CLK) for defining clock period; the other one of which is used to transmit P2P selection data signal (SEL_DO) for transmitting high and low voltage levels. As a P2P type selection module, the added two pins can arranged to the original empty pins in 60-pin connector without increasing the total pin number of 60-pin connector. The system board judges the P2P type by reading the number of the high and low voltage levels, and makes a corresponding clock training action”. Note that the clock and the voltage level determine the P2P transmission protocol category, and this is mapped to the determining a category of the target point-to-point transmission protocol);
generating the target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the category of the target point-to-point transmission protocol (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0069], “Please refer to FIGS. 4 and 5. After booting (or power on), the system board uses the SEL_CLK as a clock signal, identifies times of occurrence of high or low voltage level transmitted by SEL_DO pin, judges the P2P type, and makes a corresponding clock training action. After the training is successful, the display panel will start normally. For example, if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 1, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE1; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 2, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE2; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 3, the P2P type will be judged as P2P Mode3, and so on”. Note that the judgment of the P2P type is mapped to the target P2P protocol).
Regarding claim 3, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the screen display driving method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises the number of driving ICs in the display screen module, and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the configuration information comprises:
determining a communication interface between the display screen module and the device to be tested based on the number of driving ICs (See Sun: Figs. 1-6, and [0056], “In this embodiment, as a P2P type selection module to transmit the type identification signal, one pin is added to the 60-pin connectors of the system board and the XB board to set high and low voltage levels. In one illustration, the added pin uses original empty pin in the 60-pin connectors, and does not increase the total number of 60-pin connectors. The system board judges the P2P type by reading the setting value and makes a correct clock training action”. Note that the pin number and arrangements of the pins are mapped to the communication interface, and the pin number used (total is 60 pins, but some pins are not used) is mapped to the number of driving ICs);
generating the target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the determined communication interface (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0069], “Please refer to FIGS. 4 and 5. After booting (or power on), the system board uses the SEL_CLK as a clock signal, identifies times of occurrence of high or low voltage level transmitted by SEL_DO pin, judges the P2P type, and makes a corresponding clock training action. After the training is successful, the display panel will start normally. For example, if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 1, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE1; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 2, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE2; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 3, the P2P type will be judged as P2P Mode3, and so on”. Note that the judgment of the P2P type is mapped to the target P-P protocol).
Regarding claim 8, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the screen display driving method of any one of claim I , wherein, after generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol, the screen display driving method further comprises:
storing the target point-to-point transmission protocol and the configuration information corresponding to the target point-to-point transmission protocol in a system-on-chip of the device to be tested (See Sun: Figs. 12-13, and [0089], “Or, please refer to FIGS. 12 and 13, if the P2P type identification signal is stored in an EEPROM of the XB board, 4-bit data is added to the IIC signal as the P2P identification in advance. After booting, receiving the data stored in the EEPROM transmitted by IIC_SDA, the system board firstly reads the P2P type identification signal, judges the P2P type, and makes a correct training action. After the training is successful, the data will be transmitted in a correct P2P data format, and the display panel will start normally”. Note that the stored P2P type identification signals and the corrected trained P2P are mapped to store the target P2P protocol and configuration).
