DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 14, and 20-26, in the reply filed on 9/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the counter rotating screws" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note that the limitation “the counter rotating screws” is recited later in claim 1 as well.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the melted polymeric feed" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first and second outlet ports" in lines 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note: There is sufficient antecedent basis for --the first and second outlets-- but not for "the first and second outlet ports".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the corresponding flow paths" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “high-pressure atomization gas” in line 9.
The term “high-pressure” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the scope of the claimed “high-pressure atomization gas” is indefinite.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 20-25 are rejected due to their dependency on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the injection nozzle comprises at least one outlet for the melted polymeric feed that is of width at least 0.1 mm in all directions,” (emphasis added).
It is unclear if the “at least one outlet for the melted polymeric feed” is the same as “first outlet for the melted polymeric feed” recited in claim 1.
Presumably, such is Applciant’s intent. If so, claim 2 should instead recite --wherein the first outlet has a width of at least 0.1 mm in all directions--.
For the purposes of examination, claim 2 has been treated as requiring that the first outlet has a width of at least 0.1 mm in all directions.
Claim 3 recites “the outlet is a slot of width between 0.5 mm and 12 mm, preferably between 0.7 mm and 2 mm”.
It is unclear which outlet “the outlet” refers to. Presumably, Applicant’s inent is for claim 3 to limit the first outlet to a slot of width between 0.5 mm and 12 mm.
For the purposes of examination, claim 3 has been treated as requiring that the first outlet is a slot of width between 0.5 mm and 12 mm.
Claim 3 recites “the outlet is a slot of width between 0.5 mm and 12 mm, preferably between 0.7 mm and 2 mm”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “the outlet is a slot of width between 0.5 mm and 12 mm”, and the claim also recites “preferably between 0.7 mm and 2 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the bed material" in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the catalytic bed material" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the steam stripper" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note: There is sufficient antecedent basis for --the steam stripping tower-- but not for “the steam stripper”
Claim 21 recites “wherein the heat carrying material and char fall down into a steam stripping tower” in lines 2-3. This limitation is redundant in view of Claim 21’s dependency on claim 20.
Regardless, should this limitation remain in claim 21, it must be amended to recite --the steam stripping tower-- in place of “a steam stripping tower”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the counter rotating screws" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note that the limitation “the counter rotating screws” is recited later in claim 1 as well.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the each injector nozzle" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note: There is sufficient antecedent basis for --the injection nozzle-- but not for "the… injector nozzle".
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first and second outlet ports" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note: There is sufficient antecedent basis for --the first and second outlets-- but not for "the first and second outlet ports".
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the corresponding flow paths" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites “high-pressure atomization gas” in line 8.
The term “high-pressure” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the scope of the claimed “high-pressure atomization gas” is indefinite.
Claim 26 is rejected due to its dependency on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the bed material" in lines 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the catalytic bed material" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 14, and 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maduskar (US 2023/0159834) in view of Stankevich (US 6,534,689), Van Meirhaeghe (US 2023/0265348), Meijer (US 2006/0143977), Materazzi (US 2024/0228882), and Rayson (US 4,206,713).
With regard to claim 1: Maduskar teaches an apparatus for pyrolysis of polymeric material (abstract, Figure 1, paragraph [0063]), the apparatus comprising:
An extruder 130 the extruder being adapted to receive an input polymeric feed and to pre-heat the input polymeric feed, wherein the preheating involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
An injection nozzle (extrusion die) 140 (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
And a fluidized bed reactor 150 (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
Wherein the injection nozzle 140 is adapted to receive the melted polymeric feed from the extruder 130 and disperse the melted polymeric feed into a the fluidized bed reactor 150 (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
Wherein the fluidized bed reactor 150 is adapted to heat the dispersed polymeric feed using upward-flowing heat carrying material in to break down the dispersed polymeric feed into hydrocarbon vapor and a solid carbon product (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
Wherein the injection nozzle 140 comprises a first outlet for the melted polymeric feed is located towards a bottom of the pyrolysis reactor and is located towards the bottom of the fluidized bed reactor 150 (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
And wherein the apparatus may further comprise a cyclone (not shown in Figures) arranged such that char, heat carrying material, and hydrocarbon vapors from the reactor flow to the cyclone in pyrolysis effluent stream 155, the cyclone being arranged to separate the hydrocarbon vapor from the heat carrying material or char (Paragraphs [0039] and [0063]).
Maduskar does not explicitly teach that the fluidized bed reactor is adapted to heat the polymeric feed in the absence of oxygen. However, the apparatus is necessarily capable of operating to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, e.g. if using an oxygen free gas as the fluidizing gas. Therefore, Maduskar satisfies the claim language regarding the fluidized bed reactor is adapted to heat the polymeric feed in the absence of oxygen. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
In the unlikely alternative, it is notoriously well known in the art to operate pyrolysis reactors in the absence of oxygen. For example, Stankevich teaches carrying out pyrolysis in an oxygen free environment (Column 1 Lines 10-20, claim 1). Furthermore, it is well understood that doing so avoids combustion of the pyrolysis feed and products during a pyrolysis process.
If, for the sake of argument, the reactor of Maduskar is not necessarily capable of operating to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maduskar in view of Stankevich by configuring the pyrolysis reactor to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, in order to obtain combustion of the pyrolysis feed and products within the pyrolysis reactor.
Maduskar does not explicitly teach that the extruder comprises a plurality of rotating screws, wherein the preheating by the extruder includes shear heating of the polymeric feed with the screws to reduce viscosity of the input polymeric feed.
As an initial matter, Examiner notes that the reduction of viscosity referenced by Applicant is understood to be a result of the polymeric feed melting during the preheating. As discussed above, the pre-heating in Maduskar involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraph [0063]).
It is known in the pyrolysis art to preheat polymer feeds by shear heating in extruders comprising twin screws. For example, Van Meirhaeghe teaches a pyrolysis device comprising an extruder 200 comprising twin screws 201, the extruder being adapted to receive an input polymeric feed and preheat said input polymeric feed, wherein the preheating involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraphs [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Maduskar in view of Van Meirhaeghe selecting a twin screw extruder for use as the extruder and by carrying out the preheating by shear heating the polymeric feed with the screws to melt, and thereby reduce viscosity of the input polymeric feed, in order to obtain an apparatus having a feed extruder which preheats and melts the incoming plastic feed with predictable success.
Modified Maduskar is silent to the screws of the extruder being counter rotating screws.
However, twin screw extruders having counter rotating screws are known, and have been used in the pyrolysis art, for example, by Meijer (Figure 3, paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0026]-[0027], and [0055]). Meijer teaches that twin screw extruders with counter rotating screws advantageously transport material by positive displacement and provide efficient mixing to transported material (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar in view of Meijer by configuring the extruder to be a twin screw extruder comprising counter rotating screws, in order to obtain a feed extruder which advantageously transports material by positive displacement while providing efficient mixing to transported material.
Modified Maduskar is silent to the injection nozzle being configured to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by combining the melted polymeric feed with a high-pressure atomization gas, wherein the injection nozzles comprises a second outlet for supplying the atomization gas, and wherein the first and second outlets are arranged such that the melted polymeric feed and the atomization gas collide upon exiting their respective outlets.
