Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 26-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Batchu et al (US 2015/0296520). Hereinafter referred to as Batchu.
Regarding claims 1, 26, 31 and 34. Batchu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see at least figure 1 and paragraph [0024]), comprising identifying a first service associated with a first subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE, the first service having a first priority (see at least paragraphs [0024]-[0025]); identifying at least one re-prioritization condition that is satisfied (see at least paragraph [0034]), wherein the at least one re-prioritization condition is associated with at least one of the first service or a second service associated with a second SIM of the UE (see at least paragraphs [0033]-[0034]), the second service having a second priority and the second priority is lower than the first priority; adjusting, based at least in part on the at least one re-prioritization condition being satisfied, the second priority, wherein the adjusted second priority is higher than the first priority (see at least paragraph [0033]); and performing, during a time interval, a communication corresponding to the second service based at least in part on the adjusted second priority (see at least paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 2. Batchu discloses a method wherein the second SIM comprises a dedicated data SIM (DDS) and the first SIM comprises a non-DDS (see at least paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claims 3, 27, 32 and 35. Batchu discloses a method wherein the first service comprises at least one of a packet-switched data traffic service, a circuit-switched data traffic service, or a multimedia messaging service (see at least paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claims 7, 28, 33 and 36. Batchu discloses a method wherein performing the communication comprises transmitting a mobile-terminated page response based at least in part on receiving a mobile-terminated page (see at least paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 8. Batchu discloses a method further comprising establishing, based at least in part on transmitting the mobile-terminated page response, a network connection associated with the second service; identifying, based at least in part on the network connection, a communication type associated with the second service; and applying, during an additional time interval and based at least in part on the communication type, at least one of the second priority or the adjusted second priority (see at least figure 3B).
Regarding claim 10. Batchu discloses a method wherein the communication type comprises a data communication, and wherein applying the at least one of the second priority or the adjusted second priority comprises applying the second priority (see at least figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batchu in view of Chen et al (US 2018/0368099). Hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 4, Batchu discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of identifying the at least one re-prioritization condition that is satisfied comprises determining that an inactive period corresponding to a periodic scheduling scheme associated with the first service satisfies a threshold. However, Chen, from the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying the at least one re-prioritization condition that is satisfied comprises determining that an inactive period corresponding to a periodic scheduling scheme associated with the first service satisfies a threshold (see at least paragraphs [0042] and [0087]-[0088]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Chen, as indicated, into the communication method of Batchu for the purpose of improving services with Multi-SIM.
Regarding claim 5. Batchu in view of Chen discloses a method wherein the periodic scheduling scheme comprises at least one of: a semi-persistent scheduling configuration, a configured grant, or a discontinuous reception configuration (see at least paragraph [0090]).
Regarding claims 6, Batchu discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of identifying the at least one re-prioritization condition that is satisfied comprises determining that a timer associated with a re-prioritization delay period has expired before a completion of a communication associated with the first service. However, Chen, from the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying the at least one re-prioritization condition that is satisfied comprises determining that a timer associated with a re-prioritization delay period has expired before a completion of a communication associated with the first service (see at least paragraphs [0011], [0015] and [0084]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Chen, as indicated, into the communication method of Batchu for the purpose of improving services with Multi-SIM.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batchu in view of Kumar et al (US 2022/0286950). Hereinafter referred to as Kumar.
Regarding claim 15, Batchu discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of performing a network access registration procedure. However, Kumar, from the same field of endeavor, teaches performing a network access registration procedure (see at least paragraphs [0035] and [0062]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Kumar, as indicated, into the communication method of Batchu for the purpose of managing UE service information.
Regarding claim 16, Batchu in view of Kumar discloses a method further comprising re-applying the second priority based at least in part on an expiration of a registration timer (see at least paragraph [0078]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14, 17-21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh can be reached at 571-272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476