DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 37: “said” should be deleted;
Claim 14, line 11: “one or more implants” should be replaced with –the at least one implant–;
Claim 15, line 3: “electrode” should be replaced with –electrodes–;
Claim 17, line 2: –of the plurality of–should be inserted before “primary”;
Claim 17, last line: –one or more– should be inserted before “wires”;
Claim 18, line 24: “a head” should be replaced with –the head–; and
Claim 18, line 24: “a human” should be replaced with –the human–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
“Receiving means” in claim 14 is being interpreted to correspond to at least the external electrodes 10, 10’ of Fig. 5, and equivalents thereof.
“Processing means” in claim 14 is being interpreted to correspond to at least the digital control unit 6’ of Fig. 5, and equivalents thereof
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“External unit” in claims 1 and 18 because it uses a generic placeholder (i.e., “unit”) that is coupled with functional language (i.e., “adapted to generate at least the high-frequency current…”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The limitation is being interpreted to correspond to the elements of Fig. 5 (i.e., a combination of digital control unit, signal amplifier, demodulator, modulator, power supply, and interface & communications), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites “the capsule is contained within a non-hermetic flexible body made of insulating material that also contains wires to connect the capsule to one or more electrodes of the plurality of primary electrodes or to one or more recording and/or stimulation electrodes”, which is new matter. Claim 1 indicates that the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form, which directs the claim to the embodiment of Fig. 18 and ¶ [0156] of the published application. However, the specification does not provide any description of how the capsule arranged over the dielectric substrate of claim 1 is also contained with a non-hermetic flexible body with wires for connecting the capsule to one or more electrodes. Instead, ¶ [0156] teaches that the configuration of Fig. 18 avoids mounting and wiring electrodes on or around the stent-like structure, which appears to conflict with the limitations of claim 9.
Claim 12 recites “a hollow network of recording or stimulation electrodes connected to the capsule by means of wires which are flexible or plastically deformable”, which is new matter. Claim 1 indicates that the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form, which directs the claim to the embodiment of Fig. 18 and ¶ [0156] of the published application. However, the specification does not provide any description of how the capsule arranged over the dielectric substrate of claim 1 is connected to a hollow network of recording or stimulation electrodes by means of wires. Instead, ¶ [0156] teaches that the configuration of Fig. 18 avoids mounting and wiring electrodes on or around the stent-like structure, which appears to conflict with the limitations of claim 9.
Claim 16 recites “the hermetic capsule of the implant comprises one or more dielectric segments with one or more embedded conductive elements, the embedded conductive elements comprising at least one selected from metallic protrusions, pins or wires” in lines 1-3, which is new matter. Claim 1 indicates that the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form, which directs the claim to the embodiment of Fig. 18 and ¶ [0156] of the published application. However, the embodiment does not teach or suggest that the capsule comprises dielectric segments with one or more embedded conductive elements. At most, the specification teaches metallic protrusions, pins or wires in ¶ [0144] and Fig. 10 which is directed to a cylindrical capsule, there being no indication that the teachings of ¶ [0144] and Fig. 10 being applicable to the embodiment of Fig. 18. Additionally, there is no description of where the dielectric segments or conductive elements would be located on the capsule of Fig. 18.
Claim 17 recites “the one or more conductive elements of the hermetic capsule are electrically connected to at least one selected from one or more primary electrodes of the implant and one or more recording or stimulation electrodes of the implant” in lines 1-3 and “wherein the implant further comprises a non-hermetic insulation which houses, at least in part, the capsule and wires”, which are new matter. Claim 1 indicates that the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form, which directs the claim to the embodiment of Fig. 18 and ¶ [0156] of the published application. First, the specification does not provide any description of one or more embedded conductive elements which comprises at least one of metallic protrusions pins or wires (of claim 16) being connected to electrodes of the implant. Fig. 18 and ¶ [0156] is completely silent as to how the electrodes are connected to the capsule. Second, the specification does not provide any description of how the wires for connecting the capsule and electrodes are housed at least in part by a non-hermetic insulation. Instead, ¶ [0156] teaches that the configuration of Fig. 18 avoids mounting and wiring electrodes on or around the stent-like structure, and Fig. 18 depicts the substrate and associated wires being located outside of the stent-like structure.
Claims 1-4, 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the implant” in lines 5, 27, and 30 and “at least one elongated implant” in line 3. If there are a plurality of elongated implants, then it is unclear which of the plurality of implants is being referred to by the recitations in lines 5, 27, and 30. For the purposes of examination, the recitations in line 5, 27, and 30 will be interpreted to be “the at least one elongated implant”. Each of the recitations of “the implant” and “the elongated implant” in claims 2-4, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17 are rejected on similar grounds and should be replaced with “the at least one elongated implant”.
