DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suehiro et al. (US 2018/0131009 A1; pub. May 10, 2018) in view of Kaufman et al. (US 2024/0243281 A1; pub. Jul. 18, 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Suehiro et al. disclose: A stack cell comprising: a plurality of electrodes; a separator disposed between two adjacent electrodes (para. [0018]); and a mark formed on the separator (para. [0049], fig.2 doted lines & 70a).
Suehiro et al. are silent about: a mark formed of a radio-opaque material through which no radiation ray is transmitted, and provided at an edge region of the separator.
In a similar field of endeavor Kaufman et al. disclose: a radio-opaque material through which no radiation ray is transmitted, and provided at an edge region of the separator (para. [0023], para. [0048] teaches aluminum which is radio-opaque, para. [0277]) motivated by the benefits for optimized battery (Kaufman et al. para. [0277]).
In light of the benefits for optimized battery as taught by Kaufman et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Suehiro et al. with the teachings of Kaufman et al. to have a mark formed of a radio-opaque material.
Regarding claim 2, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark is provided so that when the edge region of the separator is folded, the mark is folded together with the edge region of the separator (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark is provided so that when the separator is folded, at least a partial region is positionally moved along the folding direction of the separator (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark is provided at a corner portion of the edge region of the separator (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark is provided on the edge region on the long side or short side of the separator (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark is formed continuously along the edge region of the separator (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark is formed integrally over the entire edge region of the separator (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: the mark comprises a plurality of marks, is provided, where wherein the plurality of marks is formed at different positions in the edge region of the separator, respectively (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see fig.2 & fig.4 of Kaufman et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, Oh et al. disclose: a radiation inspection part provided configured to irradiate the stack cell according to claim 1 with radiation rays, thereby obtaining an image of the radiation ray-irradiated separator (claim 5).
The prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: a control part configured for inspecting folding of the separator by comparing the position information of the mark pre-formed on the separator with the position information of the mark in the image obtained by the radiation inspection part.
Claim 10 would be allowable on the same basis as claim 9 for dependency reasons.
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 11, Suehiro et al. and Kaufman et al. disclose: A separator inspection method comprising: a step (a) of irradiating a stack cell including a separator in which a mark formed of a radio-opaque material is provided at an edge region with radiation rays (see rejection of claim 1).
Oh et al. disclose: a step (b) of obtaining an image of the radiation ray-irradiated separator (claim 5).
The prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: a step (c) of inspecting folding of the separator by comparing the position information of the mark pre-formed on the separator with the position information of the mark shown in the obtained image.
Claims 12-15 are allowed on the same basis as claim 11 for dependency reasons.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884