Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Bouazizi et al (US 20220335694 A1) in view of Yip et al (US 20220337919 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bouazizi discloses A method for rendering an extended reality scene relative to a user in a timed environment ([0023] streaming immersive media content, e.g., for extended reality (XR) content, such as augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), or virtual reality (VR) content), the method comprising:
obtaining a description of the extended reality scene ([0092] information provided in the scene description may then be used by a presentation engine to render the 3D scene properly, using techniques like Physically-Based Rendering (PBR) that produce realistic scenes.), the description comprising:
a scene tree describing at least one timed objects, virtual objects or relationships between objects ([0093] A scene description usually includes a scene graph, which is a directed acyclic graph, typically a plain tree-structure, that represents an object-based hierarchy of the geometry of a scene);
behavior data items ([0118] runtime handles functionality such as frame composition, user-triggered actions, and tracking information), wherein a behavior data item comprising:
at least an action, wherein an action is a description of a process to be performed by an extended reality engine on objects described by nodes of the scene tree ([0094] Scene graph also supports animations nodes that allow to change animation properties over time); and
on condition that the at least a trigger of a behavior data item is activated, apply actions of the behavior data item ([0142] , when a user interacts with (e.g., makes contact with) a virtual object (as detected through collision in response to movement detected by camera 308, sensors 310, and/or user interface device 306), or through animations defined in scene graph).
Yip discloses at least a trigger, wherein a trigger is a description of conditions ([0045] Support for dynamic scene updates: timed updates, or event (user interaction) triggered updates);
a trigger being activated when its conditions are detected in the timed environment ([0071] Metadata related to the scene graph update describing operations, and/or conditions related to the update )
Bouazizi and Yip are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the immersive media content of Bouazizi to include at least a trigger, wherein a trigger is a description of conditions; a trigger being activated when its conditions are detected in the timed environment as described by Yip
The motivation for doing so would have been for timed and event triggered updates in a scene description for extended reality (XR) multimedia (Yip, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bouazizi and Yip to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Bouazizi discloses when a description of the extended reality scene is obtained, attributing an activation status set to false to at least one trigger of the description ([0142] Scene graph 324 may be updated according to various inputs, such as when a user moves their head (as detected by camera 308 and/or sensors 310), when a user interacts with (e.g., makes contact with) a virtual object); and
when the conditions of the at least one trigger are met for a first time, setting the activation status of the trigger to true; and activating the trigger ([0145] Using these various elements of user input devices 306, a user may provide input representing virtual world movement, interaction with virtual objects (e.g., opening a door or chest), opening a menu, or the like)
Regarding claim 3, Bouazizi discloses wherein, when the conditions of the at least one trigger are met, if the activation status of the trigger is set to true, activating the trigger only if the description of the trigger authorizes a second activation ([0152] Presentation unit 330 may determine an animation to render on the virtual object in response to such action, e.g., movement, rotation, deformation, or the like of the virtual object)
Regarding claim 4, Bouazizi discloses wherein behavior data items comprise a priority parameter and, when the at least a trigger of at least two behavior data items is activated, applying the at least an action of one of the at least two behaviors data items according to the priority parameter of the at least two behavior data items ([0091] temporal sub-sequence may also include other pictures, such as P-frames and/or B-frames that depend from SAPs. Frames and/or slices of the temporal sub-sequence may be arranged within the segments such that frames/slices of the temporal sub-sequence that depend on other frames/slices of the sub-sequence can be properly decoded)
Regarding claim 5, Bouazizi discloses a method for updating, at runtime, wherein a first description of an extended reality scene comprises behavior data items with a second description of the extended reality scene ([0023] streaming immersive media content, e.g., for extended reality (XR) content, such as augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), or virtual reality (VR) content), wherein the method comprises,
for each on-going behavior data item of the first description, if the on-going behavior data item is not appliable with the second description ([0116] The interaction with these different modalities is assured through dedicated interfaces to the presentation engine that consumes the scene description):
stopping the on-going behavior data item; and applying the second description ([0057] Retrieval unit 52 may submit a request to leave the multicast group when data of the multicast group is no longer needed, e.g., to stop playback or to change channels to a different multicast group).
Yip discloses processing an interrupt action if existing for the on-going behavior data item in the first description ([0066] timed media supported scene updates may be used to achieve a timed media supported dynamic scene triggered either through time in the presentation, or by user interaction events during the presentation.)
Bouazizi and Yip are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the immersive media content of Bouazizi to include processing an interrupt action if existing for the on-going behavior data item in the first description as described by Yip
The motivation for doing so would have been for timed and event triggered updates in a scene description for extended reality (XR) multimedia (Yip, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bouazizi and Yip to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Bouazizi discloses A device for rendering an extended reality scene relative to a user in a timed environment ([0023] streaming immersive media content, e.g., for extended reality (XR) content, such as augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), or virtual reality (VR) content), the device comprising a memory associated with a processor configured for:
obtaining a description of the extended reality scene ([0092] information provided in the scene description may then be used by a presentation engine to render the 3D scene properly, using techniques like Physically-Based Rendering (PBR) that produce realistic scenes.), the description comprising:
a scene tree describing at least one timed objects, virtual objects or relationships between objects ([0093] A scene description usually includes a scene graph, which is a directed acyclic graph, typically a plain tree-structure, that represents an object-based hierarchy of the geometry of a scene);
behavior data items ([0118] runtime handles functionality such as frame composition, user-triggered actions, and tracking information), wherein a behavior data item comprising:
at least an action, wherein an action is a description of a process to be performed by an extended reality engine on objects described by nodes of the scene tree ([0094] Scene graph also supports animations nodes that allow to change animation properties over time); and
on condition that the at least a trigger of a behavior data item is activated, apply actions of the behavior data item ([0142] , when a user interacts with (e.g., makes contact with) a virtual object (as detected through collision in response to movement detected by camera 308, sensors 310, and/or user interface device 306), or through animations defined in scene graph).
