DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation of “in response that the platform cover body is buckled on” in claims 4 and 5 is grammatically improper. Consider ––when the platform cover body is buckled on––.
The limitation of “wherein elastic plate member the is” in claim 13 is grammatically improper. Consider ––wherein the elastic plate member is––.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “position determination apparatus” in claim 1 and “position determination unit” in claim 3..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6, 9-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). It is not clear if the terms “buckle” and “buckled” in claims 3-5, 9, and 18-19 are used by the claims to refer to a specific method of attaching with a buckle or clasp (i.e., an element for fastening that involves at least one movable tongue), or a more general attachment mechanism, as the disclosure does not describe or depict the necessary structures. E.g., the limitation from claim 9 of “a platform bottom plate, buckled at a bottom of the mobile platform body” would, as generally understood in the art, either require the presence of a clasp with a movable pin or that the plate have undergone a mechanical failure. The only mechanical attachment means that seem to be described as “buckles” are snap-fits, such as the “anti-upwarp buckle” 1823 shown in fig. 13. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 6, 10-14, and 20 depend from at least one of claims 3-5, 9, and 18-19 and are likewise rejected as indefinite. For purposes of examination, the terms “buckled” and “buckle” will be interpreted as referring to a snap fit such as that shown in the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li '611 et al. (CN 105982611, "Li") in view of Fiebig et al. (US PGPub 2020/0037843, "Fiebig").
1. Li '611 teaches an automatic cleaning device, comprising:
a mobile platform (100) comprising an accommodation chamber (1031, Li '611 figs. 1 and 9 and Li '611 Translation [0099]);
a position determination apparatus (sensing module 121, see Li '611 Translation [0078]), at least partially arranged inside the accommodation chamber (121 is arranged at least partly in 1031, see Li '611 figs. 5 and 9-13 and Li '611 Translation [0099]); and
a circuit board (corresponding to plug 1211 on position determination apparatus 121, see Li '611 figs. 5 and 13-14 and Li '611 Translation [0106]), arranged in the mobile platform and adjacent to the accommodation chamber (circuit board would be arranged adjacent to 1031 so that it may receive plug 1211 when module 121 is inserted, see Li '611 figs. 5 and 13-14).
Li '611 further teaches that upper and lower housings of the device are waterproof (Li '611 Translation [0097], that the upper housing includes holes located adjacent the sensing module to allow water flowing around the module to flow through the upper housing and out of the main body (Li '611 fig. 11 and Li '611 Translation [0105]), and that there may be a guide groove provided below the through hole to prevent water droplets from spreading to other positions on the lower surface (Li '611 Translation [0105]). Li '611 does not, however, explicitly teach the presence of a water-retaining frame arranged between the circuit board and the accommodation chamber to prevent liquid from flowing into the circuit board.
Furthermore, Fiebig teaches an automatic cleaning device (200, Fiebig fig. 2), including a frame (drip tray 1002, Fiebig figs. 10-12) positioned below a top cover (1000) of the cleaning device and configured to direct water away from electronic components positioned within the housing (Fiebig [0056]-[0058]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Li '611 according to the teachings from Fiebig regarding a water-collecting body such that it included a water-retaining frame arranged between the circuit board and the accommodation chamber to prevent liquid from flowing into the circuit board, as doing so would ensure water flowing from the holes around the position determination apparatus was kept away from electronic components such as the circuit board connecting to the position determination apparatus (see Fiebig [0056]).
2. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 1, wherein the water-retaining frame comprises:
a bottom wall (Fiebig teaches that the tray includes a bottom wall 1200, see Fiebig fig. 12 and [0058]), arranged at a first end of the circuit board close to the accommodation chamber and extending along at least a part of an edge of the first end (the circuit board of Li '611 would be positioned below the sensing module 121 so as to link with plug 1211; a tray positioned as taught by Fiebig would result in at least a part of the bottom wall being positioned above or adjacent to the circuit board, see Li '611 figs. 5 and 13-14); and
a sidewall (sidewalls 1202, see Fiebig fig. 12), extending from an edge of the bottom wall close to the circuit board in a direction substantially perpendicular to the bottom wall (1202 extend substantially perpendicularly to 1200, see Fiebig fig. 12),
wherein a free end of the sidewall away from the bottom wall is further away from a bottom surface of the mobile platform than the circuit board (as noted, the circuit board of Li '611 as modified would be positioned below or adjacent to the bottom wall of the drop tray, the top of the vertically extending sidewalls would be further away from the bottom of the mobile platform than at least the part of the circuit board adjacent to the bottom wall, see Fiebig fig. 12 and Li '611 figs. 5 and 13-14).
3. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein the position determination apparatus comprises:
a position determination unit (121); and
a protection cap (1032, see Li '611 fig. 13), on the position determination unit (1032 covers 121, see Li '611 fig. 12) and comprising:
a bottom plate and a cover protruding from the bottom plate and configured to accommodate at least a part of the position determination unit (1032 includes a flat base and an elevated portion capable of covering part of 121, see Li '611 fig. 13 and Li '611 Translation [0103]),
wherein a liquid guide hole (1214) is formed to enable the liquid falling on the position determination unit to fall into the accommodation chamber through the liquid guide hole (holes 1214 provided on periphery of 121 are configured to allow water from sensing module 121 to pass down through the hole in housing 103, see Li '611 figs. 11-13 and Li '611 Translation [0105]).
Li '611 as modified does not explicitly teach that the protection cap is buckled on the position determination unit, that the cover comprises a buckling cover, or that the liquid guide hole is formed at a junction between the bottom plate and the buckling cover.
However, Li '611 does teach that the protection cap is fixed to the upper housing separately from the sensing module by connectors (Li '611 Translation [0100]). Additionally, Fiebig further teaches the interchangeability of several other types of fasteners such as snap fitting connectors (Fiebig [0056]).
Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the screws shown by Li '611 as modified for fastening the cover plate with a mechanism such as a snap fit, which would be understood by one of ordinary skill to be fall within the scope of the "buckle" claimed as an attachment mechanism, such a modification resulting in the protection cap being buckled on the position determination unit and comprising: a bottom plate; and a buckling cover, protruding from the bottom plate and configured to accommodate at least a part of the position determination unit, wherein a liquid guide hole is formed at a junction between the bottom plate and the buckling cover (because Li '611 teaches the concept of the liquid hole being located at a periphery of the unit 121 contained by the cap, and the closest point to that periphery that would capture water would be at the junction of the cap and the base plate, see Li '611 fig. 12), to enable the liquid falling on the bottom plate to fall into the accommodation chamber through the liquid guide hole, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one known attachment mechanism for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
4. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 3, wherein the mobile platform comprises:
a mobile platform body (100 has a housing, see Li '611 figs. 3-5), wherein the accommodation chamber is formed in the mobile platform body (recess 1031 is formed in the housing of 100, see Li '611 fig. 9); and
a platform cover body (104) comprising an opening hole (see Li '611 fig. 13), wherein the platform cover body substantially covers the bottom plate when the platform cover body is buckled on the mobile platform body (104 substantially covers plate on base of 1032, see Li '611 fig. 13), and at least a part of the buckling cover passes through the opening hole (the central portion of 1032 that receives 121 passes through the hole, which would form the "buckling cover" in the modified device, see Li '611 fig. 13 and Li '611 Translation [0102]).
Li '611 as modified does not explicitly teach the presence of a water-retaining rib that protrudes toward the mobile platform body is arranged on a side of the platform cover body facing the mobile platform body.
However, it has been held that “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” MPEP § 2144.01, citing In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
As previously noted, both Li '611 and Fiebig teach that it is not desirable to have electronic components located throughout the robot body exposed to water (Li '611 Translation [0105], Fiebig [0056]). One of ordinary skill would infer from these teachings and their own knowledge of the cleaning arts that water may enter the body through the gaps in cover 1032 provided to allow module 121 to function, but that it is not desirable for that water to have unobstructed access to other portions of the body. This is why drain holes are provided—to dispose of water without allowing it to come into contact with other electronic components of the mobile platform. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would be expected to have a general knowledge of using various forms of ribs, walls, seals, grooves, and other methods of ensuring that water was distributed to the proper places. See, e.g. the various structures of the drip tray shown in fig. 12 of Fiebig.
