DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 24-26, 31 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Pub: 2020/0227489 A1~hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10) a display panel, comprising: a display substrate comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (P1-P3; [0064]-[0065]); a light extraction layer (510; [0061]), disposed on a light emitting side of the display substrate, the light extraction layer (510) comprising a plurality of first grooves (510a-510c; see at least fig. 3); and a first planarization layer (530; [0080]), disposed on a side of the light extraction layer away from the display substrate (see fig. 3), wherein a refractive index of the first planarization layer (530) is greater than a refractive index of the light extraction layer (510; [0080]); and a thickness of the first planarization layer (530; t5= 2µm; [0129]) is 1.5 to 5 times greater than a thickness of the light extraction layer (510; t4=1 µm; [0129]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses (in at least fig. 3) the first planarization layer (530) comprises a plurality of second grooves (see fig. 3), the sub-pixel (P1-P3) is covered by an orthographic projection of the first groove on the display substrate (see fig. 3), and an orthographic projection of the second groove on the display substrate is at least partially overlapped with the orthographic projection of the first groove on the display substrate (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10) a height in a second direction of a groove sidewall of the first groove is increased with the increasing distance in a first direction from the center of the sub-pixel (see at least figs. 3 and 10); and a height in the second direction of a groove sidewall of the second groove is increased with the increasing distance in the first direction from the center of the sub-pixel (see at least figs. 3 and 10); wherein the second direction is perpendicular to a display surface of the display substrate (see figs. 3 and 10), and the first direction is parallel to the display surface of the display substrate (see figs. 3 and 10).
Regarding claim 24, Kim discloses (in at least fig. 10) the display panel further comprises: an encapsulation layer group (400), disposed on the light emitting side of the display substrate (100); and a touch layer group (700; [0157]-[0158]), disposed on a side of the encapsulation layer group away from the display substrate (see fig. 10); wherein, one layer in the encapsulation layer group (400) or the touch layer group (700) is multiplexed as the light extraction layer (510; see fig. 10), and one layer in the encapsulation layer group (400) or the touch layer group (700) is multiplexed as the first planarization layer.
Regarding claim 25, Kim discloses (in at least fig. 10) the touch layer group (700) comprises: a first touch metal layer (711), disposed on the light emitting side of the display substrate; a touch insulating layer (712; [0159]), disposed on a side of the first touch metal layer away from the display substrate; a second touch metal layer (713) is disposed on a side of the touch insulating layer away from the display substrate; and a protective layer (714), disposed on a side of the second touch metal layer away from the display substrate; wherein, the touch insulating layer (712) is multiplexed as the light extraction layer.
Regarding claim 26, Kim discloses (in at least fig. 10) the protective layer (714) is multiplexed as the light extraction layer (510), or the protective layer (714) is multiplexed as the first planarization layer (530).
Regarding claim 31, Kim discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10) a method for manufacturing display panel, comprising: forming a display substrate (100), the display substrate comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (P1-P3); forming a light extraction layer (510) on a light exiting side of the display substrate, wherein the light extraction layer (510) comprises a plurality of first grooves (510a-510c); and forming a first planarization layer (530) on a side of the light extraction layer away from the display substrate, a refractive index of the first planarization layer (530) is greater than a refractive index of the light extraction layer (510; [0114]-[0115]), and a thickness of the first planarization layer (530; t5=2) is 1.5 to 5 times greater than a thickness of the light extraction layer (510; t5= 2µm; [0129]) is 1.5 to 5 times greater than a thickness of the light extraction layer (510; t4=1 µm; [0129]).
Regarding claim 36, Kim discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10) a display device, comprising: a display panel (see at least fig. 3), wherein the display panel comprises: a display substrate comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (P1-P3); a light extraction layer (510), disposed on a light emitting side of the display substrate, the light extraction layer (510) comprising a plurality of first grooves; and a first planarization layer (530), disposed on a side of the light extraction layer away from the display substrate, wherein a refractive index of the first planarization layer (530) is greater than a refractive index of the light extraction layer (510; [0114]-[0115]), and a thickness of the first planarization layer (530; t5= 2µm; [0129]) is 1.5 to 5 times greater than a thickness of the light extraction layer (510; t4=1 µm; [0129]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-11, 16, 19-20 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Pub: 2020/0227489 A1~hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not expressly disclose the groove sidewall of the first groove comprises a curved surface, the groove sidewall of the second groove comprises a curved surface.
However, Kim discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10) a first groove sidewall (510a-510c) and a second groove sidewall (not labeled; see figs. 3 and 10) on the first groove sidewall; wherein and a curvature radius of the groove sidewall of the first groove is smaller than a curvature radius of the groove sidewall of the second groove (see figs. 3 and 10).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited groove shape through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited shape is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using groove shape of Kim.
