DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits of application 18/727,890. Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 3586192 A (Goodacre).
Regarding claim 1, Goodacre discloses:
A lifting device (figure 1) comprising:
- a base support (base support, annotated figure 1) configured to be arranged on a horizontal plane (floor shown in figure 1) and a column (9) fixed on said base support in such a way that it is arranged perpendicular to said horizontal plane,
- a trolley (10) which can slide vertically on said column designed to engage with a load (on forks 16) to be lifted, said trolley comprising a first lower portion (lower portion, annotated figure 2) and a second upper portion (upper portion, annotated figure 2), said first portion and said second portion comprising respective rollers (11) engaging in respective tracks (within mast 9, figure 2) made in said column, said trolley also comprising a reticular structure (14, 15, 18, 30, 32) for connecting said first lower portion and second upper portion, said reticular structure comprising tie rods (18, 30) and struts (14, 15, 32); characterised in that said tie rods and struts are connected to said first lower portion and said second upper portion by respective hinges (20, 33, 34), said hinges being of the type with at least one degree of freedom.
Figure 1 of Goodacre, annotated by the Examiner
Figure 2 of Goodacre, annotated by the Examiner
Regarding claim 2, Goodacre further discloses:
wherein said hinges comprise spherical joints (33, 34 are spherical joints).
Regarding claim 3, Goodacre further discloses:
wherein said first lower portion comprises a respective pair of rollers (rollers 11 are present in pairs, col. 2 line 2).
Regarding claim 4, Goodacre further discloses:
wherein said second upper portion comprises a respective pair of rollers (11).
Regarding claim 5, Goodacre further discloses:
wherein said trolley comprises on one end (front end) thereof an engagement means (16) with said load to be lifted.
Regarding claim 6, Goodacre further discloses:
wherein said reticular structure is of the lattice type (the horizontal and vertical crossing bars of 14, 15, 18, 30, and 32 create a lattice type structure).
Regarding claim 7, Goodacre further discloses:
wherein said base support comprises wheels (wheels, annotated figure 1) designed to allow the movement of said device on said plane.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-3070190-A, US-4034855-A, US-5147171-A, US-5586620-A, US-6390763-B1, US-20140246273-A1, US-20220402738-A1, and WO-2006009532-A1 are cited to show lifting devices with base supports, vertical columns, and carriages/trolleys with strut structure and/or hinges.
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654