DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the contact surface" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colwell (US 3209659) in view of Han (CN 2665549).
Regarding claim 1, Colwell discloses a gas sealing structure Fig. 1 for an internal combustion engine, the internal combustion engine comprising: a cylinder block 2 that includes a space part 6 formed in a columnar shape; a cylinder liner 5 that is formed in a cylindrical shape and that is disposed in the space part; a piston 7 that is movably supported in an axial direction by the cylinder liner; a cylinder head 18 that is fastened to top of the cylinder block; and a gasket 25 that is disposed between the cylinder block and the cylinder head and between the cylinder liner and the cylinder head, and that includes a fire ring 26, the fire ring has one face in contact with both the cylinder block and the cylinder liner Fig. 2, and a face opposite the one face in contact only with the cylinder head (at 17), the radial length of the cylinder liner at a contact surface with the cylinder liner is shorter than the radial length of the cylinder head at the contact surface with the cylinder head wherein a contact area between the cylinder liner and the fire ring and a contact area between the cylinder head and the fire ring are the same.
However, Colwell fails to explicitly disclose a first groove along a peripheral direction of the fire ring is provided on a contact surface of the cylinder liner and a second groove provided on a contact surface of the cylinder head. Han, a gas sealing structure Fig. 1, discloses the use of a first groove 5 Fig. 2 provided on a contact surface of the cylinder liner 3 and a second groove 5 provided on a contact surface of the cylinder head 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cylinder head and liner of Colwell with first and second grooves as taught by Han in order to reduce pressure thus providing reliable sealing.
Colwell also fails to explicitly disclose the configuration of the fire ring. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the fire ring to an array of shape necessary to accommodate a space in which it is positioned and since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the second groove 5 Fig. 2 includes a plurality of second groves, the first groove 5 includes one or more first groves, and a number of second grooves is greater than a number of first grooves.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein the second grooves 5 Fig. 2 include an inner second groove provided radially inside the first groove 5, and an outer second groove provided radially outside the first groove, and a radial length between the first groove and the inner second groove, and a radial length between the first groove and the outer second groove are same.
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the gasket 25 is formed of a soft material capable of forming a first convex part and a second convex part capable of penetrating into the first groove 5 and the second groove 5, by plastically deforming under surface pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Cowell reference does not describe the formation of a groove, stating that there is no teaching in Cowell that states that the contact area is uniform. This is not persuasive, since there is nothing in the claim that discloses the contact area uniform. Moreover, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Colwell discloses a gas sealing structure Fig. 1 for an internal combustion engine, the internal combustion engine comprising: a cylinder block 2 that includes a space part 6 formed in a columnar shape; a cylinder liner 5 that is formed in a cylindrical shape and that is disposed in the space part; a piston 7 that is movably supported in an axial direction by the cylinder liner; a cylinder head 18 that is fastened to top of the cylinder block; and a gasket 25 that is disposed between the cylinder block and the cylinder head and between the cylinder liner and the cylinder head, and that includes a fire ring 26, the fire ring has one face in contact with both the cylinder block and the cylinder liner Fig. 2, and a face opposite the one face in contact only with the cylinder head (at 17), the radial length of the cylinder liner at a contact surface with the cylinder liner is shorter than the radial length of the cylinder head at the contact surface with the cylinder head wherein a contact area between the cylinder liner and the fire ring and a contact area between the cylinder head and the fire ring are the same. Han teaches the use of a first groove 5 Fig. 2 provided on a contact surface of the cylinder liner 3 and a second groove 5 provided on a contact surface of the cylinder head 1. It is this teaching that is being applied to Colwell. Colwell already disclose all the other features required by the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675