As an initial matter, Examiner notes the terms “spraying” and “atomizing” are substantially synonymous.
Materazzi, drawn to pyrolysis in a fluidized bed reactor (abstract), teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) a molten plastic to supply it into a fluidized bed reactor (paragraph [0093]). Materazzi teaches that atomizing (spraying) a feedstock ensures good dispersion of the feedstock material into the fluidized bed within the reactor (paragraph [0093]).
Though Materazzi teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) molten plastic into a pyrolysis reactor in order to ensure good dispersion of said plastic, Materazzi does not describe any particular suitable for achieving such atomizing. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to search the prior art for a means by which a feed of molten plastic can be atomized.
Atomization nozzles configured to atomize material by impinging a discharged flow of said material on a discharged flow of atomizing gas are well-known in the art. For example, Rayson, drawn to the use of an extruder to feed material into a reactor teaches an injection nozzle comprised of a first opening (extruder die) 20 for discharging material from an extruder 18 into a reactor and a second opening (nozzle) 74 for discharging atomizing fluid, which may be gas, into the reactor, such that the material discharged from the first opening is atomized by contact with the atomizing fluid (Figures 6 and 8, Column 8 Line 58-Column 9 Line 37).
Given that the injection nozzle of Rayson is configured to atomize material discharged from the end of feed extruder, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect said injection nozzle to be suitable for use in atomizing the molten plastic discharged from the extruder in Maduskar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar in view of Materazzi and Rayson by configuring the injection nozzle of Maduskar to comprise a second outlet for supplying an atomization gas, and wherein the first and second outlets are arranged such that the melted polymeric feed and the atomization gas collide upon exiting their respective outlets so as to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by contact with the high-pressure atomization gas, in order to obtain a system which atomizes the molten polymeric feed with predictable success to achieve good dispersion thereof.
With regard to claim 2: Modified Maduskar is silent to the first outlet having a width of at least 0.1 mm in all directions.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the width of the first outlet is a result effective variable, i.e. if it is too wide it will not allow for effective atomization, but too narrow and it will excessively restrict flow of molten plastic out of the injection nozzle. "[When] the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar by optimizing the width of the first outlet, i.e. such that it is at least 0.1 mm wide in all directions, so that the first outlet supports atomization of the molten plastic without excessively restricting the flow thereof.
With regard to claim 3: Modified Maduskar is silent to the first outlet having a width between 0.5 and 12 mm.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the width of the first outlet is a result effective variable, i.e. if it is too wide it will not allow for effective atomization, but too narrow and it will excessively restrict flow of molten plastic out of the injection nozzle. "[When] the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar by optimizing the width of the first outlet, i.e. such that it has a width between 0.5 and 12 mm, so that the first outlet supports atomization of the molten plastic without excessively restricting the flow thereof.
Modified Maduskar is silent to the first outlet being a slot.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a slot as one of a plurality of shapes which is suitable for use as a nozzle outlet. Mere changes in shape are considered to be matters of obvious design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar by configuring the first outlet to be shaped as a slot in order to obtain a system having a predictably functional first nozzle outlet.
Claim 14 is unpatentable over Maduskar in view of Stankevich, Van Meirhaeghe, Meijer, Materazzi, and Rayson on substantially the same basis as claim 1. See rejection of claim 1 above for details.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maduskar in view of Stankevich, Van Meirhaeghe, Meijer, Materazzi, and Rayson as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ullom (US 10,421,911).
With regard to claim 5: Modified Maduskar is silent to the extruder being adapted to mix a high boiling point product with the input polymeric feed to reduce the viscosity of the polymeric feed.
However, this is known in the pyrolysis art. For example, Ullom teaches a pyrolysis apparatus comprising a feed extruder 201 for feeding and melting plastic material (Figures 1 and 2, Columns 11-14), said feed extruder adapted to mix a high boiling product (hydrocarbon based liquids added via injection port 206) with the input polymeric feed to further reduce the viscosity thereof (Column 9 Lines 40-55, Column 13 Line 63-Column 14 Line 6, Column 15 Lines 20-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar in view of Ullom by configuring the extruder to mix a high boiling point product with the input polymeric feed to reduce the viscosity of the polymeric feed.
With regard to claim 6: Modified Maduskar is silent to the extruder being adapted to convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating; the extruder defining one or more outlets to expel the water vapor and contaminated vapors, wherein the apparatus is adapted to pull vacuum on the melted polymeric feed at least one such outlet to aid in the removal of the contaminants; and the extruder defines at least one inlet port to receive a catalyst or a chemical reagent, so the catalyst or chemical reagent is mixed with the melted polymeric feed to neutralize halogens.
However, this is known in the pyrolysis art. For example, Ullom teaches a pyrolysis apparatus comprising a feed extruder 201 for feeding and melting plastic material (Figures 1 and 2, Columns 11-14), wherein the extruder is adapted to convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating and comprises outlet 204 for the removal of water vapor and outlet 205 for the removal of contaminated vapors (Figures 1 and 2, Column 12 Line 63-Column 13 Line 65), wherein the system of Ullom may be configured to pull a vacuum on said outlets to aid in removal of water vapor and contaminants therefrom (Column 22 Lines 20-30, Column 23 Lines 40-52), and wherein the extruder comprises an inlet port 203 for the introduction of catalysts and/or chemical reagent s to be mixed with the melted polymeric feed in the extruder (Figures 1 and 2, Column 12 Lines 50-52).
Said extruder is necessarily capable of receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents capable of neutralizing halogens via the inlet port 203. See MPEP 2114.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Maduskar in view of Ullom by: 1) configuring the extruder so as to: i) convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating; ii) comprise at least one outlet to expel the water vapor and contaminated vapors, and iii) comprise at least one inlet port for receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents so the catalysts or chemical reagents are mixed with the melted polymeric feed upon entering the extruder; and 2) configuring the system to apply a vacuum on the at least one outlet to aid in removal of water vapor and contaminated vapors; in order to obtain a system wherein the extruder advantageously removes water vapor and halogen contaminants from the polymer feed and advantageously allows for additives to be added to and mixed with the polymer feed.
In Maduskar modified in view of Ullom as described above, the extruder is necessarily capable of receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents capable of neutralizing halogens via the added inlet port, and subsequently mixing said catalysts and/or chemical reagents with the melted polymeric feed to neutralize halogens. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (US 2022/0340819) in view of Stankevich (US 6,534,689), Van Meirhaeghe (US 2023/0265348), Meijer (US 2006/0143977), Materazzi (US 2024/0228882), and Rayson (US 4,206,713).
With regard to claim 1: Gray teaches an apparatus for pyrolysis of polymeric material comprising:
A feed auger 14 having a screw the feed auger configured to receive an input polymeric feed, wherein the feed auger may be configured to pre-heat the input polymeric feed to melt said polymeric feed by shear heating (by friction) and thereby reduce the viscosity of the input polymeric feed (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
At least one injection nozzle (feed inlet) 15 (Figure 1, paragraph [0025]).
