DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 8/18/2026. Claims 21, 34, 36, 38-42, 44-48 and 50 are amended and claims 32-51 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/18/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 has been amended to recite “a ratio of a sum of projection areas of the multiple first refractive regions in the first zone to a total area of the first zone is greater than or equal to 60% and less than or equal to 78.5%,a ratio of a sum of projection areas of the multiple second refractive regions in the second zone to a total area of the second zone is less than 60%”. Firstly, the claim limits “projection areas” of refractive regions without clarifying the geometric object to which the area is projected. The Specifications clarifies that projection is at least understood to be a projection of the refractive region onto the surface of the lens. Alternatively, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand a projection may be on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis. In the claims, the refractive areas are defined as spherical convex micro-lenses on the ophthalmic lens but the first zone and the second zone are less clearly defined. In Claim 32, the first zone is defined as “surrounding the central portion”, which is itself not defined in terms of shape and location, and the second zone is defined as “farther away from the central portion than the first zone”. In isolation, these definitions would have delineated a broad but not indefinite invention for the ophthalmic lens. The ratio of the sum of projections areas to the total area of the first and second zones does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it numerically bounds a relationship between two broadly defined geometries that are substantially boundless. The annotated drawing below demonstrates how Applicant’s primary embodiment is captured by the claim language and is not captured by the claim language. For two spherical convex micro-lens projections A1 and A2, first zones may be defined consistently with the claim language such that the claimed ratio is satisfied and is not satisfied. As the geometry of the first zone is only claimed as including the first refractive areas and surrounding the central portion, the geometry may otherwise be chosen arbitrarily to satisfy the claimed condition. While this is shown for Applicant’s primary embodiment, the breadth of the arrangements of the first refractive areas and the breadth of the geometry of the first zones extend far beyond the disclosed species and amount to indeterminate metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
While the limitation that the first zone is “surrounding the central portion”, it is recommended to limit the first zone with language similar to that used in [0016]: “the first zone is partially or entirely a first annular zone centered on the ophthalmic lens with an inner diameter of 9 mm and an outer diameter of 15 mm”. Namely, the first zone is an annulus radially extending from the central zone to the second zone and the fill factor relates the sum of first refractive area projections to the area of the annular zone.
Dependent claims 33-51 fail to remedy the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim 36 has been amended to recite “each of the multiple first refractive regions and the multiple second refractive regions has a projection on the ophthalmic lens: the maximum size of the projection of each of the multiple first refractive regions and the multiple second refractive regions is independently in the range of 0.8 mm to 2.2 mm”. The language continues to muddle the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Firstly, “the maximum size” is a relative term that has no reference within the claimed invention. It is unclear if the phrase is intended to limit a maximum size of all sizes of an individual refractive region or a maximum possible size among hypothetical sizes of refractive regions. Additionally, the base claim now limits the individual refractive regions as spherical convex micro-lenses and the disclosed scale is such that projections are circular on the ophthalmic lens. Accordingly, of all dimensions of respective first refractive regions, the circular diameter in the plane of the lens surface is a global maximum. There are no disclosed embodiments in which this is not the case, though the projection is not inherently a circular projection area for other species of lens and refractive regions. The language “the maximum size” lacks antecedent basis. Additionally, it is unclear what the claimed range limits regarding maximum size. The term “independently” could be understood by an artisan to limit the refractive region sizes as optionally a congruent size among all regions or an incongruent size among all regions. Thus the limitation that “the maximum size” be “independently in the range of 0.8 mm to 2.2 mm” may be understood as affirmatively limiting a diameter of a one refractive region to be 0.8mm and another diameter of another refractive region to be 2.2mm. Alternatively, it could be that the claimed invention is limiting the projection diameter to being within the claimed range. The metes and bounds cannot be determined.
Claim 38 has been amended to recite “the central portion has a maximum size of 3.0 to 11.0 mm”. This phrasing is indefinite as “size” is not a clear dimension by which to measure the geometry of the recited element. The term “size” is not commensurate in scope with “length” or “width” or “thickness” or “diameter” or other dimensional measures. As refractive regions have been limited to spherical convex shapes, limiting a “maximum size” does not clearly define the claimed invention as it appears this broad limitation on the shape is inconsistent with the narrower shape defined in Claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. 2023/0258958 to Esfandiarijahromi, et al. (hereinafter Esfandiarijahromi) in view of US 10429670 to Newman (hereinafter Newman).
