DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “orthographic projection region of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film in the first direction is equal to an orthographic projection area of the reflective polarizing film in the first direction; an orthographic area of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film in the second direction is equal to an orthographic area of the reflective polarizing film in the second direction…orthographic projection areas of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film and the reflective polarizing film in the first direction are equal to a light-emitting area of the first light-emitting component; orthographic projection areas of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film and the reflective polarizing film in the second direction are equal to a light-emitting area of the second light-emitting component” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-20 utilize single block/paragraphs with no indentations to separate the claim limitations. “Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i).” See MPEP § 608.01(m).
With respect to Claims 7 and 8, “a third lens” being recited before a first and second lens within the entire claim set is improper, for the claimed elements are introduced out of numerical order. The ordering presented in the claims is inconsistent and creates ambiguity. The numerical designation of the claimed lenses should be introduced in a consistent order such that the first lens and second lens precede “a third lens.” Thus, the claims should be amended to introduce and number the lenses in their proper numerical sequence while also being consistent with the as-filed specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 15 recites the limitation(s) “the second direction,” “the third direction,” and “the fourth direction.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation(s) in the claim(s), for none of these directions are previously recited. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets “the second direction,” “the third direction,” and “the fourth direction” to be directed to any arbitrary direction.
Claims 2, 7, and 10-11 recites the limitation(s) "the optical path beam-combining module." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation(s) in the claim(s), for "an optical path beam-combining module" is not previously recited. Examiner notes that “an optical path beam-combing module” is recited in Claim 2. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets "the optical path beam-combining module" as being the same exact element as the “optical path beam-combing module” recited in Claim 2.
With respect to Claim 8, the recitation “an optical surface far of the third lens away from the phase delayer” is indefinite, for it is unclear if the optical surface is of the third lens, or is far away from the third lens, or positioned far away from a phase delayer while being of the third lens, etc. Thus, the structural relationship of these elements can be interpreted in several different ways and is not clear. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to reasonably ascertain the scope of the claim.
With respect to Claims 8, and 10-11, the term(s) “far of” and “far away” in “an optical surface far of the third lens away from the phase delayer,” “an optical surface of the phase delayer far away from the optical path beam-combining module,” and “the fourth optical surface is far away from the optical path beam-combining module” are relative terms which render the claim(s) indefinite. The term(s) “far of” and “far away” are not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Since no objective boundary is provided for how “far away” these elements are from each other, the optical surface, third lens, phase delayer, optical surface of the phase delayer, optical path beam-combining module, and fourth optical surface have also been rendered indefinite by the use of the term(s) “far of” and “far away.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation(s) “the optical image” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation(s) in the claim(s), for “an optical image” is not previously recited in Claims 10-11. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets “the optical image” to be directed to any optical image recited within the as-filed claims.
Claim 14 recites the limitation(s) “the polarizing light splitting film” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation(s) in the claim(s), for “a polarizing light splitting film” is not previously recited. Examiner notes that “a polarizing beam splitting film” is recited in Claim 14. For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets "the polarizing light splitting film" as being the same exact element as the “polarizing beam splitting film” recited in Claim 14.
For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets the claimed subject matter described above as introducing optional elements, optional structural limitations, optional expressions, and optional functionality within a virtual reality optical system.
Proper correction is required to ensure accuracy and consistency in the claims, for the language is so awkward that it renders the claims nearly incomprehensible. The primary purpose of the requirement of definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent. It is of utmost importance that patents issue with definite claims that clearly and precisely inform persons skilled in the art of the boundaries of protected subject matter. See MPEP § 2173.
Applicant should clarify the claim limitations as appropriate. Care should be taken during revision of the description and of any statements of problem or advantage, not to add subject-matter which extends beyond the content of the application (specification) as originally filed.
If the language of a claim, considered as a whole in light of the specification and given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See MPEP 2173.05(a), MPEP 2143.03(I), and MPEP 2173.06.
Claim Rejections -35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN 110955052 A (see machine translation) in view of Lin et al. US 20110194079 A1 (herein after "Lin").