And a fluidized bed reactor 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026]).
Wherein the injection nozzle 15 is located towards a bottom of the reactor 12, comprises a first outlet for the melted polymeric feed, and is configured to receive melted polymeric feed from the feed auger 14 and to disperse the melted polymeric feed into the fluidized bed reactor 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0031]).
Wherein the fluidized bed reactor 12 is configured to heat the polymeric feed using upward-flowing heat carrying material (catalyst) in the presence of an inert diluent gas, e.g. nitrogen, to break down the polymeric feed into hydrocarbon vapor and solid carbon product (char) (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0032]-[0036]).
Gray further comprises a cyclone 30 arranged such that char, heat carrying material, and hydrocarbon vapors from the reactor 12 flow to the cyclone 30, wherein the cyclone 30 is arranged to separate the hydrocarbon vapor from the heat carrying material and char (Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0046]).
Gray does not explicitly teach that the fluidized bed reactor 12 heats the polymeric feed in the absence of oxygen.
However, as discussed above, Gray does teach that the reactor 12 preferably makes use of an inert diluent gas such as nitrogen (paragraph [0024]). This teaching indicates that the apparatus is necessarily capable of operating to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, e.g. if using an inert gas such as nitrogen as the diluent gas. Therefore, Gray satisfies the claim language regarding the fluidized bed reactor is adapted to heat the polymeric feed in the absence of oxygen. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
In the unlikely alternative, Gray’s teaching to the use of inert diluent gas would at least suggest that the reactor should be configured to heat the plastic feed in the absence of oxygen. Indeed, it is notoriously well-known in the art to operate pyrolysis reactors in the absence of oxygen. For example, Stankevich teaches carrying out pyrolysis in an oxygen free environment (Column 1 Lines 10-20, claim 1). Furthermore, it is well understood that doing so avoids combustion of the pyrolysis feed and products during a pyrolysis process.
If, for the sake of argument, the reactor of Gray is not necessarily capable of operating to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray in view of Stankevich by configuring the pyrolysis reactor to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, in order to obtain combustion of the pyrolysis feed and products within the pyrolysis reactor.
Gray does not explicitly teach that the feed auger is an extruder comprising a plurality of rotating screws, wherein the preheating by the extruder includes shear heating of the polymeric feed with the screws.
However, as discussed above, Gray teaches that the feed auger 14 may be configured to pre-heat the input polymeric feed to melt said polymeric feed by shear heating (by friction) (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching would at least suggest that the feed auger can be an extruder, as it is well-known that extruders can be operated as feeding devices which melt a polymer feed via shear heating induced by one or more extruder screws.
Indeed, it is known in the pyrolysis art to preheat and melt polymer feeds by shear heating in extruders, including extruders comprising twin screws. For example, Van Meirhaeghe teaches a pyrolysis device comprising an extruder 200 comprising twin screws 201, the extruder being adapted to receive an input polymeric feed and preheat said input polymeric feed, wherein the preheating involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraphs [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray in view of Van Meirhaeghe selecting a twin screw extruder for use as the screw feeder and by carrying out the preheating by shear heating the polymeric feed with the screws to melt, and thereby reduce viscosity of the input polymeric feed, in order to obtain an apparatus having a feeding device which preheats and melts the incoming polymer feed with predictable success.
Modified Gray is silent to the screws of the extruder being counter rotating screws.
However, twin screw extruders having counter rotating screws are known, and have been used in the pyrolysis art, for example, by Meijer (Figure 3, paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0026]-[0027], and [0055]). Meijer teaches that twin screw extruders with counter rotating screws advantageously transport material by positive displacement and provide efficient mixing to transported material (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Meijer by configuring the extruder to be a twin screw extruder comprising counter rotating screws, in order to obtain a feed extruder which advantageously transports material by positive displacement while providing efficient mixing to transported material.
Modified Gray is silent to the injection nozzle being configured to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by combining the melted polymeric feed with a high-pressure atomization gas, wherein the injection nozzles comprises a second outlet for supplying the atomization gas, and wherein the first and second outlets are arranged such that the melted polymeric feed and the atomization gas collide upon exiting their respective outlets.
As an initial matter, Examiner notes the terms “spraying” and “atomizing” are substantially synonymous.
Materazzi, drawn to pyrolysis in a fluidized bed reactor (abstract), teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) a molten plastic to supply it into a fluidized bed reactor (paragraph [0093]). Materazzi teaches that atomizing (spraying) a feedstock ensures good dispersion of the feedstock material into the fluidized bed within the reactor (paragraph [0093]).
Though Materazzi teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) molten plastic into a pyrolysis reactor in order to ensure good dispersion of said plastic, Materazzi does not describe any particular suitable for achieving such atomizing. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to search the prior art for a means by which a feed of molten plastic can be atomized.
Atomization nozzles configured to atomize material by impinging a discharged flow of said material on a discharged flow of atomizing gas are well-known in the art. For example, Rayson, drawn to the use of an extruder to feed material into a reactor teaches an injection nozzle comprised of a first opening (extruder die) 20 for discharging material from an extruder 18 into a reactor and a second opening (nozzle) 74 for discharging atomizing fluid, which may be gas, into the reactor, such that the material discharged from the first opening is atomized by contact with the atomizing fluid (Figures 6 and 8, Column 8 Line 58-Column 9 Line 37).
Given that the injection nozzle of Rayson is configured to atomize material discharged from the end of feed extruder, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect said injection nozzle to be suitable for use in atomizing the molten plastic discharged from the extruder in Maduskar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Materazzi and Rayson by configuring the injection nozzle of Maduskar to comprise a second outlet for supplying an atomization gas, and wherein the first and second outlets are arranged such that the melted polymeric feed and the atomization gas collide upon exiting their respective outlets so as to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by contact with the high-pressure atomization gas, in order to obtain a system which atomizes the melted polymeric feed with predictable success to achieve good dispersion thereof.
With regard to claim 2: Modified Gray is silent to the first outlet having a width of at least 0.1 mm in all directions.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the width of the first outlet is a result effective variable, i.e. if it is too wide it will not allow for effective atomization, but too narrow and it will excessively restrict flow of molten plastic out of the injection nozzle. "[When] the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray by optimizing the width of the first outlet, i.e. such that it is at least 0.1 mm wide in all directions, so that the first outlet supports atomization of the molten plastic without excessively restricting the flow thereof.
With regard to claim 3: Modified Gray is silent to the first outlet having a width between 0.5 and 12 mm.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the width of the first outlet is a result effective variable, i.e. if it is too wide it will not allow for effective atomization, but too narrow and it will excessively restrict flow of molten plastic out of the injection nozzle. "[When] the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray by optimizing the width of the first outlet, i.e. such that it has a width between 0.5 and 12 mm, so that the first outlet supports atomization of the molten plastic without excessively restricting the flow thereof.
Modified Gray is silent to the first outlet being a slot.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a slot as one of a plurality of shapes which is suitable for use as a nozzle outlet. Mere changes in shape are considered to be matters of obvious design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray by configuring the first outlet to be shaped as a slot in order to obtain a system having a predictably functional first nozzle outlet.
With regard to claim 20: Modified Gray further comprises a steam stripping tower 32, wherein the cyclone 32 is arranged such that the heat carrying material and char fall down into the steam stripping tower 32, and wherein the steam stripping tower 32 adapted to remove the entrained hydrocarbon products in the heat carrying material, wherein the heat carrying material is a catalytic bed material, desorb any remaining hydrocarbons from the catalytic bed material (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
The steam stripping tower is necessarily capable of cracking any remaining plastic that may have escaped the reactor without cracking. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
With regard to claim 21: The cyclone 30 is located at the top of the fluidized bed reactor 12 (Gray: Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0046]).
The cyclone 32 is arranged such that the heat carrying material and char fall down into the steam stripping tower 32 (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
The apparatus of modified Gray further comprises means (stripping line) 42 to pass steam through the steam stripping tower 32 to separate and desorb hydrocarbon product adsorbed onto the heat carrying material (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
With regard to claim 22: Gray further comprises a regenerator 60 adapted to combust the solid carbon product on the heat carrying material, wherein the combustion of the solid carbon product leads to reheating of the heat carrying material to a requisite temperature, before transfer of the heat carrying material to the fluidized bed reactor (Gray: Figure 1, paragraphs [0043]-[0046]).
With regard to claim 23: Gray further includes a condensing system comprised of heat exchanger 36 and quench tower (not shown in Figures) to treat hydrocarbon product from the fluidized bed reactor 12 and adapted to condense and separate the hydrocarbon product into liquid fractions and a gaseous syngas stream (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0042]).
Note: Gray teaches that “An additional quench tower may optionally be used to completely quench the catalytic pyrolysis product stream to a temperature of about 30° C. to about 60° C., so lighter components of the vaporous catalytic product stream can condense,” (paragraph [0042]; emphasis added). It is implicit from this disclosure that heavier components have already been condensed by the heat exchanger 36.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Stankevich, Van Meirhaeghe, Meijer, Materazzi, and Rayson as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ullom (US 10,421,911).
With regard to claim 5: Modified Gray is silent to the extruder being adapted to mix a high boiling point product with the input polymeric feed to reduce the viscosity of the polymeric feed.
However, this is known in the pyrolysis art. For example, Ullom teaches a pyrolysis apparatus comprising a feed extruder 201 for feeding and melting plastic material (Figures 1 and 2, Columns 11-14), said feed extruder adapted to mix a high boiling product (hydrocarbon based liquids added via injection port 206) with the input polymeric feed to further reduce the viscosity thereof (Column 9 Lines 40-55, Column 13 Line 63-Column 14 Line 6, Column 15 Lines 20-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Ullom by configuring the extruder to mix a high boiling point product with the input polymeric feed to reduce the viscosity of the polymeric feed.
With regard to claim 6: Modified Gray is silent to the extruder being adapted to convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating; the extruder defining one or more outlets to expel the water vapor and contaminated vapors, wherein the apparatus is adapted to pull vacuum on the melted polymeric feed at least one such outlet to aid in the removal of the contaminants; and the extruder defines at least one inlet port to receive a catalyst or a chemical reagent, so the catalyst or chemical reagent is mixed with the melted polymeric feed to neutralize halogens.
However, this is known in the pyrolysis art. For example, Ullom teaches a pyrolysis apparatus comprising a feed extruder 201 for feeding and melting plastic material (Figures 1 and 2, Columns 11-14), wherein the extruder is adapted to convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating and comprises outlet 204 for the removal of water vapor and outlet 205 for the removal of contaminated vapors (Figures 1 and 2, Column 12 Line 63-Column 13 Line 65), wherein the system of Ullom may be configured to pull a vacuum on said outlets to aid in removal of water vapor and contaminants therefrom (Column 22 Lines 20-30, Column 23 Lines 40-52), and wherein the extruder comprises an inlet port 203 for the introduction of catalysts and/or chemical reagent s to be mixed with the melted polymeric feed in the extruder (Figures 1 and 2, Column 12 Lines 50-52).
Said extruder is necessarily capable of receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents capable of neutralizing halogens via the inlet port 203. See MPEP 2114.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Ullom by: 1) configuring the extruder so as to: i) convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating; ii) comprise at least one outlet to expel the water vapor and contaminated vapors, and iii) comprise at least one inlet port for receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents so the catalysts or chemical reagents are mixed with the melted polymeric feed upon entering the extruder; and 2) configuring the system to apply a vacuum on the at least one outlet to aid in removal of water vapor and contaminated vapors; in order to obtain a system wherein the extruder advantageously removes water vapor and halogen contaminants from the polymer feed and advantageously allows for additives to be added to and mixed with the polymer feed.
In Gray modified in view of Ullom as described above, the extruder is necessarily capable of receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents capable of neutralizing halogens via the added inlet port, and subsequently mixing said catalysts and/or chemical reagents with the melted polymeric feed to neutralize halogens. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Stankevich, Van Meirhaeghe, Meijer, Materazzi, and Rayson as applied to claim 23 above, and in further view of Allegro (US 2022/0010211).
With regard to claim 24: Modified Gray is silent to a gas liquefier to condense C2 to C4 products contained in the gaseous syngas stream.
Allegro, drawn to a plastic pyrolysis process similar to that of Gray (Figure 1, abstract, paragraph [0030]), teaches a gas liquefier comprised of columns 224, 240, 270, 290, 332, and 340, cold box 268, etc., said gas liquefier for condensing C2 to C4 products contained in a gaseous syngas stream 102 produced by a pyrolysis reactor 12 (Figures 1 and 2, paragraphs [0053]-[0054], [0059]-[0077]). Said gas liquefier system produces separated C2, C3, and C4 olefin streams (Figure 2, paragraphs [0059]-[0077]), which is understood to be advantageous for the purposes of reusing said olefins to produce plastic (paragraphs [0054], [0065], [0071] and [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Allegro by adding a gas liquefier to condense C2 to C4 and separate products contained in the gaseous syngas stream, in order to obtain a system capable of separated olefin products which can be used to produce new plastic.
With regard to claim 25: Modified Gray is also silent to a hydrogen separation device adapted to separate hydrogen from resulting uncondensed syngas stream exiting the gas liquefier.
However, Allegro teaches a hydrogen separation device (PSA unit) 280 adapted to separate hydrogen from an uncondensed syngas stream 274 exiting the gas liquefier, i.e. the cold box 264 thereof (Figure 2, paragraphs [0068]-[0069]). Said hydrogen separation device 280 produces a purified hydrogen product 286 Figure 2, paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Allegro by adding a hydrogen separation device adapted to separate hydrogen from resulting uncondensed syngas stream exiting the gas liquefier, in order to obtain a system capable of producing a purified hydrogen product.
Claim(s) 14 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (US 2022/0340819) in view Van Meirhaeghe (US 2023/0265348), Meijer (US 2006/0143977), Materazzi (US 2024/0228882), and Rayson (US 4,206,713).
