DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-5 and 10, drawn to an aluminum powder.
Group II, claims 6-9, drawn to a process of making an aluminum powder product.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Group I and II inventions lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature. The process as claimed is not tailored to make the product of invention I with specific properties as described.
During a telephone conversation with Applicant’s Representative, Mitsuhiro Haraguchi, on January 8, 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-5 and 10. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 recites the same preamble of claim 1 without any additional claim limitation. Therefore, claim 5 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NANBU (JP-2000/160371).
Claim 1: Nanbu teaches coating aluminum powder with a corrosion inhibitor. The coated aluminum exhibits a purity of 99.9% (translation copy, page 5, 2nd paragraph) which indicates the impurity which would have included oxygen is less than 0.1% and thus meets the claimed range of 0.5 mass% or less. The coated aluminum was put to a test by leaving the coated in a solution at pH 8-10 at 20oC for 21 days (translation copy, para. 0030). No aluminum hydroxide was detected (Table 2 and 3, samples 8 and 10). Thus, this test shows equivalent to leaving the aluminum in water at 80C for a mere 12 hours as claimed. The burden is on Applicant to show the contrary.
Claim 2: The average particle size of the aluminum is 16 mm (translation copy, page 5, 4th paragraph), which meets the claimed range of 10 µm to 50 µm.
Claim 5: The aluminum powder comprises aluminum and aluminum-containing paint (product) (para. 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NANBU in view of NAKAMURA (US-2021/0069785).
Nanbu teaches the aluminum powder product as claimed. However, Nanbu fails to teach an additive manufactured article comprising a sintered body of the aluminum powder product. Nakamura teaches a metal sintered body for additive manufacturing article comprising metal particles (para. 0006 and 0023), wherein the metal includes aluminum (Nakamura, para. 0065). Therefore, the POSITA would be motivated by the teaching of Nakamura to utilize the aluminum powder product of Nanbu in making an additive manufacturing article.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references of record fails to teach the specific particle size and corrosion inhibitor as claimed. Nakamura teaches particles size of metal particles for additive manufacturing articles; however, the average particle size is 4 mm or smaller which falls outside the claimed range.
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788