Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, lines 2-3, consider amending to,-- disposed in the dust collecting chamber and configured to circulate air inside the dust bag with outside air by generating an airflow that passes through the dust bag--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drying part” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 3-4 and claim 13, lines 2-3 state: “a coupling part disposed in the housing and including a coupling surface to which at least a part of a cleaner is coupled.” It is unclear if the cleaner is part of the claimed invention or not. However, it appears “a cleaner” is coupled to the station, which indicates it is a positively recited element of the invention. For examination purposes of this office action, this will be interpreted as intended use, in which the coupling part is a surface configured to be coupled to a cleaner.
Claims 2-12 are rejected accordingly under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Hackert (US 20210010685).
Regarding claim 1, Hackert (US 20210010685) discloses a cleaner station (10; fig. 1; para.41) comprising:
a housing (40; fig. 1, annotated 1; para.54);
a coupling part (vertical surface portion of part 40 that is circularly defined in fig.1, annotated 2 that receives the vacuum; paras. 70, 72, 84) disposed in the housing (para. 70; fig. 1, annotated 1) and including a coupling surface (as seen in fig. 1, annotated 2 the annotated part receives the cleaner; para.72-73) to which at least a part of a cleaner is coupled (fig. 1, annotated 2; para.72);
a suction flow path (40F and 50F; fig. 1, annotated 1; para. 73) having one end connected to a dust passage hole (as annotated in fig. 1, annotated 1 below; para. 73) formed in the coupling surface (fig. 1, annotated 1; para.70);
a dust collecting part (comprising bag 50H and the associated dust collection chamber, as annotated below in fig. 1, annotated 3; paras. 84 and 134-135) connected to the other end of the suction flow path (fig. 1, annotated 3; paras. 73 and 134) and including a dust bag (50H; fig. 1, annotated 3; para. 135) configured to capture dust in a dust bin of the cleaner (fig. 1, annotated 3; para. 135), and a dust collecting chamber (as annotated in fig. 1, annotated 3 below; para. 80) configured to accommodate the dust bag (fig. 1, annotated 3; para. 75); and
a drying part (defined by at least elements 50J, 10E, and associated conduits 40F and 50F, as annotated in fig. 1, annotated 3 below) configured to dry an interior of the dust bag by generating an airflow to be introduced into the dust bag in the dust collecting chamber (the continuous airflow introduced by the drying part allows the interior of the dustbag to dry, as annotated in fig. 2 below and by the black arrows; para. 73).
Regarding claim 2, Hackert discloses the cleaner station of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the drying part comprises: an air inlet port (communication ports as annotated in fig. 1 below; para. 79) configured to allow an interior of the dust collecting chamber and the outside of the housing to communicate with each other (as annotated in fig.1 below, air from outside the housing flows into the interior of the dust collection chamber via air inlet ports; para. 69);
a blower fan (50J; fig. 1; para. 77) configured to introduce air present outside the housing into the dust collecting chamber through the air inlet port (fig.2; para. 77); and
a shutter (10E; fig.1; para. 85) configured to open or close the air inlet port (fig.1; para. 85).
Regarding claim 4, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further teaches wherein the blower fan introduces air into the dust collecting chamber (fig.2; para. 77) in a state in which the shutter opens the air inlet port (fig.1; para. 85).
Regarding claim 5, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the drying part comprises a blower fan (50J; fig. 1; para. 77) disposed in the dust collecting chamber and configured to circulate air inside the dust bag with outside air by generating an airflow that passes through the dust bag (fig.2; paras. 77 and 130); air flow is generated by suction means as it sucks the outside air from the suction flow path, passes through the dust bag, and is released back outside).
Regarding claim 7, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the drying part comprises: an air inlet port (communication ports annotated in fig. 1 below; para. 73) configured to allow the interior of the dust bag to communicate with an intermediate space defined between an outer peripheral surface of the dust bag and an inner peripheral surface of the dust collecting chamber (Intermediate space annotated in fig.1 below; paras. 73, 77, and 84. An inlet port injects air into dust collecting chamber the air goes through the permeable bag and into the intermediate space);
a blower fan configured to introduce air in the intermediate space into the dust bag through the air inlet port (fig. 2; paras. 73 and 77); and
a shutter (10E; fig. 1) configured to open or close the air inlet port (para. 85, when the shutter does not block the fluid passage way of 40F and 50F it allows air to flow into the dust collection chamber).
Regarding claim 9, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses wherein the blower fan introduces air into the dust bag in a state in which the shutter opens the air inlet port (fig.1; paras. 73, 77, and 85).
Regarding claim 10, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein a discharge flow path (10H and 10L; fig. 2; para. 127 and 135) is provided at one side of the dust collecting chamber and guides at least a part of air, which flows in the dust collecting chamber, to the outside of the housing (fig. 2; para. 127 and 135).
Regarding claim 11, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein a flow path cover (10E; fig. 1; para. 85) configured to open or close the suction flow path is provided at one side of the suction flow path (fig.1; para. 85).