With respect to Claim 1, Li discloses a Virtual Reality (VR) optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]), comprising:
an optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]), and
a first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8) and
the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8) emitting a first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]) along a first direction ([0094]; figs. 7-8) toward the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]), the second direction (first direction is perpendicular to second direction or can be opposite; [0010], [0024]) toward the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]);
the first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]) being emitted to an imaging region (figs. 7-8) from the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]) along the third direction (R11; fig. 7);
a first included angle (angle θ between reflective surface 115 and base film surface 112 is set to 45 degrees; [0084]) being between the first direction ([0094]; figs. 7-8) and the second direction (first direction is perpendicular to second direction or can be opposite; [0010], [0024]), and a second included angle (major axis of left elliptically polarized light forms 135-degree angle with horizontal direction; [0088]) being between the third direction (R11; fig. 7) and the fourth direction (R13; fig. 7);
the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]) being configured to change a degree (light incident from image side B will change its phase by 180 degrees after being reflected at reflective surface 115, thus changing its polarization state; [0067]) of the second included angle (major axis of left elliptically polarized light forms 135-degree angle with horizontal direction; [0088]) by adjusting a degree (undergo total internal reflection to achieve change polarization state; [0080]) of the first included angle (angle θ between reflective surface 115 and base film surface 112 is set to 45 degrees; [0084]).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a second light-emitting component arranged on periphery sides of the optical path folding module; the second light-emitting component emitting a second optical image along the second direction; the second optical image being emitted to the imaging region from the optical path folding module along the fourth direction and overlapping with the first optical image, thereby adjusting an overlapping region of the first optical image and the second optical image.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) comprising a first light emitting component (light source module 110 having a first light source LED green light, G; [0030]) and second light emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]), wherein the second light emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]) is arranged on periphery sides (as seen in fig. 1) of an optical path folding module (comprising dichroic combiner 111 and light beam homogenization means/beam homogenizer 120; [0031]); the second light emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]) emitting second modulated light (first modulated light L00 via first light source and second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) along a second direction that is perpendicular to a first direction (as seen in fig. 1); the second modulated light (second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) being emitted to an imaging region (fig. 1) from the optical path folding module (comprising dichroic combiner 111 and light beam homogenization means/beam homogenizer 120; [0031]) along a fourth direction (via direction guider 133; [0040]; fig. 1) and overlapping with the first modulated light (first modulated light L00 via first light source; [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 2, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, further comprising a light polarization direction (polarization direction of light ray R15 polarized along first direction; [0089]; fig. 7) of the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8), the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]) comprises an optical path beam-combing module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) and a phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]);
the first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]) being emitted to the optical path beam-combining module (corresponding first polarizer 130 and second polarizer 140 are set according to the light with the required polarization direction; [0072]) along the first direction ([0094]; figs. 7-8), emitted to the phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]) by the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]), emitted to the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) by the phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]; figs. 7-8), and finally emitted to the imaging region (e.g., object side A to image side B; figs. 7-8) from the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) along the third direction (R11; fig. 7);
an optical image being emitted to the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) along the second direction (first direction is perpendicular to second direction or can be opposite; [0010], [0024]), emitted to the phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]; figs. 7-8) by the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]), emitted to the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) by the phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]), and finally emitted to the imaging region (figs. 7-8) from the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) along the fourth direction (R13; fig. 7).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a light polarization direction of the first light-emitting component is the same as a light polarization direction of the second light-emitting component; the second optical image being emitted to the optical path beam-combining module along the second direction.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a light modulation direction of the first light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a first light source LED green light, G; [0030]) is the same as a light modulation direction (first modulated light L00 and second modulated light L01 to form single first light path L10, wherein single first light path L10 defines first direction, projector apparatus 100 further includes light beam homogenization means/beam homogenizer 120 for uniformizing first light path L10; [0031]) of the second light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]); the second modulated light (second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) is emitted to the optical path folding module (comprising dichroic combiner 111 and light beam homogenization means/beam homogenizer 120; [0031]) along a second direction that is perpendicular to a first direction (as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 3, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 2, wherein a changed polarization direction (change of polarization state; [0080]; fig. 7) of the first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]) is perpendicular to an original polarization direction (first direction forms a 45-degree angle with horizontal direction (the direction perpendicular to the paper; fig. 7) of the first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a changed polarization direction of the second optical image is perpendicular to an original polarization direction of the second optical image.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a changed modulation direction (formed first light path L10; [0031]) of the second modulated light (second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) is perpendicular (as seen in fig. 1) to an original modulation direction (along direction of light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B emitting second modulated light L01; [0030]; fig. 1) of the second modulated light (second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 4, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 2, wherein the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) comprises a reflective polarizing film (first polarizer 130 allows light rays polarized to pass through and reflects light rays polarized; [0061]) and a semi-transparent semi-reflective film (reflective layer 113 is a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film; [0066]) perpendicular to each other (fig. 8), the semi-transparent and semi-reflective film (reflective layer 113; [0066]) is arranged along an angular bisector (figs. 7-8) of the first included angle (angle θ between reflective surface 115 and base film surface 112 is set to 45 degrees; [0084]), and a transmission axis ([0071]) of the reflective polarizing film (first polarizer 130 allows light rays polarized to pass through and reflects light rays polarized; [0061]) is parallel (polarizers have a transmission axis, and light rays polarized along a direction parallel to the transmission axis can pass through the polarizer; [0071]) to the light polarization direction (polarization direction of light ray R15 polarized along first direction; [0089]; fig. 7) of the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): the reflective polarizing film and the semi-transparent semi-reflective film are crossed.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a prism set (140; [0033]) includes a reflective polarizing element (total internal reflection (TIR) prism 143; [0041]) and a semi-transparent semi-reflective element (first prism 141; [0041]) that are disposed perpendicular to each and crossed (as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of crossed reflective polarizing and semi-transparent semi-reflective elements, for the purpose of producing a total internal reflection telecentric optical configuration and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0041]).