Claim 1 recites “substantially planar” in line 27, which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially planar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this case, it is unclear when something starts/stops being considered substantially planar, and the specification does not provide clarification. Claim 18 recites a similar limitation, so it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 2-4, 9-17 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
The term “stent-like” in claims 10-12 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scopes of the invention. In this case, the terms are subjective, and it is unclear when something starts/stops being considered threadlike or stent-like.
Claim 14 recites “the one or more signals” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation will be interpreted to be “one or more signals”.
Claim 15 recites “a plurality of external electrodes” in line 3. Claim 1 recites “a plurality of external electrodes” in line 35. It is unclear if these recitations are the same as, related to, or different from each other. Additionally, if they are the same, it is unclear whether the external unit comprises or is connected to the electrodes.
Claim 18 recites “the electronics” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests deleting “the” in the recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Demonstration of 2 mm Thick Microcontrolled Injectable Stimulators Based on Rectification of High Frequency Current Bursts” (hereinafter referred to as “Becerra-Fajardo 2017”) (Cited by Applicant) in view of US 2003/0233133 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Greenberg”) and “Bidirectional Communications in Wireless Microstimulators Based on Electronic Rectification of Epidermically Applied Currents” (hereinafter referred to as “Becerra-Fajardo 2015B”), and evidenced by “In Vivo Demonstration of Addressable Microstimulators Powered by Rectification of Epidermically Applied Currents for Miniaturized Neuroprostheses (hereinafter referred to as “Becerra-Fajardo 2015A”) (Cited by Applicant).
With regards to claim 1, Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a system (Fig. 1A-C and Page 1344 depict implantable stimulators which pick up a portion of the HF current for powering the circuitry; Fig. 2A and Page 1345 depict an external generator using a electrodes for providing the HF), comprising:
at least one elongated implant (Fig. 1A-C and Pages 1344-1345 depict the implantable stimulator being elongated), adapted to be implanted inside a body region, said body region being comprised in a human or animal head or neck (The Examiner asserts that the implantable stimulators are sized and shaped such that they are capable of being implanted in the head or neck), wherein the implant comprises:
a) a sealed tube (Fig. 1 and Page 1345, left column depict a silicone tube filled with a biocompatible silicone);
b) a plurality of primary electrodes, comprising a volume conduction electrode pair (Fig. 1 and Pages 1344-1345 depict implant electrodes being two stainless steel electrodes at opposite ends of the silicone tube, wherein the electrodes pick up a portion of the HF current for powering the circuitry); said plurality of primary electrodes being arranged, at least in part, externally to the sealed tube (Fig. 1 and Pages 1344-1345 depict the two stainless steel electrodes at opposite ends of the silicone tube);
c) an electronic circuit housed inside the sealed tube and electrically connected to the plurality of primary electrodes (Pages 1344-1345 and Fig. 1 depict the electronic components on the PCB inserted into the silicone tube, wherein copper pads of the PCB were cold soldered to the stainless steel electrodes; Pages 1344-1345 indicate that the circuit architecture are detailed in Becerra-Fajardo 2015A), comprising:
- a communications stage adapted to detect, across two of the primary electrodes, a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction to the volume conduction electrode pair (Fig. 2 and Pages 4-6 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A depict the demodulation subcircuit for extracting information from the HF burst detected by the electrodes);
- a digital control unit configured to process the high-frequency current detected by the communications stage (Fig. 2 and Pages 4-6 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A indicate the circuit includes a digital control system 3 which reads the information sent on the HF current);
- a power transfer stage adapted to receive at least part of the energy of a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction through the volume conduction electrode pair (Fig. 2 and Pages 6-7 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A indicate the circuit includes a combination of a full-bridge rectifier and a dc-blocking capacitor for receiving the stimulating current), and to transfer the power associated to said at least part of the energy of the high-frequency current to the digital control unit and to the communications stage (Fig. 2 and Page 4 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A depict the power being provided to the digital control system 3 and the a demodulator for the amplitude modulation communication subsystem 1); and
- an external unit adapted to generate at least the high-frequency current to transfer power to and to communicate with the at least one implant (Fig. 2 and Page 1345 depict an external generator for generating the HF current transmitted to the implants); wherein the fundamental frequency of the high-frequency current is comprised between 1 MHz and 200 MHz (Fig. 2 and Page 1345 depict a frequency at 1 MHz); the external unit (In light of the interpretation of “external unit” under 35 U.S.C. §112(f), “external unit” is being interpreted a combination of digital control unit, signal amplifier, modulator, power supply, and interface & communications) comprising:
- a power supply (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a computer generates a modulating signal using a data acquisition (DAQ) board, which necessarily requires a power supply) ;
- a digital control unit and a modulator adapted to generate high- frequency signals adapted to power and communicate with one or more implants by volume conduction (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a function generator that modulates a 1-MHz sinusoidal voltage carrier which is then amplified and delivered across the target tissue.)
