DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on September 30, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The amendments to the specification received on July 10, 2024. These amendments to the specification are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0164466 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. teach a method of resource allocation for mobile terminated (MT) data transmission (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10), comprising the steps of:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), at least one message comprising configuration parameters (read as information) for the MT data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state (read as a paging message indicating MT-SDT (Fig.3 @ 310 and 8 @ 810; Paragraph(s) [0070] and [0071]) For example, “the terminal device 110 may receive, from the network device 120, one or more configurations indicating at least one of the following: the information of CG resource(s) configured for SDT, the information of RA resource(s) configured for SDT, the information of CG resource(s) dedicated for MT-SDT, or the information of RA resource(s) dedicated for MT-SDT.”(Paragraph [0071]));
determining, based on the configuration parameters, radio resources associated with the MT data (read as “the terminal device 110 may perform the determination 320 based on at least one of the following: information of CG resource(s) configured for SDT, information of RA resource(s) configured for SDT, information of CG resource(s) dedicated for MT-SDT, or information of RA resource(s) dedicated for MT-SDT.”(Fig.8 @ 820; Paragraph [0071])); and
receiving the MT data based on the radio resources (read as RA resource(s) (Paragraph [0071])) and while the UE is in the RRC inactive state. (read as “In DL communication, the network devices 120 or 130 may transmit DL data and control information to the terminal device 110 via a DL channel.” (Fig(s).3 and 10 @ 1040; Paragraph [0046]) Further, UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040]))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0164466 A1) in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274525 A1).
Regarding claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the user equipment (UE) receives the at least one message while in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state.
Wei et al. teach a method wherein the user equipment (UE) receives the at least one message while in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state.(Fig.6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the at least one message comprises a first radio resource control (RRC) message.
Wei et al. teach a method wherein the at least one message comprises a first radio resource control (RRC) message. (read as RRCRelease message (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving an RRCRelease message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to claim 3 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the first radio resource control (RRC) message is a RRC release message indicating transitioning from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state.
Wei et al. teach a method wherein the first radio resource control (RRC) message is a RRC release message indicating transitioning from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state.(read as “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
However, Wang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises the configuration parameters.
Wei et al. teach a method wherein the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises the configuration parameters. (read as “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Claims 6-8 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0164466 A1), in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274525 A1), and ETSI (“TS 138 331 V16.6.0”, October 2021).
Regarding claim 6, and as applied to claim 4 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
However, Wang et al. and Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises a suspend config information element (IE) indicating the transitioning from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state.
The ETSI document teaches RRCRelease message wherein the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises a suspend config information element (IE) indicating the transitioning from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state. (read as suspendConfig IE (Section 6.2.2, page 283))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the RRC message (e.g. RRCRelease) definitions as taught by the ETSI document and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
However, Wang et al. and Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the suspend config information element (IE) comprises the configuration parameters.
The ETSI document teaches an RRCRelease message wherein the suspend config information element (IE) comprises the configuration parameters. (read as suspendConfig field (Section 6.2.2, page 284))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the RRC message (e.g. RRCRelease) definitions as taught by the ETSI document and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 8, and as applied to claim 6 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
However, Wang et al. and Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the suspend config information element (IE) comprises first parameters for operation of the user equipment (UE) in the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state.
The ETSI document teaches an RRCRelease message wherein the suspend config information element (IE) comprises first parameters for operation of the user equipment (UE) in the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state. (read as suspendConfig field (Section 6.2.2, page 284))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the IE and RRC message definitions as taught by the ETSI document and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 33, and as applied to claim 1 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach a method for receiving an RRC release message comprising the mobile terminated (MT) data. (read as UE is capable of receiving “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
However, Wang et al. and Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach further comprising:
transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message in response to receiving the mobile terminated (MT) notification message; and
The ETSI document teaches an RRC message further comprising:
transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message in response to receiving the mobile terminated (MT) notification message (read as RRCResumeRequest (Section 6.2.2, pages 288-289));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the RRC message (e.g.: RRCResumeRequest) definitions as taught by the ETSI document and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0164466 A1), in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274525 A1), ETSI (“TS 138 331 V16.6.0”, October 2021), and Yue et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0430940 A1).
Regarding claim 9, and as applied to claim 6 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
The ETSI document teaches RRC message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284)
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., and the ETSI document fail to explicitly teach wherein the configuration parameters indicate radio resources of at least one downlink grant for receiving the mobile terminated (MT) data.
Yue et al. teach a method wherein the configuration parameters indicate radio resources of at least one downlink grant for receiving the mobile terminated (MT) data. (Fig.1 @ 110)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., the RRC message (e.g. RRCRelease) definitions as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
the configuration parameters comprise semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters; and
determining the radio resources is based on the SPS configuration parameters.
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284 and 630-632) wherein:
the configuration parameters comprise semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters (read as SPS-Config IE (Section 6.2.2, pages 630-632)); and
determining the radio resources is based on the SPS configuration parameters.(read as “QoS control including assignment/ modification of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration and configured grant configuration for DL and UL respectively, assignment/ modification of parameters for UL rate control in the UE, i.e. allocation of a priority and a prioritised bit rate (PBR) for each RB of UE and logical channel of IAB-MT.”(Section 4.4, page 31))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., the SPS-Config IE used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters comprise a periodicity parameter indicating a separation between two consecutive downlink grants.