With respect to Claim 5, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 4, wherein an orthographic projection region (figs. 7-8) of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film (reflective layer 113 is a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film; [0066]) in the first direction ([0094]; figs. 7-8) is equal (figs. 7-8) to an orthographic projection area (figs. 7-8) of the reflective polarizing film (first polarizer 130 allows light rays polarized to pass through and reflects light rays polarized; [0061]) in the first direction ([0094]; figs. 7-8);
an orthographic area (figs. 7-8) of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film (reflective layer 113 is a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film; [0066]) in the second direction (first direction is perpendicular to second direction or can be opposite; [0010], [0024]) is equal to (figs. 7-8) an orthographic area (figs. 7-8) of the reflective polarizing film (first polarizer 130 allows light rays polarized to pass through and reflects light rays polarized; [0061]) in the second direction (first direction is perpendicular to second direction or can be opposite; [0010], [0024]; Li).
With respect to Claim 6, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 4, wherein orthographic projection areas (figs. 7-8) of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film (reflective layer 113 is a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film; [0066]) and the reflective polarizing film (first polarizer 130 allows light rays polarized to pass through and reflects light rays polarized; [0061]) in the first direction ([0094]; figs. 7-8) are equal to (figs. 7-8) a light-emitting area (as seen in figs. 7-8; light emitted from light-emitting surface of light source 210 is incident into optical imaging module 100; [0094]) of the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8);
orthographic projection areas (figs. 7-8) of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film (reflective layer 113 is a semi-transparent and semi-reflective film; [0066]) and the reflective polarizing film (first polarizer 130 allows light rays polarized to pass through and reflects light rays polarized; [0061]) in the second direction (first direction is perpendicular to second direction or can be opposite; [0010], [0024]).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): orthographic projection areas of the semi-transparent semi-reflective film and the reflective polarizing film in the second direction are equal to a light-emitting area of the second light-emitting component.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a prism set (140; [0033]) includes a reflective polarizing element (total internal reflection (TIR) prism 143; [0041]) and a semi-transparent semi-reflective element (first prism 141; [0041]) that are disposed perpendicular to each and crossed (as seen in fig. 1); orthographic projection areas of the prism set (140; [0033]) in a second direction (along L01 direction and reflection-type image generator 160 emitting/reflecting direction as seen in fig. 1) are equal to a light emitting area/direction (fig. 1) of the second light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module and crossed reflective polarizing and semi-transparent semi-reflective elements, for the purpose of producing a total internal reflection telecentric optical configuration and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0041]).
With respect to Claim 10, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 2, wherein the phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]) comprises a phase delayer (multiple phase delay films working together to form phase delay film 150; [0068]) arranged on one side (figs. 7-8) of the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]) and a reflective film attached to an optical surface (selection of phase delay film 150 can be set in other ways, and flexibly selected according to actual application environment; [0089]) of the phase delayer (multiple phase delay films working together to form phase delay film 150; [0068]) far away (figs. 7-8) from the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]; Li).