- a signal amplifier adapted to amplify the one or more management signals generated by the digital control unit and the modulator (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a high voltage amplifier to amplify the modulated signal); and to deliver said signals to one or more implants through said head or neck body region by volume conduction (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches the amplifier is connected to a pair of electrodes which allows it to deliver the signals to the implants. The Examiner asserts that the electrodes and electrical components are capable of transmitting signals head or neck body region);
- and interface and communications (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a computer which is a computer interface with communication capabilities).
wherein the external unit is electrically connected to a plurality of external electrodes (Fig. 2 and Page 1345 indicate that the external generator is connected to external electrodes), and at least two electrodes of said plurality of external electrodes comprise corresponding contact areas configured to be arranged over the over the head or the neck, at substantially opposite positions thereof along a longitudinal axis defined by the elongated implant (Fig. 2 and Page 1345 depict external electrodes (aluminum plates) which may be placed over a head or neck at opposite ends of the longitudinal axis of the implants); and wherein the sum of contact areas of each said external electrodes is comprised between 1 cm² and 250 cm² (Fig. 2 depicts the area of the electrode being 70 mm x 25 mm which is equivalent to 17.5 cm2).
Becerra-Fajardo 2017 is silent regarding whether the sealed tube is a hermetic capsule, an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material, and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Greenberg teaches a hermetic capsule for housing an electronic circuit (Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶ [0034]-[0036] depict a hermetic electronics control unit 20 with a hermetic ceramic case with electronics inside), an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material (Figs. 4-5 and ¶¶ [0034],[0037]-[0038] depict a flexible circuit 18 formed of a flexible insulating substrate 38 comprising polyimide, which is a dielectric), and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate (Figs. 1 and 5 depict the unit 20 being planar and arranged over substrate 38; Figs. 4-5 and 10 and ¶ [0066] depict the electrodes 36 being planar and formed over at least a portion of the substrate 38), such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form (Fig. 5 depicts the implant having a substantially planar and elongated form). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sealed tube and associated electrodes of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 with a hermetic capsule, an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material, and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form of Greenberg. Because both structures are suitable for housing circuitry and supporting electrodes, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the external unit comprises a demodulator.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Becerra-Fajardo 2015B teaches that an external unit comprises a demodulator (Page 546 teaches the external unit is triggered in order to capture, demodulate, and decode the signal, which indicates that it comprises a demodulator). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the external unit of the above combination to incorporate a demodulator as taught by Becerra-Fajardo 2015B. The motivation would have been to allow for the receiver to receive and decode signals from the implant.
With regards to claim 4, the above combination teaches or suggests the electronic circuit of the implant further comprises a neurostimulation stage adapted to generate and deliver electrical signals outside the implant through the volume conduction electrode pair and/or the one or more recording and stimulation electrodes (Fig. 2 and Page 1344 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 depict LF biphasic symmetric waveforms for stimulation generated by the control unit CU and two current sources, wherein the LF current flows through the tissues), said neurostimulation stage comprising at least one of the following: a pulse generator, rectification elements and switching elements (Fig. 2 and Page 1344 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 depicts the current sources act as a peak current limiters for the rectified current that flows through the implant, wherein a switch is opened to guarantee that the LF current flows through the tissues and not through the implant’s subcircuits).
With regards to claim 14, the above combination teaches or suggests the external unit (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 discloses the external generator) comprises:
- a power supply (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a computer generates a modulating signal using a data acquisition (DAQ) board, which necessarily requires a power supply) ;
- a digital control unit and a modulator adapted to generate high- frequency signals adapted to power and communicate with the implants by volume conduction through the plurality of external electrodes (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a function generator that modulates a 1-MHz sinusoidal voltage carrier which is then amplified and delivered across the target tissue).
