Election
Applicants’ election of claims 1-18 is acknowledged and made final. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the amendment, the numbering of claim 1 has been mistakenly deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Karasawa (US 5575756).
Regarding claim 1, Karasawa discloses a suction-flushing-system (FIGS. 1, 2, 4; FIGS. 2, 4 reproduced below) for a medical instrument comprising
a distal region (FIG. 2) adapted for insertion into a patient,
at least one optical device (cover glass 19) which is cleanable by the suction-flushing-system positioned in the distal region (FIG. 2),
the suction-flushing-system (FIGS. 1-2), comprising:
at least one flushing medium outlet (nozzle 23; FIG. 2) opening for discharging a flushing (water line 24) medium jet onto an outer surface of the optical device (cover glass 19); and
at least one suction opening (insertion-section clearance 27; suction means 29; FIG. 2) for withdrawing by suction at least liquid components from the outer surface of the optical device.
Regarding claim 2, Karasawa discloses wherein the suction-flushing-system is arranged for simultaneously performing ejection of the flushing medium jet onto the outer surface of the optical device via the at least one flushing medium outlet opening and for withdrawing by suction at least some of the liquid components from the optical device through the at least one suction opening (Feed water and suction (or feed gas) are made possible to be performed separately or simultaneously by the channels different from each other. FIGS. 11, 12; col. 13, lines 18-27.).
Regarding claim 3, Karasawa discloses wherein characterized-in that the suction-flushing-system is arranged to suck back the predominant share of the at least one flushing medium, which has been ejected via the at least one flushing medium outlet opening through the at least one suction opening (FIGS.1, 4).
Regarding claim 5, Karasawa discloses wherein the at least one flushing medium outlet opening has a smaller cross section, than a flushing channel configured to provide a flushing medium to the at least one flushing medium outlet opening (The feed water channel 22 has smaller outlet opening. FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Karasawa discloses at least one mechanical coupling element arranged for form fit mechanical coupling of the suction-flushing-system to the medical instrument (FIG. 4, annotated. FIG. 8, provides an example coupling element for suction means).
Regarding claim 7, Karasawa discloses wherein the at least one flushing medium outlet opening has a flushing medium ejection direction with the outer surface of the optical device (The flushing medium outlet opening has a flushing medium ejection direction towards the outer surface of the optical device. FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Karasawa discloses wherein the at least one flushing medium outlet opening is arranged immediately adjacent to the outer surface of the optical device (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Karasawa discloses wherein the at least one suction opening (nozzle 23; FIG. 2) is arranged immediately adjacent to the outer surface of the optical device.
Regarding claim 10, Karasawa discloses a storage tank for storing flushing medium (Feed water means 86; FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Karasawa discloses a first manual actuating element (suction means 131; FIG. 20) for activating the ejection of flushing medium from the at least one flushing medium outlet opening (FIGS. 20, 21a-21c; Three-way activity plug 135 provides flushing and suctioning activity.).
Regarding claim 12, Karasawa discloses a first manual actuating element (Suction means 131; FIG. 20) is arranged for manual pressurization of a storage tank (Feed water means 130; FIG. 20) which stores flushing medium.
Regarding claim 13, Karasawa discloses a second manual actuating element for activating the suction (Three-way activity plug 135; FIG. 20) of at least some liquid components through the at least one suction opening can be activated (FIGS. 20, 21a-21c; Three-way activity plug 135 provides flushing and suctioning activity.).
Regarding claim 14, Karasawa discloses the second actuating element is structurally integrated with the first actuating element as a combined actuating element, so that the ejection of the flushing medium and/or the suction of at least some liquid constituents selectively activated by different manual modes of actuation of the combined actuating element (Feed water and suction (or feed gas) are made possible to be performed separately or simultaneously by the channels different from each other. Col. 13, lines 18-27; FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 15, Karasawa discloses wherein the combined actuating element is configured such that by different manual modes of actuation of the combined actuating element one of the following modes of operation is selected:
a) no suction of at least some liquid constituents and no ejection of flushing medium,
b) suction of at least some liquid components without ejection of flushing medium,
c) the suction of at least some liquid components with simultaneous ejection of flushing medium (Feed water and suction (or feed gas) are made possible to be performed separately or simultaneously by the channels different from each other. FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 16, Karasawa discloses that the different manual actuation modes are selectable by varying a manual pressurization of the combined actuating element (The fluid passages of the feed water tube 416 and the suction tube 417 are selectively switched through operation of a feed water button 422 and a suction button 423 provided on a valve unit 421, whereby the water feeding or suction through the tubes 416 and 417 can be turned on and off, and, further, the flow rate therein can be adjusted. Col. 27, lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 17, Karasawa discloses pump (Suction means 131; FIG. 20) for generating a suctioning effect at the least one suction opening.
Regarding claim 18, Karasawa discloses the pump is connectable to the at least one suction opening (Note suction means 131; FIG. 20) and an additional emission channel through a valve mechanism (Three-way activity plug 135 provides flushing and suctioning activity; FIG. 20; col. 11, line 43-col. 12, line 22), wherein the valve mechanism which selectively connects the pump either with the at least one suction opening or the additional emission channel depending on the operation mode of the pump (FIG. 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasawa (US 5575756) in view of Zhou (US 20220125474).
Regarding claim 4, Karasawa does not expressly disclose wherein the suction flushing system is arranged for one-hand operation by a person, at least for activating ejection of the flushing medium through the at least one flushing medium outlet opening and for activating the suction of at least some liquid components through the at least one suction opening.
Zhou is directed to direct-vision abortion uterine curettage (abstract) and teaches a suction flushing system (suction mechanism 4, flushing mechanism 6; Para [0018]) arranged for one-hand operation by a person, at least for activating ejection of the flushing medium through the at least one flushing medium outlet opening and for activating the suction of at least some liquid components through the at least one suction opening (The medical staff may realize one-handed operation during clinical use, and the use process is more convenient. Para [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karasawa’s device so that it can have a one-handed operation so that the use of the device is more convenient. For example, the flushing switch/plug could be arranged in the handle in accordance with the teaching of Zhou to make it capable of single-handed use for convenient use of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO -892.
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
3/23/26