DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “which 5 the” should read “with the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “convertor” should read “converter”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAKABE et al. (JP2005292205A).
In Re claim 1, ‘205 teaches an optical fiber cable comprising:
a cable main body comprising a plurality of optical fibers (at least 2 of 11 in 12), each of the plurality of
optical fibers comprising: a plurality of core portions (arbitrary sections of each core along its respective length); a cable sheath (13) inside which the plurality of optical fibers are housed; and at least one tensile strength member (layer 12 has a tensile strength to some degree or one of the other fibers of 11) embedded in the cable sheath; and a first connecting member (20) provided at a first end portion of the cable main body.
In Re claims 2 and 3, ‘205 teaches curled (fig. 1) and a diameter (pg. 4 of attached translation) as claimed.
In Re claim 4, ‘205 teaches a multicore connector (20 connects multiples cores).
In Re claim 5, ‘205 teaches another connector as claimed (20 on other end, fig. 1).
In Re claim 7, The patentability of an apparatus depends only on the claimed structural limitations. ‘205 teaches a structure that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the ‘205 device does not possess these functional characteristics. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claims 1 and 4 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Balachandran et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2022/0317404A1).
‘404 teaches an optical fiber cable comprising:
a cable main body comprising a plurality of optical fibers (104d), each of the plurality of
optical fibers comprising: a plurality of core portions (104e); a cable sheath (104a) inside which the plurality of optical fibers are housed; and at least one tensile strength member (104b or 104g) embedded in the cable sheath; and a first connecting member (102) provided at a first end portion of the cable main body.
In Re claim 4, ‘404 teaches a multicore connector (102 connects many cores within 104 to another 102 of another 104).
In Re claim 5, ‘404 teaches further comprising a second connecting member (other 102 or other end) is connected to a second end portion of the cable main body.
In Re claim 6, ‘404 teaches wherein one of the first connecting member and the second connecting member is a convertor (102 is a fanout connector, par. 0068) configured to convert (fans out the fibers) and connect the plurality of optical fibers, each of the plurality of optical fibers comprising the plurality of core portions, to optical fibers (to another 104 at a 102), each of the optical fibers comprising a single-core portion (par.0073).
In Re claim 7, the patentability of an apparatus depends only on the claimed structural limitations. ‘404 teaches a structure that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the ‘404 device does not possess these functional characteristics. See MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874