- a signal amplifier adapted to amplify the one or more signals generated by the digital control unit and the modulator (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a high voltage amplifier to amplify the modulated signal); and to deliver said signals to implant through said head or neck body region of the human or animal subject by volume conduction (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches the amplifier is connected to a pair of electrodes which allows it to deliver the signals to the implants. The Examiner asserts that the electrodes and electrical components are capable of transmitting signals head or neck body region because the system is capable of delivering signals to other tissues which are sufficiently similar to head and neck tissue)
The above combination is silent regarding whether the external generator comprises:
- receiving means adapted to receive the one or more signals from the one or more implants through the head or neck body region of the human or animal subject by volume conduction;
- processing means adapted to process information associated to the one or more signals received from the one or more implants.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implant communication, Becerra-Fajardo 2015B teaches an external generator (Pages 546 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015B teaches the external generator includes the HF current generator) which comprises: - receiving means adapted to receive the one or more signals from the one or more implants through the head or neck body region by volume conduction (Figs. 4-5 and Pages 546-547 depict the external unit comprising a receiver comprising a sensing resistor and electrodes capable of sensing signals from the implanted electrodes. The Examiner asserts that the electrodes and resistor are capable of receiving signals through the head or neck body region by volume conduction because system is capable of receiving and sensing signals of other tissues which are sufficiently similar to head and neck tissue); - processing means adapted to process information associated to the one or more signals received from the one or more implants (Fig. 4 and Pages 546-547 depict a digital processing stage). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the external unit of the above combination to incorporate receiving means adapted to receive the one or more signals from the one or more implants through the head or neck body region by volume conduction; and processing means adapted to process information associated to the one or more signals received from the one or more implants, as taught by Becerra-Fajardo 2015B. The motivation would have been to improve the sensing capabilities of the external generator, thereby allowing for a more accurate diagnosis of the patient.
With regards to claim 15, the above combination teaches or suggests the external unit comprises: a plurality of external electrodes and one or more switching elements or permanent interconnections electrically connected to the one or more external electrodes to selectively select a set of them for delivering the high-frequency current and/or to selectively short circuit one or more of them; and/or - at least one external electrode adapted to be placed on the scalp (Fig. 2 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 depict external electrodes (aluminum plates) which are capable of being placed on the scalp; Fig. 3 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 also depicts electrodes capable of being placed on the scalp); and at least one external electrode adapted to be placed at the neck region (Fig. 2 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 depict external electrodes (aluminum plates) which are capable of being placed on the neck; Fig. 3 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 also depicts electrodes capable of being placed on the neck).
With regards to claim 16, the above combination teaches or suggests the hermetic capsule of the implant comprises one or more dielectric segments with one or more embedded conductive elements, the embedded conductive elements comprising at least one selected from metallic protrusions, pins or wires (Fig. 3 and ¶¶ [0034]-[0035] of Greenberg depict the hermetic electronics control unit 20 formed of a ceramics case and comprising input/output contacts 22 which are metallic protrusions or pins).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becerra-Fajardo 2017 in view of Greenberg and Becerra-Fajardo 2015B and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0405345 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Kavehei”) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 2, the above combination is silent regarding whether the primary electrodes further comprise a plurality of communication electrodes.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Kavehei teaches primary electrodes further comprise a plurality of communication electrodes (¶¶ [0067], [0071] and Fig. 8 of Kavehei indicate that at least two of the electrodes serve as communication electrodes, and bidirectional communication may be performed). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the primary electrodes of the above combination to incorporate that they include a plurality of communication electrodes as taught by Kavehei. The motivation would have been to allow for bidirectional communication between the implant and the external unit.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the communications stage of the electronic circuit of the implant is further adapted to exchange, through at least two of the communication electrodes, one or more management signals with the external unit by volume conduction.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implant communication, Becerra-Fajardo 2015B teaches a communications stage of the electronic circuit of the implant is further adapted to exchange, through at least two of the communication electrodes, one or more management signals with the external unit by volume conduction (Fig. 2 and Pages 546-547 disclose an uplink communications scheme which includes the communications stage of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 and Becerra-Fajardo 2015A connected to electrodes for ASK uplink to the external sensing resistor of the external unit). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communications stage of the above combination to incorporate that is further adapted to exchange, through at least two of the communication electrodes, one or more management signals with the external unit by volume conduction as taught by Becerra-Fajardo 2015B. The motivation would have been to provide sensing data to the external unit (See second full paragraph of Page 546 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015B).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becerra-Fajardo 2017 in view of Greenberg and Becerra-Fajardo 2015B and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kavehei and US 2018/0333587 A1 (Howard) (previously cited)
With regards to claim 3, the above combination is silent regarding whether the electronic circuit of the implant further comprises a biopotentials acquisition stage comprising amplifiers, band-pass filters, analog-to-digital converters and switching elements, said biopotentials acquisition stage being adapted to record one or more electrical signals from the body region through at least the volume conduction electrode pair and/or one or more recording and stimulation electrodes, wherein the one or more electrical signals are dependent upon a voltage difference outside the capsule.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Kavehei teaches a biopotentials acquisition stage adapted to record one or more electrical signals from the body region through at least the volume conduction electrode pair and/or one or more recording and stimulation electrodes, wherein the one or more electrical signals are dependent upon a voltage difference outside the capsule (¶ [0064] discloses the active device may measure a differential signal that represents a channel of, for example, an EEG, an ECG, or an EMG; ¶ [0067] discloses the EEG signals are detected using the signal electrode and body potential electrodes of the active device; also see Fig. 8 and ¶ [0071] with regards to the active implantable device and its signal electrodes and body potential electrodes). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic circuit of the above combination to incorporate a biopotentials acquisition stage adapted to record one or more electrical signals from the body region through at least the volume conduction electrode pair and/or one or more recording and stimulation electrodes, being the electrical signals dependent on a voltage difference outside the capsule, as taught by Kavehei. The motivation would have been to provide the necessary circuitry such that the device is capable of measuring a differential signal that represents a channel of an EEG, ECG, or EMG (see ¶¶ [0064], [0067] of Kavehei), thereby improving the diagnostic capabilities of the device.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the biopotentials acquisition stage comprising amplifiers, band-pass filters, analog-to-digital converters and switching elements.
