Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizoguchi (JP 2012054915).
Regarding claim 1, Mizoguchi discloses in Figure 12 and page 11 of translation, an antenna device comprising:
an antenna base (101);
an antenna case (9) forming an accommodation space together with the antenna base; and
a first antenna element (83) accommodated in the accommodation space, wherein the first antenna element (83) is disposed along a direction intersecting a longitudinal direction of the antenna base, and wherein the first antenna element (83) includes a feeding point (86) and is configured as a reflector (see page 11 of translation) of another antenna accommodated in the accommodation space.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Mizoguchi discloses in Figure 13, further comprising:
a second antenna element (81) disposed on one side in the longitudinal direction with respect to the first antenna element (83), wherein the second antenna element (81) is disposed along the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Mizoguchi discloses in Figure 12,
wherein the first antenna element (83) is a monopole antenna that includes a base end portion including the feeding point (86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizoguchi (JP 2012054915).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2, Mizoguchi discloses in Figure 13,
a third antenna element (82) disposed on an other side in the longitudinal direction with respect to the first antenna element (83).
Mizoguchi does not disclose a height of the first antenna element less than at least one of a height of the second antenna element and a height of the third antenna element.
However, such difference is not patentable merit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to set or select the height of the first antenna element being shorter than the second or third antenna element for achieving a desired operating frequency and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, to employ having the height of the first antenna element as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Claims 4-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizoguchi (JP 2012054915) in view Terashita (US 2019/0280372).
Regarding claim 4, Mizoguchi discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1, except for further comprising:
two capacitive loading elements overlapping with the antenna base, wherein the first antenna element is disposed between regions of the antenna base overlapping with the two capacitive loading elements.
Terashita discloses in Figure 2 and par. 0076, two capacitive loading elements (131, 132) overlapping with the antenna base (20), wherein the first antenna element (134) is disposed between regions of the antenna base (20) overlapping with the two capacitive loading elements (131, 132).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the first antenna element of Mizoguchi with the first antenna element having loading elements being capacitive loading elements as taught by Terashita to improve antenna gain. Therefore, to employ having the first antenna element having the capacitive loading elements as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 4, Terashita discloses in Figure 2,
wherein a height of the first antenna element (134) is less than a height of at least one of the two capacitive loading elements (131, 132).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Terashita discloses in Figures 2 and 7-8, further comprising
a capacitive loading element (131, 132), wherein the first antenna element (134) is located below the capacitive loading element (131, 132), and wherein in a top view the first antenna element (134) and the capacitive loading element (131, 132) at least partially overlap with each other.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1, Terashita discloses in Figures 2 and 7-8, further comprising
a capacitive loading element (131, 132), wherein the first antenna element (134) is located below the capacitive loading element (131, 132), and wherein
in a side view a distance from the antenna base to an upper end of the first antenna element (134) is less than a distance from the antenna base to a lower end of the capacitive loading element (131, 132).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Mizoguchi (see Fig. 13) and Terashita (Figures 2, 7-8,) discloses in further comprising
a second antenna element (81) and a third antenna element (82) disposed along the longitudinal direction, wherein the first antenna element (83) is located between the second antenna element (81) and the third antenna element (82) in the longitudinal direction.
Mizoguchi does not disclose wherein in a side view a distance from the antenna base to an upper end of first antenna element is less than both a distance from the antenna base to an upper end of the second antenna element and a distance from the antenna base to an upper end of the third antenna element. However, such difference is not patentable merit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to set or select the distance of the first antenna element being shorter than the second and third antenna elements for achieving a desired operating frequency, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, to employ having the height of the first antenna element as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Claims 6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizoguchi (JP 2012054915) in view of Bunpei (WO 2020075744).
Regarding claim 6, Mizoguchi discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1, except for the first antenna element including a portion to operate as a self-similar antenna or an antenna equivalent to the self-similar antenna. However, such difference is not patentable merit. A self-similar antenna is a well-known type antenna in the art. One of such examples is the teaching of Bunpei discloses in Figure 1, the antenna element (100) including a portion to operate as a self-similar antenna or an antenna equivalent to the self-similar antenna (100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the antenna of Mizoguchi with the antenna being a self-similar antenna as taught by Bunpei to achieve desired radiation characteristic for the antenna device and since such modification would have involved a mere change in a type of an antenna generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 6, Mizoguchi discloses in Figure 12,
wherein the portion of the first antenna element (83) includes a base end portion including the feeding point (86).
Regarding claims 13-14, as applied to claim 8, Bunpei discloses in Figure 1,
wherein a width of the first antenna element (100-2) in the direction intersecting the longitudinal direction increases from the base end portion toward an upper end of the first antenna element;
a width of the first antenna element (100-2) in the direction intersecting the longitudinal direction on a distal side with respect to the base end portion is greater than a width of the first antenna element on a proximal side with respect to the base end portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845