DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 7-9 what are the metes-and-bounds of the term “proportion of an area”? For example, does this proportion of an area have to be continuous or can it be discontinuous? As claims 2-4 depend directly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
In claim 1, lines 7-9, what are the metes-and-bounds of the term “an aggregated state”? For example, does this mean that the binder and conductive agent are assembled together? If so, what is the distance for defining what can be counted as assembled together and not assembled together? As claims 2-4 depend directly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
In claim 1, lines 7-9, what are the metes-and-bounds of “image analysis of a cross section of the mixture layer”? What types of image analysis are included and excluded from this term? Is there a specific cross sectional plane that is required or is this intended to encompass all potential cross sections of the mixture layer? As claims 2-4 depend directly from claim 1, they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ahn et al. (US 2019/0020016, hereinafter “Ahn”; listed in the IDS filed 10 July 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, comprising:
a positive electrode (see [0026]-[0029]);
a negative electrode (see [0042]-[0043]); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte (see [0042]-[0043]), wherein
the positive electrode has a core (equated to aluminum foil, see [0026]-[0029]) and a mixture layer formed on the core (mixture layer equated to slurry applied to aluminum foil, see [0026]-[0029]), and
the mixture layer includes a positive electrode active material (NCM, see [0026]-[0029]), a binder (PVdF, see [0026]-[0029]), and a conductive agent (carbon nanotubes, see [0026]-[0029]), and a proportion of an area of the binder and the conductive agent in an aggregated state determined by image analysis of a cross section of the mixture layer is less than or equal to 2.2% of an area of the cross section (Ahn teaches a method of making which is identical to that of the claimed invention (see rejection for claim 5 below), including using materials that are identical to the materials used by Applicant’s invention – NCM as the positive electrode active material (see [0026]-[0029]), PVdF as the binder (see [0026]-[0029]), and carbon nanotubes as the conductive agent (see [0026]-[0029])), and so it must follow that if the Applicant’s invention results in a proportion of an area of the binder and the conductive agent in an aggregated state determined by image analysis of a cross section of the mixture layer is less than or equal to 2.2% of an area of the cross section, then the battery of Ahn must also exhibit this feature as it is produced in an identical manner with identical materials).
If it is not taken that the limitation “and a proportion of an area of the binder and the conductive agent in an aggregated state determined by image analysis of a cross section of the mixture layer is less than or equal to 2.2% of an area of the cross section” is inherent in view of Ahn, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed because an image of a cross section, which is broad enough to encompass any cross section of the mixture layer with any possible scale, could intentionally be chosen that was absent of any binder and the conductive agent in an aggregated state. An image analysis of this cross section would show a proportion of the area of the binder and the conductive agent in an aggregated state to be 0%.
Regarding claim 4, Ahn teaches wherein the conductive agent is carbon nanotube (carbon nanotubes, see [0026]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn teaches a method for manufacturing a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode (see [0026]-[0029]), a negative electrode (see [0042]-[0043]), and a non-aqueous electrolyte (see [0042]-[0043]), wherein the positive electrode has a core (equated to aluminum foil, see [0026]-[0029]) and a mixture layer formed on the core (mixture layer equated to slurry applied to aluminum foil, see [0026]-[0029]), the method including:
a step of preparing a positive electrode mixture slurry including a positive electrode active material (NCM, see [0026]-[0029]), a binder (PVdF, see [0026]-[0029]), a conductive agent (carbon nanotubes, see [0026]-[0029]), and a dispersion medium (NMP as solvent, see [0026]-[0029]); and
a step of applying the positive electrode mixture slurry on the core (see [0026]-[0029]), and drying and compressing a resulting coating film to form the mixture layer (see [0026]-[0029]),
wherein in preparing the positive electrode mixture slurry, a binder solution is produced in which at least a part of the binder is dissolved in the dispersion medium in advance (see [0027]), and the binder solution is mixed with a slurry precursor including the positive electrode active material, the conductive agent, and the dispersion medium (see [0028]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2019/0020016; listed in the IDS filed 10 July 2024).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn teaches values provided in Example 1 (see [0026]-[0029]). Calculating the total content of the binder and the conductive agent in Example 1 of Ahn provides a mass % of ((1.531g of carbon nanotubes + 4.592 g of PVdF) / (1.531g of carbon nanotubes + 4.592 g of PVdF + 300 g of NCM)) x 100 = 2.0 mass % based on a mass of the mixture layer. Though Ahn is silent to specifically teaching wherein this value is less than or equal to 1.5 mass%, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2018/0159126, hereinafter “Choi”; listed in the IDS filed 25 September 20253)3.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn teaches wherein a thickness of the positive electrode slurry layer is 20 μm (see [0026]-[0029]), and the positive electrode includes a core (aluminum foil, see [0026]-[0029], no thickness specified) and the slurry, but is silent to wherein a thickness of the positive electrode is greater than or equal to 150 μm.
Choi teaches an aluminum positive electrode collector (see [0055]), wherein the collector has a thickness of 3 µm to 500 µm (see [0056]).
In view of Choi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the battery of Ahn to include wherein a thickness of the positive electrode is greater than or equal to 150 µm, because it is a typical thickness for the positive electrode. Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 29 September 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735