DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klose et al., US pg. Pub. No. (2021/0188127) referred to hereinafter as Klose.
As per claim 12, Klose teaches a method for operating a heating arrangement for a high-voltage storage module for a motor vehicle (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4), wherein the heating arrangement has a fluid heater and a resistance heater (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4), which can be arranged in intermediate spaces formed by battery cells, the method comprising: determining an operating requirement of the high-voltage storage module (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4); and operating at least one of the resistance heater or the fluid heater depending on the operating requirement (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 13, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, further comprising: adjusting a heating output of the resistance heater depending on the operating requirement (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 14, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the operating requirement is determined depending on an operating state of a motor vehicle (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 15, Klose teaches a method of claim 14, wherein an operating state is determined on the basis of a navigation input (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 16, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein an operating requirement is a charging operation of the high-voltage storage module (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 17, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the operating requirement is a temperature of the high-voltage storage module (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 18, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the resistance heater is operated independently of the fluid heater (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 19, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the resistance heater is operated in sections (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 20, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the resistance heater is operated as a function of time (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 21, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the resistance heater is operated by means of an external energy source (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
As per claim 22, Klose teaches a method of claim 12, wherein the resistance heater (7) is operated by means of energy from the battery cells (see at least Abstract, Summary, Para 35-36, 38, 40, 46-48, 66-67, figs. 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. In particular applicant argues that A) the prior art (Klose) fails to teach expressly teach wherein the heating arrangement has a fluid heater and a resistance heater (preamble of claim 12).
In response to A) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. A fluid heater as defined in applicant specification para 10, is a known fluid cooling device, which is taught by Klose (see at least Abstract, Para 3, 7); furthermore the body of the claim states “resistance heater or the fluid heater depending on the operating requirement”; in addition Klose also teaches a resistance heater, Klose teaches an electrical battery heater (see at least Para 15, 37, 49, 60. Therefore Klose still meets the scope of the limitation as currently claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUSSA A SHAAWAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669