DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the 18/728,157 application filed on 07/11/2024.
Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the middle cell" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO2020/019036) in view of Baba et al. (JP2002042863 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 1-2, Hu discloses a solar battery (fig. 1), comprising:
a solar cell (photovoltaic module) including at least a first junction formed from perovskite and a second junction formed from perovskite (series connected stack of at least three nominally identical perovskite solar cells 106, which includes the claimed first, second and third junctions formed from perovskite), wherein the first junction and the second junction are connected monolithically in series so that current will flow in a single direction to provide a voltage output (the perovskite solar cells are formed on a common substrate and are connected in series as described in paragraph [0056] and fig. 1, which qualify them as being connected monolithically in series so that current will flow in a single direction to provide a voltage output; furthermore, the perovskite solar cells are described as “monolithic perovskite tandem solar cells”, which also meets the claimed limitation); and
a lithium battery coupled to the voltage output of the solar cell [0007 and 0023].
Hu is silent regarding the lithium battery is a solid state lithium battery.
Baba discloses a solid state lithium secondary battery 10 formed on a common substrate as the solar cell 15, similarly to the design of Hu (fig. 12).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar battery of Hu by substituting the known lithium battery with the known solid state lithium battery disclosed by Baba in order to obtain the predictable result of storing the power generated by the solar cell (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143) with high energy storage capacity and reducing the device’s weight (paragraph [0009] of the translation document).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO2020/019036) in view of Baba et al. (JP2002042863 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Hodges et al. (2019 IEEE 46th Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC), Chicago, IL, USA, 2019, pp. 1170-1174) and Saidaminov et al. (US 2021/0125790).
Addressing claim 3, Hu and Baba are silent regarding the claimed perovskite material.
Hodges discloses a perovskite solar cell comprising perovskite material FA0.8MA0.1Cs0.1Pb(I0.96Br0.14)3 with photoelectric conversion efficiency of 18.5% (C. Solar Cells section) and high external quantum efficiency (fig. 5). Hodges further expresses the desire to improve stability and reduce degradation of the perovskite material (fig. 4 and page 1172).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the perovskite material of Hu with the perovskite material FA0.8MA0.1Cs0.1Pb(I0.96Br0.14)3 disclosed by Hodges in order to achieve high conversion efficiency (Hodges, C. Solar Cells section).
Saidaminov discloses incorporation of Cl in the perovskite material improves stability, enhances carrier transport and enables air-ambient-tolerant perovskites [0119]. The amount of Cl added ranges from 0.1% to 5% (fig. 15A, [0075, 0123]).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the perovskite material of Hu in view of Hodges by incorporating Cl and perform routine experimentation with the amount of Cl added in the range disclosed by Saidaminov in order to optimize the suppression of vacancies formation, improve stability while balancing the desired bandgap (Saidaminov, fig. 15, [0075 and 0123]). Therefore, one would have arrived at the claimed perovskite material when perform routine experimentation with the amount of Cl added in the range disclosed by Saidaminov in order to optimize the suppression of vacancies formation, improve stability while balancing the desired bandgap; particularly, Saidaminov discloses in fig. 15A that the optimal amount of Cl is 1%, which corresponds to Cl0.1 in the claimed formula.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO2020/019036) in view of Baba et al. (JP2002042863 with provided machine English translation), Hodges et al. (2019 IEEE 46th Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC), Chicago, IL, USA, 2019, pp. 1170-1174) and Saidaminov et al. (US 2021/0125790) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 4, Hu discloses multijunction (tandem) solar cell [0056].
Hu is silent regarding the claimed limitation.
Chen discloses a triple-junction perovskite/perovskite/silicon-germanium based solar cell [0001] include a wide bandgap perovskite first junction, a narrow bandgap perovskite second junction and a silicon third junction [n0008-n0016]. The second junction 300, which has the bandgap energy is qualified as medium bandgap based on the disclosed bandgap of the first junction 400 and the third junction 200, is positioned between the first junction 400 and the third junction 200 (fig. 2); wherein, the second junction 300 is formed from CH3NH3PbI3 [n0011].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Hu in view of Hodges and Saidaminov with the second junction made of CH3NH3PbI3 and the third junction made of crystalline silicon as disclosed by Chen in order to broaden the absorption spectrum range of the solar cell and improve solar energy conversion efficiency (Chen, [n0003]).