Also, it is well-known in the art to form groove sidewalls comprised of, in part, a curved surface as evident by YU (CN: 113629214 A) discloses (in at least fig. 1) a groove sidewall of the first groove comprises a curved surface (see fig. 2) and the groove sidewall of the second groove comprises a curved surface (see fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim with the curved surface groove sidewalls of YU, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known shape for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim as modified by Yu discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10 Kim; at least figs. 1-2, 4 and 5 Yu) the groove sidewall of the first groove comprises a first portion, a second portion and a third portion which are smoothly connected in sequence, the first portion is closer to the display substrate than the third portion, the first portion and the third portion are configured as arc surfaces, and the second portion is configured as an inclined surface; and the groove sidewall of the second groove comprises a fourth portion, a fifth portion and a sixth portion which are smoothly connected in sequence, the fourth portion is closer to the display substrate than the sixth portion, the fifth portion is configured as an inclined surface, and the fourth portion and the sixth portion are configured as arc surfaces (see at least figs. 4 and 5 YU).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim as modified by Yu discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10 Kim; at least figs. 1-2, 4 and 5 Yu) an inclination angle of the second portion is greater than an inclination angle of the fifth portion.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim as modified by Yu discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10 Kim; at least figs. 1-2, 4 and 5 Yu) the groove sidewall of the first groove is configured as an inclined surface, the groove sidewall of the second groove is configured as an inclined surface, and an inclination angle of the groove sidewall of the first groove is greater than an inclination angle of the groove sidewall of the second groove.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim as modified by Yu discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10 Kim; at least figs. 1-2, 4 and 5 Yu) an orthographic projection of the groove sidewall of the first groove on the display substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the groove sidewall of the second groove on the display substrate (see at least fig. 3); and a bottom wall of the first groove is a plane, a bottom wall of the second groove is a plane, the sub-pixel is covered by an orthographic projection of the bottom wall of the second groove on the display substrate, and the orthographic projection of the bottom wall of the second groove on the display substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the bottom wall of the first groove on the display substrate.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim as modified by Yu discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10 Kim; at least figs. 1-2, 4 and 5 Yu) a depth of the first groove is greater than a depth of the second groove.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim as modified by Yu discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 10 Kim; at least figs. 1-2, 4 and 5 Yu) a thickness of the first planarization layer at the second groove is greater than a thickness of a portion of the first planarization layer opposite to the light extraction layer.
Regarding claim 16, Kim does not expressly disclose the light extraction layer and the first planarization layer comprise same organic material.
However, Kim discloses ([0114]-[0115]) both the light extraction layer (510) and the first planarization (530) comprises organic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to contemplate forming both the light extraction layer and the first planarization layer of Kim with the same organic material in order to reduce the manufacturing steps of the display device.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Kim does not expressly disclose the material of the first planarization layer comprises propylene glycol methyl ether acetate, acrylate monomer, zirconium dioxide particles, 1-methoxy-2-propanol, (3-methoxy-1-butyl) acetate, metal oxide particles, photoinitiator, coupling agent and additives; and weight proportions of respective materials of the first planarization layer are: 20 to 30 parts of propylene glycol methyl ether acetate, 1 to 10 parts of acrylate monomer, 20 to 30 parts of zirconium dioxide particles, 10 to 20 parts of 1-methoxy-2-propanol, 10 to 20 parts of (3-methoxy-1-butyl) acetate, 0.1 to 3 parts of metal oxide particles, 0.1 to 3 parts of photoinitiator, 1 to 5 parts of coupling agent, and 1 to 10 parts of additives.
However, Kim discloses (in at least [0115]) “the planarization layer 530 may include an organic material having the refractive index n2 ranging from about 1.6 to about 1.85.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use any suitable organic material to form the first organic planarization layer of Kim, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination.
Regarding claim 28, Kim discloses all the claimed limitations except for the display panel further comprises: a color filter layer, disposed on the light emitting side of the display substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and a filter portion, and the black matrix is multiplexed as the light extraction layer.
However, it is well-known in the art to form display devices comprised of, in part, a color filter layer, disposed on the light emitting side of the display substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a black matrix and a filter portion, and the black matrix is multiplexed as the light extraction layer as evident by BAE et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0045137 A1~ hereinafter “BAE”) at least fig. 8.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim with the color filter and black matrix teaching of BAE in order to convert the emitting light to a different wavelength.
Regarding claim 29, Kim discloses all the claimed limitations except for the display panel further comprises: a second planarization layer, disposed on a side of the first planarization layer away from the display substrate, and a side of the second planarization layer away from the display substrate is a plane; an adhesive layer, disposed on the side of the first planarization layer away from the display substrate, the adhesive layer being multiplexed as the second planarization layer; and a cover plate, disposed on a side of the adhesive layer away from the display substrate.
However, it is well-known in the art to form display devices comprised of, in part, a second planarization layer, disposed on a side of the first planarization layer away from the display substrate, and a side of the second planarization layer away from the display substrate is a plane; an adhesive layer, disposed on the side of the first planarization layer away from the display substrate, the adhesive layer being multiplexed as the second planarization layer; and a cover plate, disposed on a side of the adhesive layer away from the display substrate as evident by Zhang (US. Pub: 2021/0408172 A1) at least figs. 7 and 8.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kim with the second planarization layer of Zhang in order to provide suitable planarization to the light emitting layer. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875