With respect to Claim 11, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 10, wherein the phase delayer (multiple phase delay films working together to form phase delay film 150; [0068]) comprises a third optical surface and a fourth optical surface which are parallel to each other (lateral sides of phase delay film 150 along object side A and image side B directions; figs. 7-8), the third optical surface is close (figs. 7-8) to the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]), the fourth optical surface is far away from (figs. 7-8) the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]), and the fourth optical surface is provided with a reflective film for reflecting the optical image (selection of phase delay film 150 can be set in other ways, and flexibly selected according to actual application environment; [0089]), which has been changed (left elliptically polarized light R10 converted into light R11 polarized along second direction by phase delay plate 150 after phase delay of 45 degrees; [0088]) by the phase delayer (multiple phase delay films working together to form phase delay film 150; [0068]), back to (figs. 7-8) the optical path beam-combining module (imaging module 100 comprising e.g., first polarizer 130 with second polarizer 140; [0061]; Li).
With respect to Claim 13, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, further comprising a light polarization direction (polarization direction of light ray R15 polarized along first direction; [0089]; fig. 7) of the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8), the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]) is a polarizing beam splitting film (used to adjust light incident from object side A, so that adjusted light is converted into light polarized and imaged on image side B, comprising reflective film 110, polarizers 130, 140, and phase delay film 150; [0061]) arranged along an angular bisector (figs. 7-8) of the first included angle (angle θ between reflective surface 115 and base film surface 112 is set to 45 degrees; [0084]);
a transmission axis ([0071]) of the polarizing beam splitting film (used to adjust light incident from object side A, so that adjusted light is converted into light polarized and imaged on image side B, comprising reflective film 110, polarizers 130, 140, and phase delay film 150; [0061]) is parallel to (polarizers have a transmission axis, and light rays polarized along a direction parallel to the transmission axis can pass through the polarizer; [0071]) the light polarization direction (polarization direction of light ray R15 polarized along first direction; [0089]; fig. 7) of the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a light polarization direction of the first light-emitting component is perpendicular to a light polarization direction of the second light-emitting component.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a light modulation direction (direction along first modulated light L00 via first light source; [0031]) of the first light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a first light source LED green light, G; [0030]) is perpendicular to a light modulation direction (direction along second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) of the second light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 14, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, further comprising a light polarization direction (polarization direction of light ray R15 polarized along first direction; [0089]; fig. 7) of the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8), the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]) is a polarizing beam splitting film (used to adjust light incident from object side A, so that adjusted light is converted into light polarized and imaged on image side B, comprising reflective film 110, polarizers 130, 140, and phase delay film 150; [0061]) arranged along an angular bisector (figs. 7-8) of the first included angle (angle θ between reflective surface 115 and base film surface 112 is set to 45 degrees; [0084]);
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a light polarization direction of the first light-emitting component is perpendicular to a light polarization direction of the second light-emitting component; a transmission axis of the polarizing light splitting film is parallel to the light polarization direction of the second light-emitting component.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a light modulation direction (direction along first modulated light L00 via first light source; [0031]) of the first light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a first light source LED green light, G; [0030]) is perpendicular to a light modulation direction (direction along second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) of the second light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]); a transmission axis (along reflection-type image generator 160 emitting/reflecting direction as seen in fig. 1) of the prism set (140; [0033]) comprising the reflective polarizing element (total internal reflection (TIR) prism 143; [0041]) and the semi-transparent semi-reflective element (first prism 141; [0041]) is parallel (as seen in fig. 1) to the light modulation direction (direction along second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) of the second light-emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module and crossed reflective polarizing and semi-transparent semi-reflective elements, for the purpose of producing a total internal reflection telecentric optical configuration and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0041]).
With respect to Claim 15, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, wherein the first light-emitting component (light source 210; fig. 8) comprises a first light-emitting surface (polarization element 220; [0095]; fig. 8).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a first lens parallel to the first light-emitting surface, which are sequentially arranged along the first direction; the second light-emitting component comprises a second light-emitting surface and a second lens parallel to the second light-emitting surface, which are sequentially arranged along the second direction.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein a first lens (a first light source modulation lens e.g., collimator 115a, 117a; [0030]) is parallel to a first light emitting surface (fig. 1) of the first light emitting component (light source module 110 having a first light source LED green light, G; [0030]), which are sequentially arranged along a first direction (direction along first modulated light L00 via first light source; [0031]); the second light emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]) comprises a light emitting surface (fig. 1) and a second lens (second light source modulation lens e.g., collimator 115b, 117b; [0030]) being parallel to the second light emitting surface (fig. 1) which are sequentially arranged along a second direction (along L01 direction as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of multiple lenses and a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of providing a function to homogenize distributions of illumination angles and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0036]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) and lenses since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 16, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 15.
