Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “joint block 120 coupling the first arm with the second arm.” The limitation is unclear because the specification discloses “third arm 103 may be joined to the second arm 102 by a joint block 120” [0029], and “The joint block 120 may be fitted to the second arm 102 and the third arm 103” [0041]. The claim does not provide a discernible boundary for the claimed limitation, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is, and is not, covered by the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s) is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Nakanishi, US Pub. App. 2015-0321362).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-8, a robot comprising:
a first arm (21);
a second arm (31) rotatably coupled to the first arm (21);
a sealing member (35) located between the first arm and the second arm; and
a joint block (11) covering the sealing member, and coupling the first arm with the second arm (11 covers 21 and 31 via 22. Figure 2),
wherein the first arm (21) comprises:
a first housing (portion of 21 that accommodates a part of 31) providing an accommodating space and including one side open (Figure 2); and
a first connecting mount (portion of 21 that receives 22) accommodated in the first housing and located at an opening of the first housing,
wherein the second arm (31) comprises:
a second housing (flange of 31) providing an accommodating space and including one side open; and
a second connecting mount (radial extension of the flange of 31 that passes beyond the circumference of 31) accommodated in the second housing and joined to the first connecting mount at an opening of the second housing (The second connecting mount joined to first connecting mount via 22. Figure 2.),
wherein the sealing member (35) is inserted between the first connecting mount and the second connecting mount (Figure 2),
wherein the joint block (11) is engaged with the first connecting mount and the second connecting mount (Figure 2.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Nakanishi, US Pub. App. 2015-0321362) in view of D2 (He et al., US Pub. App. 2018-0319012).
For claim 2, D1 discloses the robot of claim 1, wherein the first connecting mount comprises: a bottom portion facing the second connecting mount (Figure 2); a cable hole penetrating a center of the bottom portion; and a plurality of pins located adjacent to the cable hole and protruded from the bottom portion, wherein the second connecting mount comprises: a dome portion facing the bottom portion; a cable hole penetrating a center of the dome portion; and a plurality of fixing grooves formed in a location corresponding to the plurality of pins, and recessed into the dome portion, wherein the plurality of pins is inserted into the plurality of fixing grooves.
D2 does not disclose a robotic arm with hollow shaft and cables are passed through the hollow shaft. D2 teaches a robotic arm with hollow shaft 50 and cables are passed through the hollow shaft (Para. [0057]) providing an aesthetic view and facilitating the operation. D2 also discloses a plurality of screws (screw 54, Figure 10) (pins) and holes 26 (Para. [0057]) to facilitate assembly and dome 18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a cable hole and plurality of pins such that the plurality of pins located adjacent to the cable hole and protruded from the bottom portion, wherein the second connecting mount comprises: a dome portion facing the bottom portion; a cable hole penetrating a center of the dome portion; and a plurality of fixing grooves formed in a location corresponding to the plurality of pins, and recessed into the dome portion, wherein the plurality of pins is inserted into the plurality of fixing grooves, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing means to cable to pass through and to facilitate the operation.
For claim 3, D1 modified with D2 teaches the robot of claim 2, wherein one of the plurality of fixing grooves is an elongated hole (54, Figure 6.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the robot of claim 2, wherein the first connecting mount further comprises a first flange formed at a circumference of the bottom portion, wherein the second connecting mount further comprises a second flange formed at a circumference of the dome portion and facing the first flange, wherein the joint block is coupled to the first flange and the second flange (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the robot of claim 4, wherein the sealing member (35) is inserted between the first flange and the second flange (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the robot of claim 5, wherein the first flange comprises: a horizontal portion on which the sealing member is disposed (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.); an inclined portion forming an acute angle with respect to the horizontal portion (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.); and a curved portion connecting the horizontal portion and the inclined portion (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.), wherein the second flange comprises: a horizontal portion facing the horizontal portion of the first flange, and being in contact with the sealing member; an inclined portion forming an acute angle with respect to the horizontal portion; and a curved portion connecting the horizontal portion and the inclined portion, wherein the joint block is in contact with the inclined portion of the first flange and the inclined portion of the second flange (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the robot of claim 1, wherein the first connecting mount comprises: a bottom portion facing the second connecting mount (Figure 2); a cable hole penetrating a center of the bottom portion; and a plurality of pins located adjacent to the cable hole and protruded from the bottom portion, wherein the second connecting mount comprises: a dome portion facing the bottom portion; a cable hole penetrating a center of the dome portion; and a plurality of fixing grooves formed in a location corresponding to the plurality of pins, and recessed into the dome portion, wherein the plurality of pins is inserted into the plurality of fixing grooves.
D2 does not disclose a robotic arm with hollow shaft and cables are passed through the hollow shaft. D2 teaches a robotic arm with hollow shaft 50 and cables are passed through the hollow shaft (Para. [0057]) providing an aesthetic view and facilitating the operation. D2 also discloses a plurality of screws (screw 54, Figure 10) (pins) and holes 26 (Para. [0057]) to facilitate assembly and dome 18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a cable hole and plurality of pins such that the plurality of pins located adjacent to the cable hole and protruded from the bottom portion, wherein the second connecting mount comprises: a dome portion facing the bottom portion; a cable hole penetrating a center of the dome portion; and a plurality of fixing grooves formed in a location corresponding to the plurality of pins, and recessed into the dome portion, wherein the plurality of pins is inserted into the plurality of fixing grooves, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of providing means to cable to pass through and to facilitate the operation.
For claim 8, D1 modified with D2 teaches the robot of claim 7, wherein the protrusion comprises: a first inclined portion extended from the bottom portion, and forming an incline with respect to the bottom portion; a top portion connected to the first inclined portion and forming a height of the protrusion; and a second inclined portion connected the bottom portion with the top portion, and being opposite to the first inclined portion with respect to the top portion, wherein the fixing groove comprises: a first side portion in contact with the first inclined portion of the protrusion; a second side portion in contact with the second inclined portion of the protrusion; and a lower portion spaced apart from the top portion of the protrusion with a gap (D2 teaches protrusion 54 and groove 26 in Figures 2 and 10. D1 modified with D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 9, D1 modified with D2 discloses the robot of claim 8, wherein the fixing groove further comprises an upper portion connected to the first side portion and the second side portion, and forming a circumference of the fixing groove, wherein the upper portion of the fixing groove is spaced apart from the bottom portion with a gap (D2 teaches groove 26 is spaced apart from the bottom portion. Figure 2. D1 modified with D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 10, D1 discloses the robot of claim 7, wherein the first connecting mount further comprises a first flange formed at a circumference of the bottom portion, wherein the second connecting mount further comprises a second flange formed at a circumference of the dome portion and facing the first flange, wherein the joint block is coupled to the first flange and the second flange (D2 teaches a dome 18. D1 modified with D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the robot of claim 10, wherein the sealing member (35) is inserted between the first flange and the second flange (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the robot of claim 11, wherein the first flange comprises: a horizontal portion on which the sealing member is disposed (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.); an inclined portion forming an acute angle with respect to the horizontal portion (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.); and a side portion connecting the horizontal portion and the inclined portion, wherein the second flange comprises: a horizontal portion facing the horizontal portion of the first flange, and being in contact with the sealing member (35); an inclined portion forming an acute angle with respect to the horizontal portion; and a side portion connecting the horizontal portion and the inclined portion, wherein the joint block is in contact with the inclined portion of the first flange and the inclined portion of the second flange (Figures 2, 4-5, and 7-8.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Tamura (US Pub. 2008-0258402); Bird (US Pub. 2018-0045345); and Kurebayashi (US 10,480,695).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675