DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-10, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YING et al (US 2024/0205817 A1, Foreign Priority: September 1, 2021).
Regarding claim 7, YING ‘817 discloses a method for initiating a sensing service (see, the first sensing service request message that is used to request the first sensing service for the UE, section 0048-0053, noted: the UE sending first sensing service request message from the UE, section 0422-0428), wherein the method is performed by a terminal (fig. 1 to fig. 4, , UE/terminal device wireless coupled to the RAN, AMF, sensing network element (SF) in combination perform sensing functions, section 0138-0148, 0173, 0195-0197) and comprises: sending a sensing request (fig. 14, see, the first sensing service request message includes the identifier the UE/sensing service request message 1 by the UE, section 0278-0280, see, obtaining of sensing requirement from the UE, the RAN provides sensing service for the UE by generating the sending service data, section 0173, 0175) to an access network device (see, sensing area that can be sensed by the RAN or network element, section 0202-0208, 0239-0243), wherein the sensing request is configured to request the sensing service (section 0278-0280-the first sensing service request includes the area information if the first sensing service is for the area of the identifier of the UE); and receiving a response message for the sensing service sent by the access network device (see, response message from the network element (RAN) that supports that support the first sensing service, section 0312-0315, 0315-0319, fig. 14, 511, see, second sensing data to the UE based on the sensing service request message 1) wherein the response message carries then information for rejecting the sensing request or a configuration parameter of the sensing service (see, the response message includes an identifier of the one or more RAN network elements, that is , a RAN ID or RAN IDs supporting the first sensing service, and performs the sensing operation, section 0319-0326, noted: second sensing data that is sent to the UE based on the first service request message).
Regarding claim 8, YING ‘817 discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising: determining that the response message carries the configuration parameter of the sensing service (see, response that is returned by the AMF, the response message includes sensing support indication, sensing service type, section 0211-0215), and performing a measurement operation of the sensing service based on the configuration parameter (see, sensing capability of the RAN includes sensing angle measurement precision, section 0206-0209, 0278-0281-by virtue of the first sensing service request message that includes a sensing area, sensing angle measurement, the response message is implicitly related to the measurement).
Regarding claim 9, YING ‘817 discloses a method for initiating a sensing service (see, selection of a network element to support a sensing service based on a request sensing service, section 0006-0007, 0052-0055), wherein the method is performed by an access network device (see, RAN network element to perform a sensing operation on the a first sensing service, section 0025-0028, 0068-0070), and comprises: sending a sensing request to a core network device (see, the AMF receives a first sensing control request message where the first sensing control request message is used to control the RAN/first RAN, section 0068-0070), wherein the sensing request is configured to request the sensing service (see, the combination of the first sensing control request message and second sensing control request message are used to control the RAN to perform sensing operation on the first sensing service, section 0063-0070); and receiving a response message for the sensing service sent by the core network device (see, response that is returned by the AMF, the response message includes sensing support indication, sensing service type, section 0211-0215), wherein the response message carries information for rejecting the sensing request or a configuration parameter of the sensing service (see, the AMF returns of response message of the NG interface setup/update request message of the RAN/network element, the response message includes sensing support indication, section 0207-0215).
Regarding claim 10, YING ‘817 discloses the method according to claim 9, further comprising: determining that the response message carries the configuration parameter of the sensing service, and performing a measurement operation of the sensing service based on the configuration parameter (see, sensing angle measurement precision, sensing speed range, sensing distance resolution, 0072-0076, the RAN network element performs sensing operation on the first sensing serice0068, 0070).
Regarding claim 16, YING ‘817 discloses a communication device (fig. 14, see 501, UE that sends sensing service request message via the RAN to the AMF), comprising: a memory (noted: the methods provided may be implemented by software, hardware, firmware, computer program product stored in a memory, the program produce or computer-readable storage medium with instructions read or executed by a computer or processor, section 0769-0771, 7773-0774); and a processor connected to the memory (noted: the methods provided may be implemented by software, hardware, firmware, computer program product stored in a memory, the program produce or computer-readable storage medium with instructions read or executed by a computer or processor, section 0769-0771, 7773-077), wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 7 (section 0052-0055-sensing service request message ad selection of the network element)..