In the same field of endeavor of brain-machine interfaces, Howard teaches a biopotentials acquisition stage comprising amplifiers, band-pass filters, analog-to-digital converters and switching elements (Fig. 91 and ¶ [0465] discloses an acquisition stage comprising a fixed gain instrumentation amplifier 9102, switched capacitors band pass filter 9104, programmable gain amplifier 9106, and ADC sampling unit, and a multiplexer; ¶ [0015] discloses a multiplexer coupled to the adc). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the biopotentials acquisition stage of the above combination to incorporate amplifiers, band-pass filters, analog-to-digital converters and switching elements as taught by Howard. The motivation would have been to incorporate structure for improving the biosignal acquisition and amplification.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becerra-Fajardo 2017 in view of Greenberg and Becerra-Fajardo 2015B and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0289971 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Yeh”) (previously cited) and US 6,757,970 B1 (Kuzma) (previously cited)
With regards to claim 9, the above combination is silent regarding whether the capsule is contained within a non-hermetic flexible body made of insulating material that also contains wires to connect the capsule to one or more primary electrodes of the implant or to one or more recording and/or stimulation electrodes of the implant.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Yeh teaches a hermetic capsule is contained within a non-hermetic flexible body made of insulating material (Fig. 59 and ¶ [0359] teaches a nonconductive membrane 5901 with open ends that contains the hermetically sealed electronics module 5970; ¶ [0359] depicts the surface being flexible enough to conform to the wall curvature while having enough structure to maintain placement in the vessel). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate that the hermetic capsule is contained within a non-hermetic flexible body made of insulating material as taught by Yeh. The motivation would have been to provide structure for maintaining the implant within a vessel. See ¶ [0359] of Yeh.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the insulating material also contains wires to connect the capsule to one or more electrodes of the plurality of primary electrodes or to one or more recording and/or stimulation electrodes.
In a system relevant to the problem of connecting an element to electrodes, Kuzma teaches an element electrically connected to the electrodes by means of one or more wires (Figs. 1-2 and Col. 4, lines 30-42 depict electrode array 10 connected to insulated lead wires and to a source) and the insulation houses at least in part the wires (Figs. 1-2 depict the tube jacket houses the wires). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate, based on the teachings of Kuzma that the capsule is electrically connected to the electrodes by means of one or more wires and the insulation houses at least in part the wires. It would have been the simple substitution of one known element for connecting an element to an electrode for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becerra-Fajardo 2017 in view of Greenberg and Becerra-Fajardo 2015B and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0289971 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Yeh”) (previously cited).
With regards to claims 10 and 11, the above combination is silent regarding whether the implant is attached to a stent-like structure adapted to secure the position of the whole implant against a vessel wall, and wherein the capsule is externally fastened to the stent-like structure by means of one or more fasteners.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Yeh teaches an implant is attached to a stent-like structure adapted to secure the position of the whole implant against a vessel wall, and wherein the capsule is externally fastened to the stent-like structure by means of one or more fasteners (Fig. 49 and ¶¶ [0333]-[0335] depict a stent-based system having an expandable scaffold 4902, wherein the midfield device 4910 is fastened to the expandable scaffold 4902). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the implant of the above combination to incorporate that it is attached to a stent-like structure adapted to secure the position of the whole implant against a vessel wall, and wherein the capsule is externally fastened to the stent-like structure by means of one or more fasteners as taught by Yeh. The motivation would have been to ensure that the implant is fixed relative to the target tissue.