Regarding claim 32, Esfandiarijahromi discloses an ophthalmic lens (Figs. 9A-9C; [0167]-[0169]) comprising a central portion (central optical zone 903, Figs. 9A-9C), multiple first refractive regions (any or all of modulations in modulated annular zones 904-908, Figs. 9A-9C), and multiple second refractive regions (modulated annular zones 909, Figs. 9A-9C), wherein: the multiple first refractive regions are arranged in a first zone surrounding the central portion (annular zone shown in Figs. 9A-9C), the first zone includes one or multiple first patterns (Figs. 9A-9C), the first refractive regions are arranged in the one or multiple first patterns (Figs. 9A-9C) the multiple second refractive regions are arranged in a second zone farther away from the central portion than the first zone (annular zone shown in Figs. 9A-9C), the second zone includes multiple second patterns, the second refractive regions are arranged in the multiple second patterns (Figs. 9A-9C), the first patterns and second patterns are annular patterns which are centered on the center of ophthalmic lens (Figs. 9A-9C), part or whole of the central portion has prescription power based on a human eye prescription (Figs. 9B-9C), the multiple first refractive regions and the multiple second refractive regions have different dioptric powers from the prescription power (Figs. 9B-9C), and within each of the multiple first patterns, the spacing of any two adjacent first refractive regions is less than 0.5 mm (Figs. 9B-9C), within each of the multiple second patterns, the spacing of any two adjacent second refractive regions is greater than the spacing of any two adjacent first refractive regions (Figs. 9B-9C), and the multiple second refractive regions are arranged on multiple rays or multiple curves which start from the ophthalmic lens center (Fig. 9A-9C), a ratio of a sum of projection areas of the multiple first refractive regions in the first zone to a total area of the first zone is greater than or equal to 60% and less than or equal to 78.5% (Fig. 9A-9C),a ratio of a sum of projection areas of the multiple second refractive regions in the second zone to a total area of the second zone is less than 60% (Fig. 9A-9C).
In the annotated Fig. 9B below, the hypothetical and arbitrary first zones are shown in two embodiments. A First Zone 1 bounds an inner and outer annular edge to the inner and outer annular extent of the refractive regions themselves. A First Zone 2 is bound by an outer edge of a next more central annulus and an inner edge of a next less central annulus. The 18 substantially-rectangular refractive regions sum to approximately 42.8mm2. The First Zone 1 provides an area of approximately 51.1mm2and First Zone 2 provides an area of approximately 125.1mm2 and thus the claimed ratio is between 34% and 84%. As the radii of the first zone annulus is arbitrary, it is necessarily true that radii may be chosen such that the claimed ratio is met from the disclosed embodiment in Fig. 9B.
Esfandiarijahromi discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose: the multiple first refractive regions and the multiple second refractive regions are spherical convex micro-lenses on the ophthalmic lens.
Newman discloses the multiple first refractive regions and the multiple second refractive regions are spherical convex micro-lenses on the ophthalmic lens (“a lens body may include a plurality of semi sphere lenslet features 36”, Fig. 28).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide spherical convex micro-lenses as taught by Newman with the system as disclosed by Esfandiarijahromi. The motivation would have been to maintain optical clarity through the lens (col. 2, ll. 5-16).
Response to Arguments
On Page 9 of the 8/18/2026 Remarks, Applicant notes a region “between the two red concentric circles in the first zone 8” and “two green concentric circles in the second zone 9”. It is noted that the drawings are black and white and do not reproduce color as stated by Applicant. Accordingly, these statements do not help clarify the claimed zones.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Rejections based on 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are provided above and while some originally-presented language is at the center of the indefiniteness, the context has changed by amendment and Applicant has not specifically pointed out the metes and bounds of the claimed invention for persuasively and pre-emptively arguing against the indefiniteness rejections.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page14 of the Remarks, Applicant contends that the sagittal power distribution map is not “a dimensioned engineering drawing” to be relied upon for taking measurements. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the drawing is not dimensioned in the way that a three-dimensional model may be dimensioned in CAD software, plotting sagittal power maps as shown in Fig. 9B would have been understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art to be proportionate. The scale on the axes demonstrates the scale of the map and thus measurements of the elements may be made from the drawing itself.
On pages 15-16 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the contrast-modulating elements of Esfandiarijahromi are “opposite to the present application’s design of using convex micro-lenses”. Examiner respectfully disagrees, though it is acknowledged that these embodiments are alternatives, Esfandiarijahromi does not disparage use of refractive structures for myopic defocus (see Esfandiarijahromi Figs. 25, 27, or 29). Additionally, Applicant argues that Esfandiarijahromi discloses only oscillating elements that could not be replaced with purely converging or diverging elements. Examiner respectfully disagrees as Esfandiarijahromi teaches embodiments that do not provide oscillating power (Fig. 4-8, etc.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872