CTNF 18/728,264 CTNF 100772 DETAILED ACTION This office action in response to an application filing received July 11, 2024. The preliminary amendment received July 11, 2024 has been entered. The Application Data Sheet received on July 11, 2024 has been considered. Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 9-10, 13-17, 19 and 27 are amended. Claims 18 and 20-26 are cancelled. Claims 28 is newly added. Claims 1-17, 19 and 27-28 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement filed July 11, 2024 and May 05, 2025 has been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, 19 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al., US 20240007162 A1, (hereinafter LI) . Regarding claim 1, 13 and 27, LI teaches a method for transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report, comprising: transmitting, by a terminal, a CSI report ( see Fig. 5, element 508, ¶ [0052], e.g., At 508 , the UE transmits the CSI report including the measured CSI to the network entity.), wherein the CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to at least one transmission occasion of at least two transmissions of at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission occasions in one period, wherein the at least two CSI-RS transmission occasions correspond to at least one CSI-RS ( see Fig. 5, element 500, ¶ [0047] - ¶ [0052], e.g., To account for high Doppler scenarios in measuring CSI, aspects of the present disclosure may provide for various CSI-RS resource repetitions that can be used to allow for accurate measurement of rapidly changing channel conditions in high Doppler scenarios. FIG. 5 illustrates example operations 500 that may be performed by a user equipment (UE) to report CSI based on a CSI-RS resource repetition configuration for measuring CSI in high Doppler scenarios; see ¶ [0058], e.g., the CSI-RS repetitions may be defined as an intra-slot or inter-slot repetition over which a CSI measurement is performed (e.g., averaged over time, etc.) and reported to a network entity. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of an intra-slot CSI-RS repetition 700 in which CSI-RS resources are repeated in the time domain. A number of the repeated CSI-RS resources may be used for associated CSI reports; see ¶ [0060], e.g., a CSI-RS repetition configuration may specify that CSI-RSs are repeated n times within a slot, with a periodicity of m slots; see ¶ [0068], e.g., the CSI-RS repetitions from which a CSI report is generated may be defined as the repetitions that are scheduled no later than a last slot or symbol of the CSI reference resource or the repetitions that are scheduled no later than a first slot or symbol of the CSI reference resource.). Regarding claim 2 and 14, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 13. LI further teaches, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal, CSI-RS configuration information, wherein the CSI-RS configuration information configures indicates at least one CSI-RS resource ( see ¶ [0049], e.g., at 502 , where the UE receives, from a network entity, a configuration identifying channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) repetitions over which a CSI report is to be generated; ¶ [0054], at 602 , where the network entity transmits, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration identifying channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) repetitions over which a CSI report is to be generated.); wherein the CSI report comprises CSI obtained by measuring based on the at least one CSI-RS resource ( see ¶ [0045], e.g., For aperiodic CSI reports using aperiodic CSI-RS resource s, a CSI report may be based on an instantaneous observation of a single CSI resource ; see ¶ [0048], e.g., FIG. 5 illustrates example operations 500 that may be performed by a user equipment (UE) to report CSI based on a CSI-RS resource repetition configuration for measuring CSI in high Doppler scenarios,). Regarding claim 3 and 15, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 15. LI further teaches, wherein the CSI-RS configuration information comprises at least one of: a state of repetition corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS, wherein the state comprises an on state or an off state; a number L of transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period, where L is a positive integer ( see ¶ [0060], e.g., a CSI-RS repetition configuration may specify that CSI-RSs are repeated n times within a slot, with a periodicity of m slots.); an interval T between two transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period; a muting pattern of the at least one CSI-RS in one period; a period of the at least one CSI-RS; a slot offset of the at least one CSI-RS; a symbol position occupied by the at least one CSI-RS; a frequency domain resource position of the at least one CSI-RS; a number of ports of the at least one CSI-RS; a density of the at least one CSI-RS; or quasi co-location (QCL) information of the at least one CSI-RS ( see Claim 11, The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration identifies a quasi-colocation ( QCL ) type for each CSI-RS repetition such that a subset of the CSI-RS repetitions are associated with the same QCL type.). Regarding claim 7, 19 and 28, LI teaches a method for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report, comprising: receiving, by a network device, a CSI report ( see Fig. 5, element 508, ¶ [0052], e.g., At 508 , the UE