DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 17-23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hajri et al. (USPN 12,489,505).
Regarding claim 1, Hajri teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a memory [Fig. 7, 54]; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to: receive an indication of transmission spatial information associated with a network entity [Col. 7, lines 13-44, receives information about spatial beams to be used for transmission]; receive a reference signal from the network entity based on the transmission spatial information [Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 7, receives a reference signal after transmission of spatial information]; and transmit, to the network entity, channel state information (CSI) based on the received reference signal and the transmission spatial information [Col. 12, lines 16-37, CSI transmission is done based on reference signals and spatial information].
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Hajri teaches a transceiver configured to receive/output the indication of the transmission spatial information, receive/output the reference signal, and transmit/obtain the CSI, wherein the transmission spatial information indicates a mapping of one or more transceiver units (TxRUs) to one or more antenna elements of an antenna architecture associated with the network entity/apparatus [Col. 6, line 63 – Col. 7, line 13].
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Hajri teaches to receive/output the indication of the transmission spatial information, the processor is further configured to receive/output a cover-code configuration that identifies the transmission spatial information [Col. 7, lines 13-44]; and to receive/output the reference signal, the processor is further configured to receive/output the reference signal based on the cover-code configuration [Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 7].
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Hajri teaches the cover-code configuration identifies a cover-code of the transmission spatial information [Col. 7, lines 13-44].
Regarding claim 5, Hajri teaches at least one of: determine a channel estimation based on the received reference signal and the cover-code [Col. 7, lines 13-44]; or determine the CSI based at least in part on the cover-code [Col. 12, lines 16-37].
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Hajri teaches the transmission spatial information identifies a cover-code that corresponds to channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports arranged in groups [Col. 7, lines 13-44].
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Hajri teaches receiving/outputting a signal indicating a machine learning module associated with the transmission spatial information [Col. 4, line 46 – Col. 5, line 17].
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Hajri teaches the machine learning module is indicated via a cover-code configuration [Col. 4, line 46 – Col. 5, line 17].
Regarding claim 9, Hajri teaches at least one of: determine a channel estimation based on the received reference signal using the machine learning module and the transmission spatial information [Col. 7, lines 13-44]; or determine the CSI using the transmission spatial information and the machine learning module [Col. 12, lines 16-37].
Regarding claim 10, Hajri teaches determining a frequency domain channel estimate for each of a plurality of ports associated with an antenna architecture using the machine learning module, wherein input of the machine learning module includes the received reference signal [Col. 7, lines 13-44].
Regarding claim 17, Hajri teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a memory [Fig. 6, 14]; and a processor configured to: output an indication of transmission spatial information associated with the apparatus [Col. 7, lines 13-44], output a reference signal based on the transmission spatial information [Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 7], and obtain channel state information (CSI) based on the reference signal and the transmission spatial information [Col. 12, lines 16-37].
Regarding claim 28, Hajri teaches a method of wireless communication by a user equipment, comprising: receiving an indication of transmission spatial information associated with a network entity [Col. 7, lines 13-44, receives information about spatial beams to be used for transmission]; receiving a reference signal from the network entity based on the transmission spatial information [Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 7, receives a reference signal after transmission of spatial information]; and transmitting, to the network entity, channel state information (CSI) based on the received reference signal and the transmission spatial information [Col. 12, lines 16-37, CSI transmission is done based on reference signals and spatial information].
Regarding claim 29, Hajri teaches the transmission spatial information indicates a mapping of one or more transceiver units (TxRUs) to one or more antenna elements of an antenna architecture associated with the network entity [Col. 6, line 63 – Col. 7, line 13].
Regarding claim 30, Hajri taches a method of wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: outputting an indication of transmission spatial information associated with the network entity [Col. 7, lines 13-44], outputting a reference signal based on the transmission spatial information [Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 7], and obtaining channel state information (CSI) based on the reference signal and the transmission spatial information [Col. 12, lines 16-37].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 and 24-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (US-PGPUB 2021/0273758) teaches receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a transmitting device. A joint correlation metric is identified for a channel associated with the CSI-RS and the joint correlation metric is based at least in part on a frequency correlation and a spatial correlation of the channel.
Kim et al. (USPN 10,313,852) teaches receiving channel space information about a terminal within a group. Distributed antenna unit (DU) selection information is determined based on the channel space information about the terminal. The determined DU selection information is transmitted to the terminal. A DU selection adjusting process is performed based on the channel space information.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464