DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “at least one connecting point located in the front region”, as per claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Furthermore, “the articulated joint includes: a ball that is stably fixed to the upper assembly and faces towards the lower assembly; a receiving body that is fixed to the lower assembly and faces towards the upper assembly to receive the ball; the ball and the receiving body defining one between a ball and socket joint, a rotoidal joint or a universal joint”, as per claims 10 and14 , must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 1, “the ESR (energy-storing-and-returning) type” lacks a prior antecedent basis. Furthermore, in lines 14-16, “the upper one” (recited twice) lacks prior antecedent basis. It is unclear to what applicant is referring to, i.e. the “upper assembly” or the “upper blade”. In claim 14 applicants refer to the “upper assembly”, thus it would be considered as such for examination purposes. Applicant should amend lines 14-16, accordingly.
In claim 2, lines 5-6, “the longitudinal axis” lacks prior antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the longitudinal axis” will be considered to mean -- the longitudinal direction --. Claim 2 should be amended accordingly.
In claim 3, line 3, “a plurality of equilibrium positions” is indefinite because it is unclear what defines an “equilibrium positions”. Are these mechanical detents, stable positions, or force-balance points? Applicant’s specification does not provide any definition or clarification with regard to what applicants mean by “equilibrium positions”. For example, the specification recites only four times the term “equilibrium positions”, i.e.” According to an aspect of the disclosure, the prosthetic implant comprises a slider that is extractable or retractable relative to the upper assembly along the movement direction through a plurality of equilibrium positions”;
“The prosthetic implant also comprises a slider, to which the first end of the connector is pivoted. In this situation, the method also comprises a step of extracting or retracting the slider relative to the upper assembly along the movement direction through a plurality of equilibrium positions”; “As shown in Figures 2A-2C, the prosthetic implant 100 comprises a slider 700 that is extractable or retractable relative to the upper assembly 200 along the movement direction X (that is, along a movement axis X defined by the slider 700) through a plurality of equilibrium positions”; and “In this situation, the method comprises a step of extracting or retracting the slider 700 relative to the upper assembly 200 along the movement direction X through a plurality of equilibrium positions”. None of these four instances explain what applicant mean by “equilibrium positions”.
In claim 14, line 1, “the ESR (energy-storing-and-returning) type” lacks a prior antecedent basis.
In claim 15, lines 5-6, “the longitudinal axis” lacks prior antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the longitudinal axis” will be considered to mean -- the longitudinal direction --. Claim 15 should be amended accordingly.
In claim 19, line 1, “the ESR (energy-storing-and-returning) type” lacks a prior antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clausen (Pub. No.: US 2020/0375764 A1, cited by applicant in IDS filed 07/11/2024).
With regard claims 1 and 14, Clausen discloses a prosthetic implant (see annotated Figure 22A below) comprising: an upper assembly configured to be connected to a patient’s lower limb (see annotated Figure 22A below); a lower assembly (see annotated Figure 22A below), configured to define a foot having a front region, a middle region and a rear region and including: a lower blade, extending along a main direction, between a heel end and a toe end; an intermediate blade, partly superposed on the lower blade; an upper blade, partly superposed on the intermediate blade; wherein the upper, lower and intermediate blades are fastened stably to each other at one connecting point located in the middle region of the foot and diverge from each other away from the connecting point towards the rear region of the foot (see annotated Figure 22A below); an articulated joint (see annotated Figure 22A below), interposed between the lower assembly and the upper assembly to allow relative motion between the lower assembly and the upper assembly; a connector (see annotated Figure 22 A below) having a first end that is connected to the upper assembly and a second end that is connected to the intermediate blade of the lower assembly to apply a force on the intermediate blade of the lower assembly, wherein at least one between the first and the second end of the connector is movable along a movement direction to vary the force applied on the intermediate blade of the lower assembly (see annotated Figure 22A below and Figures 1-19 for details of the connector and how its adjustment mechanism expands along the movement direction). With regard to method claim 14, it is noted that the method is inherent in the use of the device of Clausen, e.g. the one of the first end or second end of the connector along the movement direction which will vary the force apply by the connector to the intermediate blade of the lower assembly (see annotated Figure 22A above and Figures 1-9 that show how the first and second end of the connector are adjusted).
With regard to claim 2, Clausen further discloses that the upper assembly extends along a longitudinal direction between a hook-up end, where it is operatively connected to the patient’s lower limb, and a fixing end, where it is fixed to the articulated joint (see annotated Figure 22A above). The first end of the connector is slidably movable relative to the upper assembly (e.g. the first end connector slides into upper assembly connection space when they are being assembled). The movement direction is transverse to the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 22A above, where we can see the movement direction and the longitudinal direction will transverse each other).
With regard to claim 5, Clausen further discloses the second end of the connector is articulated to the intermediate blade of the lower assembly (see annotated Figure 22A above and Figures 1-19).
With regard to claim 6, Clausen further discloses an actuator capable of slidably move the first end of the connector (see Figures 1-19).
With regard to claim 7, Clausen further discloses the second end of the connector is slidably movable along the intermediate blade (e.g. when the device is assembled the second end of the connector has the ability to be slid along the intermediate blade and into position).
With regard to claim 9, Clausen discloses the connector is a rigid element and wherein the length of the connector is adjustable (see Figures 1-19).
With regard to claim 15, Clausen discloses the upper assembly extends along a longitudinal direction between a hook-up end, where it is operatively connected to the patient’s lower limb, and a fixing end, where it is fixed to the articulated joint, the method comprising a step of sliding the first end of the connector relative to the upper assembly (e.g. when the first end of the connector is attached to the upper assembly, the first end is slid into position). The movement direction is transverse to the longitudinal axis (see annotated Figure 22A above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausen in view of Lindhe (Sweden reference SE 1451220 A1).
Clausen discloses the claimed invention except for the lower, intermediate and upper blades being made from a spring laminated composite material.
Lindhe discloses a prosthetic foot (see Figure 4 below) including a lower, intermediate and upper blades (see annotated Figure 4 below). The blades are made from a spring laminated composite material that include glass fiber. Lindhe discloses a number of advantages for making the blades from spring laminated composite material such as they flexed to a higher degree before breaking (see page 3, first paragraph); they are highly functional, light-weight that can be produced at low cost and involving a minimum of components (see page 3, first paragraph); also they can be made from any colors (see page 3, lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the implant of Clausen with the blade being made from a spring laminated composite material in view of Lindh, in order to provide blades that have a higher degree of flexibility to prevent breaking, that are light-weight and can be produced at a low cost and also that can be of any color.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4 , 8, 10, 12, 13, and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 19-20 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, a prosthetic implant, as claimed in claim 19, and specifically having a connector extending from a first end to a second end along a connection axis and wherein at least one between the first end and the second end of the connector is movable along a movement direction, the movement direction being inclined with respect to the connection axis, as set forth in claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for prior art of interest.
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773