DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10, 15 and 16 recites “the lidar system” in line 4 of claim 10. This recitation creates ambiguity since there are two “a lidar system” in claim 10. It is unclear which one of the two lidar system such recitation refers to. Thus, it is unclear how much weigh is to be given to the preamble. Clarification is required to properly construct the scope of claims 10, 15 and 16.
Claims 11-14 and 17 are rejected because of their dependency upon rejected claims 10, 15 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Canady et al (US 20210197859).
Regarding claims 10, 15-17, Canady et al teach a method, a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium ([0086]) and a device (along with any system include such a device) for ascertaining a visual range degradation ([0008]-heavy fog) of a LiDAR system, comprising the following steps: a. providing a data point cloud of a LiDAR system that maps objects in a field of view of the LiDAR system ([0022], [0094]); b. analyzing ([0047] intensity distribution of ROI e.g. gradient) at least a portion of the data point cloud (data point as shown in figure 3) to ascertain an edge dimension (gradient) of at least one object in the data point cloud; and c. (i) ascertaining a visual range of the LiDAR system based on the edge dimension and/or (ii) initiating a process ([0017], [0030], [0100]) for degradation correction for the LiDAR system based on the edge dimension.
Regarding claim 13, Canady et al teach wherein, in step c), there is a check to see whether the edge dimension exceeds or falls below a predefined limit value ([0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Canady et al teach he analysis in step b) is carried out in three spatial dimensions. That is, [0047] teaches the lidar data is associated with azimuth and beam index (elevation) and distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canady et al in view Wheeler et al (US 20190120947)
Regarding claim 11, Canady et al teach the invention set forth above. Canady et al do not teach the analysis in step b) includes use of an edge detection algorithm which includes a filter. Wheeler et al teach ([0007]) an edge detection algorithm which includes a filter. That is, the difference intensity between adjacent pixels. It would have been obvious at the time of invention to utilize a filter to determine edges of point data (see at least Wheeler [0007]) to properly identify the edge as desired.
Conclusion
/TONY KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK