DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/11/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “spacing elements” in claims 6 and 7.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 9, 11, and is/are objected to because it contains/they contain informalities.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the solution that is supplied to the one or more evaporation surfaces" in lines 1-2. There is no explicit antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, this limitation is more complex than is necessary.
Applicant should amend claim 9 by replacing "the solution that is supplied to the one or more evaporation surfaces" with --the solution--.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the condensed vapor that is collected" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no explicit antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, this limitation is more complex than is necessary.
Applicant should amend claim 9 by replacing " the condensed vapor that is collected" with --the condensed vapors--.
Claim 11 recites “the condensed vapor” in lines 4-5. For the sake of consistency, the term “the condensed vapor” should be replaced with --the condensed vapors--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the gap" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the condensed vapors that flow off the condensation surfaces" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the unevaporated portion of the solution" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-14 are rejected due to their dependency on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the distance between each evaporation surface and a corresponding condensation surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the condenser [of a heat pump]" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the evaporator of a heat pump" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-14 are rejected due to their dependency on indefinite claim 8.
Claim 10 recites “fins… in close thermal contact with the tubes” (lines 3-4). The scope of “close thermal contact” is an unclear term of degree. In other words, it is unclear where the line is drawn between thermal contact which is “close” and thermal contact which is not “close”.
To overcome this rejection, Examiner suggests deleting the term “close” from the claim. Claims 11-14 are rejected due to their dependency on indefinite claim 10.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the bottom edges of the fins that function as evaporating surfaces" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the bottom edges of the fins that function as condensing surfaces" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “a first set of one or more collection troughs” in line 3. It is unclear if said first set of one or more collection troughs are part of the “means for collecting the unevaporated portion of the solution” as recited in claim 1.
As presently claimed, the “first set of one or more collection troughs” is implicitly distinct from “means for collecting the unevaporated portion of the solution”, such that claim 11 requires the first set of one or more collection troughs AND an additional “means for collecting the unevaporated portion of the solution”. However, a review of Applicant’s specification suggests that this is not what Applicant intends for the claims to capture.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant should either:
amend claim 11 to specify that the claimed “first set of one or more collection troughs” are or are part of the “means for collecting the unevaporated portion of the solution”; or
provide in their response written a statement explicitly confirming that the “first set of one or more collection troughs” is in fact distinct from the “means for collecting the unevaporated portion of the solution”.
Claim 11 recites “an unevaporated portion of the solution” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if this is the same “unevaporated portion of the solution” recited in line 20 of claim 1.
Assuming that the “first set of one or more collection troughs” recited in claim 11 are a component of the “means for collecting the unevaporated portion of the solution” recited in claim 1, then the “unevaporated portion of the solution” recited in claim 11 would be the same unevaporated portion recited in claim 1. Assuming this is the case, claim 11 should be amended to replace “an unevaporated portion of the solution” with --the unevaporated portion of the solution--.
Claim 11 recites “a second set of one or more collection troughs” in line 5. It is unclear if said second set of one or more collection troughs are part of the “means for collecting the condensed vapors” as recited in claim 1.
As presently claimed, the “second set of one or more collection troughs” is implicitly distinct from ““means for collecting the condensed vapors”, such that claim 11 requires the second set of one or more collection troughs AND an additional ““means for collecting the condensed vapors”. However, a review of Applicant’s specification suggests that this is not what Applicant intends for the claims to capture.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant should either:
amend claim 11 to specify that the claimed “second set of one or more collection troughs” are or are part of the “means for collecting the condensed vapors”; or
provide in their response written a statement explicitly confirming that the “second set of one or more collection troughs” is in fact distinct from the ““means for collecting the condensed vapors”.
Claim 12 is rejected due to its dependency on indefinite claim 11.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the surfaces of the fins that function as evaporating surfaces" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites “an annular washer-like element” in line 8. The scope of “washer-like” is unclear.
Examiner believes “washer-like” is meant to refer to the shape of a washer. The shape of a washer is an annulus. Claim 14 already specifies that the element in question is an annulus, i.e. “annular”. Thus, the inclusion of “washer-like” is believed to be unnecessary.
To overcome this rejection, Examiner suggests amending claim 14 to delete the term “washer-like”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Domen (US 2004/0026225).