With regard to claim 14: Gray teaches method for pyrolysis of polymeric material, the method comprising:
Feeding a polymeric feed through a feed auger 14 to an injection nozzle (feed inlet) 15, the feed auger comprising a rotating screw (Figure 1, paragraphs [0023] and [0025]).
Wherein the feed auger receives the input polymeric feed and melts and pre-heats the input polymeric feed, wherein the pre-heating may include shear heating (heating by friction) of the input polymeric feed with the screw of the feed auger to melt the polymeric feed and thereby decrease the viscosity of said polymeric feed (Figure 1, paragraph [0025]). Said decreased viscosity necessarily facilitates even dispersion of the melted polymeric feed to some extent, i.e. by allowing the melted polymeric feed to flow.
Wherein the injection nozzle 15 comprises a first outlet for the melted polymeric feed (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0031]).
Wherein the injection nozzle disperses the melted polymeric feed into a reactor 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0031]).
The method of Gray further comprises arranging a cyclone 30 such that char, heat carrying material and hydrocarbon vapors from the reactor 12 flow to the cyclone 30, the cyclone separating the hydrocarbon vapor from the heat carrying material or char (Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0046]).
Gray does not explicitly teach that the feed auger is an extruder comprising a plurality of rotating screws, wherein the preheating by the extruder includes shear heating of the polymeric feed with the screws.
However, as discussed above, Gray teaches that the feed auger 14 may be configured to pre-heat the input polymeric feed to melt said polymeric feed by shear heating (by friction) (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching would at least suggest that the feed auger can be an extruder, as it is well-known that extruders can be operated as feeding devices which melt a polymer feed via shear heating induced by one or more extruder screws.
Indeed, it is known in the pyrolysis art to preheat and melt polymer feeds by shear heating in extruders, including extruders comprising twin screws. For example, Van Meirhaeghe teaches a pyrolysis device comprising an extruder 200 comprising twin screws 201, the extruder being adapted to receive an input polymeric feed and preheat said input polymeric feed, wherein the preheating involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraphs [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray in view of Van Meirhaeghe selecting a twin screw extruder for use as the screw feeder and by carrying out the preheating by shear heating the polymeric feed with the screws to melt, and thereby reduce viscosity of the input polymeric feed, in order to obtain an apparatus having a feeding device which preheats and melts the incoming polymer feed with predictable success.
Modified Gray is silent to the screws of the extruder being counter rotating screws.
However, twin screw extruders having counter rotating screws are known, and have been used in the pyrolysis art, for example, by Meijer (Figure 3, paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0026]-[0027], and [0055]). Meijer teaches that twin screw extruders with counter rotating screws advantageously transport material by positive displacement and provide efficient mixing to transported material (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Meijer by configuring the extruder to be a twin screw extruder comprising counter rotating screws, in order to obtain a feed extruder which advantageously transports material by positive displacement while providing efficient mixing to transported material.
Modified Gray is silent to the injection nozzle spraying and atomizing the melted polymeric feed by combining the melted polymeric feed with a high-pressure atomization gas, wherein the injection nozzles comprises a second outlet for supplying the atomization gas, and wherein the first and second outlets are arranged such that the melted polymeric feed and the atomization gas collide upon exiting their respective outlets.
As an initial matter, Examiner notes the terms “spraying” and “atomizing” are substantially synonymous.
Materazzi, drawn to pyrolysis in a fluidized bed reactor (abstract), teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) a molten plastic to supply it into a fluidized bed reactor (paragraph [0093]). Materazzi teaches that atomizing (spraying) a feedstock ensures good dispersion of the feedstock material into the fluidized bed within the reactor (paragraph [0093]).
Though Materazzi teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) molten plastic into a pyrolysis reactor in order to ensure good dispersion of said plastic, Materazzi does not describe any particular suitable for achieving such atomizing. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to search the prior art for a means by which a feed of molten plastic can be atomized.
Atomization nozzles configured to atomize material by impinging a discharged flow of said material on a discharged flow of atomizing gas are well-known in the art. For example, Rayson, drawn to the use of an extruder to feed material into a reactor teaches an injection nozzle comprised of a first opening (extruder die) 20 for discharging material from an extruder 18 into a reactor and a second opening (nozzle) 74 for discharging atomizing fluid, which may be gas, into the reactor, such that the material discharged from the first opening is atomized by contact with the atomizing fluid (Figures 6 and 8, Column 8 Line 58-Column 9 Line 37).
Given that the injection nozzle of Rayson is configured to atomize material discharged from the end of feed extruder, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect said injection nozzle to be suitable for use in atomizing the molten plastic discharged from the extruder in Maduskar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Materazzi and Rayson by configuring the injection nozzle of Maduskar to comprise a second outlet for supplying an atomization gas, and wherein the first and second outlets are arranged such that the melted polymeric feed and the atomization gas collide upon exiting their respective outlets so as to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by contact with the high-pressure atomization gas, in order to obtain a system which atomizes the melted polymeric feed with predictable success to achieve good dispersion thereof.
In Gray modified in view of Materazzi and Rayson as described above, the decreased viscosity as a result of the melting necessarily facilitates even dispersion of the melted polymeric feed by allowing the melted polymeric feed to flow and to be sprayed and atomized.
With regard to claim 26: In modified Gray, the heat carrying material and char fall down into a steam stripping tower 32, and the method also comprises supplying steam to the steam stripping tower so as to remove the entrained hydrocarbon products in the bed material, desorb any remaining hydrocarbons from the catalytic bed material (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
The steam supplied to the stripping tower 32 will necessarily crack any remaining plastic entering said stripping tower 32 that may have escaped the reactor without cracking.
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (US 2022/0340819) in view of Stankevich (US 6,534,689), Van Meirhaeghe (US 2023/0265348), Meijer (US 2006/0143977), Materazzi (US 2024/0228882), and Otaigbe (US 6,171,433).
With regard to claims 1 and 8: Gray teaches an apparatus for pyrolysis of polymeric material comprising:
A feed auger 14 having a screw the feed auger configured to receive an input polymeric feed, wherein the feed auger may be configured to pre-heat the input polymeric feed to melt said polymeric feed by shear heating (by friction) and thereby reduce the viscosity of the input polymeric feed (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]).
At least one injection nozzle (feed inlet) 15 (Figure 1, paragraph [0025]).
And a fluidized bed reactor 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026]).
Wherein the injection nozzle 15 is located towards a bottom of the reactor 12, comprises a first outlet for the melted polymeric feed, and is configured to receive melted polymeric feed from the feed auger 14 and to disperse the melted polymeric feed into the fluidized bed reactor 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0031]).
Wherein the fluidized bed reactor 12 is configured to heat the polymeric feed using upward-flowing heat carrying material (catalyst) in the presence of an inert diluent gas, e.g. nitrogen, to break down the polymeric feed into hydrocarbon vapor and solid carbon product (char) (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0032]-[0036]).
Gray further comprises a cyclone 30 arranged such that char, heat carrying material, and hydrocarbon vapors from the reactor 12 flow to the cyclone 30, wherein the cyclone 30 is arranged to separate the hydrocarbon vapor from the heat carrying material and char (Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0046]).