Addressing claim 5, paragraph [n0013] discloses the second tunnel junction 700 [n0029] is made of indium tin oxide, which is the structural equivalence to the claimed sputtered transparent indium tin oxide.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (WO2020/019036) in view of Baba et al. (JP2002042863 with provided machine English translation), Hodges et al. (2019 IEEE 46th Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC), Chicago, IL, USA, 2019, pp. 1170-1174), Saidaminov et al. (US 2021/0125790) and Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Xue et al. (US 2024/0172459).
Addressing claims 6-7, Hu in view of Hodges, Saidaminov and Chen is silent regarding the second junction and the third junction are interconnected by a layer of n-doped hydrogenated amorphous silicon.
Xue discloses a tandem perovskite/silicon solar cell; wherein, the perovskite subcell and the silicon subcell are interconnected by a layer of n-doped hydrogenated amorphous silicon (fig. 3 and paragraph [0039] discloses the N-type doped amorphous silicon layer 116 formed between the perovskite subcell and the silicon subcell; paragraph [0051] discloses the n-type doped amorphous silicon layer 116 includes hydrogen). Xue further discloses the hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon layer 115 [0048-0049].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Hu in view of Hodges, Saidaminov and Chen with the known n-doped hydrogenated amorphous silicon layer and hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon layer disclosed by Xue in order to obtain the predictable result of interconnecting the perovskite subcell and the silicon subcell (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claims 1-2, Chen discloses a solar battery (figs. 1-3b), comprising:
a solar cell including a first junction 400 formed from perovskite [n0008], a second junction 300 formed from perovskite [n0010] and a third junction 200 formed from crystalline silicon [n0039], wherein the first junction, the second junction and the third junction are connected monolithically in series so that current will flow in the single direction to provide the voltage output.
Chen is silent regarding a solid state lithium battery coupled to the voltage output of the solar cell.
Gurung discloses a perovskite photorechargeable lithium battery comprising monolithically connecting a perovskite solar cell with a lithium battery for storing the power generated by the solar cell in the lithium battery (Abstract).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar battery of Chen with the lithium battery monolithically connected to the solar cell as disclosed by Gurung in order to store the power generated by the solar cell.
Cai discloses a solid state lithium battery comprises garnet/polymer solid electrolyte [n0005].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the lithium battery of Gurung with the solid state electrolyte disclosed by Cai in order to improve ionic conductivity while suppressing lithium dendrites (Cai, [n0004-n0009]).
Addressing claim 14, Gurung discloses the cathode is lithium cobalt oxide and the anode is lithium titanate (fig. 1) and Cai discloses the solid electrolyte is made of solid polymer and garnet electrolyte.
Addressing claim 15, fig. 1 of Gurung discloses the solar cell and the lithium battery share an electrode positioned between the solar cell and the solid state lithium battery; therefore, the limitation of current claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Chen in view of Gurung and Cai.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Hodges et al. (2019 IEEE 46th Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC), Chicago, IL, USA, 2019, pp. 1170-1174) and Saidaminov et al. (US 2021/0125790).
Addressing claim 3, Chen discloses the first junction is a wide bandgap subcell formed from perovskite APbX material comprising Cs, MA and FA and X includes Cl, Br and I [n0036]; however, Chen is silent regarding the claimed perovskite composition.
Hodges discloses a perovskite solar cell comprising perovskite material FA0.8MA0.1Cs0.1Pb(I0.96Br0.14)3 with photoelectric conversion efficiency of 18.5% (C. Solar Cells section) and high external quantum efficiency (fig. 5). Hodges further expresses the desire to improve stability and reduce degradation of the perovskite material (fig. 4 and page 1172).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the perovskite material of Chen with the perovskite material FA0.8MA0.1Cs0.1Pb(I0.96Br0.14)3 disclosed by Hodges in order to achieve high conversion efficiency (Hodges, C. Solar Cells section).
Saidaminov discloses incorporation of Cl in the perovskite material improves stability, enhances carrier transport and enables air-ambient-tolerant perovskites [0119]. The amount of Cl added ranges from 0.1% to 5% (fig. 15A, [0075, 0123]).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the perovskite material of Chen in view of Hodges by incorporating Cl and perform routine experimentation with the amount of Cl added in the range disclosed by Saidaminov in order to optimize the suppression of vacancies formation, improve stability while balancing the desired bandgap (Saidaminov, fig. 15, [0075 and 0123]). Therefore, one would have arrived at the claimed perovskite material when perform routine experimentation with the amount of Cl added in the range disclosed by Saidaminov in order to optimize the suppression of vacancies formation, improve stability while balancing the desired bandgap; particularly, Saidaminov discloses in fig. 15A that the optimal amount of Cl is 1%, which corresponds to Cl0.1 in the claimed formula.
