DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2022/001176 (international filing date: 01/14/2022), and does not claim priorities from any domestic application or to any foreign application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LY et al. (US 20220330308 A1, hereinafter LY), in view of LIANG et al. (US 20240056223 A1, hereinafter LIANG).
Regarding claim 1,
LY teaches a terminal comprising (in general, see fig. 4, 9, and 11, along with their respective paragraphs):
a receiver that receives a first parameter for transmission to a first transmission/reception point (TRP) and a second parameter for transmission to a second TRP (LY, see at least para. 60 and 97, “...UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) 602 scheduling two or more PUSCH repetitions for multiple TRPs...” as well as “...FIG. 9B, the first and second TRPs 110 a, 110 b may transmit, to the UE 120, separate DCI messages 908, 910 that schedule multi-slot TB transmissions 912, 914 to the first TRP 110 a and the second TRP 110 b, respectively...”, note that DCI schedules repetitions and multi-slot TBs)
and
a processor that controls transmission of K repetitions of one transport block over N slots and respectively applies (N x K) parameters to the (N x K) slots, in which the K repetitions are transmitted, the (N x K) parameters including the first parameter and the second parameter (LY, see at least para. 99 of fig. 11 in view of fig. 6, for one non-limiting example, “...FIG. 11 is a slot diagram illustrating examples of interleaving the resources of the multi-slot TBs, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. In the first interleaving case 1102, the time domain resources for the first multi-slot TB transmission 1108 to a first TRP are interleaved with the time domain resources for the second multi-slot TB transmission 1110 to a second TRP by every other slot in the sequence of slots....”).
LY does not specifically teach N being an integer greater than or equal to two, and K being an integer greater than or equal to two.
LIANG teaches N being an integer greater than or equal to two, and K being an integer greater than or equal to two (LIANG, in general, see fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs at least 87-96; in particular, see para. 89 and 95, “...the terminal device 110 may determines M consecutive slots based on configured repetition number K. M is the smallest integer that there are K counted PUSCH within M consecutive slots according to the counting rule...”, note that K>1 and M is for multiple consecutive slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate LIANG into LY for improving coverage of the network and increasing robustness of the uplink transmission. (LIANG, para. 41).
Regarding claim 2,
LY in view of LIANG teaches claim 1.
LY further teaches wherein the processor performs one mapping of
[(i)] first mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to an odd-numbered slot and an even-numbered slot of the (N x K) slots (LY, for condition [(i)], see at least para. 99 of fig. 11 in view of fig. 6, for one non-limiting example, “...FIG. 11 is a slot diagram illustrating examples of interleaving the resources of the multi-slot TBs, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. In the first interleaving case 1102, the time domain resources for the first multi-slot TB transmission 1108 to a first TRP are interleaved with the time domain resources for the second multi-slot TB transmission 1110 to a second TRP by every other slot in the sequence of slots....”),
[(ii)] second mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4i+1)th and (4i)+2)th slots of the (N x K) slots and (4i+2)th and (4i+3)th slots of the N slots,
[(iii)] third mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to a slot in a first half and a slot in a second half of the (N x K) slots, and
[(iv)] fourth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4Xj+1)th to (4Xj+X)th slots of the (N x K) slots and (4Xj+X+1)th to (4Xj+2X)th slots of the (N x K) slots, i being an integer greater than or equal to zero, j being an integer greater than or equal to zero, X being an integer greater than or equal to one.
Regarding claim 3,
LY in view of LIANG teaches claim 2.
LY further teaches wherein the receiver receives information indicating one of the first mapping, the second mapping, the third mapping, and the fourth mapping (LY, see at least para. 64-66 and step 702, “...at block 702, where the UE may receive scheduling for at least one transport block to be transmitted across a plurality of slots. For example, the UE may receive, from a network entity, DCI that indicates the scheduling for the first portion of the transport block and the second portion of the transport block...”).
Regarding claim 5, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1 except this claim is in method claim format.
Regarding claim 6, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 6 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of claim 1. For example, it would be a base station of claim 6 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the terminal of claim 1. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7,
LY in view of LIANG teaches claim 1.
LY further teaches wherein the processor performs one mapping of
a first mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to an odd-numbered repetition and an even-numbered repetition of the K repetitions,
a second mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4i + 1)th and (4i + 2)th repetitions of the K repetitions and (4i + 2)th and (4i + 3)th repetitions of the K repetitions,
a third mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to a repetition in a first half and a repetition in a second half of the K repetitions,
a fourth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4Xj + 1)th to (4Xj + X)th repetitions of the K repetitions and (4Xj + X + 1)th to (4Xj + 2X)th repetitions of the K repetitions,
a fifth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to an odd-numbered slot and an even-numbered slot of the N slots within each repetition,
a sixth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4i + 1)th and (4i + 2)th slots of the N slots within each repetition and (4i + 2)th and (4i + 3)th slots of the N slots within each repetition,
a seventh mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to a slot in a first half and a slot in a second half of the N slots within each repetition,
an eighth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4Xj + 1)th to (4Xj + X)th slots of the N slots within each repetition and (4Xj + X + 1)th to (4Xj + 2X)th slots of the N slots within each repetition,
a ninth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to an odd-numbered slot and an even-numbered slot of the NxK slots (LY, see at least para. 99 of fig. 11 in view of fig. 6, for one non-limiting example, “...FIG. 11 is a slot diagram illustrating examples of interleaving the resources of the multi-slot TBs, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. In the first interleaving case 1102, the time domain resources for the first multi-slot TB transmission 1108 to a first TRP are interleaved with the time domain resources for the second multi-slot TB transmission 1110 to a second TRP by every other slot in the sequence of slots....”),
a tenth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4i + 1)th and (4i + 2)th slots of the NxK slots and (4i + 2)th and (4i + 3)th slots of the NxK slots,
an eleventh mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to a slot in a first half and a slot in a second half of the NxK slots,
and
a twelfth mapping for applying two different parameters of the first parameter and the second parameter to (4Xj + 1)th to (4Xj + X)th slots of the NxK slots and (4Xj + X + 1)th to (4Xj + 2X)th slots of the NxK slots, i being an integer equal to or greater than zero, j being an integer equal to or greater than zero, X being an integer equal to or greater than one,
and
the receiver receives information indicating the one mapping (LY, see at least para. 64-66 and step 702, “...at block 702, where the UE may receive scheduling for at least one transport block to be transmitted across a plurality of slots. For example, the UE may receive, from a network entity, DCI that indicates the scheduling for the first portion of the transport block and the second portion of the transport block...”).
Regarding claim 8,
LY in view of LIANG teaches claim 1.
LY does not specifically teach wherein the NxK slots are obtained by excluding U slots determined to be unavailable among (N xK + U) consecutive slots, U being an integer greater than or equal to zero.
LIANG teaches wherein the NxK slots are obtained by excluding U slots determined to be unavailable among (N xK + U) consecutive slots, U being an integer greater than or equal to zero (LIANG, see at least para. 89-91, “...the terminal device 110 may determines M consecutive slots based on configured repetition number K. M is the smallest integer that there are K counted PUSCH within M consecutive slots according to the counting rule. Then the terminal device 110 applies omission rule across M consecutive slots...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate LIANG into LY for improving coverage of the network and increasing robustness of the uplink transmission. (LIANG, para. 41).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 5, and 6, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465