DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colwell (US 3209659) in view of Han (CN 2665549).
Regarding claim 1, Colwell discloses a gas sealing structure Fig. 1 for an internal combustion engine, the internal combustion engine comprising: a cylinder block 2 that includes a space part 6 formed in a columnar shape; a cylinder liner 5 that is formed in a cylindrical shape and that is disposed in the space part; a piston 7 that is movably supported in an axial direction by the cylinder liner; a cylinder head 18 that is fastened to top of the cylinder block; and a gasket 25 that is disposed between the cylinder block and the cylinder head and between the cylinder liner and the cylinder head, and that includes a fire ring 26, wherein a contact area between the cylinder liner and the fire ring and a contact area between the cylinder head and the fire ring are the same.
However, Colwell fails to explicitly disclose a first groove along a peripheral direction of the fire ring is provided on a contact surface of the cylinder liner and a second groove provided on a contact surface of the cylinder head. Han, a gas sealing structure Fig. 1, discloses the use of a first groove 5 Fig. 2 provided on a contact surface of the cylinder liner 3 and a second groove 5 provided on a contact surface of the cylinder head 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cylinder head and liner of Colwell with first and second grooves as taught by Han in order to reduce pressure thus providing reliable sealing.
Colwell also fails to explicitly disclose the configuration of the fire ring. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the fire ring to an array of shape necessary to accommodate a space in which it is positioned and since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the second groove 5 Fig. 2 includes a plurality of second groves, the first groove 5 includes one or more first groves, and a number of second grooves is greater than a number of first grooves.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein the second grooves 5 Fig. 2 include an inner second groove provided radially inside the first groove 5, and an outer second groove provided radially outside the first groove, and a radial length between the first groove and the inner second groove, and a radial length between the first groove and the outer second groove are same.
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the gasket 25 is formed of a soft material capable of forming a first convex part and a second convex part capable of penetrating into the first groove 5 and the second groove 5, by plastically deforming under surface pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Cowell reference fails to teach or suggest the configuration of the claimed fire ring. This is not persuasive since as stated above it would have been an obvious design choice or engineering expedient for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a shape of the fire ring in order to scale and/or otherwise optimize the disclosed structure to achieve its intended use in a particular environment of intended use benefitting from same wherein configuring fire rings to intended use is well known in the art and would not otherwise affect function of the invention. Also see US Pat. 4474147 and US Pat. 5636850 for reference of an array of possibilities for configuring shapes of fire rings.
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675