DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application filed July 11, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-7, 10-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0250261 (referred to hereafter as Howard) in view of Menon et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0122056 (referred to hereafter as Menon).
As to claims 1, 10 and 19, Howard teaches a method and system of producing a passive gripper for an object (para [0008] "In one broad form an aspect of the present invention seeks to provide a method of manufacturing a robotic manipulator, wherein the method includes, in one or more processing devices:
determining desired manipulator properties including a manipulator shape and manipulator jamming properties "), the method comprising:
generating a template for the passive gripper (para [0012] the packing element configuration defines a mesh shape and location...") and fabricating the passive gripper based on the template (para [0008]; para [0012]).
Howard does not disclose identifying a set of grasp configurations for the object, selecting, from the set, a particular grasp configuration configured for performing passive engagement and disengagement with the object, based on the particular grasp
configuration.
Menon discloses identifying a set of grasp configurations for the object (para [0041] may have recognized a feature associated with item 112 as having a cube geometry and selected a grasp strategy for cube geometries prior to picking up item..."),
selecting, from the set, a particular grasp configuration configured for performing passive engagement and disengagement with the object (para [0041]), based on the particular grasp configuration (para [0041]).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to select a particular grasp configuration configured for performing passive engagement and disengagement in Howard as taught by Menon. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Menon because items with different properties may require different grasp configurations (see para [0040]).
As to claims 2 and 11, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 1 and 11. Howard further discloses wherein fabricating the passive gripper comprises fabricating the passive gripper by a 3D printer, a computer numerical control (CNC) machine, a laser direct metal laser melting additive machine, or other additive or subtractive manufacturing machine (para [0008] controlling an additive printing machine in accordance with the packing element configuration and manipulator shape to thereby manufacture the robot manipulator).
As to claims 3 and 12, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 1 and 11. Menon further discloses determining a trajectory for contacting the object at the particular grasp configuration without colliding with the object (para [0055] "selects one of the grasping strategies based on the corresponding scores associated with each of the grasping strategies para [0054] ...height at which a robotic arm is to grasp the feature (to prevent collision at the top of the gripper...").
As to claims 4 and 13, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 1 and 11. Howard further discloses generating a generalization of passive gripper geometry, the generalization connecting the particular grasp configuration to a grasping base (para [0012]; para [0097] element configuration may be determined based on the manipulator shape. Thus, different shape manipulators could be used for different applications, such as gripping different shaped objects...").
As to claims 5 and 14, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 4 and 13. Menon further discloses co-optimizing the trajectory and the generalization of passive gripper geometry (para. 72).
As to claim 6, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 1 and 11. Menon further discloses the grasping base corresponds to or is included on a robotic arm (para [0075] '...end effector 200 includes a body or housing 202 attached to robotic arm...").
As to claims 7 and 15, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 4 and 13. Menon further discloses generating the template for the passive gripper includes performing a discrete topology optimization over a collision-free volume associated with the optimized generalization of passive gripper geometry (see para. 72).
As to claim 18, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 4 and 13. Menon further discloses a scanning apparatus capable of collecting shape and position data for the object (para [0041]).
As to claim 20, Howard in view of Menon teach the method and system of claims 19. Menon further discloses each of the particular grasp configurations in the combination of the particular grasp configurations is connected to the other particular grasp configurations in the combination by a series of paths (see para. 40-41 and 72).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 8-9 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669