Regarding claim 17, YING ‘817 discloses a communication device (fig. 1 to fig. 2, RAN that is coupled to a UE and AMF, SMF, the RAN provides sensing service, the RAN includes sensing capabilities, section 0644-0646, 0511) comprising: a memory; and a processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 9 (see, RAN network element to perform a sensing operation on the a first sensing service, section 0025-0028, 0068-0070, 0173).
Regarding claim 18, YING ‘817 discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (noted: the methods provided may be implemented by software, hardware, firmware, computer program product stored in a memory, the program produce or computer-readable storage medium with instructions read or executed by a computer or processor, section 0769-0771, 7773-0774), cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 7 (section 0052-0055-sensing service request message ad selection of the network element)..
Regarding claim 19, YING ‘817 discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer executable instructions (section 0110-0112, 0761-0774-computer-readble storage medium stores computer instructions run on a computer or executed by a processor) that, when executed by a processor (fig. 16, fig. 17, computer-readable storage medium that stores computer instructions executed by the a computer/processor, section 0763-0766), cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 9 (see, RAN network element to perform a sensing operation on the a first sensing service, section 0025-0028, 0068-0070, 0510-0511).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING et al (US 2024/0205817 A1, Foreign Priority: September 1, 2021) in view of XU et al (US 2022/0353631 A1, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, YING et al (US 2024/0205817 A1, Foreign Priority: September 1, 2021) discloses a method for providing a sensing service (see, selection of a network element to support a sensing service based on a request sensing service, section 0006-0007, 0052-0055), wherein the method is performed by a core network device (see, the AMF that selects a network element that supports first sensing service request, section 0052-0055) and comprises: receiving a sensing request (see, sensing control request, section 0066-0068) sent by an access network device (see, the AMF receives a sensing control request message from the first network element, where the first control request message is used to control the first RAN network elements to perform sensing operation on the first sensing request, section 0063-0068), wherein the sensing request is configured to request the sensing service (see, the sensing request is used to request a sensing service that is to be performed, section 0063, 0064, 0066, 0068); obtaining sensing service area [[restriction]] information (see, from first sensing request message, the location of the UE, sensing are can be implicitly determined, section 0019, 0023, 0066, 0068, 0498-0511), wherein the sensing service area [[restriction]] information indicates at least one of an area where the sensing service is forbidden to be initiated, or an area where the sensing service is allowed to be initiated (noted: the first sensing service request message includes one or more of: sensing area, the network element/RAN node performs sensing for the UE , section 0511, 0455-0457, 0461, 0498-0504); performing a predetermined operation according to the sensing service area [[ restriction]] information (see, the RAN performs sensing operation based on the first sensing service of the UE based on second sensing request message relating to the first message, the first sensing service request message includes the location of the UE, sensing area, 0510-0511, section 0455-0457, 0461), wherein the predetermined operation comprises: accepting the sensing request (noted: performing sensing operation based on the first sensing service request message, section 0068) or rejecting the sensing request; and sending a response message for the sensing service to the access network device (see, the AMF sending a sensing service request message based on the requesting of the first sensing service 0052-0058) , wherein the response message carries information for rejecting the sensing request or a configuration parameter of the sensing service (see, the AMF returns of response message of the NG interface setup/update request message of the RAN/network element, the response message includes sensing support indication, sensing range, section 0207-0215).
YING ‘817 discloses all performing sensing operation based on first and second sensing services requests respectively but fails to explicitly disclose: obtaining sensing service area restriction information , wherein the sensing service area restriction information indicates at least one of an area where the sensing service is forbidden to be initiated, or an area where the sensing service is allowed to be initiated; performing a predetermined operation according to the sensing service area restriction information.
