DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on May 12, 2026; October 7, 2024; and July 11, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Eight (8) sheets of drawings were filed on July 11, 2024 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valera et al. (US 2016/0041387 A1), hereafter Valera.
Regarding claims 1 and 10-13; Valera discloses a waveguide (glass slab waveguide 11; see Figure 3) comprising:
an incoupler (input prism unit 13) to incouple light of a first polarization state (S-polarized light); and
a reflective structure (17/18) to receive incoupled light of the first polarization state (S-polarized light) and reflect it with a second polarization state (P-polarized light) toward an outcoupler (25; see paragraphs 57 and 59);
wherein the reflective structure (17/18) comprises a prism (17);
wherein the reflective structure comprises a waveplate (26) to convert light of the first polarization state to the second polarization state;
wherein the reflective structure comprises a mirror (18);
wherein the prism is a right-angle prism (17) with mirrored internal surfaces (reflective coating 18 forms mirrored internal surfaces, i.e. adjacent surface portions, along prism 17; see Figure 3).
Regarding claims 16 and 18; Valera et al. discloses a method (see Figure 3) comprising:
incoupling, via an incoupler (12/13), light of a first polarization state (S-polarized light; see Paragraphs 57 and 59) into a waveguide (11); and
receiving, at a reflective structure (17/18), incoupled light of the first polarization state (S-polarized light) and
reflecting it with a second polarization state (P-polarized light) toward an outcoupler (25);
further comprising converting the incoupled light of the first polarization state to the second polarization state via a waveplate (26) in the reflective structure (see Figure 3).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 13, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansotte et al. (US 2019/0265486 A1), hereafter Hansotte.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 13, and 14; Hansotte discloses a waveguide (transparent waveguide 50; see Figure 3, or alternative Figure 4, Figure 5A, or Figure 5B) comprising:
an incoupler (grating 34) to incouple light of a first polarization state (P); and
a reflective structure (mirror 32) to receive incoupled light of the first polarization state (P) and reflect it with a second polarization state (S) toward an outcoupler (grating 42);
wherein the reflective structure (32) is on an opposite side of the incoupler (34) as the outcoupler (42);
further comprising a polarization beam splitter layer (90; see Figure 5A and 5B) at an interface between the incoupler (34) and a waveguide substrate of the waveguide (50);
wherein the polarization beam splitter layer (90) transmits light of the first polarization state and reflects light of the second polarization state (see Figure 5B and paragraph 33);
wherein the reflective structure comprises a mirror (32);
wherein the reflective structure comprises a waveplate (46) to convert light of the first polarization state to the second polarization state
Regarding claims 16-19; Hansotte discloses a method (see Figures 3, 4, 5A, 5B) comprising:
incoupling, via an incoupler (34), light of a first polarization state (P) into a waveguide (50); and
receiving, at a reflective structure (32), incoupled light of the first polarization state (P) and
reflecting it with a second polarization state (S) toward an outcoupler (42);
wherein the reflective structure (32) is on an opposite side of the incoupler (34) as the outcoupler (42);
further comprising converting the incoupled light of the first polarization state to the second polarization state via a waveplate (46) in the reflective structure;
further comprising reflecting light of the second polarization state (S) at an interface of the incoupler (34) and a waveguide substrate of the waveguide (50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansotte et al. (US 2019/0265486 A1), hereafter Hansotte.
Regarding claim 3; Hansotte discloses the waveguide of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) and further teaches that the incoupler (grating 34) may involve coupling and reflecting light wherein a grating operates in transmission mode and reflection mode (see paragraph 37). Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to alternatively form the grating (34; see Figure 3) to operate and both transmission mode and reflection mode such that the incoupler (grating 34) transmits light of the first polarization state and reflects light of the second polarization state for the purpose of efficiently coupling a desired amount of light into the waveguide.
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al. (US 2022/0137411 A1), hereafter Lam.
Regarding claim 1; Lam discloses a waveguide (1310, 1340, 1342; see Figures 5 and 13A-13C) comprising:
an incoupler (1320, 1350, 1352) to incouple light (1330, 1360, 1382) of a first polarization state (S); and
a reflective structure (1322, 1370, 1372) to receive incoupled light of the first polarization state (S) and reflect it with a second polarization state (P) within the waveguide (1310, 1340, 1342).
Lam does not disclose the second polarization state (P) is reflected toward an outcoupler in Figures 13A-13C. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognized that an outcoupler is inherently required for the display to function, wherein Figures 13A-13C illustrate alternative embodiments of an incoupler and corresponding reflective structure. In Figure 5, Lam teaches that a display waveguide (520) comprises an incoupler (530) and an outcoupler (540) spaced therefrom.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide an outcoupler spaced from the incoupler (1322, 1370, 1272) in the embodiments of Figures 13A, 13B, and 13C of Lam for the purpose of outcoupling light to display an image, since Lam teaches that an output coupler (540) may be provided spaced from input couplers (530) and the waveguide displays of Figures 13A, 13B, and 13C of Lam must necessarily include an output coupler for the displays to be viewed.
Regarding claim 6; Lam further teaches that the reflective structure comprises a diffractive grating with a fraction pitch of a grating of the incoupler (phase structures or gratings 1322, 1360, 1370, 1362, 1372 formed as a subwavelength grating structure; see paragraphs 148 and 152; the examiner notes that a subwavelength grating will inherently have a fraction pitch of a grating of the incoupler, however, should applicant disagree, the examiner notes that any value may be written as a fraction including 1/1).
Regarding claim 7; before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to adjust the fraction pitch of the subwavelength grating structure to be any desired value, including half of a pitch of the in-coupling grating structure, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical coupling results, since the relationship between pitch and grating function is well understood with respect to desired light coupling outcomes in the art and would be unlikely to yield any novel or unexpected results, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233) and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 8; Lam teaches wherein the reflective structure comprises a waveplate to convert light of the first polarization state to the second polarization state (QWP; see paragraph 150).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansotte et al. (US 2019/0265486 A1), hereafter Hansotte, in view of Levola (US 2005/0002611 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 20; Hansotte discloses the waveguide of claim 1 and method of claim 16 as applied above, but fails to disclose that the incoupler comprises a binary diffractive incoupler grating. Levola teaches that providing an in-coupling diffractive grating with a binary type profile is preferred for enabling polarization conversion (see paragraph 41). Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the incoupler comprise a binary diffractive incoupler grating to provide a diffraction efficiency suitable for polarization conversion situations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record which is the most relevant prior art known, does not disclose or render obvious the waveguide defined by claim 9, wherein the diffractive gating is on a same surface of a waveguide substrate of the waveguide as the incoupler in combination with all of the limitations of base claim 1 and all of the limitations of intervening claim 6.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874