DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/085016 (international filing date: 04/02/2022), and does not claim priorities from any domestic application or to any foreign application.
Objections
Claims 1, 10, 19, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities, and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 line 12, the phrase “two-step RACH procedure” should be changed to “two-step random access procedure” for consistence and avoiding ambiguity issues. Similar problem appears in each of claims 10, 19, and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG et al. (US 20220046725 A1, hereinafter XIONG), in view of Lifeng HAN (US 20210392702 A1, hereinafter HAN).
Regarding claim 1,
XIONG teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (XIONG, see at least fig. 3A/B, e.g. various apparatus components)
to cause the UE to (XIONG, in general, see fig. 8-9 and corresponding paragraphs 142-172, along with at least fig. 5 and its paragraphs 80-111; note that fig. 8 discloses step 1 of a random access procedure, and fig. 9 discloses steps 1 and 2 of the random access procedure):
receive an indication of a plurality of random access occasions associated with a two-step random access procedure (XIONG, see at least claim 1 and para. 82-84 of fig. 5 in view of para. 172, for a non-limiting example, “...Generally, through the configuration information of the network device, the UE can obtain the configuration status of the PRACH transmission occasion, which includes at least one of the following: Random access configuration period; Position index of a RACH slot in a random access configuration period (RACH slot index), the RACH slot is a slot including at least one PRACH transmission occasion...”, note that fig. 5 merely an example, while fig. 6-7 disclose other appliable examples; also note that para. 172 discloses that “...Preferably, the RO bundle method described above can also be extended to contention-based two-step random access, wherein the first message (msgA) of the two-step random access includes the transmitted preamble...; wherein, the RO part that transmits the preamble can be in the same way as the aforementioned method,...”);
transmit, as part of the two-step random access procedure, a plurality of uplink random access channel messages over the plurality of random access occasions corresponding to the plurality of uplink random access channel messages (XIONG, see at least para. 142-143 in view of para. 87-88 and para. 172, “...FIG. 8 illustrates an example of transmitting a preamble in PRACH transmission occasion bundle according to an embodiment. In particular, when transmitting the random access signal, it is possible for the UE to transmit it according to the RO bundle, and then it is possible to transmit the preamble on each RO in an RO bundle...”, note that para. 87-88 disclose the layout of the RO bundles in fig. 5, and para. 172 discloses two-step random access is applicable);
select a radio network temporary identifier...based at least in part on a defined position within the plurality of random access occasions associated with the two-step RACH procedure (XIONG, see at least para. 153 and 159 in view of para. 172, “...preferably, the nRA-RNTI results from the calculation performed based on the time-frequency resource position in which the RO bundle is located...”, note that “...When monitoring possible response, whether the scrambling code of the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the detected PDCCH matches an nRA-RNTI is monitored using the nRA-RNTI; if it matches, it means the detected PDCCH is correct, and in turn the content of the DCI is read; if it does not match, the UE continues to monitor in the RAR window until the correct PDCCH is monitored, or the RAR window ends...”, in other words, specific RA-RNTI is being used for the RAR monitoring);
and
receive, as part of the two-step random access procedure, a downlink random access channel message using the radio network temporary identifier based at least in part on the defined position within the plurality of random access occasions (XIONG, see at least para. 159-162 in view of para. 172, “...When monitoring possible response, whether the scrambling code of the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the detected PDCCH matches an nRA-RNTI is monitored using the nRA-RNTI; if it matches, it means the detected PDCCH is correct, and in turn the content of the DCI is read; if it does not match, the UE continues to monitor in the RAR window until the correct PDCCH is monitored, or the RAR window ends; preferably, the nRA-RNTI results from the calculation performed based on the time-frequency resource position in which the RO bundle is located...”, note that para. 172 discloses two-step random access is applicable).
XIONG does not specifically teach radio network temporary identifier for the UE based at least in part on a defined position.
HAN teaches radio network temporary identifier for the UE based at least in part on a defined position (HAN, in general, see fig. 1 and corresponding paragraphs 37-41 along with fig. 6, in particular, see at least para. 37 and 39, “...Specifically, the RA-RNTI may be related to a time-frequency position (i.e., RO) of the preamble transmitted when the UE 11 performs s1...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate HAN into XIONG for allowing to initiate random access preamble sequence to be sent at time-frequency resources corresponding to a Physical Random Access Channel Occasion (RO) (see para. 37).
Regarding claim 2, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 1.
XIONG further teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the plurality of uplink random access channel messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: transmit, on a random access occasion of the plurality of random access occasions corresponding to the defined position, an uplink random access channel message of the plurality of uplink random access channel messages, the uplink random access channel message comprising a random access channel preamble (XIONG, see at least para. 144-145 of fig. 8(a) or (b), for one non-limiting example, “...The preambles that can be transmitted on each RO are the preambles with different preamble indexes, which is equivalent to the case that the UE selects or uses one preamble index on each RO in an RO bundle, and the preamble index may be different on different ROs, as shown in (b) in FIG. 8...”),
wherein the defined position within the plurality of random access occasions corresponds to a sequentially first position of the random access occasion within the plurality of random access occasions (XIONG, see at least fig. 8(a) or (b) in view of para. 87 of fig. 5, for example, RO0, RO1, RO2, etc.).
Regarding claim 3, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 1.
XIONG further teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the plurality of uplink random access channel messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: transmit, on a random access occasion of the plurality of random access occasions corresponding to the defined position, an uplink random access channel message of the plurality of uplink random access channel messages, the uplink random access channel message comprising a random access channel preamble (XIONG, see at least para. 144-145 of fig. 8(a) or (b), for one non-limiting example, “...The preambles that can be transmitted on each RO are the preambles with different preamble indexes, which is equivalent to the case that the UE selects or uses one preamble index on each RO in an RO bundle, and the preamble index may be different on different ROs, as shown in (b) in FIG. 8...”),
wherein the defined position within the plurality of random access occasions corresponds to a sequentially last position of the random access occasion within the plurality of random access occasions (XIONG, see at least fig. 8(a) or (b) in view of para. 87 of fig. 5, for example, RO0, RO1, RO2, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 1.
