DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 21, is it unclear what “transition” is provided, given that a “framing material” is presumed to already be in a solid state of matter. There are no relative or state-derived qualifiers on the framing material which is applied to the vessel other than stating that both the framing material and the solidifying material provide a transition to a solid state (without previous state-based indicator). Furthermore, it is unclear what state each of the framing material and solidifying substance are allowed before the transition “to a solid state”. Furthermore, the method of claim 1 is incomplete, as the claim provides 2 elements, but never provides a purpose or intention to the method. Regarding claims 22-28, it is unclear what additional steps in the method are being set forth, as the claims are only directed to limitations on the vessel itself, which is not a patentable element of an invention. It is unclear what additional steps in the method are being set forth by the recitation therein.
Regarding claim 32, it is unclear what is being claimed, as the claim lacks proper introduction to “the container” and lacks indication of what is being claimed by the recitation (unclear scope for secure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 21-31, and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fa-De Chu (US 2008/0228259).
Regarding claims 1 and 21-28, Chu (‘259) discloses and teaches an endovascular device for providing protection to a wall including a framing material to apply to a vessel and a solidifying substance to apply to the framing material, the application transitioning the material and solidifying the substance into a firmer (solid) state (abs, 0015, 0024, 0043, 0045-0046).
Regarding claims 2-7, 29, 31, and 34, Chu (‘259) discloses and teaches the use of multiple precursor substances (0043-0052) including those configured to permeate the framing material (0052) and wherein the combination causes the transition to the solid state either individually or simultaneously (0048-0052). Additionally, the application of the polymer with water is disclosed as meeting the limitation of combining to transition to solid state (0051) from the pliable configuration (0050).
Regarding claims 8-10, 30, and 33 Chu (‘259) discloses and teaches the use of a dipping tray or coating method for saturating the material with the compounds for solidifying the framing material (0015, 0047, 0050-0051), an applicator tool for applying the substance to the framing material via spraying (0047, 0015, 0050), and the disclosure of biocompatible sheets for the framing material scaffolding to wrap around the vessel (0047). The sheets are disclosed as being stitched, glued, bonded, or molded into the shape (fabric, 0047) and are configured to be placed in an overlapping fashion (0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 2008/0228259) in view of Peacock (US 2006/0281966).
Regarding claim 11, Chu (‘259) discloses and teaches an endovascular device for providing protection to a wall including a framing material to apply to a vessel and a solidifying substance to apply to the framing material, the application transitioning the material and solidifying the substance into a firmer (solid) state (abs, 0015, 0024, 0043, 0045-0046).
Regarding claims 12-15, Chu (‘259) discloses and teaches the use of multiple precursor substances (0043-0052) including those configured to permeate the framing material (0052) and wherein the combination causes the transition to the solid state either individually or simultaneously (0048-0052). Additionally, the application of the polymer with water is disclosed as meeting the limitation of combining to transition to solid state (0051) from the pliable configuration (0050).
Regarding claims 16-20 and 32, Chu (‘259) discloses and teaches the use of a dipping tray or coating method for saturating the material with the compounds for solidifying the framing material (0015, 0047, 0050-0051), an applicator tool for applying the substance to the framing material via spraying (0047, 0015, 0050), and the disclosure of biocompatible sheets for the framing material scaffolding to wrap around the vessel (0047). The sheets are disclosed as being stitched, glued, bonded, or molded into the shape (fabric, 0047) and are configured to be placed in an overlapping fashion (0047).
While Chu discloses all that is listed above, they lack disclosure of a “kit” for providing the treatment elements in a container. Attention is hereby briefly directed to the reference to Peacock in the same area of endeavor which discloses the ubiquitous teaching that surgical kits exist and can be utilized with components for aneurysm treatment systems/methods (Abs, 0352-0354). It would have been obvious to utilize a kit of elements like that disclosed in Peacock for the purpose of providing specific embodiments or combinations of elements for surgical methods as required by the specific surgery (as surgical kits for particular procedures are exceedingly commonplace, 0353-0354, Peacock).
Conclusion
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798