With regards to claim 17, the above combination teaches or suggests one or more of the conductive elements of the hermetic capsule are electrically connected to at least one selected from one or more primary electrodes of the implant and one or more recording or stimulation electrodes of the implant, wherein the primary electrodes and the recording or stimulation electrodes are arranged externally of the capsule, (Figs. 3-5 and ¶¶ [0034]-[0035], [0037] of Greenberg depict the input/output contacts 22 which are metallic protrusions or pins being electrically connected to electrodes 36 along traces 34, wherein electrodes 36 are external to 20).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the implant further comprises a non-hermetic insulation which houses at least in part, the capsule and the wires.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Yeh teaches a non-hermetic flexible body made of insulating material for housing a capsule and its associated materials (Fig. 59 and ¶ [0359] teaches a nonconductive membrane 5901 with open ends that contains the hermetically sealed electronics module 5970; ¶ [0359] depicts the surface being flexible enough to conform to the wall curvature while having enough structure to maintain placement in the vessel). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the implant of the above combination to incorporate, based on the teachings of Yeh, a non-hermetic insulation which houses at least in part, the capsule and the wires. The motivation would have been to provide structure for maintaining the implant within a vessel. See ¶ [0359] of Yeh.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becerra-Fajardo 2017 in view of Greenberg, Becerra-Fajardo 2015B, and Yeh, and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of 2018/0236221 A1 (Opie)(previously cited).
With regards to claim 12, the above combination is silent regarding the stent-like structure comprises a hollow network of recording or stimulation electrodes connected to the capsule by means of wires which are flexible or plastically deformable.
In the same field of endeavor of implantable stimulating and sensing devices, Opie teaches a stent-like structure comprises a hollow network of recording or stimulation electrodes connected to a control unit by means of wires which are flexible or plastically deformable (Fig. 21C and ¶ [0141] depict the wires 141 wrapped around the stylet sleeve 123, thereby forming a hollow network of connections; ¶ [0069] discloses the wires 141 enable communication between the device 100 and the control unit 12). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate, based on the teachings of Opie, the stent-like structure comprises a hollow network of recording or stimulation electrodes connected to a control unit by means of wires which are flexible or plastically deformable. The motivation would have been to improve the connection between the electrodes and the target tissue.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becerra-Fajardo 2017 in view of Greenberg and Becerra-Fajardo 2015B and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0259069 A1 (Baru) (previously cited)
With regards to claim 13, the above combination teaches or suggests
- the communications stage comprises a demodulator unit adapted to demodulate the high-frequency current (Fig. 1 and Page 1344 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 depict an amplitude demodulator); and
- the digital control unit is connected to a load modulator adapted to modulate symmetrically or asymmetrically a load of the implant (Fig. 2 and Page 7 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A depict the current sources that generate complementary cathodic and anodic pulses, which necessarily modulate symmetrically or asymmetrically the load of the implant).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the power transfer stage of the electronic circuit comprises a blocking capacitor connected in series with the volume conduction electrode pair or the plurality of communication electrodes, said blocking capacitor being adapted to prevent passage of dc current and to enable flow of the high-frequency current to and from the electronic circuit.
In a system relevant to the problem of generating stimulating pulses, Baru teaches a blocking capacitor connected in series with electrodes (¶ [0015] discloses DC blocking capacitors placed in series with electrodes for protective purposes), said blocking capacitor being adapted to prevent passage of dc current and to enable the flow of the high-frequency current to and from the electronic circuit (DC blocking capacitors necessarily enable the flow of ac currents and block passage of dc currents). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power transferring stage of the electronic circuit of the above combination to incorporate a blocking capacitor connected in series with the volume conduction electrode pair or the plurality of communication electrodes, said blocking capacitor being adapted to prevent passage of dc current and to enable the flow of the high-frequency current to and from the electronic circuit, as taught by Baru. The motivation would have been to provide protection and prevent electrode potential drifts. See ¶ [0015] of Baru.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Becerra-Fajardo 2017, Greenberg and Becerra-Fajardo 2015B, and evidenced by Becerra-Fajardo 2015A
With regards to claim 20, Yeh teaches a method for powering or controlling the electronics of a head or neck implant by volume conduction, wherein the implant is adapted to be implanted inside a body region, said body region being comprised in a human or animal head or neck (¶ [0002] discloses methods for providing signals (e.g., wireless midfield signals) to an implantable device (e.g., stimulation device) using an external device (e.g., external midfield coupler or midfield power source); ¶ [0124] discloses treating treat neurological conditions, disorders or diseases by stimulating an internus or nucleus of the brain; ¶ [0134] discloses the target tissue including brain tissue; ¶ [0373] discloses deploying the midfield device in a vessel that is in or near a patient’s brain), the method comprising: implanting the implant in a head or neck region of a human or animal subject (¶ [0124] discloses treating treat neurological conditions, disorders or diseases by stimulating an internus or nucleus of the brain, which requires implanting the implant in a brain); arranging a plurality of external electrodes over the head or the neck of the human or animal (¶ [0128] discloses the outwardly facing electrodes 121 and 122 adjacent to the tissue surface; ¶ [0125] discloses the implantable device being within several centimeters below the surface of the skin, which means that the electrodes must be also placed over the head or the neck of the human when the implant is used for treating a neurological condition, disorder, or disease in the brain), connecting the plurality of external electrodes to an external unit adapted to generate at least a current to transfer power to and to communicate with the implant (Fig. 1 depicts the electrodes 121, 122 in an already connected state to a source 102; ¶ [0132] discloses the source 102 transmitting power and/or data signals to the antenna 108).