However, XU et al (US 2022/0353631 A1) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: obtaining sensing service area restriction information (see, AMF entity receives geo-fencing area information that includes are or list of areas where flight of the UAV is allowed and list of areas where flight of the UE is prohibited, section 0111-0112), wherein the sensing service area restriction information indicates at least one of an area where the sensing service is forbidden to be initiated (see, list of areas where the flight of the UAV is prohibited, section 0112), or an area where the sensing service is allowed to be initiated (see, geo-fencing areas information indicating a service-permitted areas or list of service-permitted areas, section 0145); performing a predetermined operation according to the sensing service area restriction information (see, the AMF transmits stores the geo-fencing area information of the UAV, and transmits the geo-fencing are information to the UAV through a NAS message, the geo-fencing area information carrier in a registration acceptance message where the UAV considers the information during subsequent cell selection/cell reselection, section 0114-0115); wherein the predetermined operation comprises: accepting the sensing request (see, the geo-fencing area information carrier in a registration acceptance message where the UAV considers the information during subsequent cell selection/cell reselection, section 0114-0115) or rejecting the sensing request.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to include the geo-fencing area that includes the list of permitted areas and the list of areas that is prohibited for a terminal device as taught by XU ‘631 into the sensing response message that is transmitted based on sensing service request message of YING ‘817 by encapsulating the list into the sensing response message. The motivation would have been to provide management and control of the UAV access as suggested in section 0059.
Regarding claim 6, YING ‘817 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing request carries one or more of: a terminal identity (noted: the first sensing service request message includes an identifier of the UE or area information, section 0278, see, sensing requester identifier, section 0017, 0019); a sensing type (see, sensing service that includes a service type, section 0037-0039); and a sensing Quality of Service (QoS) (see, the sensing quality of service QoS requirement, section 0046, 0063).
Regarding claim 14, YING ‘817 discloses a communication device (fig. 16 to fig. 17, see, the AMF as the device/apparatus configured to perform sensing operation (i.e., processing sensing request message and selecting the appropriate network element to perform sensing, section 0052-0055, 0757-0760), comprising: a memory fig. 16 to (fig. 17, memory 12 coupled to a processor, section 0757-0760); and a processor (fig. 17, memory 12 coupled to the processor 11, section 0757-0760) connected to the memory (fig. 17, memory 12 coupled to the processor 11, section 0757-0760), wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (section 0052-0055-sensing service request message ad selection of the network element).
Regarding claim 15, YING ‘817 discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer executable instructions (fig. 16, fig. 17, computer-readable storage medium that stores computer instructions executed by the a computer/processor, section 0763-0766) that, when executed by a processor (section 0763-0771-computer program or instructions executed by a processor), cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (section 0052-0055-sensing service request message ad selection of the network element).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YING et al (US 2024/0205817 A1, Foreign Priority: September 1, 2021) in view of XU et al (US 2022/0353631 A1, IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LEE et al (US 2019/0313359 A1).
The combination of YING ‘817 and XU ‘631 discloses the method, where wherein performing the predetermined operation according to the sensing service area restriction information (see, rejection above) comprises:
Regarding claim 2, the method according to claim 1, determining that at least one of a terminal or a base station is in the area where the sensing service is forbidden to be initiated, and rejecting the sensing request; or determining that at least one of the terminal or the base station is in the area where the sensing service is allowed to be initiated, and accepting the sensing request.
Regarding claim 3, the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining to accept the sensing request, and determining the configuration parameter for initiating the sensing service according to a predetermined rule.
Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining to reject the sensing request, wherein the response message carries information for rejecting the sensing request; or determining to accept the sensing request, wherein the response message carries the configuration parameter of the sensing service.
Regrading claim 5, the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises one or more of: determining that a core network does not support the requested sensing service, and rejecting the sensing request; determining that a terminal does not subscribe to the sensing service, and rejecting the sensing request; determining that the core network is not capable of providing the sensing service, and rejecting the sensing request; determining that the terminal supports the requested sensing service, and accepting the sensing request; determining that the terminal has subscribed to the sensing service, and accepting the sensing request; and determining that the core network is capable of providing the sensing service, and accepting the sensing request.
