DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 5 Aug. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. US 2015/0337098 (hereafter Hayashi).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a porous membrane (¶1) comprising polytetrafluoroethylene as a main component (¶7-10), wherein a melting curve obtained in a first run of differential scanning calorimetry at a rate of temperature increase of 10°C/min has an endothermic peak in a range of 300°C to 360°C (¶9, where the PTFE membrane of Hayashi would be expected to have the properties of the melting curve because the structure of the membrane is the same as the prior art “polytetrafluoroethylene as a main component”), and a difference between an onset temperature and an endset temperature of the endothermic peak is 20°c or less (¶9, where the PTFE membrane of Hayashi would be expected to have the properties of the onset and endset because the structure of the membrane is the same as the prior art “polytetrafluoroethylene as a main component”).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi further teaches wherein the difference between the onset temperature and the endset temperature of the endothermic peak is 15°C or less (¶9, where the PTFE membrane of Hayashi would be expected to have the properties of the onset and endset because the structure of the membrane is the same as the prior art “polytetrafluoroethylene as a main component”).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi further teaches wherein a porosity of the porous membrane is 40% to 90% (¶59, 80%).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi further teaches wherein a mean flow pore size in a pore-size distribution of the porous membrane is 69 nm to 107 nm (¶60, 74 nm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. US 2015/0079392 (hereafter ‘392).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hayashi does not teach wherein a pore size ratio in a pore-size distribution of the porous membrane is 17% to 49%.
‘392 teaches a porous membrane with polytetrafluoroethylene as a main component (¶2) where the pore size ratio in a pore size distribution affects fractionation performance (¶6).
MPEP 2144.05 II states that where a variable is known to affect a result, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to optimize the variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the a pore size ratio in a pore-size distribution of the porous membrane (¶7-10), such as to 17% to 49%, as a prima facie case of obviousness in order to affect the fractionation performance (‘ 392 ¶6).
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776