Yeh is silent regarding whether the implant comprises: a hermetic capsule; a plurality of primary electrodes comprising a volume conduction electrode pair; the plurality of primary electrodes being arranged, at least in part, externally to the capsule; an electronic circuit housed inside the capsule and electrically connected to the plurality of primary electrodes, comprising:- a communications stage adapted to detect a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction through the volume conduction electrode pair;- a digital control unit configured to process the high-frequency current detected by the communications stage; and - a power transfer stage adapted to receive at least part of the energy of the high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction through the volume conduction electrode pair, and to transfer the power associated to said at least part of the energy of the high-frequency current to the digital control unit and to the communications stage; and an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material; wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form; the method comprising: using an external unit comprising a digital control unit, signal amplifier, modulator, power supply, and interface & communications, arranging the plurality of external electrodes at substantially opposite positions thereof along a longitudinal axis defined by the implanted implant, at least two of said external electrodes comprising corresponding contact areas, and wherein the sum of contact areas of each said external electrodes is comprised between 1 cm2 and 250 cm2; and operating the external unit to generate a powering or controlling current having a fundamental frequency comprised between 1 MHz and 200 MHz (i.e., the high frequency current) through the head or neck of the human or animal subject, and to transmit said powering or control current to the implanted implant by volume conduction.
Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches at least one elongated implant (Fig. 1A-C and Pages 1344-1345 depict the implantable stimulator being elongated), adapted to be implanted inside a body region, said body region being comprised in a human or animal head or neck (The Examiner asserts that the implantable stimulators are sized and shaped such that they are capable of being implanted in the head or neck), wherein the implant comprises:
a) a sealed tube (Fig. 1 and Page 1345, left column depict a silicone tube filled with a biocompatible silicone);
b) a plurality of primary electrodes comprising a volume conduction electrode pair (Fig. 1 and Pages 1344-1345 depict implant electrodes being two stainless steel electrodes at opposite ends of the silicone tube, wherein the electrodes pick up a portion of the HF current for powering the circuitry); said plurality of primary electrodes being arranged, at least in part, externally to the sealed tube (Fig. 1 and Pages 1344-1345 depict the two stainless steel electrodes at opposite ends of the silicone tube);
c) an electronic circuit housed inside the sealed tube and electrically connected to the plurality of primary electrodes (Pages 1344-1345 and Fig. 1 depict the electronic components on the PCB inserted into the silicone tube, wherein copper pads of the PCB were cold soldered to the stainless steel electrodes; Pages 1344-1345 indicate that the circuit architecture are detailed in Becerra-Fajardo 2015A), comprising:
- a communications stage adapted to detect, across two of the primary electrodes, a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction to the volume conduction electrode pair (Fig. 2 and Pages 4-6 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A depict the demodulation subcircuit for extracting information from the HF burst detected by the electrodes);
- a digital control unit configured to process the high-frequency current detected by the communications stage (Fig. 2 and Pages 4-6 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A indicate the circuit includes a digital control system 3 which reads the information sent on the HF current);
- a power transfer stage adapted to receive at least part of the energy of a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction through the volume conduction electrode pair (Fig. 2 and Pages 6-7 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A indicate the circuit includes a combination of a full-bridge rectifier and a dc-blocking capacitor for receiving the stimulating current), and to transfer the power associated to said at least part of the energy of the high-frequency current to the digital control unit and to the communications stage (Fig. 2 and Page 4 of Becerra-Fajardo 2015A depict the power being provided to the digital control system 3 and the a demodulator for the amplitude modulation communication subsystem 1); and
- using an external unit comprising:
- a power supply (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a computer generates a modulating signal using a data acquisition (DAQ) board, which necessarily requires a power supply) ;
- a digital control unit and a modulator adapted to generate high- frequency signals adapted to power and communicate with one or more implants by volume conduction (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a function generator that modulates a 1-MHz sinusoidal voltage carrier which is then amplified and delivered across the target tissue.)