Regarding claim 12, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 11, as described above, and further teaches wherein the drying part generates an airflow to be introduced into the dust bag in the dust collecting chamber (fig.2; paras. 77 and 130) in a state in which the flow path cover closes the suction flow path (suction flow path consists of 40F and 50F when airflow is generated, one of the suction flow paths will be covered and closes one of the paths; para. 85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US 20210010685) in view of Hiroshi (JP 2683434 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Hackert teaches the limitations of claim 2, as described above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the drying part comprises a heater configured to heat air introduced into the dust collecting chamber by the blower fan.
However, Hiroshi (JP 2683434 B2), concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber, teaches wherein the drying part comprises a heater (71, Hiroshi; figs. 2-3; para.12, lines 400-410) and configured to heat air introduced into the dust collecting chamber by the blower fan (figs. 2, 3, and 5, Hiroshi; para. 9, lines 310-315 and para. 10, lines 311-320).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the hot air that circulates through the inside of the air permeable bag, also circulates through the outside of the air permeable bag in the dust collecting chamber.
Both Hiroshi and Hackert are concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction flow path, as taught by Hackert, to additionally include a heater upstream to the dust collection chamber, as taught by Hiroshi, for the purpose of increasing utility and killing harmful insects such as pests or mites (para. 2 lines 91-98, Hiroshi).
Regarding claim 6, Hackert discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the drying part comprises a heater configured to heat the air that circulates through the inside and outside of the dust bag by the blower fan.
However, Hiroshi (JP 2683434 B2), concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber, teaches wherein the drying part comprises a heater (71, Hiroshi; figs. 2-3; para.12, lines 400-410) configured to heat the air that circulates through the inside and outside of the dust bag by the blower fan (figs. 2, 3, and 5, Hiroshi; para. 9, lines 310-315 and para. 10, lines 311-320).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the hot air that circulates through the inside of the air permeable bag, also circulates through the outside of the air permeable bag.
Both Hiroshi and Hackert are concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction flow path, as taught by Hackert to additionally include a heater upstream to the dust collection chamber, as taught by Hiroshi for the purpose of increasing utility and killing harmful insects such as pests or mites (para. 2 lines 91-98, Hiroshi).
Regarding claim 8, Hackert teaches the limitations of claim 8, as described above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the drying part comprises a heater configured to heat air introduced into the dust bag by the blower fan.
However, Hiroshi (JP 2683434 B2), concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber, teaches wherein drying part comprises a heater (71, Hiroshi; figs. 2-3; para.12, lines 400-410) configured to heat air introduced into the dust bag by the blower fan (figs. 2, 3, and 5, Hiroshi; para. 9, lines 310-315 and para. 10, lines 311-320).
Both Hiroshi and Hackert are concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction flow path, as taught by Hackert, to additionally include a heater upstream to the dust collection chamber, as taught by Hiroshi, for the purpose of increasing utility and killing harmful insects such as pests or mites (para. 2 lines 91-98, Hiroshi).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackert (US 20210010685) in view of Hidetoshi (JP H06102058 B2).
Hackert, concerned with the art of a cleaner station with a dust collection chamber, teaches:
A cleaner station (10; fig. 1, annotated 2; para.41) comprising: a housing (40; fig. 1, annotated 1; para.54);
a coupling part (vertical surface portion of part 40 that is circularly defined in fig.1, annotated 2 that receives the vacuum; paras. 70, 72, 84) disposed in the housing (para. 70; fig. 1, annotated 1) and including a coupling surface (as seen in fig. 1, annotated 2 the annotated part receives the cleaner; para.72-73) to which at least a part of a cleaner is coupled (fig. 1, annotated 2; para.72);
a suction flow path (40F and 50F; fig. 1, annotated 1; para. 73) having one end connected to a dust passage hole (as annotated in fig. 1, annotated 1 below; para. 73) formed in the coupling surface (fig. 1, annotated 1; para.70);
a dust collecting part (comprising bag 50H and the associated dust collection chamber, as annotated below in fig. 1, annotated 3; paras. 84 and 134-135) connected to the other end of the suction flow path (fig. 1, annotated 3; paras. 73 and 134) and including a dust bag (50H; fig. 1, annotated 3; para. 135) configured to capture dust in a dust bin of the cleaner (fig. 1, annotated 3; para. 135), and a dust collecting chamber (as annotated in fig. 1, annotated 3 below; para. 80) configured to accommodate the dust bag (fig. 1, annotated 3; para. 75). However, Hackert does not explicitly disclose wherein a heater is disposed in the dust collecting chamber.
However, Hidetoshi (JP H06102058 B2), concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber, teaches wherein a heater (18, Hidetoshi; fig. 1; para. 1, lines 53-60) is disposed in the dust collecting chamber (fig. 1, Hidetoshi; para. 1, lines 53-60).
Both Hidetoshi and Hackert are concerned with the art of a suction cleaning apparatus capable of holding dirt in a dust bag in a dust chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection chamber, as taught by Hackert, to additionally include a heater, as taught by Hidetoshi, for the purpose of increasing utility and killing harmful insects such as pests or mites, sanitizing, and preventing malodor para. 2, 90-100, Hidetoshi).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL THADDUES FARRELL JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723