Regarding claim 20, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach that an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to perform (See Rajski: Fig. 6, and [0037], “The disclosed embodiments can be implemented in a wide variety of environments. For example, various aspects of the disclosed techniques can be implemented by software comprising computer-executable instructions stored on computer-readable media (e.g., one or more CDs, volatile memory components (such as DRAM or SRAM), or nonvolatile memory components (such as hard drives)). Such software may comprise, for example, electronic design automation ("EDA") software (e.g., an automatic test pattern generation ("ATPG") tool) used to generate test patterns for testing one or more circuits (e.g., an application specific integrated circuit ("ASIC"), a programmable logic device ("PLD") such as a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA"), or a system-on-a-chip ("SoC") having digital, analog, or mixed-signal components thereon). Such software may also comprise, for example, EDA software used to diagnose test responses to chain diagnosis test patterns applied to the one or more circuits”). comprising:
acquiring configuration information (See Rajski: Figs. 1-3, and [0078], “Use of a sequence detector on-chip to detect a particular sequence in the data stream that would configure the device into test mode. The particular sequence may be a pre-determined sequence”. Note that the sequence to configure the device under test and the settings of the device under test after executing the configuration sequence are mapped to the configuration information of the device under test) of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested (See Sun: Figs. 2-3, and [0058], “The pin number of preset pins in the embodiment is set according to the actual situation. If the pin number of the preset pins is one, there are at most two P2P types to be selected; if it is two, there are at most four P2P types to be selected; if it is three, there are at most eight P2P types to be selected, and so on; please refer to table 5, FIGS. 2, and 3, two pins P2P_SEL1 and P2P_Sel2 are taken as an example for illustration, and the boot logic is that, after booting (or power on), the system board firstly reads HL setting of P2P_SEL1 and P2P_SEL2, identifies the correct P2P type, judges the definition of the P2P interface at the same time, selects the corresponding training mode in SOC to make clock training action between the TX and the Rx. After the training is successful, the display panel will start normally”. Note that the pins and the P2P_SELs are mapped to the diving ICs configurations for the display module to be tested);
generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol required for the device to be tested based on the configuration information (See Sun: Figs. 2-4, and [0045], “The system-on-chip 131a is configured for acquiring a type identification signal transmitted by the connecting member CL1 and identifying a corresponding P2P interface type according to the type identification signal; and transmitting corresponding P2P data according to the P2P interface type. Specifically, P2P interface types is one selected from a group consisting of an Integrated-Stream Protocol (iSP) interface, an Unified Standard Interface for TV (USI-T), a China BOE Point-to-Point Interface (CHPI), a China Star Point-to-Point Interface (CSPI), a Clock Embedded Point-to-Point Interface (CMPI) and a Clock Embedded Differential Signal (CEDS) interface. The above interface types are only common centralized P2P interface protocols. Different panel manufacturers also have their own P2P protocol(s). The P2P interface types of the disclosure are not limited to the above types, as long as the protocols designed by P2P mode can be implemented through the disclosure”. Note that the succeeded trained P2P interface type and protocol are mapped to “generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol”);
driving (See Rajski: Fig. 14, and [0101], “FIG. 14 illustrates a first scenario for implementing high-speed serial I/Os for a scan test according to various implementations of the invention where the number of parallel bits from the serial link interface is less than the number of embedded deterministic test channels. With this example, the parallel data from a single cycle of the reference clock is not sufficient to drive all of the embedded deterministic test input channels. The embedded deterministic test channel inputs instead can be driven by capturing the data from several cycles of the reference clock into a holding register, and then driving the embedded deterministic test inputs from that register. In this example, the embedded deterministic test output channels are connected to the serial link interface using multiplexing logic that is controlled appropriately to spread the channel output data across several frames”. Note that driving the device under test using the test signal is mapped to driving the screen to display) the screen to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol (See Kwon: Figs. 3-6, and [0091], “In a fourth transmission operation TO4, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD4 generated by a fourth source driver IC 315-4 and transmits the self-sensing data SD4 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD through the transmission sensing data shift operation performed between the source driver ICs in a point-to-point (or cascade) manner as described above. In a fifth transmission operation TOS, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD5 generated by a fifth source driver IC 315-5 and transmits the self-sensing data SD5 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD, and in a sixth transmission operation TO6, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD6 generated by the sixth source driver IC 315-6 and transmits the self-sensing data SD6 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD. In a seventh transmission operation TO7, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD7 generated by the seventh source driver IC 315-7 and transmits the self-sensing data SD7 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD, and in an eighth transmission operation TO8, the first source driver IC 315-1 receives the self-sensing data SD8 generated by the eighth source driver IC 315-8 and transmits the self-sensing data SD8 to the timing controller 110 as the output sensing data OD”. Note that P2P protocol is used to shift data out to drive the display panel, and this is mapped to the claimed limitations of “the screen to display to display based on the target point-to-point transmission protocol”).