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284 and 630-632) wherein the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters comprise a periodicity parameter indicating a separation between two consecutive downlink grants. (read as periodicityExt (Section 6.2.2, page 631))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., the SPS-Config IE used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 12, and as applied to claim 10 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters indicate a frequency domain resource allocation used in determining the at least one downlink grant.
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284 and 630-632) wherein the semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters indicate a frequency domain resource allocation used in determining the at least one downlink grant.(read as pdsch-AggregationFactor (Section 6.2.2, page 631))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., the SPS-Config IE used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 13, and as applied to claim 9 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the configuration parameters indicate a frequency domain resource allocation used in determining the at least one downlink grant.
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284 and 630-632) wherein the configuration parameters indicate a frequency domain resource allocation (read as PUCCH resource) used in determining the at least one downlink grant. (read as SPS-PUCCH-AN IE (Section 6.2.2, page 632))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., the SPS-PUCCH-AN IE used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0164466 A1), in view of Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274525 A1), ETSI (“TS 138 331 V16.6.0”, October 2021), Yue et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0430940 A1), and Korhonen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0430940 A1).
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to claim 9 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284)
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., the ETSI document , and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the at least one downlink grant starts on or after an offset from the at least one message.
Korhonen et al. teach a method wherein the at least one downlink grant starts on or after an offset from the at least one message.(read as “… the first offset may be applied and, where MT Tx+DU IA indicates timing according to FDM/SDM, then an explicit indication in DL/UL grant may indicate whether the first offset or the second offset should be applied.”(Paragraph [0102]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for applying a first offset to a DL grant as taught by Korhonen et al., the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., one or more IE(s) used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to claim 14 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284)
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., the ETSI document , and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the offset is based on a processing time of the at least one message.
Korhonen et al. teach a method wherein the offset is based on a processing time of the at least one message. (read as time advance(TA) mode (Abstract))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for applying a first offset to a DL grant based on a timing advance mode as taught by Korhonen et al., the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., one or more IE(s) used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 16, and as applied to claim 15 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284)
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., the ETSI document , and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the processing time is based on a user equipment (UE) capability.
Korhonen et al. teach a method wherein the processing time is based on a user equipment (UE) capability.(read as capability signaling (Paragraph [0044]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting capability signaling as taught by Korhonen et al., the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., one or more IE(s) used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 17, and as applied to claim 14 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284)
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., the ETSI document , and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the offset is based on a configuration parameter.
Korhonen et al. teach a method wherein the offset is based on a configuration parameter.(read as “using the determined resource configuration to set a timing advance (TA) mode with two offsets comprising a first offset to be used with time division multiplexing (TDM) and a second offset to be used with at least one of spatial division multiplexing (SDM) or frequency division multiplexing (FDM).”(Abstract))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for applying a first offset to a DL grant used with TDM as taught by Korhonen et al., the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., one or more IE(s) used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 18, and as applied to claim 14 above, Wang et al. teach a UE may be capable of executing “a MT-SDT procedure for initial downlink (DL) data reception and subsequent UL/DL data transmissions in RRC_INACTIVE is also supported.” (Fig(s).2A, 3, 8, and 10; Paragraph [0040])
Wei et al. teach “an RRCRelease message including an RRC state indicator and a small data transmission configuration from a gNB.”(Fig.6; Paragraph [0213]) Further, Wei et al. teach “the RRC Release message or the RRCRelease message in the present disclosure, may include an RRC state indicator (e.g., State_Indicator) indicating which RRC state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE) the UE transitions to.” (Fig.6; Paragraph [0213])
The ETSI document teaches RRC and IE message definitions (Section 6.2.2, pages 280-284)
Yue et al. teach “An MT SDT procedure is initiated by the network device (e.g. gNB) for a downlink (DL) data transmission. Upon arrival of downlink (DL) data, if the size of the DL data meets certain criteria, the gNB will send a paging message including e.g. mt-SDT to the UE. The UE responds by initiating a RACH (RACH for MT SDT) procedure.”(Fig(s).1 and 9; Paragraph [0010])
However, Wang et al., Wei et al., the ETSI document , and Yue et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the offset is a pre-configured value.
Korhonen et al. teach a method wherein the offset is a pre-configured value. (read as “offset 1 can be based on legacy TA control according to case #1 timing alignment …”(Paragraph [0032]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for applying a first offset based on a legacy TA control as taught by Korhonen et al., the paging for DL MT SDT as taught by Yue et al., one or more IE(s) used in RRC messages as taught by the ETSI document, and the function for receiving an RRC Release message when an UE is operating in an RRC Connected mode as taught by Wei with the UE executing an MT-SDT procedure as taught by Wang et al. for the purpose of improving the switching of RRC states by devices in a communication network.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0023042 A1) teach “a method for small data transmission (SDT) in RRC_INACTIVE state and related devices.”(Fig.3; Paragraph [0001])
Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0248493 A1) teach “an enhanced procedure for mobile terminated data transmission without anchor relocation in RRC inactive state.”(Fig.26; Paragraph [0334])
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
September 3, 2026