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): wherein the first lens is a double-sided convex lens; the second lens is a double-sided convex lens.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein the first lens (first light source modulation lens e.g., collimator 115a, 117a; [0030]) and second lens (second light source modulation lens e.g., collimator 115b, 117b; [0030]) are biconvex lenses (as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of multiple biconvex lenses, for the purpose of providing a function to homogenize distributions of illumination angles and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0036]). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Li further discloses that the optical element may include a plurality of convex lenses or concave lenses, or any combination of a plurality of convex lenses or concave lenses ([0064]).
With respect to Claim 17, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 15, wherein the first light-emitting surface (polarization element 220; [0095]; fig. 8) is a straight surface (straight, planar surface as seen in fig. 8);
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): the second light-emitting surface is a straight surface.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein the second light emitting component (light source module 110 having a second light source LED red light R and blue light, B; [0030]) is a planar surface (as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light emitting component to have a flat/planar surface, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP § 2144.04.
With respect to Claim 18, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, wherein a fourth lens (optical element 120 includes at least one lens; [0061]) is arranged between (figs. 7-8) the optical path folding module (optical imaging module 100; [0007]) and the imaging region (e.g., object side A and image side B; figs. 7-8), and the first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]) is transmitted through (figs. 7-8) the fourth lens (optical element 120 includes at least one lens; [0061]) and then reach the imaging region (figs. 7-8).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): the second optical image is transmitted through the fourth lens and then reaches the imaging region.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein the second modulated light (second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) is transmitted through multiple lenses (second light source modulation lens e.g., collimator 115b, 117b; [0030]) and reaches an imaging region (light inputting plane 120I is imaged on the reflection-type image generator 160 after first modulated light L00 and second modulated light L01 are combined to form light path L10; [0031-38]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) of multiple lenses and a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of providing a function to homogenize distributions of illumination angles and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0036]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) and lenses since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 19, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, wherein the fourth lens (optical element 120 includes at least one lens; [0061]) is parallel to an imaging plane (lenses in optical element 120 are arranged coaxially, and optical axes of each lens are on the same straight line; [0061]) formed by the imaging region (figs. 7-8), and is used to amplify (optical element 120 includes convex lens having converging effect on light; [0064]) the first optical image (light emitted from light source 210 incident into optical imaging module 100 is converted into light polarized along first direction by optical imaging module 100 and imaged on image side B; [0094]).
Li does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): the second optical image emitted to imaging region.
However, Lin further teaches a high efficiency pico projector apparatus (100; [0009], [0030]) wherein the second modulated light (second modulated light L01 via second light source; [0031]) reaches an imaging region (light inputting plane 120I is imaged on the reflection-type image generator 160 after first modulated light L00 and second modulated light L01 are combined to form light path L10; [0031-38]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li to include the technical feature(s) a second light emitting component defining a second direction towards an optical path folding module, for the purpose of providing a function to homogenize distributions of illumination angles and achieving a balance of minimum light paths, conjugate imaging of optical design, and minimum folding size of light path(s), as taught by Lin ([0007], [0036]). Furthermore, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the light emitting component(s) and lenses since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co, 193 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.
With respect to Claim 20, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 1, wherein the first included angle (angle θ between reflective surface 115 and base film surface 112 is set to 45 degrees; [0084]) is greater than 0° and less than 180° (set to 45 degrees; [0084]) and the second included angle (major axis of left elliptically polarized light forms 135-degree angle with horizontal direction; [0088]) is greater than 0° and less than 180° (135-degree angle; [0088]; Li).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li CN 110955052 A (see machine translation) in view of Lin et al. US 20110194079 A1 (herein after "Lin") as applied to claim(s) 2 and 10 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. CN 211786381 U (see machine translation; herein after "Zhou").
With respect to Claim 7, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 2, wherein the phase delay reflection module (phase delay plate 150; [0068]) comprises a phase delayer (multiple phase delay films working together to form phase delay film 150; [0068]).