Regarding claim 21, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 20 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the electronic device of claim 20, wherein the configuration information comprises a point-to-point transmission protocol category, and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the configuration information comprises:
determining a category of the target point-to-point transmission protocol corresponding to the screen based on the point-to-point transmission protocol category (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0067], “In this embodiment, two pins are added to the 60-pin connectors of the system board and XB, one of which is used to transmit P2P selection clock signal (SEL_CLK) for defining clock period; the other one of which is used to transmit P2P selection data signal (SEL_DO) for transmitting high and low voltage levels. As a P2P type selection module, the added two pins can arranged to the original empty pins in 60-pin connector without increasing the total pin number of 60-pin connector. The system board judges the P2P type by reading the number of the high and low voltage levels, and makes a corresponding clock training action”. Note that the clock and the voltage level determine the P2P transmission protocol category, and this is mapped to the determining a category of the target point-to-point transmission protocol);
generating the target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the category of the target point-to-point transmission protocol (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0069], “Please refer to FIGS. 4 and 5. After booting (or power on), the system board uses the SEL_CLK as a clock signal, identifies times of occurrence of high or low voltage level transmitted by SEL_DO pin, judges the P2P type, and makes a corresponding clock training action. After the training is successful, the display panel will start normally. For example, if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 1, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE1; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 2, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE2; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 3, the P2P type will be judged as P2P Mode3, and so on”. Note that the judgment of the P2P type is mapped to the target P-P protocol).
Regarding claim 22, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 20 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the electronic device of claim 20, wherein the configuration information comprises the number of driving ICs in the display screen module, and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the configuration information comprises:
determining a communication interface between the display screen module and the device to be tested based on the number of driving ICs (See Sun: Figs. 1-6, and [0056], “In this embodiment, as a P2P type selection module to transmit the type identification signal, one pin is added to the 60-pin connectors of the system board and the XB board to set high and low voltage levels. In one illustration, the added pin uses original empty pin in the 60-pin connectors, and does not increase the total number of 60-pin connectors. The system board judges the P2P type by reading the setting value and makes a correct clock training action”. Note that the pin number and arrangements of the pins are mapped to the communication interface, and the pin number used (total is 60 pins, but some pins are not used) is mapped to the number of driving ICs);
generating the target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the determined communication interface (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0069], “Please refer to FIGS. 4 and 5. After booting (or power on), the system board uses the SEL_CLK as a clock signal, identifies times of occurrence of high or low voltage level transmitted by SEL_DO pin, judges the P2P type, and makes a corresponding clock training action. After the training is successful, the display panel will start normally. For example, if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 1, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE1; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 2, the P2P type will be judged as P2P MODE2; if the times of occurrence of the high or low voltage level is 3, the P2P type will be judged as P2P Mode3, and so on”. Note that the judgment of the P2P type is mapped to the target P-P protocol).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajski, etc. (US 20100313089 A1) in view of Sun, etc. (US 20210082335 A1), further in view of Kwon, etc. (US 20210241700 A1) and Iguchi (US 20180254226 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Rajski, Sun, and Kwon teach that a screen information configuration method applied to a display screen module, wherein the method comprises:
in a production stage of the display screen module,