With regard to claim 1: Domen teaches a thermal distillation apparatus for separating a volatile solvent from a solution composed of the solvent and one or more non-volatile components (Figure 10, paragraph [0097]), the apparatus comprising:
A plurality of vertical, planar evaporation surfaces 224 on which the solution flows as thin films, the planar evaporation surfaces being the external surfaces of a first heat exchanger within which flows a first fluid that supplies heat to convert at least some of the volatile solvent to a vapor (Figure 10, paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
A plurality of vertical, planar condensation surfaces 226 spaced apart and parallel to a corresponding one of the one or more vertical, planar evaporation surfaces 224, the planar condensation surfaces being the external surfaces of a second heat exchanger within which flows the first fluid or a second fluid that absorbs the thermal energy that is released as vapors of the solvent condensed on the condensation surfaces (Figure 10, paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
Air at ambient pressure filling a gap between the condensation surfaces 226 of the evaporation surfaces 224 (Figure 10, paragraphs [0057], [0083], [0097] and [0098], especially paragraph [0057]; note that the disclosure of paragraph [0057] is directed to a third particular process according to Domen’s invention, as is the embodiment of Figure 10).
Means, i.e. pipes 230 and a header 232, for supplying a flow of the solution from a solution feed source to the one or more evaporation surfaces 224 (Figure 10, paragraphs [0097] and [0098]).
Means, i.e. troughs (shoes) 261, for collecting condensed vapors that flow off the condensation surfaces (Figure 10, paragraph [0099]).
And means, i.e. troughs (shoes) 256, for collecting unevaporated portion of the solution that flows off the evaporation surfaces 224 (Figure 10, paragraph [0099]).
With regard to claim 2: A distance between each evaporation surface and a corresponding condensation is less than 5 mm, i.e. 3.3 mm (Figure 10, paragraph [0097]).
With regard to claim 3: The planar evaporation surfaces have a treatment (hydrophilic coating) that wicks the solution, i.e. the treatment (hydrophilic coating) spreads out solution to be evaporated in part by “capillary effect” (Figure 10, paragraphs [0097], [0104], [0112]).
With regard to claim 4: The surface treatment may be at least sheets of woven fibers or non-woven fibers bonded or otherwise attached to the evaporation surfaces, where the fibers are hydrophilic or otherwise wettable and may be at least natural fiber (paragraph [0071], claim 19).
With regard to claim 5: The planar condensation surfaces have a treatment (hydrophilic coating) that promotes film-wise condensation and inhibits drop-wise condensation (Figure 10, paragraph [0105]).
With regard to claim 6: Wherein spacing elements (lateral reinforcements; not shown in Figure 10) 14a-b maintain the gaps between the planar evaporation surfaces 224 and the planar condensation surfaces 226 (paragraph [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domen in view of Lowenstein (US 9,770,673).
With regard to claim 7: Domen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 6 as described in the 102 rejections above.
Domen does not explicitly teach that surfaces of the spacing elements are hydrophobic or otherwise treated to inhibit wetting by either the solution or the condensed vapor.
However, it is well-known in the art to configure and/or treat surfaces such spacing elements so that they are hydrophobic. For example, Lowenstein teaches a distillation system having hydrophobic spacers 470 to prevent contact between adjacent evaporation and condensation surfaces (Figure 5A, abstract, Column 12 Line 43-Column 13 Line 3). Lowenstein indicates that making the spacers hydrophobic is advantageous, as it discourages liquid from flowing from the evaporation and condensation surfaces to the surfaces of the spacers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Domen in view of Lowenstein by configuring the surfaces of the spacing elements to be hydrophobic, in order to inhibit wetting by either the solution or the condensed vapor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dependent claim 8 specifies that “the first heat exchanger is [a] condenser [of a heat pump] and the second heat exchanger is [an] evaporator of [the] heat pump, with the first fluid and second fluid being refrigerant that circulates in the heat pump.” Thus, in the invention of claim 8, the vertical, planar evaporation surfaces and the vertical planar condensation surfaces are heated and cooled by a refrigerant flowing in a heat pump loop.
The closest prior art of record is Domen (US 2004/0026225) as applied to the 102 rejection of claim 1 above. Domen does not teach or fairly suggest the limitations of claim 8.
The use of a heat pump loop for heating and cooling evaporating and condensing surfaces in a humidification dehumidification distillation device is by no means a novel idea and is taught, for example, by Antar et al. (US 10,493,373).
However, to incorporate a heat pump into the system of Domen would require substantial redesign of Domen’s system, as it would necessitate removal or significant modification of Domen’s means for preheating liquid to be evaporated. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to modify Domen’s system to arrive at the invention of claim 8.
Therefore, claim 8 and its dependents are novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Domen et al. (US 2006/0272933) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figures 3 and 4).
Le Goff (US 4,507,175) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figures 1 and 4).
Petrek et al. (US 4,329,204) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figure 2).
Petrek et al. (US 4,402,793) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figure 2).
Tsumura et al. (US 4,329,205) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figure 1).
Tsumura et al. (US 4,421,606) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figure 1).
Tsumura et al. (US 4,475,988) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figure 1).
Park et al. (US 9,884,265) teaches devices which anticipate some of the claims (Figures 1 and 2).
Antar et al. (US 10,493,373) teaches a distillation device which uses a heat pump to heat and cool evaporation and condensation surfaces respectively.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LUKE PILCHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1772