- a signal amplifier adapted to amplify the one or more management signals generated by the digital control unit and the modulator (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a high voltage amplifier to amplify the modulated signal); and to deliver said signals to one or more implants through said head or neck body region by volume conduction (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches the amplifier is connected to a pair of electrodes which allows it to deliver the signals to the implants. The Examiner asserts that the electrodes and electrical components are capable of transmitting signals head or neck body region);
- and interface and communications (Page 1345 of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 teaches a computer which is a computer interface with communication capabilities).
arranging at least two electrodes of said plurality of external electrodes at substantially opposite positions of segment along a longitudinal axis defined by the elongated implant (Fig. 2 and Page 1345 depict external electrodes (aluminum plates) placed at opposite ends of the longitudinal axis of the implants), at least two of said external electrodes comprising corresponding contact areas, and wherein the sum of contact areas of each said external electrodes is comprised between 1 cm² and 250 cm² (Fig. 2 depicts the area of the electrode being 70 mm x 25 mm which is equivalent to 17.5 cm2), and
operating the external unit to generate a powering or controlling current having a fundamental frequency comprised between 1 MHz and 200 MHz through the body segment, and to transmit said powering or control current to the implanted implant by volume conduction (Fig. 2 and Page 1345 depict an external generator which generates the HF current transmitted to the implants; Fig. 2 and Page 1345 depict a frequency at 1 MHz).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the implant and the method Yeh to incorporate that the implant is adapted to be implanted inside a body region, said body region being comprised in a human or animal head or neck, wherein the implant comprises: a) a sealed tube; b) a plurality of primary electrodes comprising a volume conduction electrode pair; c) an electronic circuit housed inside the sealed tube and electrically connected to the plurality of primary electrodes, comprising: - a communications stage adapted to detect, across two of the primary electrodes, a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction to the volume conduction electrode pair;- a digital control unit configured to process the high-frequency current detected by the communications stage; - a power transfer stage adapted to receive at least part of the energy of a high-frequency current transmitted by volume conduction through the volume conduction electrode pair, and to transfer the power associated to said at least part of the energy of the high-frequency current to the digital control unit and to the communications stage; and - using an external unit comprising:- a power supply; - a digital control unit and a modulator adapted to generate high- frequency signals adapted to power and communicate with one or more implants by volume conduction - a signal amplifier adapted to amplify the one or more management signals generated by the digital control unit and the modulator; and to deliver said signals to one or more implants through said head or neck body region by volume conduction - and interface and communications; arranging at least two electrodes of said plurality of external electrodes at substantially opposite positions of segment along a longitudinal axis defined by the elongated implant, at least two of said external electrodes comprising corresponding contact areas, and wherein the sum of contact areas of each said external electrodes is comprised between 1 cm² and 250 cm², and operating the external unit to generate a powering or controlling current having a fundamental frequency comprised between 1 MHz and 200 MHz through the body segment, and to transmit said powering or control current to the implanted implant by volume conduction as taught by Becerra-Fajardo 2017. The motivation would have been to improve the supply of the power in the neuroprosthesis (Paragraph 1 of Introduction of Becerra-Fajardo 2017). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for receiving a signal for powering a stimulation implant for another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the sealed tube is a hermetic capsule, an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material, and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Greenberg teaches a hermetic capsule for housing an electronic circuit (Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶ [0034]-[0036] depict a hermetic electronics control unit 20 with a hermetic ceramic case with electronics inside), an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material (Figs. 4-5 and ¶¶ [0034],[0037]-[0038] depict a flexible circuit 18 formed of a flexible insulating substrate 38 comprising polyimide, which is a dielectric), and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate (Figs. 1 and 5 depict the unit 20 being planar and arranged over substrate 38; Figs. 4-5 and 10 and ¶ [0066] depict the electrodes 36 being planar and formed over at least a portion of the substrate 38), such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form (Fig. 5 depicts the implant having a substantially planar and elongated form). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the sealed tube and associated electrodes of Becerra-Fajardo 2017 with a hermetic capsule, an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material, and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form of Greenberg. Because both structures are suitable for housing circuitry and supporting electrodes, it would have been the simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results.
The above combination is silent regarding whether the external unit comprises a demodulator.
In the same field of endeavor of wireless implants, Becerra-Fajardo 2015B teaches that an external unit comprises a demodulator (Page 546 teaches the external unit is triggered in order to capture, demodulate, and decode the signal, which indicates that it comprises a demodulator). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the external unit of the above combination to incorporate a demodulator as taught by Becerra-Fajardo 2015B. The motivation would have been to allow for the receiver to receive and decode signals from the implant.
Response to Arguments
Specification
In view of the amendment to the abstract, the objection to the specification was withdrawn.
Claim Objections
There are new grounds of claim objections necessitated by the claim amendments filed 09/06/2026
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §112
There are new grounds of claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112 necessitated by the claim amendments filed 09/06/2026
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant' s amendment and arguments filed 09/06/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Greenberg. Specifically, the previously applied prior combination does not disclose a hermetic capsule for housing an electronic circuit, an elongated and planar dielectric substrate made of a flexible or conformable material, and wherein the capsule and the plurality of primary electrodes have planar form and are arranged over the dielectric substrate, such that the implant has a substantially planar and elongated form but Greenberg discloses this feature. See the above analysis of Greenberg in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103. Therefore, the previously applied 103 rejection has been modified to incorporate the teachings of Greenberg.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791