Li in view of Lin does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): a third lens arranged at an interval with the phase delayer, and the phase delayer is arranged between the third lens and the optical path beam-combining module; an optical surface of the third lens away from the phase delayer is provided with a reflective film for reflecting light beams, which are emitted by the phase delayer to the third lens, back to the phase delayer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches an optical display system with folding light path and AR device ([0002]) comprising a lens (third lens 31; [0138]) and phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]), wherein the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) is arranged at an interval (fig. 5) with the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]), and the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]) is arranged between the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) and an optical path beam-combining module (first optical lens 10; as seen in fig. 5); an optical surface (fig. 5) of the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) away from the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]; fig. 5) is provided with a reflective film for reflecting light beams (third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]), which are emitted by the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]) to the lens (third lens 31; [0138]), back to the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li in view of Lin to include the technical feature(s) of providing a reflective film/coating on an optical surface of a lens paired with a phase delayer within an optical display system having a folded optical path, for the purpose of providing good imaging quality and a large field of view, as taught by Zhou ([0051-54]). Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.07. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Li further discloses that the selection of the phase delay film and the phase difference between the outgoing and incoming rays after each total internal reflection in the optical unit can be set in other ways, and can be flexibly selected according to the actual application environment ([0089]).
With respect to Claim 8, Li in view of Lin and Zhou teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 7.
Li in view of Lin does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): wherein the third lens comprises a first optical surface and a second optical surface, and the first optical surface and the second optical surface are parallel to an optical surface of the phase delayer; wherein, an optical surface of the third lens close to the phase delayer is the first optical surface, an optical surface far of the third lens away from the phase delayer is the second optical surface, the second optical surface is provided with a reflective film, and the third lens is used to amplify an optical image emitted through the phase delayer and reflect it back to the phase delayer.
However, Zhou further teaches an optical display system with folding light path and AR device ([0002]) comprising a lens (third lens 31; [0138]) and phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]), wherein the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) comprises a first optical surface (facing fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5) and a second optical surface (facing away from fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5), and the first optical surface (facing fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5) and the second optical surface (facing away from fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5) are parallel to an optical surface (as seen in fig. 5) of the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]); wherein, an optical surface (fig. 5) of the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) close to the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]) is the first optical surface (facing fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5), an optical surface (fig. 5) far of the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) away from the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]) is the second optical surface (facing away from fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5), the second optical surface (facing away from fourth phase retardation film 36; fig. 5) is provided with a reflective film (third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]), and the lens (third lens 31; [0138]) is used to amplify an optical image emitted ([0138]) through the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36; [0138]) and reflect it back to the phase delayer (fourth phase retardation film 36 via third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li in view of Lin to include the technical feature(s) of providing a reflective film/coating on an optical surface of a lens paired with a phase delayer within an optical display system having a folded optical path, for the purpose of providing good imaging quality and a large field of view, as taught by Zhou ([0051-54]). Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.07. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Li further discloses that the selection of the phase delay film and the phase difference between the outgoing and incoming rays after each total internal reflection in the optical unit can be set in other ways, and can be flexibly selected according to the actual application environment ([0089]).
With respect to Claim 9, Li in view of Lin and Zhou teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 7.
Li in view of Lin does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): wherein the reflective film is a reflective coating.
However, Zhou further teaches an optical display system with folding light path and AR device ([0002]) comprising the reflective film (third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]), wherein the polarization reflection coating of the reflective film (third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]) is used to reflect linearly polarized light in one direction and transmit linearly polarized light in another direction ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li in view of Lin to include the technical feature(s) of providing a reflective film/coating on an optical surface of a lens paired with a phase delayer within an optical display system having a folded optical path, for the purpose of providing good imaging quality and a large field of view, as taught by Zhou ([0051-54]). Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.07. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Li further discloses that the selection of the phase delay film and the phase difference between the outgoing and incoming rays after each total internal reflection in the optical unit can be set in other ways, and can be flexibly selected according to the actual application environment ([0089]).
With respect to Claim 12, Li in view of Lin teaches the VR optical system (VR electronic device; [0006]) according to claim 10.
Li in view of Lin does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitation(s): wherein the reflective film is a reflective coating.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches an optical display system with folding light path and AR device ([0002]) comprising a reflective film (third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]), wherein a polarization reflection coating of the reflective film (third polarizing reflective film 32; [0138]) is used to reflect linearly polarized light in one direction and transmit linearly polarized light in another direction ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the VR electronic device of Li in view of Lin to include the technical feature(s) of providing a reflective film/coating on an optical surface of a lens paired with a phase delayer within an optical display system having a folded optical path, for the purpose of providing good imaging quality and a large field of view, as taught by Zhou ([0051-54]). Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.07. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Li further discloses that the selection of the phase delay film and the phase difference between the outgoing and incoming rays after each total internal reflection in the optical unit can be set in other ways, and can be flexibly selected according to the actual application environment ([0089]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sakai US 20090116117 A1 discloses a projector substantially similar to that of the claimed invention.
/K MUHAMMAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 25 September 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872