transmits the CSI report including the measured CSI to the network entity.), wherein the CSI report comprises CSI corresponding to at least one transmission occasion of at least two transmissions of at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission occasions in one period, wherein the at least two CSI-RS transmission occasions correspond to at least one CSI-RS ( see Fig. 5, element 500, ¶ [0047] - ¶ [0052], e.g., To account for high Doppler scenarios in measuring CSI, aspects of the present disclosure may provide for various CSI-RS resource repetitions that can be used to allow for accurate measurement of rapidly changing channel conditions in high Doppler scenarios. FIG. 5 illustrates example operations 500 that may be performed by a user equipment (UE) to report CSI based on a CSI-RS resource repetition configuration for measuring CSI in high Doppler scenarios; see ¶ [0058], e.g., the CSI-RS repetitions may be defined as an intra-slot or inter-slot repetition over which a CSI measurement is performed (e.g., averaged over time, etc.) and reported to a network entity. FIG. 7 illustrates an example of an intra-slot CSI-RS repetition 700 in which CSI-RS resources are repeated in the time domain. A number of the repeated CSI-RS resources may be used for associated CSI reports; see ¶ [0060], e.g., a CSI-RS repetition configuration may specify that CSI-RSs are repeated n times within a slot, with a periodicity of m slots; see ¶ [0068], e.g., the CSI-RS repetitions from which a CSI report is generated may be defined as the repetitions that are scheduled no later than a last slot or symbol of the CSI reference resource or the repetitions that are scheduled no later than a first slot or symbol of the CSI reference resource.). Regarding claim 8, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 7. LI further teaches, further comprising: transmitting, by the network device, CSI-RS configuration information, wherein the CSI-RS configuration information indicates at least one CSI-RS resource ( see ¶ [0049], e.g., at 502 , where the UE receives, from a network entity, a configuration identifying channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) repetitions over which a CSI report is to be generated; ¶ [0054], at 602 , where the network entity transmits, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration identifying channel state information (CSI) reference signal (RS) (CSI-RS) repetitions over which a CSI report is to be generated.); wherein the CSI report comprises CSI obtained by measuring based on the at least one CSI-RS resource ( see ¶ [0045], e.g., For aperiodic CSI reports using aperiodic CSI-RS resource s, a CSI report may be based on an instantaneous observation of a single CSI resource ; see ¶ [0048], e.g., FIG. 5 illustrates example operations 500 that may be performed by a user equipment (UE) to report CSI based on a CSI-RS resource repetition configuration for measuring CSI in high Doppler scenarios,). Regarding claim 9, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 8. LI further teaches, wherein the CSI-RS configuration information comprises at least one of: a state of repetition corresponding to the at least one CSI-RS, wherein the state comprises an on state or an off state; a number L of transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period, where L is a positive integer ( see ¶ [0060], e.g., a CSI-RS repetition configuration may specify that CSI-RSs are repeated n times within a slot, with a periodicity of m slots.); an interval T between two transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period; a muting pattern of the at least one CSI-RS in one period; a period of the at least one CSI-RS; a slot offset of the at least one CSI-RS; a symbol position occupied by the at least one CSI-RS; a frequency domain resource position of the at least one CSI-RS; a number of ports of the at least one CSI-RS; a density of the at least one CSI-RS; or quasi co-location (QCL) information of the at least one CSI-RS ( see Claim 11, The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration identifies a quasi-colocation ( QCL ) type for each CSI-RS repetition such that a subset of the CSI-RS repetitions are associated with the same QCL type.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4-6, 10-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of WU et al., US 12348287 B2, (hereinafter WU) . Regarding claim 4 and 16, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 13. LI does not teach but WU teaches, wherein the CSI-RS report indicates at least one of following information : an index of the at least one CSI-RS, and a sequence number corresponding to at least one transmission of L transmissions in one period for the index of the at least one CSI-RS; or at least one of amplitude or phase of the at least one CSI-RS ( see Col. 24, lines 58-61, e.g., In some aspects, the beam coefficients for linear combination (e.g., beam index , amplitude and/or phase) within one CSI instance may be updated during multiple stages of differential CSI feedback). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CSI-RS report of LI to incorporate the teachings of WU to include at least one of amplitude or phase of the at least one CSI-RS. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss via dynamic and robust CSI reporting as suggested by WU ( see Col. 1, lines 19-28, e.g., the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communications systems, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting. Embodiments can enable and provide wireless communication features aimed at robust CSI reporting, including, for example, differential CSI, per-stage or multi-stage CSI, and hybrid CSI, capable of yielding high-resolution CSI. Providing dynamic CSI as described can reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss.). Regarding claim 5 and 17, LI as combined with WU teaches the limitations of Claim 4 and 16. LI does not teach but WU teaches, wherein the amplitude comprises at least one of a broadband amplitude or a narrowband amplitude ( see Col. 19, lines 58-63, wherein the CSI feedback reporting techniques may be used for Type II single-panel (SP) codebook; see Col. 20, lines 32-35, Type II SP may support a configurable amplitude scaling mode between wideband (WB) + subband (SB) (with unequal bit allocation) and WB only; see Col. 21, lines 25-41, (103) For Type II SP codebook, the WB amplitude , SB amplitude , and SB phase may be quantized and reported in (X, Y, Z) bits.); wherein the amplitude comprises an amplitude corresponding to the at least one transmission of the L transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period ( see Col. 24, lines 58-63, e.g., In some aspects, the beam coefficients for linear combination (e.g., beam index, amplitude and/or phase) within one CSI instance may be updated during multiple stages of differential CSI feedback; see Col. 5, lines 38-49, e.g., Differential CSI reporting may enable the UE to provide high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. For example, in differential CSI reporting, the UE can report multiple CSI feedback (for a same received CSI-RS) in an incremental way (e.g., over time) over multiple CSI feedback stages.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CSI-RS report of LI to incorporate the teachings of WU to include wherein the amplitude comprises at least one of a broadband amplitude or a narrowband amplitude. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss via dynamic and robust CSI reporting as suggested by WU ( see Col. 1, lines 19-28, e.g., the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communications systems, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting. Embodiments can enable and provide wireless communication features aimed at robust CSI reporting, including, for example, differential CSI, per-stage or multi-stage CSI, and hybrid CSI, capable of yielding high-resolution CSI. Providing dynamic CSI as described can reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss.). Regarding claim 6, LI as combined with WU teaches the limitations of Claim 4. LI does not teach but WU teaches, wherein the phase comprises at-Ieast one of a broadband phase or a narrowband phase ( see Col. 19, lines 58-63, wherein the CSI feedback reporting techniques may be used for Type II single-panel (SP) codebook; see Col. 21, lines 9-11, e.g., The beam combining coefficients (e.g., phase ) may be independently selected for each beam, polarization, and layer, and may be reported on the subband.); wherein the phase comprises a phase corresponding to the at least one transmission of the L transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period ( see Col. 21, lines 25-41, (103) For Type II SP codebook, the WB amplitude , SB amplitude , and SB phase may be quantized and reported in (X, Y, Z) bits… The index of the strongest coefficient out of 2L coefficients may be reported per layer in a WB manner; see Col. 5, lines 38-49, e.g., in differential CSI reporting, the UE can report multiple CSI feedback (for a same received CSI-RS) in an incremental way (e.g., over time) over multiple CSI feedback stages.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CSI-RS report of LI to incorporate the teachings of WU to include phase comprises at-Ieast one of a broadband phase or a narrowband phase. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss via dynamic and robust CSI reporting as suggested by WU ( see Col. 1, lines 19-28, e.g., the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communications systems, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting. Embodiments can enable and provide wireless communication features aimed at robust CSI reporting, including, for example, differential CSI, per-stage or multi-stage CSI, and hybrid CSI, capable of yielding high-resolution CSI. Providing dynamic CSI as described can reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss.). Regarding claim 10, LI teaches the limitations of Claim 7. LI does not teach but WU teaches, wherein the CSI-RS report indicates at least one of following information : an index of the at least one CSI-RS, and a sequence number corresponding to at least one transmission of L transmissions in one period for the index of the at least one CSI-RS; or at least one of amplitude or phase of the at least one CSI-RS ( see Col. 24, lines 58-61, e.g., In some aspects, the beam coefficients for linear combination (e.g., beam index , amplitude and/or phase) within one CSI instance may be updated during multiple stages of differential CSI feedback). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CSI-RS report of LI to incorporate the teachings of WU to include at least one of amplitude or phase of the at least one CSI-RS. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss via dynamic and robust CSI reporting as suggested by WU ( see Col. 1, lines 19-28, e.g., the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communications systems, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting. Embodiments can enable and provide wireless communication features aimed at robust CSI reporting, including, for example, differential CSI, per-stage or multi-stage CSI, and hybrid CSI, capable of yielding high-resolution CSI. Providing dynamic CSI as described can reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss.). Regarding claim 11, LI as combined with WU teaches the limitations of Claim 10. LI does not teach but WU teaches, wherein the amplitude comprises at least one of a broadband amplitude or a narrowband amplitude ( see Col. 19, lines 58-63, wherein the CSI feedback reporting techniques may be used for Type II single-panel (SP) codebook; see Col. 20, lines 32-35, Type II SP may support a configurable amplitude scaling mode between wideband (WB) + subband (SB) (with unequal bit allocation) and WB only; see Col. 21, lines 25-41, (103) For Type II SP codebook, the WB amplitude , SB amplitude , and SB phase may be quantized and reported in (X, Y, Z) bits.); wherein the amplitude comprises an amplitude corresponding to the at least one transmission of the L transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period ( see Col. 24, lines 58-63, e.g., In some aspects, the beam coefficients for linear combination (e.g., beam index, amplitude and/or phase) within one CSI instance may be updated during multiple stages of differential CSI feedback; see Col. 5, lines 38-49, e.g., Differential CSI reporting may enable the UE to provide high resolution CSI while reducing the per feedback overhead associated with advanced CSI reporting. For example, in differential CSI reporting, the UE can report multiple CSI feedback (for a same received CSI-RS) in an incremental way (e.g., over time) over multiple CSI feedback stages.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CSI-RS report of LI to incorporate the teachings of WU to include wherein the amplitude comprises at least one of a broadband amplitude or a narrowband amplitude. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss via dynamic and robust CSI reporting as suggested by WU ( see Col. 1, lines 19-28, e.g., the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communications systems, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting. Embodiments can enable and provide wireless communication features aimed at robust CSI reporting, including, for example, differential CSI, per-stage or multi-stage CSI, and hybrid CSI, capable of yielding high-resolution CSI. Providing dynamic CSI as described can reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss.). Regarding claim 12, LI as combined with WU teaches the limitations of Claim 10. LI does not teach but WU teaches, wherein the phase comprises at-Ieast one of a broadband phase or a narrowband phase ( see Col. 19, lines 58-63, wherein the CSI feedback reporting techniques may be used for Type II single-panel (SP) codebook; see Col. 21, lines 9-11, e.g., The beam combining coefficients (e.g., phase ) may be independently selected for each beam, polarization, and layer, and may be reported on the subband.); wherein the phase comprises a phase corresponding to the at least one transmission of the L transmissions of the at least one CSI-RS in one period ( see Col. 21, lines 25-41, (103) For Type II SP codebook, the WB amplitude , SB amplitude , and SB phase may be quantized and reported in (X, Y, Z) bits… The index of the strongest coefficient out of 2L coefficients may be reported per layer in a WB manner; see Col. 5, lines 38-49, e.g., in differential CSI reporting, the UE can report multiple CSI feedback (for a same received CSI-RS) in an incremental way (e.g., over time) over multiple CSI feedback stages.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CSI-RS report of LI to incorporate the teachings of WU to include phase comprises at-Ieast one of a broadband phase or a narrowband phase. Doing so would facilitate in achieving reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss via dynamic and robust CSI reporting as suggested by WU ( see Col. 1, lines 19-28, e.g., the present disclosure relate generally to wireless communications systems, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring differential channel state information (CSI) reporting. Embodiments can enable and provide wireless communication features aimed at robust CSI reporting, including, for example, differential CSI, per-stage or multi-stage CSI, and hybrid CSI, capable of yielding high-resolution CSI. Providing dynamic CSI as described can reduce overhead, component complexity, and performance loss.) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11218209 B2 issued to Miao et al. US 20210391910 A1 issued to WU et al. US 20200367083 A1 issued to Hao et al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to POONAM SHARMA whose telephone number is (571)272-6579. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru 8:30-5:30 pm, ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates can be reached at (571) 272-3980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472 /KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 9 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 10 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 11 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 12 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/728,264 Page 13 Art Unit: 2472