Gray does not explicitly teach that the fluidized bed reactor 12 heats the polymeric feed in the absence of oxygen.
However, as discussed above, Gray does teach that the reactor 12 preferably makes use of an inert diluent gas such as nitrogen (paragraph [0024]). This teaching indicates that the apparatus is necessarily capable of operating to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, e.g. if using an inert gas such as nitrogen as the diluent gas. Therefore, Gray satisfies the claim language regarding the fluidized bed reactor is adapted to heat the polymeric feed in the absence of oxygen. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
In the unlikely alternative, Gray’s teaching to the use of inert diluent gas would at least suggest that the reactor should be configured to heat the plastic feed in the absence of oxygen. Indeed, it is notoriously well-known in the art to operate pyrolysis reactors in the absence of oxygen. For example, Stankevich teaches carrying out pyrolysis in an oxygen free environment (Column 1 Lines 10-20, claim 1). Furthermore, it is well understood that doing so avoids combustion of the pyrolysis feed and products during a pyrolysis process.
If, for the sake of argument, the reactor of Gray is not necessarily capable of operating to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray in view of Stankevich by configuring the pyrolysis reactor to heat the polymeric material in the absence of oxygen, in order to obtain combustion of the pyrolysis feed and products within the pyrolysis reactor.
Gray does not explicitly teach that the feed auger is an extruder comprising a plurality of rotating screws, wherein the preheating by the extruder includes shear heating of the polymeric feed with the screws.
However, as discussed above, Gray teaches that the feed auger 14 may be configured to pre-heat the input polymeric feed to melt said polymeric feed by shear heating (by friction) (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching would at least suggest that the feed auger can be an extruder, as it is well-known that extruders can be operated as feeding devices which melt a polymer feed via shear heating induced by one or more extruder screws.
Indeed, it is known in the pyrolysis art to preheat and melt polymer feeds by shear heating in extruders, including extruders comprising twin screws. For example, Van Meirhaeghe teaches a pyrolysis device comprising an extruder 200 comprising twin screws 201, the extruder being adapted to receive an input polymeric feed and preheat said input polymeric feed, wherein the preheating involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraphs [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray in view of Van Meirhaeghe selecting a twin screw extruder for use as the screw feeder and by carrying out the preheating by shear heating the polymeric feed with the screws to melt, and thereby reduce viscosity of the input polymeric feed, in order to obtain an apparatus having a feeding device which preheats and melts the incoming polymer feed with predictable success.
Modified Gray is silent to the screws of the extruder being counter rotating screws.
However, twin screw extruders having counter rotating screws are known, and have been used in the pyrolysis art, for example, by Meijer (Figure 3, paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0026]-[0027], and [0055]). Meijer teaches that twin screw extruders with counter rotating screws advantageously transport material by positive displacement and provide efficient mixing to transported material (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Meijer by configuring the extruder to be a twin screw extruder comprising counter rotating screws, in order to obtain a feed extruder which advantageously transports material by positive displacement while providing efficient mixing to transported material.
Modified Gray is silent to the injection nozzle being configured to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by combining the melted polymeric feed with a high-pressure atomization gas, wherein the injection nozzles comprises a first passage having an inlet for receiving the melted polymeric feed, and an outlet narrower than the inlet for outputting a thin stream of melted polymeric feed into the fluidized bed reactor; and second and third passages provided at either sides of the first passage, each having an inlet for receiving atomization gas, and an outlet for directing the atomization gas towards the thin stream of melted polymeric feed, wherein the atomization gas collides with the melted polymeric feed to cause dispersion of small droplets of the melted polymeric feed evenly across the circulating heat carrying material.
Materazzi, drawn to pyrolysis in a fluidized bed reactor (abstract), teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) a molten plastic to supply it into a fluidized bed reactor (paragraph [0093]). Materazzi teaches that atomizing (spraying) a feedstock ensures good dispersion of the feedstock material into the fluidized bed within the reactor (paragraph [0093]).
Though Materazzi teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) molten plastic into a pyrolysis reactor in order to ensure good dispersion of said plastic, Materazzi does not describe any particular suitable for achieving such atomizing. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to search the prior art for a means by which a feed of molten plastic can be atomized.
Atomization nozzles having the form described in dependent claim 8 are known in the art. For example, Otaigbe teaches an apparatus comprising a nozzle for atomizing molten polymer (abstract, Figures 1 and 4, Columns 4-8), the nozzle comprising a first passage (pour tube) 12 having an inlet (upper end/seat) 12a for receiving the melted polymeric feed, and an outlet (open bottom end) 12c narrower than the inlet 12a for outputting a thin stream of melted polymeric feed out of the nozzle; and second and third passages (gas jet discharge orifices) 30c provided at either side of the first passage 12, each having an inlet for receiving atomization gas, and an outlet for directing the atomization gas towards the thin stream of melted polymeric feed, wherein the atomization gas collides with the melted polymeric feed to cause dispersion of small droplets of the melted polymeric feed evenly across the circulating heat carrying material (Figures 4, 5A, and 5B, Columns 4-8).
Given that the injection nozzle of Otaigbe is configured to atomize molten polymer, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect said injection nozzle to be suitable for use in atomizing the molten plastic discharged from the extruder in Maduskar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Materazzi and Otaigbe by configuring the nozzle of Maduskar to be an atomization nozzle which sprays and atomizes the melted polymeric feed, said atomization nozzle comprising a first passage having an inlet for receiving the melted polymeric feed, and an outlet narrower than the inlet for outputting a thin stream of melted polymeric feed into the fluidized bed reactor; and second and third passages provided at either sides of the first passage, each having an inlet for receiving atomization gas, and an outlet for directing the atomization gas towards the thin stream of melted polymeric feed, wherein the atomization gas collides with the melted polymeric feed to cause dispersion of small droplets of the melted polymeric feed evenly across the circulating heat carrying material, in order to obtain a system which atomizes the melted polymeric feed with predictable success to achieve good dispersion thereof.
With regard to claim 2: Modified Gray is silent to the first outlet having a width of at least 0.1 mm in all directions.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the width of the first outlet is a result effective variable, i.e. if it is too wide it will not allow for effective atomization, but too narrow and it will excessively restrict flow of molten plastic out of the injection nozzle. "[When] the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray by optimizing the width of the first outlet, i.e. such that it is at least 0.1 mm wide in all directions, so that the first outlet supports atomization of the molten plastic without excessively restricting the flow thereof.
With regard to claim 3: Modified Gray is silent to the first outlet having a width between 0.5 and 12 mm.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the width of the first outlet is a result effective variable, i.e. if it is too wide it will not allow for effective atomization, but too narrow and it will excessively restrict flow of molten plastic out of the injection nozzle. "[When] the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray by optimizing the width of the first outlet, i.e. such that it has a width between 0.5 and 12 mm, so that the first outlet supports atomization of the molten plastic without excessively restricting the flow thereof.
Modified Gray is silent to the first outlet being a slot.