XIONG further teaches receive an index of a random access occasion at the defined position within the plurality of random access occasions. (XIONG, see at least para. 164, “...the UE obtains the indicated RO index from the base station, the RO index is an index of one RO in one RO bundle resulting in the order of bundling...”)
Regarding claim 5, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 1.
XIONG further teaches transmit an uplink random access channel message of the plurality of uplink random access channel messages (XIONG, see at para. 143-145 of fig. 8(a) or (b), “...when transmitting the random access signal, it is possible for the UE to transmit it according to the RO bundle, and then it is possible to transmit the preamble on each RO in an RO bundle...”),
wherein a start of a random access response window is based at least in part on a random access occasion of the plurality of random access occasions, and wherein the random access response window is for receiving the downlink random access channel message upon transmitting the uplink random access channel message of the plurality of uplink random access channel messages (XIONG, see at para. 153-158 along with para. 143, “...Preferably, after transmitting the preamble, the UE will monitor the response from the base station, specifically, including: The UE will start a random access response monitoring window (RAR window) at the starting position of the first downlink control channel control resource set (CORESET) after N time units which is after the ending position of a specific time, ... The specific time may be one of the following: In the RO bundle in which the UE transmits the preamble;...”).
Regarding claim 6, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 5.
XIONG further teaches identify that the defined position within the plurality of random access occasions corresponds to the random access occasion based at least in part on determining the start of the random access response window using the random access occasion. (XIONG, see at para. 153-158, “...Preferably, after transmitting the preamble, the UE will monitor the response from the base station, specifically, including: The UE will start a random access response monitoring window (RAR window) at the starting position of the first downlink control channel control resource set (CORESET) after N time units which is after the ending position of a specific time, ... The specific time may be one of the following: In the RO bundle in which the UE transmits the preamble; The last RO in the RO bundle in which the UE transmits the preamble; The first RO in the RO bundle in which the UE transmits the preamble; All ROs in the RO bundle in which the UE transmits the preamble; that is, at this time, an RAR window will be started for each RO that transmits the preamble, that is, the UE needs to monitor multiple RAR windows;...”)
Regarding claim 7, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 1.
XIONG further teaches receive a control portion of the downlink random access channel message, wherein the control portion comprises a cyclic redundancy check scrambled by the radio network temporary identifier. (XIONG, see at least para. 159, “...When monitoring possible response, whether the scrambling code of the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the detected PDCCH matches an nRA-RNTI is monitored using the nRA-RNTI;...”)
Regarding claim 8, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 1.
XIONG further teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the plurality of uplink random access channel messages are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
transmit, on a first random access occasion of the plurality of random access occasions corresponding to the defined position, a first uplink random access channel message of the plurality of uplink random access channel messages (XIONG, see at para. 143-145 of fig. 8(a) or (b), “...when transmitting the random access signal, it is possible for the UE to transmit it according to the RO bundle, and then it is possible to transmit the preamble on each RO in an RO bundle...”, note that RO0, RO1, RO2 are disclosed),
and
transmit, on a second random access occasion of the plurality of random access occasions corresponding to the defined position, a second uplink random access channel message of the plurality of uplink random access channel messages (XIONG, see at para. 143-145 of fig. 8(a) or (b), “...when transmitting the random access signal, it is possible for the UE to transmit it according to the RO bundle, and then it is possible to transmit the preamble on each RO in an RO bundle...”, note that RO0, RO1, RO2 are disclosed),
wherein the second uplink random access channel message is transmitted later than the first uplink random access channel message (XIONG, see at para. 143-145 in view of para. 112, note that para. 112 of fig. 6 discloses one non-limiting example as “...The order of bundle is as follows: first in the ascending order of RO in a RACH slot, second in the ascending order of RO in the frequency domain, and then in the ascending order of the RACH slot. As shown in FIG. 6, for the ROs in slot 1, the bundle is performed in a manner that 3 ROs are bundled as one bundle, and 8 RO bundles are obtained. After the bundles in slot 1 are completed, a similar operation is performed on ROs in slot 3 in the ascending order of the RACH slot...”, in other words, preambles on ROs are transmitted sequentially in orders).
Regarding claim 9, XIONG in view of HAN teaches claim 8.
XIONG further teaches identify that the defined position within the plurality of random access occasions corresponds to the second random access occasion based at least in part on the second uplink random access channel message being transmitted later than the first uplink random access channel message. (XIONG, see at para. 143-145 in view of para. 112, note that para. 112 of fig. 6 discloses one non-limiting example as “...The order of bundle is as follows: first in the ascending order of RO in a RACH slot, second in the ascending order of RO in the frequency domain, and then in the ascending order of the RACH slot. As shown in FIG. 6, for the ROs in slot 1, the bundle is performed in a manner that 3 ROs are bundled as one bundle, and 8 RO bundles are obtained. After the bundles in slot 1 are completed, a similar operation is performed on ROs in slot 3 in the ascending order of the RACH slot...”, in other words, preambles on ROs are transmitted sequentially in orders).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 10 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of claim 1. For example, it would be a network entity of claim 10 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the UE of claim 1. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18, in view of claim 10 above, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9, respectively.
Regarding claims 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, and 27, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9, respectively, except each of these claims is in method claim format.
Regarding claims 28, 29, and 30, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 10, 11, and 12, respectively, except each of these claims is in method claim format.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 10, 19, and 28, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465