DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Mathur 2019/0287495US.
In terms of Claim 1, Mathur teaches a waveguide comprising (Figures 1-48): a first incoupler (Figure 9a: 710) to incouple light with a first optical characteristic (Figure 9a: 780); a second incoupler (Figure 9a: 700) to incouple light with a second optical characteristic (Figure 9a: 770); and a first structure (Figure 25c: CLOS SLM or Figure 29B: 7060) at an interface of the second incoupler to reflect incoupled light with the first optical characteristic within the waveguide (Figure 25c: LCOS SLM [0344]; Figure 29B: 7060 and 7008).
As for Claim 2, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first optical characteristic comprises a first wavelength range ([0239-0240]), and the second optical characteristic comprises a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range ([0239-0240]).
As for Claim 3, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 2, wherein the first structure comprises a dichroic mirror (Figure 31c Beam Splitter [0455], [0335]).
As for Claim 4, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 3, wherein the dichroic mirror comprises a shortpass dichroic mirror with a cutoff wavelength between the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range ([0455]).
As for Claim 5, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first optical characteristic comprises a first polarization state, and the second optical characteristic comprises a second polarization state different from the first polarization state ([0022] or [0402]).
As for Claim 6, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 5, wherein the first structure comprises a polarization beam splitter (Figure 31c: Beam Splitter [0335]).
As for Claim 7, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 6, wherein the polarization beam splitter reflects light of the first polarization state and transmits light of the second polarization state ([0022] or [0402]).
As for Claim 8, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the first optical characteristic comprises a first angle of light incoupled into the waveguide at the first incoupler grating and the second optical characteristic comprises a second angle of light incoupled into the waveguide at the second incoupler grating, wherein the second angle is different from the first angle (Figure 30b: 8054, Figure 30C 8000, Figure 31c, Figure 9a).
As for Claim 9, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 8, wherein the first structure comprises a lower-refractive index material than a material of a waveguide substrate of the waveguide (Figure 48: 27040 and Figure 9a 700/710: illustrates light passing through various layers, the structure at the interface must have a lower refractive index than the waveguide otherwise light will not couple into the waveguide).
As for Claim 10, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the second incoupler is arranged subsequent to the first incoupler in a direction of light propagation toward one or more outcouplers of the waveguide (Figure 9a: 720,710 and 700).
As for Claim 11, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 1, further comprising: a third incoupler (Figure 9a: 720) to incouple light of a third optical characteristic (Figure 9a: 790); and a second structure (Figure 2b: 7060 or 7080) at an interface of the third incoupler to reflect incoupled light with the first optical characteristic and incoupled light with the second optical characteristic within the waveguide (Figure 31c or Figure 28 or Figure 9a: 770/780/790).
As for Claim 12, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein the first optical characteristic comprises a first wavelength range, the second optical characteristic comprises a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range, and the third optical characteristic comprises a third wavelength range different from the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range (Figure 9a and [0406]).
As for Claim 13, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 12, wherein the first structure comprises a first dichroic mirror, and the second structure comprises a second dichroic mirror ([0443, 0455, 0366]).
As for Claim 14, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 13, wherein the first dichroic mirror comprises a shortpass dichroic mirror with a cutoff wavelength between the first wavelength range and the second light wavelength range and the second dichroic mirror comprises a second shortpass dichroic mirror with a cutoff wavelength between the third wavelength range and the first and second wavelength ranges (Figure 48 uses multiple beam splitters 27040, 27030 and 27004 wherein the splitters have dichroic mirrors or reflectors [0455-0460]).
As for Claim 15, Mathur teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein the third incoupler is arranged subsequent to the first incoupler and the second incoupler in a direction of light propagation toward one or more outcouplers of the waveguide (Figure 9a: 720 and 750).
In terms of Claim 16, Mathur teaches a method comprising: incoupling, via a first incoupler (Figure 9a: 710), light with a first optical characteristic into a waveguide (Figure 9a: light from 710); incoupling, via a second incoupler (Figure 9a: 700), light with a second optical characteristic into the waveguide (Figure 9a: light from 700); and reflecting, by a first structure at an interface between the second incoupler and a waveguide substrate of the waveguide (Figure 9a: substrate made of 3 layers of 690/670/680), incoupled light with the first optical characteristic within the waveguide (Figure 9a).
As for Claim 17, Mathur teaches the method of Claim 16, wherein the first optical characteristic comprises a first wavelength range (Figure 9a: 770/780/790; [0239-0240]), and the second optical characteristic comprises a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range (Figure 9a: 770/780/790; [0239-0240]), wherein the first structure comprises a first dichroic mirror with a cutoff wavelength between the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range ([0239-0240], [0355], [0455]).
As for Claim 18, Mathur teaches the method of Claim 17, further comprising: incoupling, via a third incoupler (Figure 9a: 720), light with a third optical characteristic into the waveguide ([0239-0240]); and reflecting, via a second structure (Figure 28 7080 or Figure 48: 27040, 27030 and 27004) at an interface between the third incoupler and the waveguide substrate of the waveguide (Figure 9a), incoupled light with the first optical characteristic and incoupled light with the second optical characteristic within the waveguide ([0239-0240]; [0455])).
As for Claim 19, Mathur teaches the method of Claim 18, wherein the third optical characteristic comprises a third wavelength range different from the first wavelength range and the second wavelength range, and the second structure comprises a second dichroic mirror with a cutoff wavelength between the third wavelength range and the first and second wavelength ranges (Figure 9a: 770/780/790; [0239-0240]; Figure 28: 7080 multiple beam splitters or Figure 48: multiple beams splitters 27040, 27030 and 27004; [0239-0240]; [0455])).
As for Claim 20, Mathur teaches the method of Claim 16, wherein the first optical characteristic comprises a first polarization state, and the second optical characteristic comprises a second polarization state different from the first polarization state, and wherein the first structure comprises a polarization beam splitter (Figure 9a: 770/780/790; [0239-0240]; Figure 28: 7080 multiple beam splitters or Figure 48: multiple beams splitters 27040, 27030 and 27004; [0239-0240]; [0455])).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Yeoh 20180275410US teaches eyewear displays using waveguides, incoupler gratings and beamsplitter for heads up displays.
/HOANG Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874