Addressing claim 4, Chen discloses the narrow bandgap perovskite solar cell, which corresponds to the claimed medium bandgap subcell positioned between the first junction and the third junction, is formed from MAPbI3 [n0038].
Addressing claim 5, paragraph [n0013] of Chen discloses the second tunnel junction 700 [n0029] is made of indium tin oxide, which is the structural equivalence to the claimed sputtered transparent indium tin oxide.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865), Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation), Hodges et al. (2019 IEEE 46th Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC), Chicago, IL, USA, 2019, pp. 1170-1174) and Saidaminov et al. (US 2021/0125790) as applied to claims 4-5 above, and further in view of Xue et al. (US 2024/0172459).
Addressing claims 6-7, Chen in view of Hodges and Saidaminov is silent regarding the second junction and the third junction are interconnected by a layer of n-doped hydrogenated amorphous silicon.
Xue discloses a tandem perovskite/silicon solar cell; wherein, the perovskite subcell and the silicon subcell are interconnected by a layer of n-doped hydrogenated amorphous silicon (fig. 3 and paragraph [0039] discloses the N-type doped amorphous silicon layer 116 formed between the perovskite subcell and the silicon subcell; paragraph [0051] discloses the n-type doped amorphous silicon layer 116 includes hydrogen). Xue further discloses the hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon layer 115 [0048-0049].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Hu in view of Hodges, Saidaminov and Chen with the known n-doped hydrogenated amorphous silicon layer and hydrogenated intrinsic amorphous silicon layer disclosed by Xue in order to obtain the predictable result of interconnecting the perovskite subcell and the silicon subcell (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Leijtens et al. (US 2020/0148711).
Addressing claims 8-9, Chen discloses tunnel junction layer between the first junction and the second junction with the second junction being the structural equivalence to the claimed middle subcell of claim 9.
Chen is silent regarding the first and second junction are interconnected by a layer of PEIE/AZO/ITO and a layer C60 positioned between the PEIE/AZO/ITO layer and the middle subcell.
Leijtens discloses in fig. 28 a tandem perovskite solar cell comprising two subcells formed of perovskite materials as the structural equivalence to the claimed first and second junctions. The tandem solar cell further includes a recombination structure of C60/PEIE/AZO/ITO that is situated in the claimed manner.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Chen with substituting the known tunnel junction of Chen the known C60/PEIE/AZO/ITO recombination structure disclosed by Leijtens in order to obtain the predictable result of interconnecting adjacent perovskite subcells (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143). In the modified solar cell of Chen in view of Leijtens where the second junction is the structural equivalence to the claimed middle subcell, the resulting solar cell has the C60 layer situated between the PEIE/AZO/ITO structure and the middle subcell.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (CN111628083 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 10-12, Chen discloses the electrode 500 made of silver [n0033] and the second carrier transport layer 403 [n0028] is made of C60 [n0041].
Chen is silent regarding the claimed transparent rhodamine interconnected to the first junction in the claimed manner.
Luo discloses a perovskite solar cell comprising a transparent rhodamine layer situated between the C60 layer and the silver top electrode [0027].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Chen with the known transparent rhodamine layer between the C60 layer and the silver top electrode as disclosed by Luo in order to obtain the predictable result of allowing light to impinge on the perovskite layer while extracting current generated by the perovskite layer (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN217182188 with provided machine English translation) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0118685).
Addressing claim 13, Gurung discloses the cathode is lithium cobalt oxide and the anode is made of lithium titanate (fig. 1). Cai discloses a solid state lithium battery comprises garnet/polymer solid electrolyte [n0005].
Gurung is silent regarding the cathode is lithium iron phosphate.