Yip discloses at least a trigger, wherein a trigger is a description of conditions ([0045] Support for dynamic scene updates: timed updates, or event (user interaction) triggered updates);
a trigger being activated when its conditions are detected in the timed environment ([0071] Metadata related to the scene graph update describing operations, and/or conditions related to the update )
Bouazizi and Yip are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the immersive media content of Bouazizi to include at least a trigger, wherein a trigger is a description of conditions; a trigger being activated when its conditions are detected in the timed environment as described by Yip
The motivation for doing so would have been for timed and event triggered updates in a scene description for extended reality (XR) multimedia (Yip, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bouazizi and Yip to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Bouazizi discloses when a description of the extended reality scene is obtained, attributing an activation status set to false to at least one trigger of the description ([0142] Scene graph 324 may be updated according to various inputs, such as when a user moves their head (as detected by camera 308 and/or sensors 310), when a user interacts with (e.g., makes contact with) a virtual object); and
when the conditions of the at least one trigger are met for a first time, setting the activation status of the trigger to true; and activating the trigger ([0145] Using these various elements of user input devices 306, a user may provide input representing virtual world movement, interaction with virtual objects (e.g., opening a door or chest), opening a menu, or the like)
Regarding claim 8, Bouazizi discloses wherein, when the conditions of the at least one trigger are met, if the activation status of the trigger is set to true, activating the trigger only if the description of the trigger authorizes a second activation ([0152] Presentation unit 330 may determine an animation to render on the virtual object in response to such action, e.g., movement, rotation, deformation, or the like of the virtual object)
Regarding claim 9, Bouazizi discloses wherein behavior data items comprise a priority parameter and, when the at least a trigger of at least two behavior data items is activated, applying the at least an action of one of the at least two behaviors data items according to the priority parameter of the at least two behavior data items ([0091] temporal sub-sequence may also include other pictures, such as P-frames and/or B-frames that depend from SAPs. Frames and/or slices of the temporal sub-sequence may be arranged within the segments such that frames/slices of the temporal sub-sequence that depend on other frames/slices of the sub-sequence can be properly decoded)
Regarding claim 10, Bouazizi discloses a device for updating, at runtime, wherein a first description of an extended reality scene comprises behavior data items with a second description of the extended reality scene ([0023] streaming immersive media content, e.g., for extended reality (XR) content, such as augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), or virtual reality (VR) content), wherein the method comprises,
for each on-going behavior data item of the first description, if the on-going behavior data item is not appliable with the second description ([0116] The interaction with these different modalities is assured through dedicated interfaces to the presentation engine that consumes the scene description):
stopping the on-going behavior data item; and applying the second description ([0057] Retrieval unit 52 may submit a request to leave the multicast group when data of the multicast group is no longer needed, e.g., to stop playback or to change channels to a different multicast group).
Yip discloses processing an interrupt action if existing for the on-going behavior data item in the first description ([0066] timed media supported scene updates may be used to achieve a timed media supported dynamic scene triggered either through time in the presentation, or by user interaction events during the presentation.)
Bouazizi and Yip are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the immersive media content of Bouazizi to include processing an interrupt action if existing for the on-going behavior data item in the first description as described by Yip
The motivation for doing so would have been for timed and event triggered updates in a scene description for extended reality (XR) multimedia (Yip, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bouazizi and Yip to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Bouazizi discloses wherein behavior data items comprise a priority parameter and, when the at least a trigger of at least two behavior data items is activated, applying the at least an action of one of the at least two behaviors data items according to the priority parameter of the at least two behavior data items ([0116] interaction with these different modalities is assured through dedicated interfaces to the presentation engine that consumes the scene description. The interaction with the local real-world of the viewer is performed through the i−1 and i-i interfaces)
Regarding claim 12, Bouazizi discloses wherein behavior data items comprise a priority parameter and, when the at least a trigger of at least two behavior data items is activated, applying the at least an action of one of the at least two behaviors data items according to the priority parameter of the at least two behavior data items ([0116] interaction with these different modalities is assured through dedicated interfaces to the presentation engine that consumes the scene description. The interaction with the local real-world of the viewer is performed through the i−1 and i-i interfaces)
Regarding claim 13, Bouazizi discloses wherein behavior data items comprise a priority parameter and, when the at least a trigger of at least two behavior data items is activated, applying the at least an action of one of the at least two behaviors data items according to the priority parameter of the at least two behavior data items ([0116] interaction with these different modalities is assured through dedicated interfaces to the presentation engine that consumes the scene description. The interaction with the local real-world of the viewer is performed through the i−1 and i-i interfaces)
Regarding claim 14, Bouazizi discloses wherein behavior data items comprise a priority parameter and, when the at least a trigger of at least two behavior data items is activated, applying the at least an action of one of the at least two behaviors data items according to the priority parameter of the at least two behavior data items ([0116] interaction with these different modalities is assured through dedicated interfaces to the presentation engine that consumes the scene description. The interaction with the local real-world of the viewer is performed through the i−1 and i-i interfaces)
Conclusion
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615