CTNF 18/728,007 CTNF 83612 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the application filed on 07/10/2024 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 17 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner. Remarks The claims were presented as follow: Claims 1-17, 21, 23-24 are pending. Claims 18-20 and 22 are cancelled. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-17, 21, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Velev Publication No. (US 2024/0406854 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Velev teaches a method for determining a number of registered users, performed by a first network device, comprising: determining one or more numbers of registered users for one or more access types based on access type information (a network slice admission control function (NSACF) entity 406 monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slices that are subject to network slice admission control (NSAC) based on UE access types (e.g. using 3GPP or non-3GPP access) [0053-54] FIG.5); wherein the access type information indicates one or more access types of a terminal accessing a network slice (the UE 402 may be registered with the network (e.g., 5GS) with a network slice (S-NSSAI) subject to NSAC with different access types, e.g., via 3GPP access and/or non-3GPP access. The UE 402 may be registered with the same AMF entity 408 or different AMFs (in case of different public land mobile networks (PLMNs)) [0062] FIG.4). Regarding claim 2 , Velev teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the access type information comprises at least one of: access type information configured on the first network device; access type information obtained from a consumer network function; access type information configured by an operation administration and maintenance (OAM) system; or access type information obtained from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (The NSACF and AMF are configured via an operations, administration and management (OAM) system that a network slice S-NSSAI is subject to NSAC [0054] FIG.4). Regarding claim 3 , Velev teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the access type information indicates at least one of: an access type; a radio access type (RAT); or access assistance information (addAccessinfo) (the AMF entity 408 includes the access type (AT) (i.e., 3GPP access, non-3GPP access, or both) [0062] FIG.4). Regarding claim 4 , Velev teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more access types comprise at least one of: a third generation mobile communication partner project (3GPP) access; a non-3GPP access; or a 3GPP and a non-3GPP access (The UE 402 may register with the 5GS 430 via the AMF entity 408 (e.g. using 3GPP or non -3GPP access) and with the EPS 420 via the MME entity 414 [0056] FIG.4). Regarding claim 5 , Velev teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the radio access type comprises at least one of: a new radio (NR) access, an evolved universal mobile communication system terrestrial radio access (EUTRA), a wireless local area network access (WLAN) access, a virtual network (VIRTUAL) access, a narrowband Internet of Things (NBIOT) access, a wired network (WIRELINE) access, a wired cable network (WIRELINE-CABLE) access, a wired broadband network (WIRELINE-BBF) access, an urban rail transit vehicle-terrestrial integrated communication system (LTE-M) access, a new radio unlicensed spectrum (NRU) access, an evolved universal mobile communication system terrestrial unlicensed spectrum (EUTRAU) radio access, a trusted N3GA access (TRUSTED_N3GA), a trusted wireless local area network (TRUSTEDWLAN) access, a universal terrestrial radio access (UTRA), a global mobile system edge radio access network (GERA) access, a new radio low earth orbit (NRLEO) access, a new radio medium/high earth orbit (NR_MEO) access, a new radio geostationary earth orbit (NRGEO) access, or a new radio other satellite (NR_OTHERSAT) access (different Access Types (ATs) and/or core network type s (CNTs) are configured in the NSACF entity 406. Example ATs include new radio (NR), 3GPP and non-3GPP. Example CNTs include EPC/EPS and 5GS. For example, the NSACF entity 406 may be configured with different maximum numbers of UEs or PDU sessions for 3GPP access and non-3GPP access, or for EPC and 5GC [0064] FIG.4). Regarding claim 6 , Velev teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: updating the one or more numbers of registered users for one or more access types in response to the terminal performing a predetermined procedure; wherein, the preset procedure comprises one of: a registration procedure of the terminal; a configuration update procedure of the terminal; or a deregistration procedure of the terminal (the AMF entity 408 sends an updat e request message to the NSACF entity 406 for increasing or decreasing the number of UEs [0062] FIG.6). Regarding claim 7 , Velev teaches the method of claim 6, wherein updating the one or more numbers of registered users for one or more access types in response to the terminal performing the predetermined procedure comprises: updating the one or more numbers of registered users for one or more access types in response to the terminal performing the predetermined procedure and receiving a request message for updating a number of users of a slice sent by a second network device; wherein the request message for updating the number of users of the slice indicates increasing or decreasing the number of registered users (The AMF (e.g., or SMF+PGW-C) determines to send a request to the NSACF to decrease the number of UEs (i.e., to remove the UE from the UEs registered at the NSACF) for a particular access type, if the AMF receives a deregistration notification from the UDM for the access type and the UE context in the AMF contains an Allowed NSSAI including one or more S-NSSAI(s) subject to NSAC [0092-93] FIG.6). Regarding claim 8 , Velev teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: sending a response message of the request message for updating the number of users of the slice to the second network device; wherein the response message carries at least one of: information about that a number of registered users of an access type reaches a predetermined threshold, or a number of registered users associated with an access type (The NSACF entity 406 controls (i.e., increase or decrease) the current number of UEs registered with a network slice so that the current number of UEs does not exceed the maximum number of UEs allowed to register with that network slice. The NSACF entity 406 also maintains a list of UE identities (IDs) registered with a network slice that is subject to NSAC [0053-55] FIG.6). Regarding claim 9 , Velev teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a slice event subscription request indicating an access type sent by an application function (AF), and sending an event report of the access type to the AF; wherein the event report at least indicates a number of registered users associated with the access type (The SMF+PGW-C resolves from the subscri ption data received from unified data management (UDM)/home subscri ber service (HSS) that the UE requested data/PDN connection is associated with a particular network slice, e.g., S-NSSAI#1, wherein it is assumed that the S-NSSAI#1 is subject to NSAC for either maximum number of UEs or maximum number of PDU Sessions or both [0073] FIG.7). Regarding claims 10-14 and 23 , the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-9 and 21 , wherein the difference used is the limitations were presented from a method in the “second network device” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above. Regarding claims 15-17 and 24 , the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-9 and 21 , wherein the difference used is the limitations were presented from a method in the “third network device” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above. Claims 18-20 (cancelled). Regarding claim 21 , Velev teaches a communication device, comprising: a memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon; and a processor connected with the memory, configured to perform the method of claim 1 (One network entity for performing network slice admission control and 5GC-EPC interworking includes a receiver, a transmitter, a processor, and a memor y that stores code executable by the processor [0130] FIG.3). Claim 22 (cancelled). Conclusion When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELNABI O MUSA whose telephone number is (571)270-1901, and email address is abdelnabi.musa@uspto.gov ‘preferred’. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system? Contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,007 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472