Zhang discloses a lithium secondary battery; wherein, the cathode is made of lithium cobalt oxide or lithium iron phosphate and the anode is made of lithium titanate [0010-0012], similarly to that of Gurung.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Chen in view of Gurung and Cai by substituting the known lithium cobalt oxide cathode material with the known lithium iron phosphate cathode material disclosed by Zhang in order to obtain the predictable result of performing the cathode function in a lithium secondary battery (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leijtens et al. (US2020/0148711) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 1, Leijtens discloses a solar battery (fig. 28), comprising:
a solar cell including at least a first junction (either the wide gap perovskite or the low gap perovskite) formed from perovskite and a second junction (either low gap perovskite, when the wide gap perovskite as the claimed first junction, or the wide gap perovskite when the low gap perovskite as the claimed first junction) formed from perovskite, wherein the first junction and the second junction are connected monolithically in series so that current will flow in a single direction to provide a voltage output (fig. 28).
Leijtens is silent regarding a solid state lithium battery coupled to the voltage output of the solar cell.
Gurung discloses a perovskite photorechargeable lithium battery comprising monolithically connecting a perovskite solar cell with a lithium battery for storing the power generated by the solar cell in the lithium battery (Abstract).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar battery of Leijtens with the lithium battery monolithically connected to the solar cell as disclosed by Gurung in order to store the power generated by the solar cell.
Cai discloses a solid state lithium battery comprises garnet/polymer solid electrolyte [n0005].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the lithium battery of Leijtens in view of Gurung with the solid state electrolyte disclosed by Cai in order to improve ionic conductivity while suppressing lithium dendrites (Cai, [n0004-n0009]).
Addressing claims 8-9, fig. 28 of Leijtens discloses the first and second junction are interconnected by PEIE/AZO/ITO structure with C60 layer between the PEIE/AZO/ITO structure and the wide gap perovskite as the structural equivalence to the claimed middle subcell.
Addressing claim 14, Gurung discloses the cathode is lithium cobalt oxide and the anode is lithium titanate (fig. 1) and Cai discloses the solid electrolyte is made of solid polymer and garnet electrolyte.
Addressing claim 15, fig. 1 of Gurung discloses the solar cell and the lithium battery share an electrode positioned between the solar cell and the solid state lithium battery; therefore, the limitation of current claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Chen in view of Gurung and Cai.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leijtens et al. (US2020/0148711) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1, 8-9 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Mishima et al. (US20180019360).
Addressing claim 2, Leijtens discloses the tandem photovoltaic cell is used in combination with a silicon subcell [0089].
Leijtens in view of Gurung and Cai is silent regarding a third junction connected monolithically in series with the first junction and the second junction and the third junction is formed from crystalline silicon or perovskite.
Mishina discloses a tandem solar cell comprising a perovskite subcell 1 connected monolithically with a silicon subcell 2 (layer 21 is made of single-crystalline silicon [0055]).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Leijtens with the crystalline silicon subcell disclosed by Mishina in order to increase the photoelectric conversion efficiency of the solar cell (Mishina, [0012]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leijtens et al. (US2020/0148711) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1, 8-9 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (CN111628083 with provided machine English translation).
Addressing claim 10-12, Leijtens discloses the low gap device, as the claimed first junction, includes C60/BCP/Ag [0098].
Leijtens is silent regarding the claimed transparent rhodamine interconnected to the first junction in the claimed manner.
Luo discloses a perovskite solar cell comprising a transparent rhodamine layer situated between the C60 layer and the silver top electrode [0027].
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the solar cell of Leijtens with the known transparent rhodamine layer between the C60 layer and the silver top electrode as disclosed by Luo in order to obtain the predictable result of allowing light to impinge on the perovskite layer while extracting current generated by the perovskite layer (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leijtens et al. (US2020/0148711) in view of Gurung et al. (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2001865) and Cai et al. (CN112599844 with provided machine English translation) as applied to claims 1, 8-9 and 14-15 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0118685).
Addressing claim 13, Gurung discloses the cathode is lithium cobalt oxide and the anode is made of lithium titanate (fig. 1). Cai discloses a solid state lithium battery comprises garnet/polymer solid electrolyte [n0005].
Gurung is silent regarding the cathode is lithium iron phosphate.
Zhang discloses a lithium secondary battery; wherein, the cathode is made of lithium cobalt oxide or lithium iron phosphate and the anode is made of lithium titanate [0010-0012], similarly to that of Gurung.
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the battery of Leijtens in view of Gurung and Cai by substituting the known lithium cobalt oxide cathode material with the known lithium iron phosphate cathode material disclosed by Zhang in order to obtain the predictable result of performing the cathode function in a lithium secondary battery (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 11/21/2025