when it is detected that a user inputs a point-to-point transmission protocol configuration information to the display screen module (See Rajski: Figs. 4-5, and [0045], “To utilize such high-speed links in integrated circuit device production testing, both the tester and the device under test implement, in one way or another, all of the above communication layers and IP blocks for a pre-defined communication protocol. For example, FIG. 5 shows the use of a high-speed serial link in transferring data between "a high-speed" automatic test equipment from one side and a device-under-test with an on-chip serial interface in addition to embedded deterministic test IP on the other side. The link is a full-duplex one, as is the case of most high-speed serial links. This allows compressed patterns to be sent to the device-under-test and the output signature to be retrieved in the same time as in standard production testing. In this implementation, both the automatic test equipment and the device-under-test use compatible SerDes blocks operating at the same data rate. At the same time, the upper layers (referring back to FIG. 4) are identical on both sides. An example of a fully defined link protocol will be discussed in more detail below”. Note that the pre-defined protocol and P2T setting for testing the IC drivers are mapped to detecting the user inputs for P2P protocol configuration information for the display screen module),
storing the point-to-point transmission protocol configuration information input by the user in a storage unit in the display screen module (See Sun: Figs. 12-13, and [0089], “Or, please refer to FIGS. 12 and 13, if the P2P type identification signal is stored in an EEPROM of the XB board, 4-bit data is added to the IIC signal as the P2P identification in advance. After booting, receiving the data stored in the EEPROM transmitted by IIC_SDA, the system board firstly reads the P2P type identification signal, judges the P2P type, and makes a correct training action. After the training is successful, the data will be transmitted in a correct P2P data format, and the display panel will start normally”. Note that the stored P2P type identification signals and the corrected trained P2P are mapped to store the target P2P protocol and configuration).
However, Rajski, modified by Sun and Kwon, fails to explicitly disclose that a screen information configuration method applied to a display screen module, wherein the method comprises: in a production stage of the display screen module.
However, Iguchi teaches that a screen information configuration method applied to a display screen module, wherein the method comprises: in a production stage of the display screen module (See a screen information configuration method applied to a display screen module, wherein the method comprises: in a production stage of the display screen module (See Iguchi: Figs. 1-2, and [0071], “The driver IC 90 has both a function of driving the light-emitting elements on the basis of signals that the pixel section 3(i, j) receives from an outside source in a case where it operates as a product and a function of testing the operating performance of the pixel section 3(i, j) on the basis of those signals at a manufacturing stage. The testing function includes a function of selecting actuating signals such as the row selection signal and the column data signals and the corresponding test signals TRo, TR, TG, and TB according to the test mode selection signal TE”. Note that in the production stage, the IC driver and configuration is tested, and testing the product in testing modes is a part of the production stage, thus, the testing and configuration P2P protocol of Rajski can be applied to the production stage, this feature (testing the product) is mapped to “production stage of the display screen module”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify Rajski to have a screen information configuration method applied to a display screen module, wherein the method comprises: in a production stage of the display screen module as taught by Iguchi in order to provide a technology for manufacturing, at a high yield rate, a high image quality supersized image display device that can be produced on a flexible substrate (See Iguchi: Figs. 1-3, and [0021], “In the above-mentioned display device and interface type selection method thereof, the system board judges the corresponding P2P interface type after acquiring a type identification signal transmitted by a connecting member, which makes the system board be more versatile, and can realize universal design of SOC (System-On-Chip) for different P2P interfaces and improve the applicability of the system board. In addition, the disclosure can judge the type of P2P interface without increasing the total pin number of the connector, which further improves the applicability of connecting member”). Rajski teaches a method and system that may use high-speed serial links for scan testing with tester and device under test providing the protocol and hardware to support highspeed data transfer; while Iguchi teaches a system and method that may provide test modes for the screen display products to evaluate the IC driver performance under various configurations. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rajski by Iguchi to configure and train the screen display driving protocol for the screen products in the production stage. The motivation to modify Rajski by Iguchi is “Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”.