However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a slot as one of a plurality of shapes which is suitable for use as a nozzle outlet. Mere changes in shape are considered to be matters of obvious design choice absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray by configuring the first outlet to be shaped as a slot in order to obtain a system having a predictably functional first nozzle outlet.
With regard to claim 20: Modified Gray further comprises a steam stripping tower 32, wherein the cyclone 32 is arranged such that the heat carrying material and char fall down into the steam stripping tower 32, and wherein the steam stripping tower 32 adapted to remove the entrained hydrocarbon products in the heat carrying material, wherein the heat carrying material is a catalytic bed material, desorb any remaining hydrocarbons from the catalytic bed material (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
The steam stripping tower is necessarily capable of cracking any remaining plastic that may have escaped the reactor without cracking. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
With regard to claim 21: The cyclone 30 is located at the top of the fluidized bed reactor 12 (Gray: Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0046]).
The cyclone 32 is arranged such that the heat carrying material and char fall down into the steam stripping tower 32 (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
The apparatus of modified Gray further comprises means (stripping line) 42 to pass steam through the steam stripping tower 32 to separate and desorb hydrocarbon product adsorbed onto the heat carrying material (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
With regard to claim 22: Gray further comprises a regenerator 60 adapted to combust the solid carbon product on the heat carrying material, wherein the combustion of the solid carbon product leads to reheating of the heat carrying material to a requisite temperature, before transfer of the heat carrying material to the fluidized bed reactor (Gray: Figure 1, paragraphs [0043]-[0046]).
With regard to claim 23: Gray further includes a condensing system comprised of heat exchanger 36 and quench tower (not shown in Figures) to treat hydrocarbon product from the fluidized bed reactor 12 and adapted to condense and separate the hydrocarbon product into liquid fractions and a gaseous syngas stream (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0042]).
Note: Gray teaches that “An additional quench tower may optionally be used to completely quench the catalytic pyrolysis product stream to a temperature of about 30° C. to about 60° C., so lighter components of the vaporous catalytic product stream can condense,” (paragraph [0042]; emphasis added). It is implicit from this disclosure that heavier components have already been condensed by the heat exchanger 36.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Stankevich, Van Meirhaeghe, Meijer, Materazzi, and Otaigbe as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ullom (US 10,421,911).
With regard to claim 5: Modified Gray is silent to the extruder being adapted to mix a high boiling point product with the input polymeric feed to reduce the viscosity of the polymeric feed.
However, this is known in the pyrolysis art. For example, Ullom teaches a pyrolysis apparatus comprising a feed extruder 201 for feeding and melting plastic material (Figures 1 and 2, Columns 11-14), said feed extruder adapted to mix a high boiling product (hydrocarbon based liquids added via injection port 206) with the input polymeric feed to further reduce the viscosity thereof (Column 9 Lines 40-55, Column 13 Line 63-Column 14 Line 6, Column 15 Lines 20-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Ullom by configuring the extruder to mix a high boiling point product with the input polymeric feed to reduce the viscosity of the polymeric feed.
With regard to claim 6: Modified Gray is silent to the extruder being adapted to convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating; the extruder defining one or more outlets to expel the water vapor and contaminated vapors, wherein the apparatus is adapted to pull vacuum on the melted polymeric feed at least one such outlet to aid in the removal of the contaminants; and the extruder defines at least one inlet port to receive a catalyst or a chemical reagent, so the catalyst or chemical reagent is mixed with the melted polymeric feed to neutralize halogens.
However, this is known in the pyrolysis art. For example, Ullom teaches a pyrolysis apparatus comprising a feed extruder 201 for feeding and melting plastic material (Figures 1 and 2, Columns 11-14), wherein the extruder is adapted to convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating and comprises outlet 204 for the removal of water vapor and outlet 205 for the removal of contaminated vapors (Figures 1 and 2, Column 12 Line 63-Column 13 Line 65), wherein the system of Ullom may be configured to pull a vacuum on said outlets to aid in removal of water vapor and contaminants therefrom (Column 22 Lines 20-30, Column 23 Lines 40-52), and wherein the extruder comprises an inlet port 203 for the introduction of catalysts and/or chemical reagent s to be mixed with the melted polymeric feed in the extruder (Figures 1 and 2, Column 12 Lines 50-52).
Said extruder is necessarily capable of receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents capable of neutralizing halogens via the inlet port 203. See MPEP 2114.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Ullom by: 1) configuring the extruder so as to: i) convert water and halogen contaminants in the input polymeric feed to water vapor and contaminated vapors during pre-heating; ii) comprise at least one outlet to expel the water vapor and contaminated vapors, and iii) comprise at least one inlet port for receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents so the catalysts or chemical reagents are mixed with the melted polymeric feed upon entering the extruder; and 2) configuring the system to apply a vacuum on the at least one outlet to aid in removal of water vapor and contaminated vapors; in order to obtain a system wherein the extruder advantageously removes water vapor and halogen contaminants from the polymer feed and advantageously allows for additives to be added to and mixed with the polymer feed.
In Gray modified in view of Ullom as described above, the extruder is necessarily capable of receiving catalysts and/or chemical reagents capable of neutralizing halogens via the added inlet port, and subsequently mixing said catalysts and/or chemical reagents with the melted polymeric feed to neutralize halogens. See MPEP 2114 for guidance.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Stankevich, Van Meirhaeghe, Meijer, Materazzi, and Otaigbe as applied to claim 23 above, and in further view of Allegro (US 2022/0010211).
With regard to claim 24: Modified Gray is silent to a gas liquefier to condense C2 to C4 products contained in the gaseous syngas stream.
Allegro, drawn to a plastic pyrolysis process similar to that of Gray (Figure 1, abstract, paragraph [0030]), teaches a gas liquefier comprised of columns 224, 240, 270, 290, 332, and 340, cold box 268, etc., said gas liquefier for condensing C2 to C4 products contained in a gaseous syngas stream 102 produced by a pyrolysis reactor 12 (Figures 1 and 2, paragraphs [0053]-[0054], [0059]-[0077]). Said gas liquefier system produces separated C2, C3, and C4 olefin streams (Figure 2, paragraphs [0059]-[0077]), which is understood to be advantageous for the purposes of reusing said olefins to produce plastic (paragraphs [0054], [0065], [0071] and [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Allegro by adding a gas liquefier to condense C2 to C4 and separate products contained in the gaseous syngas stream, in order to obtain a system capable of separated olefin products which can be used to produce new plastic.
With regard to claim 25: Modified Gray is also silent to a hydrogen separation device adapted to separate hydrogen from resulting uncondensed syngas stream exiting the gas liquefier.
However, Allegro teaches a hydrogen separation device (PSA unit) 280 adapted to separate hydrogen from an uncondensed syngas stream 274 exiting the gas liquefier, i.e. the cold box 264 thereof (Figure 2, paragraphs [0068]-[0069]). Said hydrogen separation device 280 produces a purified hydrogen product 286 Figure 2, paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Allegro by adding a hydrogen separation device adapted to separate hydrogen from resulting uncondensed syngas stream exiting the gas liquefier, in order to obtain a system capable of producing a purified hydrogen product.
