DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2023/0042922 to Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (hereinafter Taherzadeh Boroujeni).
In regard claim 13, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses a terminal, comprising:
a control section that controls, based on a condition, a number of repetition transmissions of a message initially transmitted in a random access procedure (see paragraphs [0050], and [0118], a UE (e.g., UE 120) includes means for receiving, from a base station, a SIB that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers); and
a transmission section that repeatedly transmits the message based on the number (see paragraph [0118], transmitting, to the base station, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number).
In regard claim 14, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses the terminal according to claim 13, wherein
the condition is a type of the random access procedure (see paragraph [0067], the SIB may be a system information block type 1 (SIB1). The plurality of sets of Msg3 repetition numbers may be predefined at the UE. The UE may receive, from the base station, a bit field in an RAR or DCI that indicates a selected Msg3 repetition number (or selected message repetition number) from the selected set of Msg3 repetition numbers indicated in the SIB. The UE may transmit, to the base station, a Msg3 transmission (or message) during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected Msg3 repetition number); and
the control section applies repetition of the message in a case where the random access procedure is a contention-free random access procedure (see paragraphs [0050], and [0055], means for transmitting, to the base station, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number. The random access configuration information may be transmitted in a radio resource control (RRC) message and/or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order message that triggers a random access channel (RACH) procedure, such as for contention-free random access. The random access configuration information may include one or more parameters to be used in the random access procedure, such as one or more parameters for transmitting a random access message (RAM) and/or one or more parameters for receiving a random access response (RAR)).
In regard claim 15, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses the terminal according to claim 13, wherein
the condition is received power of a reference signal (see paragraph [0044], a channel processor may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, and/or a CQI parameter, among other examples. In some examples, one or more components of the UE 120 may be included in a housing 284); and
the control section controls the number of repetition transmissions of the message based on the received power (see paragraphs [0039] and [0044], the communication manager 140 may receive, from a base station, a SIB that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers. A channel processor may determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, and/or a CQI parameter).
In regard claim 16, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses the terminal according to claim 13, wherein
the control section controls a number of repetition transmissions of Message 1 in the random access procedure (see paragraph [0039], the communication manager 140 may receive, from a base station, a SIB that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers; receive, from the base station, a bit field in an RAR or DCI that indicates a selected message repetition number from the selected set of message repetition numbers indicated in the SIB; and transmit, to the base station, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number).
In regard claim 17, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses a base station, comprising:
a reception section that receives a message initially transmitted in a random access procedure and repeatedly transmitted based on a condition (see paragraph [0040], receive, from the UE, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number); and
a control section that determines transmission of a response message to the message (see paragraphs [0118], and [0125], wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers; receiving, from the base station, a bit field in a random access response (RAR) or downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a selected message repetition number from the selected set of message repetition numbers indicated in the SIB).
In regard claim 18, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses a radio system, comprising:
a terminal that includes:
a control section controlling, based on a condition, a number of repetition transmissions of a message initially transmitted in a random access procedure (see paragraphs [0050], and [0118], a UE (e.g., UE 120) includes means for receiving, from a base station, a SIB that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers); and
a transmission section repeatedly transmitting the message based on the number (see paragraph [0118], transmitting, to the base station, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number).
a base station that includes:
a reception section receiving the message (see paragraph [0040], receive, from the UE, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number); and a control section determining transmission of a response message to the message (see paragraphs [0118], and [0125], wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a system information block (SIB) that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers; receiving, from the base station, a bit field in a random access response (RAR) or downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a selected message repetition number from the selected set of message repetition numbers indicated in the SIB).
In regard claim 19, Taherzadeh Boroujeni teaches or discloses a communication method, comprising:
controlling, by a terminal, based on a condition, a number of repetition transmissions of a message initially transmitted in a random access procedure (see paragraphs [0050], and [0118], a UE (e.g., UE 120) includes means for receiving, from a base station, a SIB that indicates a selected set of message repetition numbers from a plurality of sets of message repetition numbers); and
transmitting, by the terminal, repeatedly the message based on the number (see paragraph [0118], transmitting, to the base station, a message during a random access procedure based at least in part on the selected message repetition number).
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476