However, LEE et al (US 2019/0313359 A1) from a similar field of endeavor (see, extended sensors service message with respect to providing V2X services, section 0112, 0180 see, the AMF rejects service requested by the terminal, section 0104 ) discloses:
Regarding claim 2, the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the predetermined operation according to the sensing service area restriction information comprises: determining that at least one of a terminal or a base station is in the area where the sensing service is forbidden to be initiated, and rejecting the sensing request (see, the AMF rejects the service (S-NSSI) requested by the terminal as the V2X terminal roams in to the visited VPLM, section 0104); or determining that at least one of the terminal or the base station is in the area where the sensing service is allowed to be initiated, and accepting the sensing request.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined sensing method and apparatus of YING ‘817 and XU ‘631 with mapping method and apparatus of to V2X service types and RAT types (section 0085, 0140-0143) by transmitting the message to an AMF as taught by LEE ‘359. The motivation would have been to provide optimization of mapping information as suggested in section 0151-0152.
Regarding claim 3, the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining to accept the sensing request (see, if the terminal is allowed NSSAI, the AMF transmits a registration accept message to the terminal, the message includes information, section 0103, 0095), and determining the configuration parameter for initiating the sensing service according to a predetermined rule (noted: V2X service priority information, section 0073, 0149, 180-V2X service type in relation to sensor service message) .
Regarding claim 4, the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining to reject the sensing request, wherein the response message carries information for rejecting the sensing request (see, if the terminal is allowed NSSAI, the AMF transmits a registration accept message to the terminal, the message includes information, section 0103, 0095); or determining to accept the sensing request, wherein the response message carries the configuration parameter of the sensing service (see, if the terminal is allowed NSSAI, the AMF transmits a registration accept message to the terminal, the message includes information, section 0103, 0095).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined sensing method and apparatus of YING ‘817 and XU ‘631 with mapping method and apparatus of to V2X service types and RAT types (section 0085, 0140-0143) by transmitting the message to an AMF as taught by LEE ‘359. The motivation would have been to provide optimization of mapping information as suggested in section 0151-0152.
Regrading claim 5, the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises one or more of: determining that a core network does not support the requested sensing service (see, the AMF is unable to interpret the value in the S-NSAI requested by the terminal, and rejected it, section 0104), and rejecting the sensing request (see, the AMF is unable to interpret the value in the S-NSAI requested by the terminal, and rejected the request S-NSSAI, section 0104); determining that a terminal does not subscribe to the sensing service, and rejecting the sensing request; determining that the core network is not capable of providing the sensing service, and rejecting the sensing request; determining that the terminal supports the requested sensing service, and accepting the sensing request; determining that the terminal has subscribed to the sensing service, and accepting the sensing request; and determining that the core network is capable of providing the sensing service, and accepting the sensing request.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combined sensing method and apparatus of YING ‘817 and XU ‘631 with mapping method and apparatus of to V2X service types and RAT types (section 0085, 0140-0143) by transmitting the message to an AMF as taught by LEE ‘359. The motivation would have been to provide optimization of mapping information as suggested in section 0151-0152.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PARK et al (US 2020/0275513 A1) discloses mobility restrictions that include RAT restriction, forbidden area, service area restriction for which the UE cannot initiate communication with the network (section 0195, 0333, 0336, 0358, 0359, 0362, 0412-0415, 0458, 0460-0466, 0468-0544).
BAEK et al (US 2021/0243686 A1) discloses configuring and providing the UE/terminal with different restriction areas for each network slice for establishing a session corresponding to the network slice (section 0018, 0082, 0173-0175).
Majjiga et al (US 2022/0386147 A1) discloses location-based services for drones/UAVs based on UAV subscription plan information , identification of slices to which UAV has subscribed to, the AMF which receives indication of currently allowed slices in a particular area (section 0016-0017, 0035-0060).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473