Claim(s) 14 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (US 2022/0340819) in view Van Meirhaeghe (US 2023/0265348), Meijer (US 2006/0143977), Materazzi (US 2024/0228882), and Otaigbe (US 6,171,433).
With regard to claim 14: Gray teaches method for pyrolysis of polymeric material, the method comprising:
Feeding a polymeric feed through a feed auger 14 to an injection nozzle (feed inlet) 15, the feed auger comprising a rotating screw (Figure 1, paragraphs [0023] and [0025]).
Wherein the feed auger receives the input polymeric feed and melts and pre-heats the input polymeric feed, wherein the pre-heating may include shear heating (heating by friction) of the input polymeric feed with the screw of the feed auger to melt the polymeric feed and thereby decrease the viscosity of said polymeric feed (Figure 1, paragraph [0025]). Said decreased viscosity necessarily facilitates even dispersion of the melted polymeric feed to some extent, i.e. by allowing the melted polymeric feed to flow.
Wherein the injection nozzle 15 comprises a first outlet for the melted polymeric feed (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0031]).
Wherein the injection nozzle disperses the melted polymeric feed into a reactor 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0031]).
The method of Gray further comprises arranging a cyclone 30 such that char, heat carrying material and hydrocarbon vapors from the reactor 12 flow to the cyclone 30, the cyclone separating the hydrocarbon vapor from the heat carrying material or char (Figure 1, paragraphs [0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0043]-[0046]).
Gray does not explicitly teach that the feed auger is an extruder comprising a plurality of rotating screws, wherein the preheating by the extruder includes shear heating of the polymeric feed with the screws.
However, as discussed above, Gray teaches that the feed auger 14 may be configured to pre-heat the input polymeric feed to melt said polymeric feed by shear heating (by friction) (Figure 1, paragraph [0023]). To one of ordinary skill in the art, this teaching would at least suggest that the feed auger can be an extruder, as it is well-known that extruders can be operated as feeding devices which melt a polymer feed via shear heating induced by one or more extruder screws.
Indeed, it is known in the pyrolysis art to preheat and melt polymer feeds by shear heating in extruders, including extruders comprising twin screws. For example, Van Meirhaeghe teaches a pyrolysis device comprising an extruder 200 comprising twin screws 201, the extruder being adapted to receive an input polymeric feed and preheat said input polymeric feed, wherein the preheating involves melting the polymeric feed, thereby reducing its viscosity (Figure 1, paragraphs [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gray in view of Van Meirhaeghe selecting a twin screw extruder for use as the screw feeder and by carrying out the preheating by shear heating the polymeric feed with the screws to melt, and thereby reduce viscosity of the input polymeric feed, in order to obtain an apparatus having a feeding device which preheats and melts the incoming polymer feed with predictable success.
Modified Gray is silent to the screws of the extruder being counter rotating screws.
However, twin screw extruders having counter rotating screws are known, and have been used in the pyrolysis art, for example, by Meijer (Figure 3, paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0026]-[0027], and [0055]). Meijer teaches that twin screw extruders with counter rotating screws advantageously transport material by positive displacement and provide efficient mixing to transported material (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Meijer by configuring the extruder to be a twin screw extruder comprising counter rotating screws, in order to obtain a feed extruder which advantageously transports material by positive displacement while providing efficient mixing to transported material.
Modified Gray is silent to the injection nozzle being configured to spray and atomize the melted polymeric feed by combining the melted polymeric feed with a high-pressure atomization gas, wherein the injection nozzles comprises a first passage having an inlet for receiving the melted polymeric feed, and an outlet narrower than the inlet for outputting a thin stream of melted polymeric feed into the fluidized bed reactor; and second and third passages provided at either sides of the first passage, each having an inlet for receiving atomization gas, and an outlet for directing the atomization gas towards the thin stream of melted polymeric feed, wherein the atomization gas collides with the melted polymeric feed to cause dispersion of small droplets of the melted polymeric feed evenly across the circulating heat carrying material.
Materazzi, drawn to pyrolysis in a fluidized bed reactor (abstract), teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) a molten plastic to supply it into a fluidized bed reactor (paragraph [0093]). Materazzi teaches that atomizing (spraying) a feedstock ensures good dispersion of the feedstock material into the fluidized bed within the reactor (paragraph [0093]).
Though Materazzi teaches or at least suggests atomizing (spraying) molten plastic into a pyrolysis reactor in order to ensure good dispersion of said plastic, Materazzi does not describe any particular suitable for achieving such atomizing. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to search the prior art for a means by which a feed of molten plastic can be atomized.
Atomization nozzles having the form described in dependent claim 8 are known in the art. For example, Otaigbe teaches an apparatus comprising a nozzle for atomizing molten polymer (abstract, Figures 1 and 4, Columns 4-8), the nozzle comprising a first passage (pour tube) 12 having an inlet (upper end/seat) 12a for receiving the melted polymeric feed, and an outlet (open bottom end) 12c narrower than the inlet 12a for outputting a thin stream of melted polymeric feed out of the nozzle; and second and third passages (gas jet discharge orifices) 30c provided at either side of the first passage 12, each having an inlet for receiving atomization gas, and an outlet for directing the atomization gas towards the thin stream of melted polymeric feed, wherein the atomization gas collides with the melted polymeric feed to cause dispersion of small droplets of the melted polymeric feed evenly across the circulating heat carrying material (Figures 4, 5A, and 5B, Columns 4-8).
Given that the injection nozzle of Otaigbe is configured to atomize molten polymer, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect said injection nozzle to be suitable for use in atomizing the molten plastic discharged from the extruder in Maduskar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Gray in view of Materazzi and Otaigbe by configuring the nozzle of Maduskar to be an atomization nozzle which sprays and atomizes the melted polymeric feed, said atomization nozzle comprising a first passage having an inlet for receiving the melted polymeric feed, and an outlet narrower than the inlet for outputting a thin stream of melted polymeric feed into the fluidized bed reactor; and second and third passages provided at either sides of the first passage, each having an inlet for receiving atomization gas, and an outlet for directing the atomization gas towards the thin stream of melted polymeric feed, wherein the atomization gas collides with the melted polymeric feed to cause dispersion of small droplets of the melted polymeric feed evenly across the circulating heat carrying material, in order to obtain a system which atomizes the melted polymeric feed with predictable success to achieve good dispersion thereof.
With regard to claim 26: In modified Gray, the heat carrying material and char fall down into a steam stripping tower 32, and the method also comprises supplying steam to the steam stripping tower so as to remove the entrained hydrocarbon products in the bed material, desorb any remaining hydrocarbons from the catalytic bed material (Gray: Figure 1, paragraph [0040]).
The steam supplied to the stripping tower 32 will necessarily crack any remaining plastic entering said stripping tower 32 that may have escaped the reactor without cracking.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Craig (US 5,977,195) teaches a nozzle capable of atomizing molten plastics.
Gray (US 12,018,212) is the granted patent corresponding to the Gray PG Pub relied upon as a primary reference in the 103 rejections above.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LUKE PILCHER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1772