In light of this knowledge, one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to ensure that Li '611 as modified included a water-retaining rib that protrudes toward the mobile platform body arranged on a side of the platform cover body facing the mobile platform body, as doing so would reduce the chances of water intruding on additional electronic components.
5. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 4, wherein when the platform cover body is buckled on the mobile platform body, the water-retaining rib is located between the circuit board and the accommodation chamber, and is located on a side of the water-retaining frame away from the circuit board (Li '611 as modified would be expected to have circuit boards located throughout its internal structure to interface with the various electronic components, because the rib would be associated with the cover and would be designed to prevent water from reaching any of the circuit boards, it would be expected for the water retaining rib to be between the circuit board and any place water would be flowing, which includes the accommodation chamber. Consequently, one of ordinary skill would expect the water-retaining rib to located between the circuit board and the accommodation chamber, and for it to be located on a side of the water-retaining frame away from the circuit board, so as to minimize exposure between water in the frame and the circuit board).
6. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 3, wherein at least a part of the bottom plate overlaps with the bottom wall of the water-retaining frame (in the modified device, the drip tray would be positioned below bottom plate of 1032 to ensure that water coming through the upper surface was properly contained), and
a liquid guide groove is formed between an edge of the bottom plate close to the water-retaining frame and the sidewall of the water-retaining frame (sidewalls of drip tray 1002 define channels to guide liquid, the bottom plate would define an upper surface thereof, see Fiebig fig. 12 and [0056]-[0058]), and
wherein the liquid guide groove is configured to guide the liquid falling on the bottom plate into the accommodation chamber (channels guide liquid from above into an outlet configured to receive the liquid, see Fiebig fig. 12 and [0056]-[0058]).
7. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 6, wherein the accommodation chamber is provided with a water-retaining wall (walls on edge of 1031 would be capable of retaining water), and the water-retaining wall is configured to guide the liquid that enters the accommodation chamber through the liquid guide groove to flow to a bottom of the accommodation chamber, to prevent splashing to the outside (channels guide liquid from above into an outlet configured to receive the liquid, see Fiebig fig. 12 and [0056]-[0058]; the wall would be capable of performing the same role).
8. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 1, wherein a liquid drainage hole is formed at a bottom of the accommodation chamber, to enable the liquid collected into the accommodation chamber to flow out of the accommodation chamber (outlet for water to flow out of 1031, see Li '611 Translation [0105]).
9. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 8, wherein the mobile platform further comprises:
a mobile platform body (100 has a housing, see Li '611 figs. 3-5), wherein the accommodation chamber is formed in the mobile platform body (recess 1031 is formed in the housing of 100, see Li '611 fig. 9); and
a platform bottom plate (101), buckled at a bottom of the mobile platform body (101 is attached at bottom of robot body, see Li '611 fig. 8).
Li '611 as modified does not teach that the platform bottom plate comprises an accommodation groove, the accommodation groove is configured to accommodate the liquid discharged from the liquid drainage hole, and an orthographic projection of the liquid drainage hole on the platform bottom plate is within the accommodation groove.
However, Fiebig further teaches that liquid from a drip tray outlet may travel downward and be guided out of a bottom part of a robot through channels to an outside environment, see Fiebig figs. 12-14 and [0059]-[0062]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Li '611 as modified according to the teachings from Fiebig for guiding water such that the platform bottom plate comprised an accommodation groove, the accommodation groove is configured to accommodate the liquid discharged from the liquid drainage hole, and an orthographic projection of the liquid drainage hole on the platform bottom plate is within the accommodation groove, as doing so would facilitate the removal of liquid from areas where it may damage electrical components (Fiebig [0059]).
10. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 9, wherein a sidewall of the accommodation groove is provided with a liquid drainage port (Fiebig teaches the use of drainage ports on both sidewalls and bottoms portions of liquid trays, see Fiebig figs. 12 and 14, and the specific location of one would have been an obvious matter of design choice based on the internal layout of the modified device, as it has been held that where the sole difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the particular placement of an element, the particular placement of that element is—absent some indication that changing the position of the element would have modified the operation of the device—an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).).
14. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 3, wherein the position determination apparatus is a laser ranging apparatus, and the position determination unit is a laser ranging unit (sensing module 121 is a laser rangefinder, Li '611 Translation [0078]).
15. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 2, wherein: the sidewall comprises a first sidewall arranged at the first end of the circuit board close to the accommodation chamber, a second sidewall and a third sidewall oppositely arranged at two ends of the first sidewall, a fourth sidewall connected to one end of the second sidewall away from the first sidewall, and a fifth sidewall connected to one end of the third sidewall away from the first sidewall, and the fourth sidewall and the fifth sidewall are located respectively at two ends of the water-retaining frame, and tail ends of the fourth sidewall and the fifth sidewall are free ends (Fiebig teaches a plurality of sidewalls arranged to guide water, combining the teachings of Fiebig with the device of Li '611 would result in sidewalls mappable to the claimed configuration).
16. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 15, wherein the mobile platform further comprises a platform bottom plate (101, see Li '611 fig. 8), and orthographic projections of the fourth sidewall and the fifth sidewall on the platform bottom plate fall within the accommodation chamber (it would be possible to create orthographic projections of the sidewalls in an arbitrary direction that intersect the bottom plate and fall within the accommodation chamber).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li '611 in view of Fiebig as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 106073644, "Li '644").
11. Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 10, wherein the platform bottom plate further comprises:
a mouth (for holding cleaning module 150, see Li '611 fig. 2), configured to expose at least a part of a dry cleaning module (150 may be a dry cleaning module or a wet cleaning module, Li '611 Translation [0087]) of the automatic cleaning device so as to be communicated with the mobile platform body, but does not teach that the accommodation groove is adjacent to the mouth, and the liquid drainage port is configured to guide the liquid in the accommodation groove to flow out of the automatic cleaning device through the mouth.
However, Li '644 teaches an automatic cleaning device (100) including liquid drainage holes (32) on a top part (3) of the body (Li '644 fig. 6) that pass liquid through a lower part and out a platform bottom plate adjacent to a mouth (liquid flows out adjacent bottom mouth 8, see Li '644 fig. 5), wherein the flow path includes an accommodation groove (water guide slope 52, see Li '644 fig. 9 and Li '644 Translation [0076]) adjacent to the mouth (52 ends at opening 511, which is positioned adjacent mouth 8, see Li '644 figs. 5 and 9), and the liquid drainage port is configured to guide the liquid in the accommodation groove to flow out of the automatic cleaning device through the mouth (Li '644 fig. 5 and Li '644 Translation [0065]-[0078]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the device of Li '611 as modified to incorporate the teachings from Li '644 regarding drainage pathways such that it the accommodation groove was adjacent to the mouth, and the liquid drainage port was configured to guide the liquid in the accommodation groove to flow out of the automatic cleaning device through the mouth, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-13 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 17, Li '611 as modified teaches the automatic cleaning device according to claim 15, but does not teach that the water-retaining frame further comprises a pivot shaft, the pivot shaft is parallel to the first sidewall and is spaced from the first sidewall, and two ends of the pivot shaft are respectively fixed to the second sidewall and the third sidewall.
Furthermore, although Li '611 does teach that the upper cover may include a pivotally connected portion (see Li '611 Translation [0102]), no prior art has been identified that teaches or would have made it obvious to have a pivot shaft for such a cover or any other component associated with the water retaining frame. Consequently, claim 17 contains allowable subject matter.
Claim 12 (and claims 13 and 18-20 depending therefrom) contains a similar limitation of “one end of the bottom plate is pivotally connected to the water-retaining frame through a pivot shaft” and would consequently be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R ZAWORSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3723