Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A unit for holding…and being shaped to allow...as in cl. 7
Unclear from the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the connecting wall”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It appears that Applicant intends to recite “a first connecting wall.”
Claim 4 further recites the limitation “the fixed magnet being mounted..” in which the recitation lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims and it is unclear what magnet is sought to be structurally arranged as claimed wherein claim 1 provides for “at least one magnet mounted fixedly to the securing portion.”
Claim 4 further recites “the other wraparound wall” that lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims. It appears that Applicant intends to recite “another one of said at least one wraparound walls comprising an end wall.”
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claim 7 and the sought functionality of the unit are indefinitely set forth.
The recitation “…for holding the magnetic portion, the securing portion…” is not clearly provided in what holding functionality is intended with respect to the recitation “the securing portion.”
Does Applicant intend to recite that the unit is for holding the magnetic portion and the securing portion?
Further, as discussed above, a unit for holding…and being shaped to allow...is given as an alternative-type “means for” recitation that is not recited with sufficient structure to the recited functionality and wherein the specification does not make clear the corresponding structure and equivalents thereof.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the sought system by claim 13 are indefinitely defined herein.
Claim 13 sets froth the added element of a plate as claimed, however, its structural and/or functional relationship within the confines of the system is/are indefinitely set forth.
What is the relation of the added element of this plate to the confines/other constituent elements of the system?
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the sought methodology that provides for “using the system” as in claim 14 are indefinitely defined herein.
It is unclear if the sole active step of “moving sampler cones…” constitutes the sought using of the system as in claim 14. Applicant should make clear the active, positive steps that afford extracting components from a sample. From Applicant’s disclosure, it does not appear that the movement of the pipette cones against the magnetic portion alone provides for extracting components in and of itself.
See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Alix et al. (US 2019/0316114), hereafter Alix.
Alix discloses a system for extracting components from a biological sample (abstract, [0002]) comprising at least: an extraction platform [0108] (base 34),
a magnetic extracting module [0112] comprising a magnetic portion 16 [Fig. 7] and a securing portion 38 (and as in a housing 38 for receiving the extraction module in cl. 3; par.[0108] fig. 3A, for example) for securing the module to the extraction platform [0095,0113],Fig. 7], said magnetic portion comprising at least one magnet fixedly mounted relative to said securing portion [0112] (at least one permanent magnet 72, fig. 7), the extraction platform comprising a pipetting support configured to interact with a pipetting device [0108] (the mobile part 36 as in the "pipette support"), characterized in that the magnetic portion of the magnetic extracting module has at least one operating position in which the magnetic portion is fixed at least with respect to the pipetting support/pipetting stand [Fig. 12-13] or [0109] (at least one position in which the tips 21 do not dip into the wells, and are at a distance from the latter so as to allow the well supports to be handled by the user and magnetic particles to be captured in a central position of the cones 20). This is likewise seen in claim 14 to the likewise physical arrangement to claim 1 and wherein Alix discloses a step of moving sampler cones of the pipette against the magnetic portion of the extraction module (pars.[0061,0109-0114], for example). With regard to claim 2, Alix discloses that the pipetting device comprises at least one sampler cone, the magnetic portion of the extraction module is fixed at least in the operating position (see figs. 1, 12, and 13, and accompanying disclosure); Examiner further asserts that the pipetting device is not a positively claimed element necessitated by the claims and is drawn to a prospective workpiece (“a pipetting support…configured to cooperate with a pipetting device”). With regard to claim 4, as best understood herein, Alix discloses the housing comprising at least two wraparound walls to wrap around the extraction platform one of the walls called a connecting wall carrying the magnetic portion, the fixe magnet being mounted so as to project relative to the connecting wall, the other wraparound wall being called the end wall (see wall coinciding item ‘78’ wherein the fixed magnet 72 of the magnetic portion 16 is held and protrudes) and an end wall being a wall opposite thereto on an opposing side of the housing (see fig. 3A, figs. 12A). With regard to claim 5, the securing portion 38 comprises a body of which one face is shaped to be in contact with the extraction platform, in which one face as in Alix is commensurately shaped in as much as claimed and thus provides a commensurate shaping fully capable of being in contact with the extract module as claimed. With regard to claim 6, Alix discloses that the magnetic portion 16 is mounted removably relative to the securing portion (figs. 3A, 12A in which the magnetic portion 17 is fully able to be inserted and removed therefrom the securing portions as through the mounting slot 78 of the securing portion; see also pars.[0062,0069] and second/third housings for removably mounting). With regard to claim 8, Alix discloses that the pipetting device comprises an electronic pipette 12 and a pipette holder 14 (pars.[0064,0104,0108], fig. 1, 7, for example). With regard to claim 9, Alix provides that the module is fixed to the pipetting support by the securing portion (figs. 1, 12, 13), and further, wherein the recitation is drawn to a process recitation not afforded patentable weight in a device claim. With regard to claim 10, Alix discloses the extraction module comprises at least one bar 76 comprising the at least one magnet (fig. 1, 7). With regard to claim 13, Alix discloses a plate
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 13, as best understood herein, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alix in view of Schacher et al. (US 2008/0063567), hereafter Schacher.
Alix has been discussed above.
Alix does not specifically disclose a unit as recited in claim 8, and a plate as in cl. 13.
Schacher discloses an automated analyzer with automatically actuated movable closure of pipetting openings comprising a conveyor 91 as in a circular plate that is movably mounted in such a way that it can be moved in translation and/or rotation, and a unit for holding the magnet 33 with a securing portion by way of screws on lower plate 33 of the transport device 31, such unit being shaped to allow relative movement with respect to the securing portion in as much as claimed as the unit is commensurately shaped as claimed (pars.[0042,0064], figs. 1, 2, 15, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alix to provide a unit as recited in claim 8, and a plate as in cl. 13 such as suggested by the analogous prior art of Schacher to an automated analyzer with automatically actuated movement of pipettors provides a protective cover to the magnet and while affording rotatable movement of on-board reagent/sample holders to be selectively moved into place for desired pipetting and assay initiation.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alix in view of EP2110670, hereafter Tajima.
Alix has been discussed above.
Alix does not specifically disclose a set of at least two bars each bar comprising at least one magnet as recited in claim 11, and comprising a cross-member for securing each bar as in cl. 12.
Tajima discloses a magnetic particle processing system comprising a plurality of magnets 139 and at least two bars 141 each bar comprising at least one magnet the at least two bars being arranged parallel to and spaced apart from each other so as to allow the passage of a row of pipette cones, and comprising a cross-member 137 for securing each bar (par.[0098], fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alix to include disclose a set of at least two bars each bar comprising at least one magnet as recited in claim 11, and comprising a cross-member for securing each bar as in cl. 12 such as suggested by the analogous prior art of Tajima to a magnetic particle processing system in order to afford a substantial and dynamic magnetic support that also affords movable functionality for access to the various dispensing tips and such that a magnetic field can be applied to the interior of all the dispensing tips.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798