Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “cut surface” in claims 3 and 5-8 is used by the claims to mean “cross section,” while the accepted meaning is “a surface that has been cut.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be read as “cross section.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification repeatedly and incorrectly uses the phrase “cut surface” in place of “cross section.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchimoto et al. (JP 2014110317 A; citations refer to attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Fuchimoto discloses an electrical storage device comprising electrodes (21 and 22) and separator (23) in a case comprising a first portion (13) with a bottom portion (13a) and a tubular portion (13b), a second portion (12) with a lid-like portion (12a) that covers the opening in the first portion and a surrounding wall portion (12b) that covers the tubular portion from the outside, and a gasket (31) between the first and second portions with non-contact portions (30) between the gasket and case portions (Fuchimoto Figs. 2-6 and [0030]-[0031]).
Fuchimoto does not teach that the storage device is a battery. Fuchimoto teaches that the device may be a lithium-ion secondary battery (Fuchimoto [0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any of the embodiments listed by Fuchimoto, including a battery, since they are listed as acceptable options.
Regarding claim 2, the examples include non-contact portions between the gasket and second portion (Fuchimoto Figs. 2-6).
Regarding claim 3, Fuchimoto does not teach that the length of the gap should be 20-95% of the length of the outer surface of the second portion. Fuchimoto teaches that the gap should be 20% or more of the gasket height, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any gap length within the range of Fuchimoto, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, the examples include non-contact portions between the gasket and first portion (Fuchimoto Figs. 2-6).
Regarding claim 5, Fuchimoto does not teach that the length of the gap should be 40-80% of the length of the tubular portion of the first portion. Fuchimoto teaches that the gap should be 20% or more of the gasket height, which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any gap length within the range of Fuchimoto, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, the tubular portion has a cylindrical shape (Fuchimoto [0022]), and there are two gaps 60% and 20% of the gasket height in length (Fuchimoto [0030]), which is necessarily more than 10 µm.
Regarding claim 7, the tubular portion of the first member has a cylindrical shape (Fuchimoto [0022]) and includes a first outer diameter portion adjacent to the bottom portion, a wider second diameter portion, and a step portion connecting them (Fuchimoto Fig. 1).
The gap 34, which overlaps the step portion, is 60% of the height of the gasket (Fuchimoto Fig. 1 and [0022]). The step portion is therefore necessarily less than L1/3 from the center of the overlap portion. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select such a configuration, as there is no guidance given beyond the figures.
Regarding claim 8, the gasket extends beyond the crimped portion of the lid (Fuchimoto Fig. 1) and is therefore necessarily longer than the length of the second portion.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722