Regarding claim 11, Rajski, Sun, Kwon, and Iguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the screen information configuration method of claim 10, wherein the configuration information comprises a point-to-point transmission protocol category (See Sun: Figs. 5-6, and [0067], “In this embodiment, two pins are added to the 60-pin connectors of the system board and XB, one of which is used to transmit P2P selection clock signal (SEL_CLK) for defining clock period; the other one of which is used to transmit P2P selection data signal (SEL_DO) for transmitting high and low voltage levels. As a P2P type selection module, the added two pins can arranged to the original empty pins in 60-pin connector without increasing the total pin number of 60-pin connector. The system board judges the P2P type by reading the number of the high and low voltage levels, and makes a corresponding clock training action”. Note that the clock and the voltage level determine the P2P transmission protocol category, and this is mapped to a point-to-point transmission protocol category).
Regarding claim 12, Rajski, Sun, Kwon, and Iguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. Further, Sun teaches that the screen information configuration method of claim 10, wherein the configuration information comprises information about the number of driving ICs in the display screen module (See Sun: Figs. 1-6, and [0056], “In this embodiment, as a P2P type selection module to transmit the type identification signal, one pin is added to the 60-pin connectors of the system board and the XB board to set high and low voltage levels. In one illustration, the added pin uses original empty pin in the 60-pin connectors, and does not increase the total number of 60-pin connectors. The system board judges the P2P type by reading the setting value and makes a correct clock training action”. Note that the pin number and arrangements of the pins are mapped to the communication interface, and the pin number used (total is 60 pins, but some pins are not used) is mapped to the number of driving ICs).
Regarding claim 13, Rajski, Sun, Kwon, and Iguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. Further, Rajski teaches that the screen information configuration method of claim 10, wherein the point-to-point transmission protocol configuration information comprises register configuration information of the point-to-point transmission protocol (See Rajski: Figs. 11 and 16, and [0087], “The scan_en signal also can be used to control the number of capture cycles. The number of capture cycles either can be fixed for all test stimuli patterns or can be designed to be programmable on a per test stimuli pattern basis. For a programmable number of capture cycles, a set of registers can be allocated in the device-under-test to behave as control registers and be part of scan chains. A down counter can be loaded with the value in these registers (part of the test stimuli pattern data) thereby making sure that the finite state machine stays in the capture state for specified number of test cycles. The scan_en signal remains de-asserted during the entire phase”. Note that the P2P protocol configuration signals, scan_en, shift_clk, etc. is mapped to register configuration information of the point-to-point transmission protocol).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the claimed limitations of “The screen display driving method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises register configuration information of the point-to-point transmission protocol, and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the configuration information comprises: based on the register configuration information of the point-to-point transmission protocol, determining registers corresponding to the respective driving ICs when the target point-to-point transmission protocol is configured; generating the target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the determined registers.”
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the claimed limitations of “The screen display driving method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises a dummy channel setting category of the driving ICs, and generating a target point-to-point transmission protocol required for the device to be tested based on the configuration information comprises: determining the number of dummies corresponding to the driving ICs based on a dummy channel category of the driving ICs; generating the target point-to-point transmission protocol based on the determined number of dummies.”
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the claimed limitations of “The screen display driver method of claim 8, wherein before acquiring configuration information of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested, the screen display driving method further comprises: detecting whether the device to be tested is in a primary screen configuration; upon a condition that the device to be tested is in a primary screen configuration, continuing the step of acquiring configuration information of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested; upon a condition that the device to be tested is not m a primary screen configuration, not performing the step of acquiring configuration information of driving ICs from a display screen module installed on a device to be tested, and directly calling the target point-to-point transmission protocol stored in a system-on-chip of the device to be tested to drive the screen to display.”
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the claimed limitations of “The screen information configuration method of claim 13, wherein the register configuration information comprises a length of the configuration information of the point-to-point transmission protocol and a correspondence between the driving ICs and a register category.”
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the claimed limitations of “The screen information configuration method of claim 13, wherein the register configuration information comprises a differential configuration information category of the point-to-point transmission protocol and a correspondence between the driving ICs and the register contents.”
Conclusion
/GORDON G LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618